HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop All-In-Ones or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP Photosmart C7280 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Photosmart C7280 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier

Prints/scans/copies from your home network via built-in Ethernet Prints at speeds of up to 34 pages per minute black, 33 color<sup style="font-size:7pt">##</sup> 50-page automatic feeder faxes, scans, and copies multiple pages Built-in wireless and Ethernet connectivity Easy two-sided printing Uses HP 02 inks
Overall rating:
3.961 / 5
4
 / 
5
(181 reviews) 162
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 181 reviews
5 Stars
103
4 Stars
29
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
17
1 Star
22
131 out of 181(72%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Photosmart C7280 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Review 1 for HP Photosmart C7280 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

C7289 All in One

PostedMay 11, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
this is aclunky piece of equipment. TAkes a lot of ink and constantly needs to be rebooted. Under no circumstances should you waste any hard earn money on this lemon
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Photosmart C7280 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bitter Sweet/Get the Service Contract!

PostedApril 8, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Print Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Love the features of this unit, but have had a lot of problems. Sheet feeder feeds multiple sheets. Replaced the unit in warranty. Wouldn't connect wirelessly but Tech Help solved the problem. Put in new ink cartridge and the unit failed, having it replaced. Get the Service Contract. I also like the upgrade feature. If the unit fails you can upgrade to a newer unit or replace the same at a better price. It keeps you coming back.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Photosmart C7280 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Will not print PDF files

PostedFebruary 18, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Wireless is less then expected. I would not recommend this prnter to anyone.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Photosmart C7280 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

4th model failure in less than 1 year

PostedFebruary 15, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I initially purchased a C7280 in March, 2008. 11 months later, I'm on my fourth (yep, you heard right) unit. The first three all failed with paper jams when printing. Supposedly, this model tries to be smart and determine whether you are printing to plain or photo paper. If plain, it uses rollers to transport the paper. If photo, it engages little sprockets to help the thicker photo paper along. Well, when the sensor gets dirty, plain paper gets confused for photo paper. Up pops the sprockets and causes feed jams. There is no way to clean the sensor -- oops! To top it off, I received my 4th refurb unit 2 days ago and it cannot make copies or send faxes without inserting a nice, 2-inch black bar on the margain of the paper. I've had it and have requested a chat with a manager and a refund. I cannot tell you how many hours I have spent in chats or on the phone dealing with this piece of trash. Do not get one! It is totally unreliable.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Photosmart C7280 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Help!

PostedJanuary 30, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We have had the 7280 for about six months now. Our IT guy has been here at least 5 times to get it back on line where it will print. He spends hours and hours each time, it works for a short time then, caput! It stops printing. Cannot figure out the problem ourselves and now the IT guy can't either. I wouldn't give you a penny for the thing. It's certainly very expensive to try to maintain for use when you have to pay the guy $40/hr to fix it every few days. Wish I'd gotten someething else for sure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Photosmart C7280 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wireless scan works, but NO PRINTING

PostedJanuary 22, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
HP C7280
MacBook (2008)
Skybroadband wireless router
Installed all software successsfuly. all devices are wireless. SCAN WORKS. NOT PRINTING!!!
Connected printer to the router with cable - everything works.
Screeming for help!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Photosmart C7280 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointing

PostedNovember 24, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pros:
> was on sale
> all-in-one
Contras:
> EXTREMELY loud compared to other printers (starts by switching it on: loud noises and lots of trembling so that entire desk is shaking, parts are moving inside, lasts for at least 20 sekonds. Same thing before shutting down and each time it prints. Once in a while it would happen without any reason or any printing/scanning initiations from my side).
>EXTREMELY inflexible: The upper plastic part covering the paper sheets completely blocks the view on what you are trying to do with your papers. I also print a lot of odd non-standard formats and with other printers I never had a problem before. This one simply covers me with error messages and refuses to print anything that is not a standard format. Very frustrating.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Photosmart C7280 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No Fan

PostedJuly 30, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I was a BIG HP fan before I purchased the C7280 Photosmart. This has to be the worst all-in-one I have owned. I have had driver issues from day one. I have install & uninstall the drivers many a times. It still ask me to install the disk because the installation has not completed. It's not a simple machine to operate.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Photosmart C7280 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Photosmart 7280 Review

PostedJuly 23, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased this printer about 6 months ago and about two weeks after I regretted the purchase. The status tells me the printer is connected to my network but does not print. When it finally starts printing, it jams. In addition, it sits on now printing forever. I thought changing my setting to fast grayscale printing only, would speed up printing however, it actually increased my wait time. When the blue and pink ink ran out the printer would not print grayscale only. At this very moment, I am still waiting for an 8 page black text document to finish printing. Needless to say, I have competed my review however, my document is still printing. I would love to thank HP for the printers features however, since the features lack performace I will not.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Photosmart C7280 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

error prone

PostedJune 14, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This is absolutely the worst HP product I have ever bought. Previous printers were great. With this printer, I have had nothing but errors. At first it simply lsot connectivitiy (yes I've loaded the updates), now it won't print more than three pages without an ink system error. It also tells me I've shut down the system incorrectly when I prees the off button.
I cannot honestly rate the print quality that well, as I have not been able to print enough successfully.
I would avoid this printer at all costs
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Photosmart C7280 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

C7250

PostedJune 6, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This printer goes off line randomly and is at least weekly, not recognized by the other network(ethernt) PPCs . It is by far the worst printer I have owned in 15 years of using HP printers
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Photosmart C7280 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth any price

PostedApril 10, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
After buying not one, but TWO of these, I am going back to the store to find something else. I have lost so much time and wasted so much money on ink because this piece of junk only runs for a few months, if that, before it develops a crippling problem. This time the Cyan ink does not replace. It just keeps telling me to replace it or print in black only. After trying 4 different carts, I have determined it is once again the printer, not the cartridges, at fault. Do not waste your time or money on this junk!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Photosmart C7280 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Performance Slow

PostedMarch 20, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The performance is slow and erratic.  Most of the time my jobs are stuck in the print queue and do not print or finish printing.  I am using Vista and a wireless connection that works with other HP printers but not the C7280.  The printer is also the slowest printer to actually start printing of any printer I have owned.  At this point I am ready to return the printer since it is critical that I have a reliable printer for my work.  Also, the printer uninstalled within hours after I downloaded the sofware the first time. Fortunately, after a long time I was able to find a Critical Update that seems to have solved the problem. I like the compact size and the seemingly reliable paperfeed, fax and scan capabilities but need to be able to print documents.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Photosmart C7280 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

C7280 All-in-One software is horrible

PostedMarch 16, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought this printer because it's wireless, which enables remote use of the scanning functionality, and because it contains both a photo paper tray and a letter paper tray. No switching paper stock to print photos vs letter. I regret the decision.
I'm technically savvy but it took multiple attempts with Tech Support involvement to get the software installed. That included multiple uses of a brute-force kill-the-software utility included on the CD (util\ccc\uninstall_L4.bat). The fact that they have to write such a utilitiy is telling.
Even when installed, the utitily that runs in the system tray (digital imaging monitor) is incredibly slow to load. In addition, it often alerts that the printer is disconnected, then immediately reconnected. I don't know if the printer's actually losing contact with the network, or if the monitor software is just flaky. As multiple other devices don't show this problem, I suspect the software.
I also installed Windows Vista SP1. HP has a critical software update that prevents a bug where the printer uninstalls itself. I'm a victim of that bug, but the update software says it's not applicable to my OS. I suspect it doesn't recognize SP1.
BTW, my primary computer is Vista Ultimate SP1 x64. I experienced the same install problems in Vista Ultimate (not SP1) x86. The hotfix for the uninstall bug did update the non-SP1 version but did not resolve the extreme speed problem from the Digital Imaging Monitor.
Consider other products before buying this one.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Photosmart C7280 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

C7250 S/A C7280 - sorry install software

PostedFebruary 16, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The hardware is great; the software is awful. It breaks my heart to have to return it. Spent a week on my own trying to get it to install properly. Spent 4 hours with Hp tech installing / uninstalling to laptop (XP Home) and desktop (XP Pro). Laptop installed finally but desktop always ended with FATAL ERROR. But it would print. Both machines lockup due to svchost.exe running >90%. Have to kill proecess to continue. How do I explain to my wife, who is not an IT person, that she has to do this to get it to print? Failed install retries & fails again and again ad infinitum. Dialog pops up asking if I wish to check for updates. No "OK" or "Cancel" buttons! Have to logout to clear screen. This bloated software runs enough processes for 2 machines.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Photosmart C7280 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

SERIOUS software issues

PostedJanuary 27, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great little printer with SERIOUS software issues. Unreliable network printing. Had to reinstall software twice a week. Will not scan over a network. CRASHED my laptop! When trying to fax, all lights started flashing and then it just shut down. It's a shame because it's the perfect size and prints beautiful photos. Exchanged last night for an L7780. Wish me luck!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Photosmart C7280 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

If only it were actuallyas good as it "sounds"

PostedJanuary 15, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
i purchased this one to replace a 6110 office jet -- mainly because i wanted the wireless capability.
PROS:
it's great to have the print, fax, copy, and scan capabilities on one machine. the faceplate is relatively well laid out. the ability to use printbridge technology is great. the lcd screen is a bit small, but do-able.
CONS:
it takes forever to install the software. the print, copy, scan quality on regular copy or brite white paper is dull -- no vibrant colors at all. i'll allow that it's a photo printer, but...dang!!
i like the ability to only have to purchase the colors that run out, but the cost of the pack of inks ($36.00) is ridiculous.
as for the wireless...the installation directions say only install either for wireless or wired. initially, i installed for wireless, but had to scan something and couldn't get the scan capability to work wirelessly, so i plugged in the usb cable. i think once the usb is plugged in and installed, it overwrites the wireless settings. since i'm not communicating with the hubble telescope, i don't necessarily mind the 8-10 seconds it takes to send the wireless signal from the laptop to the printer.
the paper feed is cumberson. regular paper fits underneath the slot for photo paper. there is an icon that shows envelop printing, but i've not used it.
when starting to print, the noise is a bit much, but once printing begins, it's relatively quiet.
the glass patten only takes 8.5x11 paper, and the printer itself doesn't take over-sized paper (14x17)
overall...the concept is good...but, for the cost...the product quality output is poor.
i'm taking it back and getting my money back!!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Photosmart C7280 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth the Money

PostedDecember 15, 2007
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
When printing word documents the quality is aweful. My old 10 yr old deskjet looks nicer than the text on this machine. Waste of my time returning it. Also its very slow - Click print and it takes forever to finally print using wireless. Click print and wait 5 minutes. Main disaapointment was quality of black text.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Photosmart C7280 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I have to disagree

PostedDecember 12, 2007
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have to disagree with the majority of reviews posted here. I am frustrated on a daily basis with this printer. The majority of pages (8 out of 10) are wrinkled upon being pulled into the printer. Alignment of paper is a constant irritant because many of the pages printed are not square on the paper. Most print jobs have to be printed multiple times as a result of one of these two problems. I purchased an HP because of their historical print quality which has been very good as well as the wireless capability. After playing with the paper alignment every day to get quality results, I cannot recommend this printer. It might be a great picture printer, but it is a terrible home/home office, "all-in-one" piece of equipment.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Photosmart C7280 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not happy

PostedNovember 1, 2007
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought one but took it back when I found out there was no way to print an envelope. A pretty good printer except it's no good if you can't print single envelopes. Taking the paper stack out and putting itback is way too much trouble. I'll wait untill HP gets it right or buy another brand.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 to next page>>