HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop All-In-Ones or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP Photosmart C6280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Photosmart C6280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier

Prints/scans/copies from your home network via built-in Ethernet Prints at speeds of up to 34 pages per minute black, 33 color<sup style="font-size:7pt">##</sup> Photos in as little time as 10 seconds Easy two-sided printing
Overall rating:
3.857 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(42 reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 42 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
5
1 Star
3
29 out of 42(69%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Photosmart C6280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Review 1 for HP Photosmart C6280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

False error messages

PostedDecember 24, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The Photosmart 6280 has some nice features (like 2-sided printing) and good print quality when it prints. However, some serious flaws bring the overall rating way down. It displays "out of paper" messages when there is enough paper in the tray. On some refusals to print, it displays "load paper in main tray face down." This is referring to standard printing paper whose sides are identical until something has been printed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Photosmart C6280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

bad

PostedSeptember 14, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:Under 25
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
causes too many jams everytime i try to print it jams i have goton 3 of the same things so far
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Photosmart C6280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth the headaches

PostedApril 6, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This product has caused more problems than the other two hp printers I've owned. I have had to reregister this model 8-10 times for it to do a simple printing task. I wouldn't buy this product or even take this product as a gift.
PT
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Photosmart C6280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

tech tired

PostedDecember 9, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Product software has problem with veiwing photo library, pictutres go blur while moving from page to page
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Photosmart C6280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

the fatal flaw

PostedNovember 22, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love the print quality of this product but find that the paper feed function is fatally flawed. Misfeeds are constant - causing excessive waste in ink and paper. Help desk and rebooting have not resolved the issue.
Too bad but this model really needs to have better quality in this area.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Photosmart C6280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This printer is terrible!

PostedMarch 4, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I bought my printer for home use in Jan 08. The first one had to be returned because it would not recognize the paper. The paper tray would extend only 6 inches. I cannot print an envelope and there is no information on envelopes in the very minimal manual. It is so cheaply made and I am very disappointed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Photosmart C6280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Skip this one

PostedFebruary 15, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This printer has too many quirks to want to fight with this printer.For example when printing in 'fast draft' one gets a different printout than printing in 'normal'.  The print review does not show any difference.  When one sets up to print in 'fast draft' all the time, it prints in 'fast normal' even though 'it' says the printout will be in 'fast draft'.  Also the paper jams quite often.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Photosmart C6280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Performance

PostedJune 6, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this to replace my very reliable and old HP printer. I like the print quality (haven't used it for photos). However, what I don't like is the small amount of paper the paper tray holds. I do a lot of merge documents and the printer doesn't have enough memory to accommodate this nor the paper tray enough room.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Photosmart C6280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Won't pick up paper

PostedMarch 1, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am not happy with this printer.
Good: Good quality print
Good quality Photo's
It has many separate ink cartridges so you can replace one at a time
BAD
It OFTEN thinks it is out of paper when it is not. This is my main objection!!!
I makes more noises than a carnival ride
It goes through lots of gyration noises even in the middle of a print job which take time
It only holds a minimal amount of paper so I have to constantly reload
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Photosmart C6280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good printer with some serious flaws

PostedDecember 31, 2007
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall this has been a good unit for my home office, but there are two big problems. First, as noted in other reviews, the HP software is a major resource hog even on a fast computer. Do yourself a favor and download the "driver only" software package. Second, the main feed tray will NOT reliably pick up photo paper. I've had my unit replaced once already after only a few weeks and the new unit does the same thing. The feed wheels in the main tray will not grab photo paper, even if you load 10 -20 sheets as HP suggests. With regular paper it works fine IF you keep the feed tray full.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Photosmart C6280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

photosmart 6280

PostedNovember 24, 2007
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
As an owner and champion of HP I was dismayed with the photosmart 6280.  With only a very general manual included I had to print 62 pages from the digital version to fully understand and utilize its use.  The button features commands were very limited and the machine screen was very small to try and adjust photos.  My HP Pavilion a 1050y and its printer together with a flat bed scanner did everything I needed except copy printed material.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Photosmart C6280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good buy for the features

PostedNovember 3, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i was impressed with the quality of the pictures and setup was a breeze. love the fact that it has 2-sided printing so you use less paper.,and having 6 seperate ink cartridges is economical
since you only replace what runs out. GREAT PRICE!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Photosmart C6280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Confusing Software

PostedJuly 26, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The software/driver/networking installation went beautifully (I have 3 PCs in my home). I didn't have to do a thing except click a few option buttons during the install process. The printer printed photos at lab quality -- beautiful! Web pages at full color on plain paper printed beautifully also. The fast printing even at highest print quality saves time. The problem I ran into was with the scanner software. It is confusing - even for someone who is very familiar with the way software works. I was so happy with this MFP until I tried to use the scanning software. I suggest that you use the twain driver in you own photo editing software to grab photos from the scanner for editing. The confusing functionality of this software caused me to wish I had been able to play with it in the store before i purchased this MFP. I have always used HP products because of the reliability and ease of use related to HP products. This was a disappointment to me because of the software. Everything does work flawlessly if you use the buttons on the MFP itself. Overall I am very satisfied with this product. I just wish i could have given it the 5 stars it deserves. I have always been wowed by HP's included software up to this point.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Photosmart C6280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Photosmart C6280 all in one

PostedMay 5, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great printer - love the scanner - love the different size pictures one can print
BUT
This printer is very noisy. It rocks, rolls and shakes. It used much more ink than I thought. Always buying ink. I had a Photosmart 1218 for years and it was great on ink. YES, I print a lot of pictures, usually the 4 x 6.
Lots of time I have to push the OFF button 3 - 4 times before she will shut down. Where I bought it they say that is one problem plus the usage of ink.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Photosmart C6280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Bad Choice of Printer

PostedMarch 25, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The printer was primarily bought for the features of scanning and copying for in home use. I have been disappointed in the amount of noise the printer makes before it prints, scans or copies. It also takes to long, in my opinion, for the printer to complete a single page copy. In some instances I have had to press the copy button more than once to complete copying. For the above reasons I would not recommend this printer to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Photosmart C6280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good unit, but a few quirks

PostedMarch 3, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Photojet 8250 died an ugly death so a replacement was needed. I wanted a dedicated printer but could not pass on this unit. It allowed me to free up some desk space by removing my dedicated scanner. I'll agree with the others that complained of it taking forever for the software to install, and that the unit makes weird noises from time to time. My biggest gripe has to do with the ink cartridges. I had just replaced several of the cartridges in my 8250 before it died. When I unboxed this unit I set the cartridges that came in the box aside thinking I would be able to pull the cartridges out of my 8250 and use them in this unit. NOT! Even though they are the exact same 02 cartridges the 6280 insisted on using the brand new cartridges that it was shipped with. What's up with that? You can't tell me that the cartridges that HP ships with their printers are any different than the ones that you buy from the store.
Other than that, this unit holds a lot of promise. I hope it fares better than my 8250 that died after 2 years.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Photosmart C6280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Buy

PostedFebruary 4, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have had this printer for about 2 months now and I like it. I like that it has individual ink cartridges and that it has a seperate photo tray.
However, it is a bit noisy and it shakes when printing. I have a small computer table. My CPU and printer go on a bottom shelf and my monitor obviously goes on the top shelf, so when I am prnting the entire desk along with my monitor starts to shake.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Photosmart C6280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Its a great printer

PostedDecember 27, 2007
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am amazed at the quality of the photos this printer turns out. My 4x6 and 5x7 photos from my memory card are as good or even better than professionals. I do not like 8x10's, but my camera has only 5.1 megapixels so I blame my camera for that. The 8x10 quality is great when done from the scanner or computer.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Photosmart C6280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very satisfied

PostedDecember 27, 2007
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was looking for a printer that would help a novice print photos and still provide excellent printing qualities. The HP certainly met my expectations. It is easy to use and quick. I print greeting cards regularly and they came out super. My only negative is it is a bit noisy after making copies.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Photosmart C6280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good overall photo printer/AIO

PostedDecember 9, 2007
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I started out with a C7280. It had major quality issues with the scanner. There are a lot of folks out there having the same problem. I did a little more research and traded in the 7280 for the C6280. I'm very satisfied.
So, here it is...
The Bad:
VERY slow network printing and network scanning.
While on network, the HP software takes close to 100% cpu resources.
Small ink tanks.
HP software takes a long time to load.
The scanning interface could be better.
The Good:
6-color inks give great photos!
Fast printing while keeping high quality.
The Essentials software is great for printing a stack of digital photos quickly.
Separate photo tray works well.
The LC and LM inks get eaten up quick, but they're inexpensive.
It duplexes!
Linux support!!!
Overall, I use this printer for printing 4X6 photos and for scanning/printing stuff for work. My PC is a dual-boot Windows/Ubuntu Linux PC. One really big selling point for me was HP's support for Linux. I gave "Performance" a 3 because of the very slow networking.
I really like it!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.