HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Laserjet or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451nw

hp HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451nw

HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451nw
Overall rating:
4.321 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 28 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
24 out of 28(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451nw
Review 1 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451nw
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent Color Laser

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Hauppauge, NY
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This product replaced the same model which had heavy use but finally gave out. The old model was about 6 years old. One complaint for the new model is when I put the HP 305A black ink cartridge from the old model into the new one, it would not authenticate. All the other colors from the old were put into the new and they authenticated. Second complaint is the new model is taking a long time to print once I click on print from my computer. It also stops during printing as if it's spooling again. This didn't happen with the old model until I stopped working.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451nw
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A good value color Laserjet

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Olympia, WA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased a M451nw color Laserjet as a beefier substitute for my CP1525nw, which is still running but a bit finicky when it comes to printing on heavier stock. My installation in a wireless configuration went smoothly but took about 20 minutes, so be patient. I recommend the installation method of temporarily connecting the printer to the computer with a USB cable (supplied) to transfer the wireless settings to the printer, but don't connect the cable to the computer until the software installer tells you to. I found the initial color quality to be very good. The toner cartridges for the M451 are more expensive than those for the 1525nw but are rated at significantly higher number of copies. The M451 is taller than the 1525nw but the footprint is only slightly deeper, so I was still able to fit it on my small two-drawer rolling table. I'm planning to buy more memory to max out the RAM, which is easily accessible via a panel on the right side. So far, I'm pleased with this machine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451nw
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent copies

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:LA, CA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This printer connects both to the wireless network and can also print from my iPhone.
The copies are excellent quality - typical HP.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451nw
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor setup program for wireless

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Henrico, VA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Every time I tride to setup the printer for wireless the program timed out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451nw
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very bad experience with HP Printer

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought a similar product more than a year ago (HP Color LaserJet CP2025dn Printer ). Print quality became poor recently due to damaged print ink (leak). I replaced all inks and found leak on the new cartilage as well after using for a few days. This is a replacement due to previous printer out of warranty. Print quality of the new printer is fine but bad noisy came out when printing. I can ask for an exchange but shipping and package is not that easy so give up.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451nw
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good printer

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:TN
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Had trouble setting up wireless. Feel that more written information should have been provided. Had to use tech. support to resolve issues which were effective after long telephone conversation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451nw
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

for me it's fast and the color is perfect

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Sandersville, Georgia
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This Hp was my first. After wearing it out we purchased another one but another brand that was on sale. Big mistake! The color was not as vibrant and printing not as sharp as the Hp. Once it died i hunted this model down. I'm so happy again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451nw
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works For Me

PostedAugust 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have 2 in use for a year now and just purchased a 3rd. Great printer and no complaints so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451nw
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Needs more Memory

PostedAugust 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Mariposa, CA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This printer does not come with enough memory. You will definitely have to BUY more memory. Also, website was difficult to use. I ended up having to call to place my order.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451nw
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very reliable printer

PostedJuly 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Washington DC
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This printer is just what we needed. It replaced three other laser printers. We get great black and white documents along with color when needed. I highly recommend this printer.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451nw
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The product is extremely good.

PostedMay 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Kewaunee, WI
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
I had a HP 2300 and an older Xerox color laser. The color laser was a larger machine and the HP was still working perfectly after many, many years of use. I decided to replace both with one printer, basically to make room on my desk. We have a small business and I print checks and reports on a regular basis. I absolutely love this printer! It's fast and prints beautifully, nor is it extremely large. It's the perfect fit for me and my purposes. I can't believe how extremely happy I am with this printer!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451nw
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good for the price

PostedMay 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
for the price the product is good but unfortunately it does not allow me to use the cartridge product verification.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451nw
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Printer, but....

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Dublin, Ohio
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
.. how can HP continue to produce printers where the cost to replace the ink cartridges is more than the cost of the printer. It seems it's cheaper to throw out the printer and get a new one rather than replace the cartridges.
Don't get me wrong, this printer is many time better than the 2605DN I replaced.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451nw
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I would purchase again

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:minnesota
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I do like the printer. It is big for a desk top but works great easy install!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451nw
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very happy with this printer

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Valencia, CA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was tired of having two printers, one B&W laser and a color inkjet (that I didn't use too much because I didn't want to use up the cartridges!). At work they had an HP color LaserJet and I really got to like having everything printed in color. So I bought the M451nw and have never regretted it. The manual form feed is really great, much better than the "slot" I had on the prior printer. The first page is reasonably fast to print and any remaining pages after that are very fast. I thought the size of this color LaserJet was also very good (meaning small) especially when you aren't getting the automatic duplex mode. I don't use duplex too much and when I need it the printer dialog walks you through it each time and really makes it easy. Using the printer menu options allows most everything to be programmed such as sleep mode, power down mode, etc. allowing you to customize the settings to your liking. I also like the ability to easily clear jams, although I have only had one so far, so this is not a big problem. I would recommend reading the whole manual up front - it makes everything easier, especially for a printer that does this much.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451nw
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good Laserjet

PostedOctober 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've only had this printer for a few weeks but it fits my requirements perfectly - - very happy with the performance and features.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451nw
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to set up

PostedOctober 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Belleville, MI
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was by far the easiest wireless network printer on the market. I paid a lot more on other wireless printers and HP was far the best. I love the way you can print from practually anywhere in the world. Nice job HP!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451nw
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Deal

PostedOctober 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New York, NY
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I did my homework. I looked at virtually every company and read probably 100 or so reviews of different laser printers. I scored a deal on this printer with a coupon and I could not have been happier. I upgraded to this from a HP inkjet that finally broke on me after 7 years of continual use. After reading all the reviews, this machine was by far the best deal, best performance, best reviews, and was geared for personal/ small business use for the money I wanted to spend. I did not want a huge machine, but I also did not want something that printed in only black and lagged performance.
The network connection worked perfectly with my router and IMAC.
**Be careful of the model you buy. This model, M451NW comes with wireless connectivity, but lacks automatic duplexing. It allows for manual duplexing, which is fine with me, but other people have made buying mistakes. The M451DN gives duplexing, but lacks wireless connectivity. The M451DW is the third and most expensive, because it incorporates automatic duplexing plus the wireless feature. Be careful which model you buy and read all the specs clearly**
The toner cartridges are more expensive than inkjet at first, but you get more pages out of them than inkjet. Also, you do not need to worry about print-heads drying out on the laser printer. You may fork out a little more in the beginning, but over time you will not be wasting money on cartridges that dry out because you were away for a couple of weeks...
Overall, I am extremely happy with my HP machine and I will never go back to inkjet. I recommend it to anyone.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451nw
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent Replacement

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:miami, fl
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Needed a replacement for the 2605dn. The 451dn does the job, with a number of improvements and only one negative.
Much quicker. Excellent color. Paper comes out nice and "flat" - the older printer would "bend" the paper, no matter which side was printed on. The 451 does not print letters quite as crisp, but you have to use a font with really fine serifs in order to notice. Excellent coverage / margins. Shipment was quick, arrived in two days.
Best surprise: Set up with both USB to printer and Ethernet to Apple AirPort and even after turning the computer off, when I returned home from work an attachment sent to my HP Eprint address was printed and waiting for review. And when close enough for your home network, many programs on my Apple iPod have a "print" option and I can print direct from the program to the printer without having to download or even turn the computer on.
Only small problem is that it is a bit noisy during printing (have it just a few feet from my keyboard), making a whirring noise and a "beep" as it prints each page. Worth it for the high value of this model.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Printer M451nw
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Still early, but happy so far

PostedSeptember 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Colorado Springs, CO
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Printer was set up by our IT folks as a wireless device only. A few uses so far have been positive with good quality printing. Able to use with our terminal server via the wireless setup and then also able to print via iPad.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.