HP Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for hp HP Photosmart Premium Touchsmart Web All-in-One Printer - C309n

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Photosmart Premium Touchsmart Web All-in-One Printer - C309n

Prints, scans, copies, faxes Speeds of up to 33 pages/min black, 32 color## 4.33" TouchSmart screen Prints Web content via TouchSmart screen, no PC required Wireless 802.11n and Bluetooth
Overall rating:
4.025 / 5
4
 / 
5
(40 reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 40 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
4
1 Star
2
32 out of 40(80%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Photosmart Premium Touchsmart Web All-in-One Printer - C309n
Review 1 for HP Photosmart Premium Touchsmart Web All-in-One Printer - C309n
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great printer, but.....

PostedNovember 24, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:OR
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fairly simple to set up. I had a few challeges with the wireless. I bought this online 3 weeks ago & now it is $40 cheaper.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Photosmart Premium Touchsmart Web All-in-One Printer - C309n
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality Printer That Looks Good Too

PostedNovember 2, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Houston, TX
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
I read the reviews on the Photosmart All-in-One printer before makiing my purchase. Therefore, I thought it important to write this review to substantiate my expectations based on these reviews.
As promised, I received the printer within 5 business days. The setup was relatively easy and wireless connection to my home network was transparent. There are four pc/laptops in my home that use the printer. So far, there are no complaints. I have printed both text and photo's which are amazingly sharp and colorful.
I would recommend this printer to anyone who is looking at quality, ease of use, and good value for the money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Photosmart Premium Touchsmart Web All-in-One Printer - C309n
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Printer

PostedOctober 28, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Washington DC
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I just got this printer last week. I use it on my home network so it connects to a Windows 7 laptop (wired) and a Mac Pro (wireless). The printer works very well not only with both of these laptops but also with my iPhone from which I can print pictures and documents through the free app from HP.
This printer is easier to install as a wireless printer rather than a wired printer through your router. I use it as a USB connection with the Windows 7 laptop and as a wirless with the MAC.
Prints look great and are pretty fast.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Photosmart Premium Touchsmart Web All-in-One Printer - C309n
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Very Disappointing Printer

PostedOctober 10, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:US
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have always used HP printers. I still use HP Photosmart 8450 Inkjet and it does excellent photos and no problems. I have always recommended HP. I purchased a Wireless All In One HP C309n just recently and it shows paper jam when there is none and won't print. Now it is has started showing load paper and it already has paper. I tried printing a photo and it turned out terrible. I am so disappointed in this printer. I was foolish and didn't give it a good try out before the warranty was up. I bought this to use with my new lap top computer as I was writing a book. I like the features offered and my past experiences were all good with HP products. I must have gotten a lemon with this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Photosmart Premium Touchsmart Web All-in-One Printer - C309n
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Printer -- Except

PostedOctober 10, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Long Island
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
All features are Great..Photo printing as good as any Photosmart,wireless wokks great........Only problemI see is that the printer uses a lot of ink.Not sure if its the printer or the Ink cartridges...Hp should look into this ...Thats a big chunk of $$$ for this printer ,other then the ink usage great printer.......
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Photosmart Premium Touchsmart Web All-in-One Printer - C309n
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Photosmart Premium wi Fax

PostedOctober 10, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I'm overall happy with this product but was unable to get the wifi function to work with my router/computer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Photosmart Premium Touchsmart Web All-in-One Printer - C309n
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Many Issues with this Printer... BEWARE

PostedOctober 9, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is the 2nd printer (3rd HP in the last 3 weeks.... I upgraded from another that was new, and having problems). The first one came with a broken ink carriage. HP mailed me another one. I'm having problems with this one, too. The screen on the printer goes into a 'sleep' mode and it won't come out. I can print from my printer, but if I want to use any options directly from the printer, for example, scan or copy, I have to unplug the printer, and plug it back in to get it to work. I touch the screen, nothing happens; I can't even push the power button.. it does nothing. It remains frozen until I unplug and replug. I called HP, they said to plug it into the wall and not the power strip, that didn't work. They said to unplug my phone from the printer because it could be causing interference, that didn't work. I have wasted MANY hours on the phone with tech support between the 3 printers.... what a hassle!!! I will never recommend an HP to my friends, that's for sure! WHAT A HEADACHE this has been!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Photosmart Premium Touchsmart Web All-in-One Printer - C309n
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far Love it

PostedOctober 8, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Wyoming
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
only one thing don't like is the ink cartarges the handle you have to slide to get it off splatters the ink all over me and what ever is close needs to be easer to open the printer is great and so is my computer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Photosmart Premium Touchsmart Web All-in-One Printer - C309n
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not in Control of My Printer

PostedOctober 2, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Mississippi Gulf Coast
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Age:55+
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've tried hard to like this printer, and have given it over six months use. I'm a photographer, and wanted a replacement printer that was affordable that would let me print small photos and note cards in addition to doing promotion materials. I use it for a variety of things. The main problem with this printer is that they tried to make it do everything even if you don't want everything, and it is hard to find just a good printer anymore. I had a great HP printer that died, as they all do. In fact, I've had three previous HP printers that I liked. All they did was print, which was all I needed. I already have a scanner, fax machine and could copy from my scanner and my fax. I didn't need all of the features and gizmos of this Photosmart, and surely not web connections, but it had the best picture and color (still does) of all of the printers I looked at in several stores.
If all you need is a good printer, this model is not for you. What infuriates me is all of the "pop-ups" on my screen when the ink is low. It keeps popping up even though there is enough ink to keep going for a while.
The touch screen has to be pounded on to get the correct option. It isn't an easy touch. There are features of the touch screen that I like to use, and find it easy to make copies or scan a simple page that only gets saved as a .jpg. I have no need for all of the web connections that are shown on the screen of the printer, so they are useless to me. I do like being able to click on the ink tools, but find that they are too small and often when I click on it, USA comes up.
The main thing that I don't lilke is that I'm not in control of my printer. IT is, or THEY are. It wants to connect to the HP web site if the ink is low to sell me more ink. It does it over and over. I use my computer for business and the interruptions are infuriating. I also don't like having my computer connected to the Internet which I feel makes me lose a good deal of privacy. HP can see everything I do if they want to.
To sum it up, this printer makes good color photos, even excellent ones. It has way too many gadgets that are not practical and some that are very annoying. HP needs to go back to making pure printers for people who just need a semi-professional photo printer and don't want to spend $500 +.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Photosmart Premium Touchsmart Web All-in-One Printer - C309n
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

One minor flaw!!!

PostedSeptember 14, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New Jersey
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Printer like all my previous HP products is great. There is however one problem I'm having. When I print there is no tray to catch the finished printing...my photos or papers fly all over. My prior HPs had a pull out tray to catch the completed work. Help!!! Anyone else having this issue??? What's the solution??????
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Photosmart Premium Touchsmart Web All-in-One Printer - C309n
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great all in one

PostedAugust 24, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Central Florida
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I set it up today,and was surprised how simple it was.I have Windows 7 premium,32 bit,and all you have to do,in follow the on screen,until it tells you to load the CD.I set it up for wireless with no problem.I had a 10 year old HP 2410 photosmart,which was still working,but I needed to upgrade the printer,due to Windows 7.The old printer,you had to download a driver from HP which I had done,but you had to do things diferent to make it work,and then sometimes the printer just would not work,unless I downloaded the driver again.So it was time for a new one.The ink is somewhat high priced,but for what the Touchsmart will do,I will live with it.Thanks HP for another great product.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Photosmart Premium Touchsmart Web All-in-One Printer - C309n
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

GOOD

PostedAugust 6, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:NY
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
INK DOES NOT LAST LONG BUT ONLY HAVE TO BUY COLOR YOU NEED WHICH IS A PLUS
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Photosmart Premium Touchsmart Web All-in-One Printer - C309n
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

WORST PRINTER EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!

PostedJuly 8, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Salisbury MD
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I hate this printer. There is always a problem. I never print anything that doesn't take repeated tries and sometimes I give up and don't print at all!!!
I keep getting false messages. It tells me to load the photo tray, when there is already paper in the photo tray, and the other tray too. I rearrange, put in more... less paper. Move around, reposition... It is maddening!!!! I hate this printer... I would not recommend it to anyone!
DON'T BUY THIS PRINTER!!!!!!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Photosmart Premium Touchsmart Web All-in-One Printer - C309n
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Greatest HP PhotoSmart Printer All-in-One ever

PostedMay 26, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am amazed at how simple this printer is to use! The printed photos and documents are spectacular. At first, I was bit intimadated with all the functions of this printer, now I love it.
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Photosmart Premium Touchsmart Web All-in-One Printer - C309n
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Printer

PostedMay 14, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:Under 25
I love this printer. Amazing looks, amazing print, scan, and copy quality. And the easiest setup of any printer I have ever owned. I would recommend this printer to anyone who needs one for home, or a small printer for the office. Once again another quality product by HP.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Photosmart Premium Touchsmart Web All-in-One Printer - C309n
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Compare HP with Canon & Epson

PostedMay 13, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
We wanted a photo all in one printer and compared the Canon 990, the Epson Artison 810, and the HP C309. The HP was equal or better in photo quality compared to the Canon 990 and much superior to the the Epson Artison 810. I took the same photo card along with 8x10 photo paper and printed out photos using competitors printers at two different stores. I chose the HP and have been very happy with the results. It is easy to set up and we have scanned many photos over the past two weeks since I have owned it and am very pleased with the results. Perhaps the only negative is that it does not print to CD's. Cannot comment on the ink usage but I owned a Canon Pixma prior to the HP and it consumed ink at a very high rate. I "think" the HP will be better and HP provides stats on the number of copies per ink cartridge where as I could not find any stats from Canon. So far I am very pleased with my choice. I have not used the fax yet.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Photosmart Premium Touchsmart Web All-in-One Printer - C309n
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really good printer

PostedApril 26, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
So far very happy with the printer. Have had a couple of issues with setting up the drivers on our laptops but we're working them out. Also am having an issue with the scanner not working from the printer touch screen. Again, I probably just need to go get the manual and figure it out. Very happy with the output. Photos have been really good. I like having the 4x6 tray and the widget I put on my desktop works well. I like that feature a lot.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Photosmart Premium Touchsmart Web All-in-One Printer - C309n
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Printer EVER!

PostedApril 13, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
I have always owned HP Photosmart printers because of their ease of use and amazing photo quality. This printer is no different. Does everything I need it to and more. Need coupons? Tap the screen and browse some local offerings. Bored? Print off a Sudoku page. Need to print off some coloring pages for your child before you head out? Not a problem! You can also print off your movie tickets on the fly!
This printer has also been the most fun printer I've owned. Pretty entertaining. I would recommend it to anyone who has at least some basic computer knowledge. It really is that easy.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Photosmart Premium Touchsmart Web All-in-One Printer - C309n
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP Photosmart Premium TouchSmart Web C309n-s

PostedApril 9, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
This printer setup was outstanding! Fastest setup of any previous HP printer I owned. A good quality router with one button press setup was all it needed to get on the web and my network, two desktop computers with windows XP Pro, two windows 7 laptops, two Vista laptops. Setup was a breeze for all of them. You will read reviews complaining of extreemly fast ink usage, this is normal with the original ink cartridges shipped with the printer because they are not "full". Standard replacement cartridges print much longer and if you really want longgevity, install the 564XL cartridges, you will get at least three times the usage of the standard inks. Other reviews complain of the inks being "pricey" if you shop the internet you will find original HP inks selling for far less than retail, just verify expiration date, otherwise you may get stuck with outdated inks which wont sit well with your warranty if a problem erupts. Still other reviews complain of photo options being limited to 4X6. I strongly suggest that you download the user manual and read it! I have printed photos in 4X6, 5X7, 8X10 and wallet size with this printer, you can print directly from the web to this printer without using a PC. How many more photo and printing options do you need? Digital pictures from any memory card can load directly into the printer for editing and printing, no computer needed! Copying and scanning are great, color or black and white. Fax setup is quick and easy to do with any combination of computer, phoneline, DSL service you may have. Sending a fax is the only thing this printer does slow, you can't stack multiple copies at once to fax, you have to manually enter them one by one, however you can multi page fax using the fax feature on your PC and send to the printer which is easier for printing fax cover sheets and multiple data sheets anyway. A few reviews say the printer is "pricey" sure it is! But try to find a comparable printer with all these functions from any other manufacturer in this price range. AIN'T GONNA HAPPEN! So is it really "pricey"? Don't take my word that it isn't, shop and compare for yourself. Read all the reviews and take them with a grain of salt, including mine! Everybody has their own opinion on likes, dislikes and options. Please research and then make an informed dicision. Hope I have helped you. raylr
+49points
49of 49voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Photosmart Premium Touchsmart Web All-in-One Printer - C309n
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

wifi connection not working

PostedMarch 25, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
I've been trying to set up the wifi connection of this printer and it just isn't working. I have 2 iMacs, tried on both and none worked. One is connected directly to the router, the other one uses wifi. I'm very good with computers and everything related, so I don't think it's me. I bought this product because it's "wireless" and now I'm really frustrated, especially since HP doesn't provide free setup customer support!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.