HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop All-In-Ones or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP Photosmart C6380 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Photosmart C6380 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier

Printing with wireless freedom Prints up to 31 pages/min color, 4 x 6"s in as little time as 18 sec## 2.4" LCD color display, memory card slots, HP Smart Web Printing, front USB port, individual inks Uses HP 564 inks
Overall rating:
4.092 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(76 reviews) 72
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 76 reviews
5 Stars
43
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
6
1 Star
6
57 out of 76(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Photosmart C6380 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Review 1 for HP Photosmart C6380 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Won't print and falsely claims to be out of ink

PostedSeptember 18, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am extremely frustrated with this lemon. It's never printed more than a dozen pages before claiming to need more ink and refusing to print until it gets it. It also sometimes claims to need a memory card,which is already installed. If I install one color, it wants another color. The printing quality is fine on the rare occassions it decides to print This is definitely NOT a reliable printer. Don't buy it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Photosmart C6380 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

looking to replace

PostedAugust 7, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This printer is too slow uses too much ink and cuts off half of the bottom line of the document. I am online researching to find a replacement and plan to fight to trade this one for another.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Photosmart C6380 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible Printer

PostedMay 13, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have two other HP printers... I bought this one because it was suppose to be a better printer.
First of all, when it prints, it rattles and moves the print head back and forth because of the individual cartridges. If the big black cartridge runs out... it won't print anything in black, even if the little black cartridge is full.
When printing, I can wait up to 10 minutes before it will print. I need my reports now... not later!! I can't figure out how to get it to print faster.
Don't buy it!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Photosmart C6380 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad decision

PostedApril 20, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had printers from several manufacturers including HP over the years, and always more satisfied with HP products. Purchased this as wireless for my laptop. Once it starts printing is fast and quality is very good. I have been trying since January to scan documents and download pictures to laptop and desk tops with no success. Tech support solution is to uninstall and reinstall software which I have done five or six times, including downloading from website. I can scan to my desktop using other software, but it requires a lot of manipulation. I get quite a variety of symptoms using HP software, on both Vista and XP.
Have many many hours invested and finally gave up.
Will buy OEM printers in the future.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Photosmart C6380 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst printing experience ever

PostedJanuary 26, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ran out of ink quickly(color & black&white) after only a few pages. Paper jam would not clear. Out of ink again(or so it seemed) color prints were streaking. Bought yet another set of ink, color streaks continued. Cleaned heads still no better, deep clean heads still no better. Printer now 4 days old and had to take it back. HAve had two of them now and both are with out a doubt horrible printers.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Photosmart C6380 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Offline

PostedOctober 7, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Printer continues to go offline. Will not print without rebooting and rebooting PC. Returned one. The new one did the same thing. Returned for refund. Cannot recommend printer that has these problems.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Photosmart C6380 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not a Good Value

PostedOctober 4, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Printer is easy to connect for wireless, but print quality for pictures is lacking after printing 1 or 2 pictures. Pictures are smeared or won't print all colors. Have changed all color cartridges with no success of improvement. CD for drivers was bad had to connect to internet and download to get drivers. Update service trys to update, but show errors consistantly.
Though not an expensive printer,it is still a poor value for my dollar.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Photosmart C6380 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

What a piece of........something

PostedSeptember 13, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This printer does give fantastic prints. Can't complain about the quality. I use this printer once every 3 months and everytime I have to replace the ink cartridges. ALL OF THEM. I don't print much, maybe a few charts (max 3) on one sheet of paper. I have owned this printer for a little under a year and have had to replace cartridges 4 times already. I would not recommend this printer to my worst enemy. Only buy this printer if you want a really expensive doorstop.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Photosmart C6380 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

A Costly Problem

PostedSeptember 5, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I perchased this printer a while back because my HP 2400 stoped
working after 4 years. But I wish I could have the 2400 back !
Because the C6380 really uses the ink up fast.
Im spending more money on ink than I ever did on the 2400 and
the quality is not any better ! The 2400 had only 2 bigger ink cartridges, the C6380 has 5 smaller ones so the cost goes up
but im getting less milege out of the ink and the quality is not any
better. HP needs to make the C6380 more efishient when it comes to ink cartridges so if you have the 2400 keep it,
otherwise it could be " A Costly Problem ".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Photosmart C6380 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

HP PHOTOSMART C6380

PostedJanuary 30, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Print Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have been very unhappy with this product. The product is inexpensive but now i understand why. There are 5 cartridges if its not one running out of ink its the other and you find yourself running back and forth to the store and switching cartridges about once a week. I would not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Photosmart C6380 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not ready for prime time

PostedNovember 26, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Print Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Had the printer for a month and now my computer doesn't see it any more via wi-fi. Had to plug in the usb to get it working again. Very concerned over the large amount of space required for loading drivers and other software. Printer goes through a lot of "clicking and whirring" before it's ready to print.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Photosmart C6380 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

So-so

PostedOctober 11, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Print Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Our family has had this printer in operation now for three months. Although it has the ability to read four different types of camera cards, it's always a challenge to have it read our XD card. More often than not, I have to take it out of the printer and place the card into the reader in the CPU (also an HP). That seems to work fine.
It's very noisy, and goes through a recalibration type routine after every print job. We've had several paper jams that are not simple to fix. The paper really gets jammed in there and comes out in multiple pieces.
Be prepared to go through ink as if you own stock in it. With just simple, every day draft quality printing, we needed to purchase new ink cartridges within three weeks of setting this printer up.
Yes, the wireless capability is nice.
As for scanning, if you want to do anything 3-D, like I do with the greeting cards I make, forget it. There are other models that will allow you to scan objects with texture, and have the whole image be in focus. This model doesn't focus on anything you scan that has dimension to it. Our old non-HP scanner is wonderful for 3D imaging. Everything is in focus, and the lid even pops off if you have something (like a book page) that's bulky that you want to scan.
For the money we spent, I think I would have made a different decision than this printer, if I had it to do over.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Photosmart C6380 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Disappointed

PostedAugust 12, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had a number of HP printers over the years and have been satified with all of them. I purchased the Photosmart C6380 printer several months ago. I have been less than satisfied with the product. The printer is very noisy and uses a lot of ink. The printer is slow and you constantly receive a "Printer Prep Occurring" message. This then results in a lot of noise, a lot of movement of printer parts and a lot of "just waiting" time. I would not recommend the purchase of this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Photosmart C6380 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Eats Ink

PostedMay 6, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We havehad this printer for a while now, prints photos great and regular paper as well works best with HP photo paper,
The only draw back is the amount of ink it uses we are on our second ream of paper and about our third set of cartrigages and they are almost empty.
wireless is Great and very easy to set up
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Photosmart C6380 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Problems with the black cartridge

PostedMarch 16, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Print Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
My All in One came with a "fat" 564 black cartridge, that last for 3 weeks, looking for a better one with more prints, I bought the 564 XL, but this one was thiner that the one who came with the printer and now what I have is a scanner and a copier but not a all in one because I don't know what to buy. Is there any cartridge avalible with another #? because the 564 XL, do not clip in my machine.
Thank
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Photosmart C6380 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

C6380 All In One

PostedJanuary 15, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have used the printer for several months. A lot of noise when preparing to print and even at times when not in use, it just starts making noise. Very slow to start printing but when it finally does start to print it is quick and the print quality is good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Photosmart C6380 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not 100% happy

PostedDecember 8, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Photo quality is good
Scaning also good
Just found out tonight that you cannot "make copies" from the HP Solutions Center. My old printer did it why not this one????
Kind of a pain, just do not like using the keybraod on the C6380.
I guess for the cost you cannot have everything.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Photosmart C6380 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worthy of Consideration

PostedJune 6, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When I decided to go wireless, I wanted an all in one printer and the C6380 met my needs. Its wireless performance with my D-Link 655 is flawless. Setting up the wireless function was pretty straight forward and I was up and running in minutes. Keep in mind that different routers may have different set up procedures and may effect printer set up.
Now, here's the rub; the first initial printing takes a few minutes as the printer prepares itself and it actually tells you not to interrupt it as it does so. Once that initial preparation is done, the printer is remarkably fast. You click Print/OK, the printer starts immediately!
I don't use the scanner feature; I have a stand alone for that but I like the idea of having a backup. I do use the copying function and it, like the printer function, is slow on the initial run but once past that part, the copier function is relatively fast and accurate
Overall, I would suggest that if you're looking for a wireless all in one printer give the C6380 a serious look-see.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Photosmart C6380 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty Good Printer...

PostedJuly 4, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:Under 25
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This printer is pretty good. Its quiet, fast, and durable. The only problem I have had with it so far is its hard for the printer to pick up the 4x6 paper in the 4x6 paper tray. Other than that, its works well. The prints come out spectaculer and I love the wireless capabilities.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Photosmart C6380 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Printer

PostedJune 25, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was very pleased with delivery and set up. The print quality is very good. The printer is a little noisy, the printing of a document or photo is a little "rough". I am not sure when it starts if there is a problem or not until the printer starts printing and then I know it is okay. I am a little uneasy when that happens until it starts printing.
I do not print often and I felt I had to replace the black cartridge sooner than I expected. Overall I would recommend this product. It works great with my new HP laptop!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.