HP Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for hp HP Photosmart Plus All-in-One Printer - B209a

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Photosmart Plus All-in-One Printer - B209a

Prints, scans, and copies Speeds of up to 30 pages/min black, 28 color Color photos in as little time as 16 seconds 2.39" color TouchSmart screen Wireless 802.11g/b
Overall rating:
3.21 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(105 reviews) 100
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 105 reviews
5 Stars
34
4 Stars
22
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
14
1 Star
27
61 out of 105(58%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Photosmart Plus All-in-One Printer - B209a
Review 1 for HP Photosmart Plus All-in-One Printer - B209a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Acquisition

PostedSeptember 28, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Diego, CA
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Since Im a college student, I constantly need to be printing papers and other things and this a great printer. It surpasses the two my parents had back home. And the price I got it for at the school store was amazing: $50!
I am so glad I got this printer because it will make my life so much easier so I dont have to go asking around to use someones printer.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Photosmart Plus All-in-One Printer - B209a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Yet

PostedFebruary 2, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
This is the best printer yet from HP. Installation is easy. Wireless printing adapts easy to our several computers. Results are fast and very good.
I agree with a previous reviewer that a lot of shifting goes on at time, but I guess that is the nature of things and it keeps in ticking and printing.
+13points
15of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Photosmart Plus All-in-One Printer - B209a
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst Deal!

PostedDecember 28, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
worst product ever!
The main issue is the printhead which made me crazy! If something gets wrong with its printhead, YOU HAVE TO send the printer back for a new printer! It's very hard to fix this issue!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Photosmart Plus All-in-One Printer - B209a
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great printer but drinks ink like a fish

PostedDecember 28, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I purchased this printer because of the value for the price. I also liked the fact the ink cartridges were much less expensive than those of my last printer. Now I know why. The ink runs out as if there were a hole in the bottom of the cartridge letting it drain away on the floor because they are so small. I love the printer but really question my choice because of the short cartridge life. Also, I still can't get it to link wirelessly with my laptop which was another big reason I purchased this particular model. I would recommend this printer as long as the purchaser is aware of its shortcomings.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Photosmart Plus All-in-One Printer - B209a
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Black ink mess

PostedNovember 1, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
be careful, this printer does not use the 564 photo black cartridge, even though it is labelled 564....
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Photosmart Plus All-in-One Printer - B209a
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Ink guzzler

PostedNovember 1, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Long Island, NY
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I purchased this printer a few months ago to replace my old HP printer (which I had for yrs). I was excited about the printer and its quality, until I realized that I would have to replace the ink at a ridiculous rate. Im a student and need to print many documents and the money I spend on ink is killing me. On top of that, the printer is now not printing anything with blue in it. After MANY MANY MANY cartridge cleanings, printerhead cleanings, alignments, etc, it still refuses to work correctly..... SOOOOO frustrated, especially since I just bought 100 in ink for this printer and really really dont want to buy the same terrible printer in order to use the ink.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Photosmart Plus All-in-One Printer - B209a
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Don't purchase to print photo's

PostedOctober 30, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Chicago
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Purchased for occasional printing of photos. Faces come out red. Printed same picture at Walgreens and skin tones were accurate. Speed of printer is OK and black text is ok. One would expect a "photosmart" printer to accurately print photo's. Pictures were printed on HP photo paper at best quality.
HP should privide help (online or otherwise) for printing photos.
If someone from HP reads this please contact me. If you can help with printing photos I will gladly retract my review.
Have not tried the scanner.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Photosmart Plus All-in-One Printer - B209a
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lives up to HP standards

PostedOctober 23, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Tucson, AZ
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had my Photosmart Plus for nearly a year. It prints beautifly and quickly. But I've been frustrated because the cord linking it to my laptop is so short--38 inches--that it limits the placement of components on my desk.
So I've been reading the reviews from other users, and they've been talking about the WIRELESSNESS of this printer. What does that mean?
Wireless? Just now I disconnected the cable to see if it prints that way.
It doesn't.
Apparently there is much I don't know. What did I miss?
Does anybody know where I can I get a connection (cable) that is sixty plus inches long?
Perplexed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Photosmart Plus All-in-One Printer - B209a
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Frustrating

PostedOctober 17, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
-Terrible User Interface
-Not a "One step" wifi connection
-constantly have problems with it
-flash drive only can be used to print photos
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Photosmart Plus All-in-One Printer - B209a
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Just Average

PostedOctober 10, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Georgia
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought this HP Photosmart Plus 209a AIO printer (HP 564 Ink) to replace a HP Photosmart C 5180 AIO. Mostly trouble free installation and performance using with Windows 7 64 bit PC. Stops responding while scanning at times. Freezes up and necessitates unplugging from power source and computer restart. Below average photo printing and uses too much ink. My old HP Photosmart C 5180 and 8250 (HP 02 Ink) both do a much better job printing photos and use less ink than this model. Used for printing text documents only. I do not use the wireless feature at all. I have had several HP printers, one Canon printer and two Epson printers. This one and the Epson printers are least satisfactory of all.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Photosmart Plus All-in-One Printer - B209a
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

You get what you pay for!

PostedOctober 6, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Florida
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is my second HP printer, bought it because it was wireless. Was looking for a good printer to print photos. While the print quality is good, it uses ink very quickly. Price for the printer was excellent but you will make up for that in the ink you have to buy. Not the best choice if you print a lot of photos. And the black versus photo black cartridges is not explained very well. You would think that if you need 564 color print cartridges, that a 564 black cartridge would work. But buy the wrong one, try to install and it will not fit. Then you cannot return it. I wasted money for nothing and then had to go back and get the regular black (not photo black).
Now, the real problems: Constantly have to turn it off and turn it back on and reboot computer so that it finds the printer. Cannot get the scanner to find the computer, nor the computer to find the scanner. Scanner will only recognize a USB Jump drive. So in order to scan anything to the computer, I have to scan it to the USB jump drive and take the drive to the computer to download the scans.
Can't print directly from my camera card either, have to download from the camera card to the computer and then print from the computer.
I have tried downloading updated drivers, which did not solve my problems. I have to admit I have not conacted HP about my issues yet. I have found work arounds for all the issues, but should you really have to? Don't you buy an all in one so that you can use all of it's features. I really think I am going to give this one away and get something that does not use up so much ink when printing photos.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Photosmart Plus All-in-One Printer - B209a
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not best purchase ever

PostedSeptember 28, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This printer prints good pictures. The printer seems to run or shift a lot delaying the print your waiting on. The biggest concern I have is ink usage. It uses a ton of ink.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Photosmart Plus All-in-One Printer - B209a
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't Buy This Printer for Wireless Printing

PostedSeptember 19, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Overall waste of money. This printer was very time consuming to install. After following the instructions step by step to set up wireless printing with the included CD was able to print the test page, but could not do any printing afterwards. Had to then install the USB wired setup to print. Tried to return the printer, but HP support insisted on trying to trouble shoot. Again got the printer to print a test page, but cannot get through one regular print job without the printer hanging up and having to restart job several times. Very disappointed in HP.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Photosmart Plus All-in-One Printer - B209a
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor quality pics

PostedSeptember 18, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Idaho
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I bought this printer to replace my first HP photo printer when it died. I read the reviews which seemed pretty good (didn't read far enough). This printer does NOT print good quality pictures. The colors are dull and not the true colors of the subject photoed. It guzzles ink like crazy. No way does a cartridge last for even half the pages HP says you can get from a cartridge. I also get a message that the photo paper is out when it is not. Another time waster wehen you have to remove the tray and reinsert it to get it to print. Instead of enjoying my hobby of printing pictures, I now dread printing them. Can't afford another printer right now and buying the ink cartridges for this one keeps me from printing the pics I want. An overall disappointing purchase.. I can say that the installation was easy. The ONLY good thing about this printer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Photosmart Plus All-in-One Printer - B209a
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

does not work with dell

PostedSeptember 11, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ordered this printer due to the good reviews and great capabilities. Tried for 3 hours on our own and then 3 hours on the phone with customer service. "Fatal error" on installation. Unable to work with our brand new computer. Do not order if you do not have a HP computer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Photosmart Plus All-in-One Printer - B209a
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Paper

PostedSeptember 8, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Always says out of paper, cleaned no help
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Photosmart Plus All-in-One Printer - B209a
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Wouldn't recommend

PostedSeptember 5, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Butte, MT
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I had an old HP 4180, and it made this printer look sick. If my 4180 was wireless, I would never have traded it in. The print quality is not good, in my opinion. Scanning quality is horrible, and nothing but problems. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Photosmart Plus All-in-One Printer - B209a
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Problem with print head continues

PostedSeptember 2, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Knoxville, TN
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
About a month after I bought this printer I encountered an Ink System Failure to wit after cleaning the printer head cartridge and replacing the ink cartridges (the old ones still had lots of ink in them), I got the printer to work again. Last night the same think happened after printing 4 pages, (strictly documents) and have been unable to resolve the failure since. This is probably my tenth or twelveth HP printer and it is by far the worse when it comes to performance. The truly sad part about it is that it turns a year old this month. Citizens, don't buy this printer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Photosmart Plus All-in-One Printer - B209a
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

could not install

PostedAugust 21, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:michigan
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
i tried to get the printer up & running---failed, had a geek come out tried it too it failed talk to support, no help---- i returned the printer wont buy another hp printer
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Photosmart Plus All-in-One Printer - B209a
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

keeps leaking ink!

PostedAugust 10, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:Under 25
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
i got this with a ecode to take over my c4780 with lighter issues
i got this to find it leaked in a few weeks
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.