HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Laserjet or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP LaserJet Pro P1102w Printer

hp HP LaserJet Pro P1102w Printer

HP LaserJet Pro P1102w Printer
Overall rating:
4.104 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(307 reviews) 307
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 307 reviews
5 Stars
184
4 Stars
55
3 Stars
18
2 Stars
16
1 Star
34
248 out of 307(81%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP LaserJet Pro P1102w Printer
Review 1 for HP LaserJet Pro P1102w Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

prints everything wrong

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:san jose,ca
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
From email everything is to small
From quickbooks checks are to large
from Fedx shipping everything is to small
shrink to fit does NOT work on anything
actual size does NOT wotk on anything
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP LaserJet Pro P1102w Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not as specified

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
We bought this printer because it was advertised by HP as being compatible with AirPrint. It turns out that this printer will not work with AirPrint out of the box. So, this was money down the drain.
It's HP, I should have learned by now.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP LaserJet Pro P1102w Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad product

PostedAugust 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Sweden
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Extremely plastic. Comes with toner that runs out immediately. Only works with USB. Wireless cannot be configured not from CD or from Printer directly. Worked once but not anymore.. Manual is bad, gives no help or guidence what so ever. Really bad programming work. HP printers do not stand for quality anymore.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP LaserJet Pro P1102w Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wireless doesn't work with Mac 7.5

PostedApril 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Stop advertising this product as compatible with Mac. The HP LaserJet P1102w wireless function simply is not compatible with Mac OS X 7.5. Don’t bother. Buy something else. I’ve tried every possible fix I could find on HP forums and elsewhere, then returned the printer and tried it all over again on a new one. It doesn’t work. Don’t buy this printer for wireless use with a Mac.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP LaserJet Pro P1102w Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor performance

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Brooklyn, Ny
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Didn't work with my I-pad. temperamental. Print document was sent to printer and document didn't
print. If id did print only partial document printed and a delay in printing. It was disappointing.
I would like to hear from HP why this occurred.
Response from HPBy HPCustomer serviceMarch 21, 2013
For troubleshooting information that might resolve your printing issue, please visit the following location:

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/documentSubCategory?tmp_rule=46486&tmp_task=solveCategory&cc=us&dlc=en&lc=en&product=4110396

If that information doesn't resolve your issue there are several ways to contact HP for further troubleshooting, please visit the following location:

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/contacthp?cc=us&dlc=en&lc=en&product=4110396

Thank you
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP LaserJet Pro P1102w Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does NOT work with Apple OS X 10.8.2

PostedMarch 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I bought this printer last year 2012 and it works OK with my daughter's 5 year old Toshiba laptop. It does Not however work with any of my Apple Macbook Pro laptops. I have it connected with a USB since it would not work wirelessly but it says printer off line and will not print. I downloaded the latest software via the HP website. I recently upgraded my Apple software but it did not work with OS X 10.6.2 either. Once my daughter's computer dies I will not be able to use this printer as I am not replacing her computer.
Response from HPBy HPCustomer serviceMarch 18, 2013
Your operating system is supported with your LaserJet P1102w printer. For troubleshooting information or to contact an HP representative that might be able to help you resolve the issue, please visit:

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/product?product=4110396&lc=en&cc=us&dlc=en

Thank you
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP LaserJet Pro P1102w Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Hate this printer.

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Upstate NY
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
No matter what I try, no matter what I do I cannot get an ugly gray background to stop printing on all documents. There is so much gray on envelopes you can see the outline of the flaps and folds on the front of the envelope. My pure white letterhead looks like dirty laundry when it goes through this printer. I have followed every troubleshooting idea on the web and in the manual and nothing works. I would love to throw this printer in the trash but I work for a small non-profit and we can't afford to. So all of our printing is going out looking terrible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP LaserJet Pro P1102w Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

USB will not work with Mountain Lion

PostedOctober 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Minnesota
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Really liked this printer until i switched from a pc to a MacBook Pro running Mountain Lion. The software has not been updated to print via the USB port. Since I can't use a wireless connection the printer is pretty much useless. Since this printer is prominently advertised by HP you would think they would provide an updated driver that would allow printing via USB on this popular printer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP LaserJet Pro P1102w Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not yet compatible with latest Mac OS

PostedSeptember 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I wish they would have been clear that this printer is not yet compatible with Mac OS 10.8.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP LaserJet Pro P1102w Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product seldom works

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Hingham, MA
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have now had this printer a few months. An identical one had been sent back when it functioned poorly during the first week. This is the replacement. It more often than not will not print. When it does, we will have wasted a great deal of time in getting it to work. This is a professional office so time is valuable. It is hard to believe this is one of your best sellers. I have been using HP printers for 25 years and was always a big fan. This one however is a very great disappointment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP LaserJet Pro P1102w Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Good printer

PostedJune 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this printer to replace an ink printer, I think I made a good choice, I like the printer, speed and everything however the toner that came with it was deffective.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP LaserJet Pro P1102w Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

LaserJet P1102w - a mythical printer

PostedMarch 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Indian Land, SC
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I would suggest you buy this HP LaserJet ONLY IF you have a ton of patience and don't mind hiring and paying for the expertise of at least two professionals: Computer Gurus and an Electrician. I have owned this printer for about 6-months. It took a while to install it for a wireless environment, but it is definitely not an impossible task as I found for other printers. Replacement cartridges are required (like all printers) but, based upon my experience, you should not plan on buying new cartridges from any source other than HP. After about the initial two weeks "break-in period" (my phrase) for the P1102w, on a regularly basis I discovered when a print request "hit" this LaserJet, for inexplicable reasons a huge power surge occurs; tripping a circuit breaker. Of course, after power is cut, everything goes dark: computers, work-product, this LaserJet, etc.. Once power is reactivated AND the printer cartridge(s) is removed and reinstalled, work resumes. This LaserJet is located in a home office environment where print demand is relatively low. When operating properly, the printer is fast and provides adequate work product. At bottom, since this printer is now selling at HP for $110 bucks, I believe the odds are pretty high in the buyer's favor if two or three of these printers are purchased; it is more likely than not you will end up owning at least one "good one" among the three. If you do buy this printer, I currently have on hand 3 extra cartridges that I will pass on free of charge providing you pay for shipping. Since HP's LaserJet are on sale, I will not play printer roulette. I plan on replacing my P1102w with a different HP LaserJet Model (HP is deemed by me to be a highly favored printer manufacturer).
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP LaserJet Pro P1102w Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Frustrating Printer

PostedFebruary 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
We bought this printer to use with lap top so I wouldn't have to plug into a printer and it has been so frustrating to use. It will work one day and the next day it won't to get it to work I have to delete and load it all over again. Called HP support and technician gave up helping us he couldn't figure it out. We thought an HP printer would work well with an HP laptop. Guess we were wrong. This printer doesn't live up to its features for us and unfortnatley it is to late to return it.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP LaserJet Pro P1102w Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very Disappointed

PostedFebruary 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Age:25-39
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is the worst printer I have ever user, at least in terms of reliability. When the printer goes into its low power consumption mode it will sometimes not re-awake to print a task. Additionally when this occurs it will not reconnect to the computer and must be re-installed. Very poor performance. They Geek Squad tried to fix the problem and they were unable to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP LaserJet Pro P1102w Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

fix for windows 7

PostedJanuary 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
cannot print landscape mode from internet explorer or MS Excel
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP LaserJet Pro P1102w Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Buyer Beware

PostedJanuary 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Archbald, PA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I usually don’t write reviews but this printer has me so irrigated that it definitely deserved a horrible review. To start off the printer is advertized with E-Print and AirPrint capabilities. These are not active out of the box. After some short research I found that you must complete a firmware upgrade to use these functions. This sounds simple enough but instructions are horrible. About mid way through the firmware upgrade (over wireless) the printer looses wireless connection. I would recommend trying the update over USB maybe you will have a better outcome. Because of the loss of connection your computer assumes the firmware upgrade never completed. This is my experience maybe others had a different experience. During the update the printer assumes a different IP address. Not wanting to change the IP of the router and my laptop I figured I would just delete the printer from Printers and reset the printer to factory settings. This seems like a good idea but the printer does not start its auto configuration when you plug it in for the second time. After time consuming research I found that the printer needs to be deleted form add remove programs and then you can run the install and set up the printer again. Then next problem appears when you turn the power off on the printer the wireless never reconnects. After more extensive research I found that the only way to get the printer back is to power cycle the router after the printer is power cycled. The printer wireless light is always solid blue but it will not communicate unless you power cycle the router. This appears to be a glitch in the software update. Just figured I would let you all know and maybe save you some time trouble shooting.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP LaserJet Pro P1102w Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

disappointing

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Tucson,Az
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The problem with this wireless printer was that we could not get it set up to work wireless, despite multiple hours, not only by myself(moderately computer literate) but by an adult son MBA with good IT skills as well as by an adult son-in law,electical engineer and MBA with excellent computer/network skills.
Finally gave up and returned it.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP LaserJet Pro P1102w Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not User Friendly

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Maryland
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Difficult to set up. Can not get it to print anything using the wireless feature. Even have a very hard time printing when using the USB feature which plugs directly to the computer. Would not recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP LaserJet Pro P1102w Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Setup nightmare. Still not able to get it working after a week. I bought this specifically because of the AirPrint which I thought would be easier to use with the iPad.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP LaserJet Pro P1102w Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dissapointed

PostedDecember 10, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
* Wireless connection straightforward - Great
* Ability of printer to use its "web service" to connect to HP resources - Very Poor
* Touch screen also defective when printer arrived - Disappointing in an HP product
This could be a great printer, but I am unable to verify since web services on the printer will not connect, so I cannot access the eprint or mobile device printing features. (Note: I can print wirelessly in the home)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 to next page>>