HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Laserjet or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP LaserJet Pro M1217nfw Multifunction Printer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP LaserJet Pro M1217nfw Multifunction Printer

HP LaserJet Pro M1217nfw Multifunction Printer
Overall rating:
4.043 / 5
4
 / 
5
(93 reviews) 93
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 93 reviews
5 Stars
40
4 Stars
29
3 Stars
16
2 Stars
4
1 Star
4
73 out of 93(78%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP LaserJet Pro M1217nfw Multifunction Printer
Review 1 for HP LaserJet Pro M1217nfw Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Out Of Box

PostedDecember 21, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Installation was nearly automatic; I merely had to power up the printer after connecting it. Flawless, and a breeze to use too.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP LaserJet Pro M1217nfw Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great printer for the cost

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Billerica, MA
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
This is a great printer given the features although like everything else there are a couple things that I wish it had, for example scanning can only be done from the flatbed, the feeder is for faxing, either that or I haven't figured that out yet. In general however, it's great, hooked up to network easily and able to print remotely (phone, off site) without a hitch. It's fast, quiet and very capable and for the features and quality can't beat the price more so considering the low cost per page from my experience so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP LaserJet Pro M1217nfw Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

THIS PRODUCT WORKS GREAT.

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Dunnellon, FL
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I made a mistake when I purchased this product as I did not realize it only printed in black. However, I had another HP printer that did print in black and color. I had a serviceman install both printers and everything should work out OK. I do wish that a user manual had been included with the purchases. I had trouble discovering how to copy and how to enlarge or shrink. I plan on writing HP for user manuals if they exist.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP LaserJet Pro M1217nfw Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP products are the best!

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Prescott Lakes, AZ
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have not had a chance to use all the futures of this printer. However, if they work as well as my last HP Laser Printer that lasted eight years I will give this M1217 Laser Printer 3 GOLD STARS.
It would be very helpful if a pictorial page with the icons of the M1217 were listed specifically in the contents.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP LaserJet Pro M1217nfw Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good, but tricky to modify settings

PostedOctober 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
All of the print and scan features work nicely as expected. The only issue I've had is that at one point I needed to change my wireless password, because I'd reconfigured my router, and the software that comes with the printer is heavily geared toward just the one initial installation. It took a fair amount of digging to figure out how to make this simple configuration change without over-installing the drivers and such.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP LaserJet Pro M1217nfw Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

High ink cost

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:NJ
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Machine is great, but ink cartridge is way below expected usage. Have gone through 4 cartridges in the time I went through one on my old machine and the cost of the cartridge although cheaper is still higher than my old HP.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP LaserJet Pro M1217nfw Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value for your money

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Oregon
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It is a basic printer - analogous to those point-and-shoot cameras - no fancy features but does what you want it to do. I needed it for my graduate studies and it does everything I purchased it for. The B&W printing is clear and scanning (upto 600 dpi) is without blurs. I don't need to use the Fax feature and hence cannot comment on that. All my laptops run Windows and the printer setup was without any problems. The printer comes with a test cartridge as well. On the whole, I highly recommend this printer for college students
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP LaserJet Pro M1217nfw Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Disappointed

PostedJuly 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Columbia, MD
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this multifunction laser printer to hopefully replace a similar product I had from another company - the other printer was inkjet and there were constant problems with the ink supply/use. Unfortunately, except for the laser print function, it has been a disappointment. Besides printing, I wanted a good scanner, but this one is not. It is very cumbersome to use - even with a desktop icon - it requires multiple steps n order to use and the scan quality is very poor. Also, when trying to scan multiple pages, even after multiple tries, only one page is visible. Save your money and don't buy this, except to use as a laser printer!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP LaserJet Pro M1217nfw Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This product lacks quite a few useful features.

PostedJune 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Naples, Florida
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have to say that this product has quite a few shortcomings.
1- The literature is poor and practically useless
2- The installation manual - installing the product on the home network- is not very clear on how to do it. I had to call technical support to take me through the different convoluted steps to finally get a working environment. IT TOOK 30 MINUTES !!!
3- NO ENVELOPES carrier. It is quite ridiculous to have to remove the paper from the tray in order to be able to print an envelope. !
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP LaserJet Pro M1217nfw Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very workable for small office

PostedMay 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
The product is very good for small office. One would anticipate that the “setup” for the printer would be comparatively easy, however, having gone through the “help desk” on two–three occasions I had problems setting up the computer. I finally went to an independent tech support and they were able to guide me through the setup, which really is pretty easy, and then things settle down. In using tech support, it's difficult to communicate with them at times because they are either using a headset or there's simply a lot of background noise. Further, there seems to be a tremendous difference between the technical skills of one check from another.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP LaserJet Pro M1217nfw Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far so good....

PostedApril 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Tahoe city, CA
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Seems to be working great. Big issue for me was that no one told us that it wasn't especially compatible, in terms of no software (!!) for Apple mountain lion 10.8.3. So installation was unwieldy, no disk, wireless funky and couldn't really be accomplished without the long help (which was fabulous) from tech support.
Am thrilled to finally be able to print from my iPad, laptop, and desktop. Quality of the printing seems great. I would recommend, but with reservations for latest version of mountain lion users.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP LaserJet Pro M1217nfw Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love the features this product offers.

PostedApril 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been purchasing HP products for years and I'm always satisfied. It just keeps getting better.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP LaserJet Pro M1217nfw Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product is a disaster

PostedApril 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
In the last 3 months my first m1217 failed after 13 months, I bought a new one which stopped copying and scanning after 2 months. The warranty replacement from HP was nowt new but refurbished. Now I am finding that the scanning function doesn't work with OS 10/8. It worked for some unknown reason with the first and second printers but now will not work with HP director and is not recognized by Image capture. So although this is advertised as multifunction, if you have a Mac with the latest software there is no scanning function.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP LaserJet Pro M1217nfw Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Product is good, but setup has issues.

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Marion County, AR
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
I like the look and printing of this machine. But I have run into problems with the scan freature retaining default settings and receiving faxes. It may be that I have not been able to find the right place to put the settings in, so part of this may be my fault. I had hoped it would be a simple matter of filling in the blanks to set up scan and fax, but that has not been the case.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP LaserJet Pro M1217nfw Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value Laser Printer

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Round Rock, TX
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall, this printer exhibits great value. Remember, this is a B&W Laser, while not at a low price point, it's at a pretty low price point so that it's not in the "Enterprise" level laser printer series.
- The printer looks sleek, however, the use of plastic everywhere and the type of plastic render an appearance that isn't of the highest quality from a craftsmanship perspective. But remember...this is a value printer, so I am happy with what I'm getting for what I payed.
- The wireless setup was not as straightforward out of the box. The documentation is not very easy to understand. I had to go online and use some message boards to find out how to piece everything together. A firmware upgrade was recommended to get everything working properly, and that process, while it was a little straightforward, could easily baffle or confuse a novice user, especially when the firmware is being applied and the screen looks stuck "updating" forever (past the progress bar on the machine you are applying the firmware from). Ok, back to perspective. When I looked at the hurdles I had setting this up, most of the problems were root caused to my home router. Would recommend beefing up the troubleshooting content wherever possible to help assist.
- ePrint is a cool feature and it works very well with this printer. This feature alone is a really great perk. Send a document to an email address, and BAM! it prints on your printer! Very nice!
- Was a little bummed that the printer control app offered for the iphone doesn't work with this printer.
- When executing the scan feature, highly recommend that you setup a profile that is very direct and doesn't launch the TWAIN app. The scan process is much quicker that way. Otherwise, you have to run what appears to be a bloated app (I have a dual core proc!) that makes the scanning process...painful. Using a streamlined profile makes this process very palatable.
I hope this review was helpful. Good Luck! Recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP LaserJet Pro M1217nfw Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

PostedJanuary 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Kansas
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product exceded my expectations. Setup was very easy. I had it up and running on a wired network with a wireless access point in about 15 minuites. Works great on 4 PC's and my 2 wireless laptops.
All functions work great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP LaserJet Pro M1217nfw Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Printer, Easy to Install, Many Features!

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Michigan
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this printer for my home office and have no regrets in the three weeks I have used it. Good print quality and it is faster than I had expected. I really like the small footprint of the printer. Unlike other reviews, it only took 15 minutes to set up the printer including wireless. It was very easy to set up the other laptop devices in my house to wirelessly print/scan. Just enter the IP address and download the driver/software. I have scanned documents (including legal size thru the ADF) and was pleasantly surprised that the software allows you to review and accept the image prior to saving. I guess this is why there is no scan button on the actual printer itself. No issues with the auto documents feeder. I considered the Office Jet all in one series (6800) printers but was deterred by a perceived higher cost of ink and limited time I needed color documents. The standard ink cartage is rated for 1,600 pages. Lastly, I like the power stand by as my family never turns stuff off. If you want feature rich inexpensive all-in-one B&W laser for home or small office this one is for you.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP LaserJet Pro M1217nfw Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Difficult to install

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Cleveland, Ohio
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Our unit did not properly install and work, even using USB connection and not wireless. There were too many changes in our network settings to use via wireless or ethernet. The USB installation did not work and took our IT department almost 1 hour to properly install. He had to uninstall twice and reinstall and this did not work until the third try.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP LaserJet Pro M1217nfw Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

so far a very nice product

PostedSeptember 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very easy to setup and get going , looks to be a decent product.
one downside is , i need it to work at both 110volt is US and 230volt in Europe , the spec and paper work says it can be connected to either voltage but the details on the back of the M1217nfw states 110 to 127 volts which will be a bit deconcerting when i need to plug it into 230volts. rgds
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP LaserJet Pro M1217nfw Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This printer does its job well.

PostedAugust 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This printer does its job well. Printing, faxing and scanning is done quite easily. It works either wirelessly or plugged in to the network. It would be even nicer if you could use both the ethernet connection and the wireless at the same time.
It took around 5 minutes or so to connect it to my network. I haven't tried printing to it from my smart phone or tablet yet.
Overall very good 3 in 1 printer to have for your home or small home office.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.