HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Laserjet or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP LaserJet Pro CM1415fnw Color Multifunction Printer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP LaserJet Pro CM1415fnw Color Multifunction Printer

HP LaserJet Pro CM1415fnw Color Multifunction Printer
Overall rating:
3.991 / 5
4
 / 
5
(108 reviews) 108
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 108 reviews
5 Stars
57
4 Stars
22
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
9
1 Star
10
81 out of 108(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP LaserJet Pro CM1415fnw Color Multifunction Printer
Review 1 for HP LaserJet Pro CM1415fnw Color Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this machine

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Iowa
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the third one we have purchased for our home office, and two daughters. It does everything we need perfectly: copy, print, scan, fax. The results look great. I can even e-print documents and photos from my phone. Why would anyone buy anything else?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP LaserJet Pro CM1415fnw Color Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

cool factor

PostedJanuary 16, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:chicago Il
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
so far only had it a few weeks, works well with my home net work, and the wireless works perfect, not one problem. and set up; for me was easy.
it is also a wow factor for my friends to see both pc & printer are touch screen plus wireless. eprint is pretty cool as-well. thanks hp. for making good stuff
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP LaserJet Pro CM1415fnw Color Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Better Than Expected

PostedOctober 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Utah
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my first laser printer. Even it is slower than the more expensive models, it is plenty fast for home use. My only gripe is having to scan to a USB port. Even my previous HP 6100c could scan wirelessly to a computer. Everything else is so nice that I can overlook that inconvenience.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP LaserJet Pro CM1415fnw Color Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not meet my expectations

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Lafayette, IN
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The copier is slow and not made for an office of 3 people. We've replaced it 4 times under warranties in 1 1/2 years. The feeder at the top keeps breaking. It frequently needs to stop in the middle of copying to clean. We do make about 1500 copies a month, which is the maximum recommended rate. I won't be buying this printer again. I don't know if I'll use HP again, however, the customer service was helpful.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP LaserJet Pro CM1415fnw Color Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everything it's cracked up to be!

PostedSeptember 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm loving the crisp edges to everything I print as well as scan and copy! Too bad I didn't have this last year for the graphics that I ran!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP LaserJet Pro CM1415fnw Color Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far so good

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Honolulu
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I just bought this unit and it hasn't been a month yet. So far the all in one is great. It is a bit slow but compared to other machines, but you cannot beat the color reproduction. I spent a long time in an office store and found a very colorful piece of printed paper to copy. The difference was clearly noticeable. Only problem I can see is the prices of the toner and why all colors are used for black and white printing and copying. I do not know if all printers do this but I can see this getting very expensive. For that reason I still have a mono laser printer for black and white printing, but I still have to use the all in one for copying.
Like I said I haven't had this all in one for that long so maybe the cost will not be so bad. I'll have to wait and see
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP LaserJet Pro CM1415fnw Color Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product meets my expectation.

PostedSeptember 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:CA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The features matches most of my requirements.
My only frustation is that the HP EPP price is higher than that of Fry's Electronics.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP LaserJet Pro CM1415fnw Color Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Scanning Is a Pain

PostedAugust 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:U.S.
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Product works well overall however I do not like the scanning functionality. Scanning requires placing the documents in the feeder and then returning to your computer and launching the scanning application and pressing a button to activate the scanning. You then need to return to the device and retrieve your materials. Other manufacturers have the ability to start scanning from the device and send directly to a specific computer saving a return walk from your desk to retrieve scanned docs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP LaserJet Pro CM1415fnw Color Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for home office

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Maryland
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice printer/scanner/copier/fax with automatic document feeder.
Only dissappointment is that the fax menu on the printer control panel does not have a clear way to attempt to resend 'now' when have a failed transmission. Menu caused me to cancel send when trying to resend now. Using VOIP and faxing does not seem to be compatible. Not the printer's fault and you should verify with your VOIP that they are fax compatible. Many are not.
Has separate toner for each color as normal for color laser jets. Inital cost obvioulsy more than comparable ink jets, but we use the printer and especially color so infrequently that ink jet cartridges always dried and failed after having only printed a few pages over time. Laser jet printers do not have this issue, so long term is much less expensive.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP LaserJet Pro CM1415fnw Color Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Never Be Disappointed Again

PostedAugust 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Hayfork, CA
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have only owned HP printers and have never been disappointed in the performance or quality. I chose this particular printer for its features. The Eprint feature is a bonus. The color quality is amazing. I am very pleased with my purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP LaserJet Pro CM1415fnw Color Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Still love it after more than a year

PostedAugust 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Oregon
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have now had this product for more than a year after buying it somewhat hesitantly after reading some negative reviews on here (at the time it only had a 3 start review.) However the price was right and I had to upgrade from my HP LaserJet 1100 (after 10 years of service, it's still going strong in my church office connected via parallel) because of a lack of a parallel port on new machines and router and OS drivers. I use it for home and as a homeschooler I feel that I print a great deal more than the average home user. It took me longer to get it out of the box than it did for me to set up. The calibration takes a bit, but it found my wireless network very quickly and I LOVE airprint (just wish I had more print options on that menu, but hey it is only my cell.) The trial cartridges that came with the machine lasted about 6 months which I thought was awesome. I would say I print roughly 8-9 double sided pages a day. The manual duplex has been great once I figured out that you have to rotate the pages when printing PDF files (there's prolly a setting somewhere to prevent this but that works for me, and I just couldn't bear the additional $$ for auto duplex at the time.) The color has been crisp and print quality excellent. One time when printing on cardstock I didn't change the paper type and had one incident of flaking but my paper was old so may have been a moisture issue as well. Other than that quality has been top notch. I highly suggest ordering toner through HP, I always get a discount and most times an additional $10 off with next day ship for less than I've found anywhere. They also have a great recycling program for the used cartridges. Speaking of toner, you can adjust the low-ink setting on this machine to just keep printing even when it thinks it's out and/or print all black. Most other brands I compared did not have this feature and I HATE when a machine decides it's out of ink (when of course it's not) and refuses to print any further. This thing will keep printing until it's bone dry and the pages are faded. I'm cheap with toner....
Last fall there was a firmware update that caused some issue (my machines had difficulty locating the printer a couple times and necessitated re-installing) but haven't had the issue in about 9 mo. In the year and 5 mo I've had it I've gone through one full black cartridge and installed full cartridges to replace the trial ones on the color (they're down about 1/4). I don't feel that this machine is an ink hog as suggested by some reviews. I've printed labels, envelopes, heavy cardstock all with no problems. I've printed transparencies on the related printer at church with great results so I'd say this would do that as well. I can't count the number of times I've had comments on how great my printed items look (odd as it is to comment on the color and quality of someone's spreadsheet but it's definitely noticeable.) Also the toner doesn't run. I'm a Girl Scout leader and print out our cookie tally forms for booth sales. These have been rained on, snowed on, um even sleeted once and never did the toner or colors run. I love to laminate stuff as well and they look great and color-true after heat lamination.
I'm particularly confused by the negative reviews that talk about the slowness of the machine. The PPM is listed on the specs page....and honestly I think it's faster than listed. I think these people purchase this expecting a $2000 office machine, and sorry guys you're not getting that for something priced this reasonably. I work on a laptop and by the time I get up from where I'm working the page has almost always been waiting for me. Occasionally it will calibrate, always a pain because of course it decides to do it when you're in a hurry but I chalk that up to Murphy's Law and no fault of the printer. I do leave it on all the time and allow it to hibernate for power save so that may cut down on the calibration, etc.
The copier feed works as expected and copies generally turn out nice and straight. I use the scanner tons to convert to PDF on my USB. Have had no issues at all with the USB functionality. You can even adjust the scan resolution and file type. Have printed from USB once of twice.
Overall I loved this so much that when my church needed to replace it's elderly copier I came to HP looking for their beefier versions of this and got the one with auto duplex and a 250 sheet tray. That one has been great as well!
Get this, you won't be sorry unless you have unrealistic expectations of a $400 printer and expect it to perform like a $2000 one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP LaserJet Pro CM1415fnw Color Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor performance!

PostedAugust 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Westford, MA
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very, very slow. Will have to return.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP LaserJet Pro CM1415fnw Color Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Printer

PostedAugust 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Northport, AL
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I needed a printer for our home based business that prints labels through Ebay. We had been using an Inkjet. After talking to one of the HP representatives, I was able to make the right selection for my needs. The printer exceeded my expectations.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP LaserJet Pro CM1415fnw Color Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Satisfied with this product

PostedAugust 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Lebanon, PA
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our old HP, which was about 10 years old, needed replaced. So this is an upgrade for us. Works great and much faster than our old one! Love the scanner and all the features! Very pleased with this purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP LaserJet Pro CM1415fnw Color Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Dissapointing

PostedAugust 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I bought this printer after a recommendation from a friend in IT; now after using if for a couple of weeks I must say I'm disappointed.
To be fair the printer does have some nice features which work well. The initial set up was a breeze, it connected to my wireless network quickly and the software installed on all my computers easily, and has so far performed as it should. Documents and photos that were scanned came through with accurate colors and good clarity. I was impressed with the quality of the printing, colors were vibrant and lines were crisp.
There are many areas where this printer falls short unfortunately. The first is that it is very slow. Somewhere there is an engineer deep within the bowels of HP who dis-likes people who bought this product. The printer goes through a "calibration" regiment very frequently and it takes several minutes; not something I care to suffer through when I'm in a hurry to print my document. I did find a menu hidden in the settings pages that allows you to decrease this frequency from every 15 minutes, which is quite frankly ridiculous, to every hour or never. Even with this set to never it does still calibrate occasionally so that's somewhat misleading. The printing itself, while nice in the end, is very slow. If you are looking for a printer with high ppm look elsewhere. This is meant for the home or home office environment and will not be fast enough to satisfy an office full of people. All of the above problems are something that I could live with, but this device will not receive a fax under any conditions. While there are menus that claim they can detect distinctive ring service, which I have for faxes, this is a lie. No matter what answer mode you set the machine to and what distinctive ring you tell it you have it will not answer the call under any conditions. I found and followed HP's guide to solving fax send/receive problems but to no avail. I need a working fax machine to run my business and this muli-function machine has a main component that doesn't work. So I will be returning this printer and buying something functional.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP LaserJet Pro CM1415fnw Color Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good

PostedAugust 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Wilkesboro, NC
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Just recieved printer, takes a little time getting setup, but ok.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP LaserJet Pro CM1415fnw Color Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works as expected

PostedJuly 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Louisiana
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have a small printing business and this printer is great for color prints for my customers. The color is excellent and the cost per copy is reasonable. I would recommend to anyone!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP LaserJet Pro CM1415fnw Color Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Does not print on both sides

PostedJuly 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I could not believe that the double side print function will not work. Now I have to turn the pages every time I want to print front and back. My new business requires that I make lots of booklets. No feature all will have to me manual. I am thinking of returning this printer. It is very slow to print.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP LaserJet Pro CM1415fnw Color Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not bad, could be better...

PostedJune 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Phila, PA
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Great design, great features etc... I just don't understand why the first page out speed is so slow and why all of the self cleaning. Its like they had this great idea and then were told that they ran out of money and had to use a print engine from a ten year old laser jet. Great value overall, just seems to be using old technology with regards to first page out. Most times at home you are only printing a page or two. I would however recommend this unit and am hoping for newwer model soon that is more robust.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP LaserJet Pro CM1415fnw Color Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for the Home Office

PostedJune 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So far it is a work horse. I was able to eliminate the 15 year old fax machine with a scanner, printer, copier and fax all in one. So far, so good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.