HP Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for hp HP 85A Black Original LaserJet Toner Cartridge

hp HP 85A Black Original LaserJet Toner Cartridge

HP 85A Black Original LaserJet Toner Cartridge with Smart Printing Technology
Overall rating:
4.045 / 5
4
 / 
5
(67 reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 67 reviews
5 Stars
35
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
3
1 Star
6
53 out of 67(79%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP 85A Black Original LaserJet Toner Cartridge
Review 1 for HP 85A Black Original LaserJet Toner Cartridge
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product does not last long enough!

PostedMay 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
You advertize that this cartridge gives 1600 copies. We get 500 if we're lucky. I wish we could use another cartridge or go somewhere else less expensive. The expense is killing us. I am
VERY UNHAPPY with your product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP 85A Black Original LaserJet Toner Cartridge
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

2 printers + No Toner = Useless

PostedJune 28, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Based on reviews and the promotional price of $99, I purchased 2 HP Laser printers -- one for home, one office. I thought -- "how could I go wrong?" Then I tried purchasing toner and read the reviews, and found the answer to that question.No toner available, with no estimated time of when it would be available. And it looks like this has been a chronicproblem for at least a couple of years.So I went wrong by purchasing completely useless pieces of equipment (it doesn't matter how many ppm these printers can print out if there is nothing on those pages). I can understand a temporary supply problem, but for this problem to go on this long is totally inexcusable.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP 85A Black Original LaserJet Toner Cartridge
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

UNHAPPY CUSTOMER

PostedApril 24, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
What's going on HP??? Why is the 85A toner cartridge frequently out of stock and we can't backorder? You just e-mailed me an enticing offer of 15% off which is only good for 24 hours and I can't even place an order. This is not what I expect from HP, which is a company that I think of as having very high standards.
Please step up to the plate and support your loyal customers!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP 85A Black Original LaserJet Toner Cartridge
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Too expensive for page yield

PostedMarch 12, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
At $60 plus for a new cartridge and only a 1600 page yield, this toner is too expensive. My brother toner costs about the same and yields 5000 pages.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP 85A Black Original LaserJet Toner Cartridge
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No toner

PostedDecember 28, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Same complaint as everyone else… Toner out of stock.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP 85A Black Original LaserJet Toner Cartridge
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No toner???

PostedDecember 25, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Same experience as the other reviewer... HP pushes the printer, offers incentives, etc, but then doesn't stock the toner.
The wireless setup was also poorly documented.
This coupled a recent lousy customer support experience (they said they would call back and never did) lead me to suggest others stay away.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP 85A Black Original LaserJet Toner Cartridge
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

runs out quickly

PostedMay 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:McHenry, IL
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Primary use:Business
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The toner gives you professional results but runs out quickly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP 85A Black Original LaserJet Toner Cartridge
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Worst purchase ever

PostedDecember 4, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:North Carolina
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Toners do good to last 1200 pages and they tell you they will last 1600. I have had my printed 12 days and I have bought 7 toners which is $400 and some dollars and cents. I had a Canon 104 and I got atleast 2000 sheets printed if not more and they cost a lot less.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP 85A Black Original LaserJet Toner Cartridge
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor Performance

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Louisville KY
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I´ve used HP printers a lot as well as other brands. This is my first experience with an HP printer that used the toner 85A. I went through two toner cartridges and printed less than 1400 pages of text. I´m agast with the poor performance of this product compared to other HP printers and other brands. I recommend avoiding any printer that requires the 85A toner cartridge.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP 85A Black Original LaserJet Toner Cartridge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great quality, VERY Expensive

PostedJuly 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Raleigh, NC
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Primary use:Student
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great HP quality, but far too expensive. I know sometimes you actually get what you pay for, but I am going to try a generic cartridge next time. I want to see if the price vs: performance ratio works for me. If not, i'll continue to buy the genuine HP, and complain about the price...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP 85A Black Original LaserJet Toner Cartridge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Less copies than stated

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Silver City, New Mexico
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Primary use:Home office
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I never get anywhere near the number of copies as stated (appx 1600). I only get about 1,000, sometimes 900-800. I do not print toner-heavy copies, just regular typed pages.
Product is easy to install and is well packaged.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP 85A Black Original LaserJet Toner Cartridge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

hp laserjet cartridge

PostedJanuary 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The ink is so light as to be little better than the cartridge that I just replaced.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP 85A Black Original LaserJet Toner Cartridge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Need more toner

PostedDecember 30, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
When is HP going to come out with the HP LaserJet 85X toner cartridge? I hate paying for all this plastic and having the toner not last very long. Please HP.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP 85A Black Original LaserJet Toner Cartridge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Out of Stock

PostedMay 15, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
My complaint it the same as everyone else. I purchased the HP Laser Jet Pro M1212nf, which is a great printer. But now my toner is getting low and every time I check on the HP website, it is Out of Stock.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP 85A Black Original LaserJet Toner Cartridge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

toner

PostedApril 23, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Arizona
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
it's a great laser printer for the money if ONLY THE TONER WAS EVER IN STOCK!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP 85A Black Original LaserJet Toner Cartridge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Where's the Toner

PostedDecember 19, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Texas
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought the printer from HP, it arrived, and I set it up in no time. Went on line to get some backup cartridges and to my surprise they are "out of stock." Have been for at least a week. HP sends me these wonderful discounts but nothing to use them on. I hope I did not buy a lemon or have to buy from a location that bumps up the price.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP 85A Black Original LaserJet Toner Cartridge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

where are U when I need You?

PostedSeptember 30, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Carmel,CA
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I do recommend this cartridge for use in the 1102 series.(to the best of my knowledge it's the only one offered by HP AND I believe I get the best (worryfree) value for the $$. Tried some alternate products, but found the value less in either performance or features, or both! HOWEVER, I use this printer in my business. Did not realize until this day (Sept. 30, 2010) that I'm low (according to my on-screen prompt) on ink. "No problem", I think. I'll just get online, order a couple of cartridges, and they'll be here next biz day. That has been my experience for a loooong time with this company, I had no reason to expect an "OUT OF STOCK" on an item like a laser printer cartridge!! Now, I must use this printer with my business. The orders that come in require me to print 150 to 200 pages, or more, at one time. WHY CAN'T THE COMPANY ENABLE US TO BACKORDER?? (This item isn't on special sale, to the best of my knowledge). HP, if I'm mistaken, please let me know. I think we can all understand how stock can run out on some of the hot deals HP offers much of the time. Meanwhile, I must search local merchants tomorrow, and hope I don't get caught by time-critical orders and insufficient toner with which to print them. And probably spend more bucks, 'cause the stores know the 85A is the only cartridge that some printers will take. HP, I love you, but you made me feel so sad.
+27points
29of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP 85A Black Original LaserJet Toner Cartridge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fast and free delivery

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Iowa
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Primary use:Home
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
There are much cheaper generic cartridges available but I like to stick with the original brand to insure that my printer doesn't fail me. I have had less trouble with laserjets than with inkjets. It was always a hassle to keep inkjets running.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP 85A Black Original LaserJet Toner Cartridge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does the job

PostedNovember 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:SACRAMENTO
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Primary use:Home office
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm not a "brand" person. HP is expensive but worth it. I buy when on sale. Staples is my store most often.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP 85A Black Original LaserJet Toner Cartridge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

4

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Redlands, CA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Primary use:Home office
Very quick response time.
Great instructions to remove and replace old cartridge
New cartridge slipped into place easily and works fine from the first print.
Only problem: still getting "black low" notice. What do I need to do to let my printer know it is a new cartridge?
Thank you
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.