HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Laserjet or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP LaserJet Pro M1536dnf Multifunction Printer

hp HP LaserJet Pro M1536dnf Multifunction Printer

HP LaserJet Pro M1536dnf Multifunction Printer
Overall rating:
4.025 / 5
4
 / 
5
(79 reviews) 79
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 79 reviews
5 Stars
42
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
3
1 Star
10
61 out of 79(77%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP LaserJet Pro M1536dnf Multifunction Printer
Review 1 for HP LaserJet Pro M1536dnf Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing value for money!

PostedAugust 25, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Davis, CA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have owned many HP computers, printers, and scanners over the years. This, however, is my first all-in-one product for home use. I'm astounded. For less than the price of my last Laserjet printer I now have access to two-sided printing, copying (via the automated paperfeed...), a fax machine, and scanning to OCR or file. It's probably a bit more function than I need but I'm not complaining!
All the functions work better than I might have imagined. This unit definitely feels like an office machine. It's just more convenient and on a smaller scale, especially the overall footprint. But the functions are truly versatile, the operations are intuitive, and the software interfaces are slick. I never felt lost in the set up process at any point. And I'm pretty old school when it comes to technology.
Once you connect to your router via an ethernet cable all your peripheral computers have access. I'm using a plug in AC ethernet adapter to connect to my router in another part of the house and it works just fine. The newer models also have built in WiFi. Had I investigated this option prior to purchase it would have been nice. Live and learn!
The ePrint program works great on all my laptops. And unlike network printers I've had in the past the main desktop doesn't have to be up and running in order to print from afar. After all, this unit is centered at your router. You can also hook it up individually via a USB cable if you only have one computer. But with multiple CPU's there's simply no need.
Every time I purchase new equipment for my home I am a bit astounded at how much technology your dollar buys. It seems to advance exponentially. So, I'm truly thrilled with the amount of function and versatility of this unit, especially at this price point.
I would highly recommend having a look at this or similar HP units if you are in the market for home office or small business equipment. It's a whole new level of access to the sort of machine I formerly associated only with full size business products. Now you can have it all at home for a reasonable price and a minimum amount of space!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP LaserJet Pro M1536dnf Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product works great with Linux [Ubuntu] OSss

PostedMay 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had a lot of trouble getting my former printer-scanner to work with my Ubuntu-based Linux OS [Zorin OS v6] so I asked a Linux forum if anyone knew of a printer-scanner combo that was easier to set up. Several members replied that HP products worked fine so I ordered a LaserJet Pro M1536dnf Multifunction Printer unit. To my surprise it arrived the next day & I was pleased at how well both the printer & scanner worked after installing the driver program [HPLIp].
With that said, the experience could've been even better if:
[1] the HP website had info on compatibility with Linux distros.
[2] the the duplex [automatic 2-sided] printing could be set with HPLIp.
[3] One could highlight a portion of a page, check "selections" on the printer setup menu & have the printer duplicate the original portion instead of omitting all the spacing & formatting. This problem seems to be common to all printers & also Windows since v98, however, not just HP &/or Linux.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP LaserJet Pro M1536dnf Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Machine

PostedApril 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Miami, FL
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Had it for only a week or two but so far so good, it is much quieter
than my previous Multifunction HP, and it works great with my new iMac on both
the iMac and Windows side.
I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP LaserJet Pro M1536dnf Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Product meets my high expectations

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Rochester, NY area
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
After about 2 weeks use: I'm using this as a scanner/copier/printer (no landline for faxing). Setup was quick and easy, though part of that is due to previous experience - the picture instructions might not be clear to someone new to HP products. I like not having to pull open a drawer to load paper, but have to remind myself to push the ok button when I reload after running out. The scanner works well with Paperport Pro 14 - switches easily from sheet feeder to flatbed while scanning to a single file. It sometimes picks up several sheets of paper when printing or copying, but I think that's due to the excessively low humidity in my office this winter.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP LaserJet Pro M1536dnf Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great value, very good MFP

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Miami, FL
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a great MFP for basic office work (or as an all-in-one for a home environment too). Everything worked out-of-the-box. Install was easy using the provided software. First page out is quick. Low noise. Easy to scan and fax. Only feature I miss is "scan to USB".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP LaserJet Pro M1536dnf Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this printer

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Clearwater fl
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the best printer I have ever owned. But, it's the only Hp printer that has broken on me. After 2 years of owning it, I have vertical lines throughout the feeder only. If I am printing or making a copy from the glass I don't have that problem. It is something that can't be fixed. Unfortunately I have to buy a new printer, but I will buy the same one. That's how much I like it. If there was a better faster non color hp printer I would upgrade.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP LaserJet Pro M1536dnf Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

lasted only 1 year

PostedFebruary 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:cleveland, oh
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
lasted only one year with little use. power supply failed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP LaserJet Pro M1536dnf Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Katy, TX
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was easy to order and it got here really quick. It was very easy to set up and start using.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP LaserJet Pro M1536dnf Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Garbage

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
After a few weeks replaced black ink with HP inject cartridge and would not print.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP LaserJet Pro M1536dnf Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Hate the unit

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:sioux falls sd
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is cheap..really cheap made. I had it. Customer service is horrible. It took three days to install this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP LaserJet Pro M1536dnf Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing speed

PostedDecember 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased this printer to replace an older model all-in-one and wow, what a difference! All functions work perfectly and are very fast. I would definitely buy this model again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP LaserJet Pro M1536dnf Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love wireless scanning!

PostedOctober 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Martinsburg WV
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have two of these. I bought one about 6 months ago for my office. I needed to scan multipage docs and the old flatbed scanner was too slow and too big. This one makes it a lot easier. Plus, having the fax and printer together cleared off two of the three big things I have on my desk. I often worried that multifunction machines do a lot of things, but none of them well. I now take that back.
My wife started a Ph.D program and needs to do lots of scanning and printing. She loves that she can now print from her phone and iPad, and scan documents wirelessly without having to move her computer from the kitchen table.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP LaserJet Pro M1536dnf Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great printer

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works well with both linux and windows, and not a single problem with installation. Scans in color also.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP LaserJet Pro M1536dnf Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

First impressions

PostedAugust 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:cape cod
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Only had 2 weeks. Yea it is a little noisy, but not a big deal for us. My 2 biggest fears before buying were how hard to install and what if I got stuck with a lemon. Install was a no brainer. Best of all was how we solved our potential lemon fear. When we called the HP store, we found they are the only ones who have a 21 day "no questions asked-no hassle" return for no cost. Lastly, don't assume Amazon is the only ones with best prices. Call the Hp store and talk. You will be surprised how much the are willing to bend to make you happy.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP LaserJet Pro M1536dnf Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Loud

PostedJuly 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The top paper feeder is EXTREMELY loud. I can hear it 30 ft away, in another room, with the door closed.
The replacement cartridge is $75.
Everything else works well and the set-up was easy, but the noise is a deal breaker for me. I"m looking to replace it.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP LaserJet Pro M1536dnf Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very Disappointed in this product

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Massachusetts
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have always bought and used HP products until now. I have had this printer for 2 years. I loved it until it started losing its network connection and then just died. I brought it to an authorized HP service center and they told me that it could not be fixed because there are no parts to this type of printer. It's a consumable not a business class machine. Now I have to buy a new printer.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP LaserJet Pro M1536dnf Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is the best

PostedJuly 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you are looking for a printer, not too expensive, don't waist your time and buy this one the
HP M1536dnf, mfp This machine is very friendly to use with most of the features you ever may need
I should mention it is sold with free shipping and if you use Pay Pal with Bill Me Later, this option let you pay the full price in 6 months without any interest.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP LaserJet Pro M1536dnf Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding!!!

PostedJune 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Cary, NC
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this printer. I've owned several other brand printers. We've had 4 or 5 HP laserjets over the past 20 years, this is the best one yet. We've had it for a couple years - never a misfeed or a jam regardless of the paper we use (HP paper to OfficeDepot generic). It feeds envelopes and card stock flawlessly. We did my son's wedding invites on this printer without a hitch - most stress free part of the entire wedding! Get this printer and you won't be disappointed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP LaserJet Pro M1536dnf Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good features, install just OK

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Plano, TX
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Installation was quick and easy except for one thing. I wanted the printer set up for USB (to my desktop) and wireless (for my laptop and other home PCs). Using the provided install package, it wasn't obvious how to do this. Made it work by installing USB, then going back and installing wireless. That seemed to do the trick as it works in both modes now.
Printing with the unit is fast. Duplex feature works well. Copy and fax functions operate corrrectly. Noise level is not bad, but then I'm a bit hard of hearing. Printer initialization takes a while (about 45 seconds), but it only needs to happen once a day, so no big deal.
My old HP all-in-one had a button I could press to turn the fax "auto answer" on and off. That was a nice feature as the fax shares the home phone line with voice. Now to receive a fax, I need to go in and set the "rings to answer" to 2 or 3 so that voice mail doesn't grab my incoming fax.
All-in-all it seems to be a good piece of gear. Time will tell how it holds up.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP LaserJet Pro M1536dnf Multifunction Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great multi-function machine

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:North Port, FL
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have used all of the features on this multi-function machine and been VERY pleased. The faxes come through in better quality than on my stand-alone fax machine. And it scans much faster than I expected. Another plus, my toner salesman recommended it because the toner for this machine is more economical than other comparable machines. I would definitely recommend this for anyone looking for a multi-function machine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.