HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Laserjet or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP LaserJet Pro M1212nf Multifunction Printer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP LaserJet Pro M1212nf Multifunction Printer

HP LaserJet Pro M1212nf Multifunction Printer
Overall rating:
3.93 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(86 reviews) 85
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 86 reviews
5 Stars
40
4 Stars
21
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
5
1 Star
8
62 out of 86(72%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP LaserJet Pro M1212nf Multifunction Printer
Review 1 for HP LaserJet Pro M1212nf Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Printer

PostedFebruary 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Birmingham, Al.
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a "Great" printer. I've had several other HP printers, but decided to go with this laser printer this time.
It is so nice to print something and not have to wait forever. Its super fast !
Had a problem getting the scan feature to work, but called HP Tech Support and they walked me through it, and "Bam" it was fixed.
So if you're looking for a great printer and a company who backs up there product with "Excellent' customer service, look NO MORE ! ! !
HP is the place to go. They are the "BOMB" ! !
PS
I ordered the printer on a Friday and received it on Saturday ( the day after I ordered it ) To say the least I was IMPRESSED !!!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP LaserJet Pro M1212nf Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

do not buy this product if you want wifi

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
very little info on setup. they do not tell you that you need an ethernet cable to make the eprint work. No info on eprint in the written info. Not a WiFi enabled product!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP LaserJet Pro M1212nf Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I love this printer

PostedNovember 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New York
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
It is just what I need. No fancy bells and whistles, but it does exactly what I want it to do and is easy to use. The only thing that holds back the 5th star-of-excellence is that it doesn't do well printing sheets of labels. If you use a small sheet of file folder labels, chances are that one of those labels will come off and stick inside the machine, The printing instructions do state that you should not use a partial sheet of labels or a sheet that has spaces between the labels. I learned that the hard way and I won't do it again, but I definitely would recommend this printer for home use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP LaserJet Pro M1212nf Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

M1212nf The price was right

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Colorado
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The printer is fast with many more features than anticipated. Set up disk did not include Windows XP confifurations, I needed to download set up from the HP web site which was a simple process.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP LaserJet Pro M1212nf Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect printer

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Canton, OH
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this printer. It prints cleanly; the scanner scans very clearly and the copier part is crisp and clean as well. I would definitely recommend this printer.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP LaserJet Pro M1212nf Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Yes, buy this one!

PostedJuly 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Olympia, WA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have own several HP printers starting in the early 1990's. This is the best one yet. Do you really need a color printer? Really? Not me, I hated constant ink jet running low and I was only doing black. I say that's where they make the money is selling replacements. Not any more with this printer. It is just like the business office's use a black power cartridge. Some have said it uses a lot of power. Then go to the settings and adjust the level of printing you need. I did that and it still print great copy's. I can believe you need it any better. Bottom line here for a home office or just pain home use it great copy's with fax, scanning, any copy machine included. This covers 99% of my needs. If I should want a color copy, photo I will put it on a thumb drive and take it to Costco or any photo place. Buy this one!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP LaserJet Pro M1212nf Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A good machine for black and white light office

PostedJuly 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Works fine, was easy to set up. Prints good quality quickly enough for me. Pleasant surprise is that the scanning is so quiet. The scanner controlling software is pretty simple. Have used for about one month, we'll see how it holds up and how efficient it is with cartridge refills.
It's so hard to figure out the perfect purchase, but I'm pretty sure this one is close to as good as it gets for affordability and quality for light office use for black and white printing, copying, and scanning. I don't need a fax, because I have an on-line fax service or I just e-mail a scanned attachment.
One quirk: it took me forever to figure out which button to push to make a copy. It's the button below the red 'x'.
haven't figured out how to make the scanned filed type default to pdf
Wish it:
had a separate feed for envelopes (have to swap out the regular size paper to print envelopes)
came in a color other than heavy black
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP LaserJet Pro M1212nf Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Print is good, but fax is difficult to use

PostedMay 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Smyrna, GA
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The manual envelope feed requires too many steps. I didn't have to push an ok button on my last 3 in 1 in order to print an envelope. The numeric pad is too small, and the pad folds down if pushed too hard when punching the numbers. The toolbox is only on the console and not on the computer as well, making it difficult to fax easily or to move through all of the options. The window to read the toolbox options is not lit up, the writing is small, and it is extremely difficult to use it or to read it without a magnifying glass.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP LaserJet Pro M1212nf Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Fax, printer great, scanner not compatible

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Milwaukee, WI
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The fax and printer function are great. The scanner is not compatible with Windows 7 and I had to do some searching to figure out a way to scan from this machine so I did not have to send it back. I found a round about way to be able to scan to save in a j.peg file and scan to "paint". It is a pain and many extra steps need to be taken to scan than should be necessary. Keep this in mind when thinking about purchasing this product. If I am having difficulty with Windows 7, I am quite sure I will not be able to use this if I wanted to upgrade to Windows 10.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP LaserJet Pro M1212nf Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

ADF Motor is loud

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This unit works well, and performs fairly well, works well with Mac if you a Mac's built in programs or scanning into Acrobat. However, the motor of the ADF (document feeder) is very loud and cheap in comparison to my previous HP AIO unt. Trying to find a different model with a much quieter motor.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP LaserJet Pro M1212nf Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice printer, bad Mac support for scanning

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This printer looks like a nearly perfect solution for home business, except for one thing. It does not support the native Mac OSX scanning features, instead providing a barbarous HP scanning software relic from the mid 1990s. If you want a scanning experience that Steve Jobs played a hand in, you may wish to look elsewhere.
It is surprising since HP scanning software is well integrated on OSX for the cheaper inkjet machines.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP LaserJet Pro M1212nf Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Quality Print - Poor Life

PostedDecember 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Kansas City USA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good quality print but have had problems with the copy feature whenever using the automatic document feeder (ADF). The ADF worked great for both copying and for faxing for approximately thirteen months. Then, it started producing a vertical black line, about 2” in from the right margin, on all copies and faxes. Scanning directly from the glass, without using the ADF, however, produces clean copies and faxes. Because of this, it appears that the problem is internal to the ADF unit. Unfortunately this particular printer is now out of warranty and there is no helpful information or suggestions forthcoming from HP. My suggestion is that you either consider this printer a short-term investment or look elsewhere for a better product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP LaserJet Pro M1212nf Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very happy with printer

PostedDecember 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I replaced an old Laserjet 1022 that was still working great. But I had trouble with the drivers and so on--also wanted copy, fax, scan. So far I'm very happy with the new model.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP LaserJet Pro M1212nf Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple LaserJet

PostedDecember 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works well with Windows 7
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP LaserJet Pro M1212nf Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great MFP

PostedDecember 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Antonio, TX
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great MFP and has done every task without a single problem.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP LaserJet Pro M1212nf Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is the perfect size

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For a laser multifunction printer, it does the job. Compact and fast. Easy to setup, especially the ePrint/Airprint feature. My wife was printing from her IPhone 5 in a matter of minutes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP LaserJet Pro M1212nf Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Product dont have the great keypad

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The product is good. but the keypad for dialing is very small and its on the side. Very difficult to see the numbers and dial a number.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP LaserJet Pro M1212nf Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Works good...problematic scanning with a Mac

PostedDecember 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Maryland.
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Prints great with Mac and the airport express. So much better than an inkjet. Only issue is scanning with a Mac. Mac software will not support the scan function, only option to scan is to use the HP scan software that can be quite temperamental. I had to spend an hour on the phone with technical support to make it work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP LaserJet Pro M1212nf Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great copier

PostedSeptember 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Camp Verde, Az
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have only had this copier for two weeks but so far it is great for everything we need. The only problem I can see so far is the name and model number sticker on the front of the copier are upside down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP LaserJet Pro M1212nf Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I would NOT recommend this product to anyone!

PostedSeptember 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Very poor instructions, no tech support. This is a very basic model printer for school age kids, otherwise I would not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.