HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Laserjet or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP LaserJet P2055d Printer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP LaserJet P2055d Printer

HP LaserJet P2055d Printer in HP LaserJet P2050/P2055 Printer series
Overall rating:
3.35 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
4
14 out of 20(70%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP LaserJet P2055d Printer
Review 1 for HP LaserJet P2055d Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Printer is Average

PostedMay 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Ohio
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Purchased a P2055d to replace HP Officejet 8500. I needed speed and better yield on ink. I got the speed but the yield on toner is awful! The yield should be around 2300, my experience has been 1400. At $80 per cartridge something has to give. I've actually cleared the shelf at the local
Sam's Club. The feature I miss most is the notification of low or no ink. The 8500 just would not print if one cartridge was empty. This printer just keeps printing-wasting paper. Wireless would be nice but I'm usually babysitting my print jobs anyway.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP LaserJet P2055d Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good replacement for old HP LaserJet5 series

PostedMarch 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bought this 2055d to replace our LaserJet5 that finally died after 15+ years. The new printer is working out just fine. It's fast, good print quality, perfect network computer. I was worried that it would be too noisy for the office, based on other reviews, but it's not loud at all. It's quiter than our old LaserJet5 and the print jobs come out faster. Just bummed it doesn't come equipped for wireless and mobile printing. That's why I'm rating it 4 out of 5 stars. Warning: you have to purchase Ethernet cable separately to hook it up the network.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP LaserJet P2055d Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast Printer, Good Value

PostedMarch 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Alabama
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was a replacement printer for a 10 yr old LaserJet 2050. I was impressed with the initial speed and sustained print speed. This was an easy printer to setup and install. Well worth the price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP LaserJet P2055d Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

I wouldn't recommend this printer

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Saint Louis
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Age:25-39
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The features for this printer are pretty average, but the performance of those features aren't that wonderful.
The bypass tray (Tray 1) never grabs the paper I put in it, it doesn't matter if it's letter size, envelopes or whatever, it tries to grab it twice and then says there's a paper jam...I have to babysit the bypass tray and push, physically, the paper or envelope forward into the slot to make sure it grabs the next one.
Printing documents is also a pain on regular paper, unless I turn all of the "advanced print settings" to crazy high settings (which causes the applications I print from to "hang") the printer decides to add "artifacts" to the printed pages, like lines, odd graphics and just general "noise" which isn't cool for business documents.
Also, since the applications "hang" when I'm printing, it's not possible for me to click the "cancel" button on the computer, I have to press the cancel button on the printer to cancel the print job, and if I do that, the next print job I send, will print the correct number of "pages" but it will simply be the next x number of pages from the print job I canceled and not the document I said to print!
I would say, if you don't plan on using the bypass tray, and you don't mind your applications hanging or can deal with lines and general "junk" on your print jobs, go for it, this printer is for you.
I would never buy this one again!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP LaserJet P2055d Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Smart purchase

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The printer is a real good printer. It is fast and the print quality is great. I like the extra tray for paper. The only thing I wish could be changed is the noise level of it. It is loud when printing. Overall, the printer does the job and does it well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP LaserJet P2055d Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love It!

PostedNovember 3, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Greensboro, NC
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The print quality is wondeful! I also have a Lexmark 530dn, but this printer is much better. The speed is good as well. I would recommend this printer to anyone needing to print marketing material. It is efficient, and I can't say enough about the quality of the print job. You may want to check the price of the cartridge refills before purchasing. It requires four and I think they are expensive, 3 color and 1 black.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP LaserJet P2055d Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent, reliable workhorse printers

PostedNovember 2, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Fresno, CA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We ordered a dozen of these as replacements for aging 4000- to 4200-series printers used primarily as personal printers. These start printing from cold in seconds, use up only a quarter of the power of the old beasts, and so far has been very reliable, with no broken parts on any of them over a year of use, even though they aren't as solid as the old ones, and only one fuser wearing out after heavier use than most. Of course, we also wouldn't complain about a part breaking after dropping a book on it.
The network management is also pretty good, and it works great with the HP PCL6 universal drivers on all 32-bit and 64-bit clients since they day we got them. Duplex printing is no problem. We plan on getting a few more as the 4300s wear out.
Toner use is fairly high but not unreasonable, especially if you find very good deals online. So far we haven't had any problems with the cheap toners.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP LaserJet P2055d Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Toner eater

PostedAugust 15, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Michigan
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I would not recommend this product to anyone unless you want to spend $80 every 2 - 3 weeks for toner cartridges. I have a home based business and I was shocked when I installed a new cartridge from HP and 3 weeks later it ran out in the middle of printing docs for an appointment, it only printed 1500 pages. It was supposed to yield 2300. HP refused to send a replacement.
I am tempted to send it back.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP LaserJet P2055d Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

New Printer

PostedNovember 2, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Reno, NV
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I just printed a document with this printer and I was very impressed with the features of the printer. My old desk jet would not make it through the entire document without needing a new cartridge change (almost 250 pages). My new P2055dn was able to print the entire document, plus place it on two sided mode automatically. Really feeling in the big leagues now. I recommend for any home use, dont know about business, but as personal use, I like it!!!!!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP LaserJet P2055d Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent printer

PostedNovember 1, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When I read some of the other reviews, I can conclude only that they must have been planted by competitors. I set this printer up on a Windows 7 machine, which took no time or effort, it was all done automatically; and a Windows XP machine, which required use of the installation CD. It only took a few minutes with no glitches, and clear instructions. I did have to buy a USB cable.
The printer is a bit loud on start-up, but isn't excessively loud while running. It is very fast, images are crisp and clean, grayscale is excellent. Also received a $50 rebate for recycling my old machine at Office Depot. Only positives in my experience.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP LaserJet P2055d Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Non Believer

PostedSeptember 6, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Portland, OR
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Age:40-54
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This printer is a piece of junk. It is supposed to have a total duty cycle of 10,000 pages/month. Mine got less than 10,000 pages total before it just stopped working. From looking on the web there are some problems with the firmware for this printer that HP is well aware of; yet, they would not replace it even though it was less than a year old (within warranty). HP suggested that I purchase a new one for FULL PRICE. Just what I want, to buy another one when the first one was such a failure. I will never buy another HP product ever again!!!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP LaserJet P2055d Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid features - works great!

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Mililani, HI
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All my previous HP laserjets had straight throughput. One of the main reasons I bought the 2055dn was for straight throughput and it works great. It's a breeze to do labels, cardstock and envelopes. The USPS Click & Ship labels print out perfect every time. Printing shortcuts allow me to set custom print settings that I can recall quickly - it's like printing macros. The duplex feature saves paper and cuts down on mailing costs. I've had my printer for 19 months and it gets a workout every day. I've been using HP printers for over 25 years and have enjoyed every one.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP LaserJet P2055d Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

weakest link

PostedMay 21, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:gloucester ma
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been very happy with this printer except the front door has broken. First the pull out extention stopped working then a book was dropped on it and the plastic hinge broke. I can no longer use this paper feed which I used for check printing. Seems like it could be stronger or easier to replace such a weak point. The replacement part alone is $77. plus I don't know how much for service. Need to buy a new printer after less than 2 years
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP LaserJet P2055d Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ease of operation

PostedFebruary 11, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Love this printer! Did not need color. Set as my network printer, home based. Went to HP website to download updated software for Windows 7 Home premium and it worked! No problems. Even run the doublesided feature off my netbook! Savy Grammy!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP LaserJet P2055d Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

TROUBLE with Windows 7

PostedJanuary 14, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
Avoid this printer if you have Windows 7. I am professor and it does not even print pdf documents that are over 1 MB in size. My earlier (much older) HP printer could do this easily. Apparently, according to the custromer service rept, they have reduced memory on this printer to increase speed (Huh!). Also, they said you would have problems printing large files if you use long cables (6ft or 10ft ones).
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP LaserJet P2055d Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Problem Label Printing

PostedDecember 12, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:Under 25
i don't what's the problem but... trust me it wouldn't work if you're printing non standard type of paper...the toner seems can't stick to the media or maybe it's because the new "Cutting Edge Fuser Technology" ?
before i always buy and use hp printer because the reliable and performance is awesome.. i used to use hp printer to print on generic brand of label sticker
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP LaserJet P2055d Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

hp lasserjet p2055dn

PostedNovember 13, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
i cant use the product because i do not have a manual to know how to use this printer. i am going to return it as it is of no value to me. would you buy a new car with 3 tires. this is equal to the hp printer i have with no instructions on how to use the 2 sided printer.
-22points
1of 24voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for HP LaserJet P2055d Printer
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
3 out of 3 recommend this product