HP Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for hp HP LaserJet Pro 400 color MFP M475dn

hp HP LaserJet Pro 400 color MFP M475dn

HP LaserJet Pro 400 color Multifunction Printer M475dn
Overall rating:
4.071 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 28 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
4
22 out of 28(79%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color MFP M475dn
Review 1 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color MFP M475dn
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it! Print is sharp! Highly recommend it.

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:White Bear Lake, mnnesota
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After much hesitation I ordered the printer and laser cartridges, but did get to enjoy the special sales price! To date I have not rec'd the $50.00 American Express card. Very easy setup!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color MFP M475dn
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible experience

PostedNovember 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Tallahassee, FL
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Spent 15 hours on tech support chat with HP and Norton trying to get this working. We never did and I had to send it back for a refund. Could not load the software (I have a new high powered computer) and keep the computer running. Had multiple blue screen drops. Lost access to the Internet when it conflicted with Norton, once got the computer working could never get the software loaded and the printer working. Wasted 15 hours of my time and the gas to take it to Pak Mail to send it back. Bought a similar quality Brother and it was hooked and ready to go in 15 minutes, including connecting to the network.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color MFP M475dn
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy Setup

PostedOctober 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Illinois
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HP printer setup software makes network setup and configuration very strait forward. Setting up scan to folder and email was very simple. Toner change is very user friendly. The print quality color registration is spot on. I have worked on printers of all sizes from small office to production printers. For the price and size of this printer is typical High HP quality. It is not the first HP for our church and wont be the last.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color MFP M475dn
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Beware of Planned Obsolescence!

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have been a loyal customer of HP ever since I purchased my first 12C calculator in the 1980s so when I purchased this MFC I expected it to last at least as long as my other HP LaserJet products (7-10 years or more with proper maintenance). In roughly 19 months the NIC card failed, rendering this an expensive and heavy paperweight that seconds as a copier. I can't connect a computer to it because the USB connector is on the same board as the Ethernet port. The warranty ran out about 7 months ago so it isn't covered. To repair this will cost nearly as much as buying a new MFC!
The only other issues I had were getting #10 envelopes to print straight and the second time I'd try to print a document with red in it, the red would turn to maroon and all of the hyperlinks would turn from blue to black. I didn't like the fact that it had settings for distinctive ring but was unable to work on a dual use line with voice mail. In the user guide that shipped with the product it noted that this function was "not supported". I spent hours with tech support trying to fix these issues with no success. Their tech support personnel in Costa Rica is great and preferable to those in India and the Philippines.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color MFP M475dn
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Print Quality

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Newton, WI
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this printer for my business. Print quality is very sharp and speed is adequate for my business purposes. Like the ability to resize copies (my wife uses it for quilting).
Generally, setup was easy. I have a wireless network with two computers and this printer. The only downside for me was that you can't scan to a file to your PC if you don't have a password set on your PC login. Took me half a day to figure that one out!
I'm able to print using my wife's ipad and from my Samsung tablet using ePrint. Again, setup was easy.
Very happy with this purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color MFP M475dn
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Printer does the job

PostedMarch 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Rockland Co. NY
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Once unboxed and setup this printer worked as described. Packaging could have been better.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color MFP M475dn
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor, poor software

PostedMarch 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Fort Morgan, CO
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The printer may be a good printer based upon the little bit that I have used it. Out of the box, the instructions said to plug it in and the software would install. It didn't. I tried the disk. It didn't install either. I have had software problems in the past with HP printers, but I have stuck with them. This software is horrible and I can't make it work. Without the software, the printer is basically junk.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color MFP M475dn
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not Recommended

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Bakersfield, CA
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Since purchasing this product in 2011, we have had continued issues. We are always having to send it to our tech services to get fixed. We don't abuse it or overuse it at all. Also, I don't like having to purchase the ink/toner from only HP. I prefer using the general office stores (i.e. Office Max, Office Depot, etc.)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color MFP M475dn
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

PostedJanuary 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Lamar, CO
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have the m475dn connected to a wireless bridge that connects a small network of Linux and Windows machines. Setup was very easy over the network once I set up the IP address of the printer. Printing is great as expected, I haven't tried the fax yet (incoming or outgoing) but the scanner works wonderful over the network as well. The only catch I ran into was that I had to have the latest version of HPLIP (the HP Linux driver) which is 3.12.11.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color MFP M475dn
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product - Easy install and setup

PostedDecember 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:SLC, Utah
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I benefited greatly from another purchaser's review in how he installed and hooked up the printer to a port on his wireless router. I did the same and the installation and setup was easy. The printer can how be used wirelessly as my wife can print from her laptop (after going to the HP site and installing the appropriate printer driver of course). Great printer and good installation experience - hard to beat that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color MFP M475dn
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Everything works fine, just a little noisy.

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Sandy, UT
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All functions work fine and seems to be a good product. Just a little disappointed in the noise level of the machine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color MFP M475dn
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just What I Wanted...and More!

PostedDecember 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Boston, MA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great product! Chose the duplex model because it was not much more expensive, and have already utilized the features many times. So far, this product has met (and exceeded) expectations, but I've only had it for a week. One small annoyance is the cleaning cycle it goes into automatically. We'll see how this impacts production-style printing. But, it was easy to setup and start using. Glad we made the purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color MFP M475dn
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great small office machine!

PostedNovember 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Hawaii
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice features, super fast shipping. Easy set up. Bottom paper feed tray is a bit flimsy, doesn't feel "attached" in any way. Overall very solid machine for a competitive price, lots of features and easy to integrate for networking and wireless.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color MFP M475dn
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent and affordable laser multifunction

PostedNovember 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A great multifunction laser printer for our small office. Print, fax and scanning at a much faster rate than the prior OfficeJet. Set up was simple and was able to link it to the network without any trouble. Scanned first document today and it was precise and fast - not to mention easier than the prior machine. Very pleased with this purchase so far. Shipping and price on HP.com was outstanding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color MFP M475dn
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedAugust 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Newark, CA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I needed to replace my HP 4100 which has lasted for 15 years. I also was using a flat bed single sheet scanner, an Epson R260 for color, and an HP920 fax. Needed to upgrade and performed due diligence search for a replacement that would combined everything into one single unit and save space. I finally settled on this unit with the understanding I could return it in 21 days if not satisfied. Well I am really satisfied! The speed and clarity of the print exceeded my 4100 and the color exceeded the R260. Scanner allows for multi page processing thereby increase production. The setup was a breeze; no problems. I have the 400 contacted via a network and again very easy to setup. I have a small business and it completes as well as improves office flow. I would recommend this printer without reservation. I only hope that it lasts as long as the 4100. BTW, toner is not cheap; full replacement will run you over $400.00, but the free next day shipping is a plus form HP.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color MFP M475dn
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent features. HP reputation.

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this to replace an all-in-one from Costco. I was cringing a little because it was quite a bit more expensive than the one from Costco but when you look at the features (duplex printing AND scanning, etc.), it was worth it. Plus you add the reliability of HP products and it becomes a "no-brainer". Love this printer!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color MFP M475dn
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

after 5 days, everything is okay!

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Wichita, KS
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
No problems in 5 days of use. Seems to do everything it's supposed to do.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color MFP M475dn
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Prints better than our $3,000 IBM Color Laser

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Tampa, FL
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This printer is very high quality. The driver setup is especially excellent - no need to do anything beyond plugging it into a USB port or into a network. Printing speeds are very good, especially the first page after awaking.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color MFP M475dn
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Printer

PostedJune 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Linton, IN
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Got this printer about a week ago. The printer part worked good. The scanner part liked a lot to be desired, had streaks in the scan & copies. Went to the HP web site and they had a firmware update. I down loaded & installed it & that took care of everthing. Now the scans, copies & prints could not be any better. One of the best printers I have had. Everything you would expect from HP.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP LaserJet Pro 400 color MFP M475dn
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Overall, very good

PostedMay 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Irvine, CA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got this printer after doing some (not a lot) research and found this to be fitting all my needs, copy, scan, print and fax. The setup and installation was very easy, and I needed no help to connect it to all devices at home.
Note that this is a network printer not a wireless printer. However, it can be connected wirelessly if hardwired to a wireless network router- which is exactly what I did. (There are other peripherals that can make this wireless if you do not have the means to make a hardwire connection to the wireless router.) Following the instructions that came with it, I was able to connect this machine to all computers and wireless devices on the home network (including, iphones, ipad etc).
PRINT: Print quality is very good. I compared it to the much more expensive color laser printers (such as Minolta) and found the difference to be non-existent. Speed is as advertised for one-sided copy, two-sided is much slower (less than 1/2 the speed) but I willing to live with it.
COPY: Very good and I love the two-sided feature.
FAX: You can fax it from PC or directly from the machine. I tried both and they work well.
SCAN: Works, but this is slow in DUPLEX mode. I am disappointed with the SCAN speed, when compared to Fujitsu and Epson that scan with the speed of light. I will get one of those to remove the paper clutter from my home office.
WIth all the hidden discounts and incentives, this printer was not as expensive as the sticker price is, and that helped justify this investment.
The cartridges are *EXPENSIVE*. Do not plan to use non-HP cartridges, but they will cost real dough to replace the set of 4 2600 copy duty cartridges. The ones that come with it have half the life.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.