HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop All-In-Ones or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP Photosmart C7280 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Photosmart C7280 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier

Prints/scans/copies from your home network via built-in Ethernet Prints at speeds of up to 34 pages per minute black, 33 color<sup style="font-size:7pt">##</sup> 50-page automatic feeder faxes, scans, and copies multiple pages Built-in wireless and Ethernet connectivity Easy two-sided printing Uses HP 02 inks
Overall rating:
3.961 / 5
4
 / 
5
(181 reviews) 162
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 181 reviews
5 Stars
103
4 Stars
29
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
17
1 Star
22
131 out of 181(72%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Photosmart C7280 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Review 1 for HP Photosmart C7280 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally, great pictures

PostedMarch 31, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've upgraded from a 7-year old PSC 500. I wanted a wireless printer for my laptop(mac) and my wife's laptop(vista). I needed the scan capability, high quality, compatibility, and desired the fax. I read all the reviews on hp before purchasing, even the bad reviews.
I experienced difficulty when configuring my mac. I could scan, but not print. I uninstalled the software, then downloaded the "new" mac drivers/software from hp (skip the cd and do this). The second install went flawlessly. It prints and scans now, though it'll only scan from the glass, not the document feeder...still working on that one. It will scan from the document feeder using the printer controls, just not the computer.
The vista installations on my desktop and wife's laptop took a while (~15min/ea), but worked flawlessly on the first install (CD install). The only annoying part is the bubble that keeps popping up when the printer connects/disconnects from the net(thanks vista). It'll show disconnected anytime I change settings on the printer itself, though it'll remain connected.
The print quality is at least equal to drugstore prints. I also noticed not-so-clear text. It wasn't laser quality,but a quatum leap over my old printer. If I needed laser quality, I'd buy a laser printer.
As for expensive cartridges, I bought a pack of all six w/ 150 sheets of photo 4x6s included for less than one old tri-color cartridge. I use the printer for 25% photo/75% other.
It is a little louder/jerkier than my previous printers, but the results are worth it. There is a slight lag in transmitting print jobs wirelessly, but it's only a few seconds (3-5) once they leave the computer. I'm able to check ink status on both vista computers, but my mac won't poll that information, oh well. I can always walk to the printer, since it's only a room or two away.
I am VERY happy so far. I hope it lasts as long as my previous HPs (6yrs/7yrs) I love the duplexing!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Photosmart C7280 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does Not Currently Support MAC OS Leopard!

PostedNovember 13, 2007
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was really excited by this printer, it has great features, wireless G, Fax, ethernet, duplex printing, and the list goes on and on.
I have mine setup wirelessly and it works really well.
On my macbook it literally took 10 mins to setup wirelessly, very easy given how complex of a machine this is.
My only quirk, which is pretty major is that the current drivers are for mac os Tiger, not LEOPARD, so feature adjustments/settings are dinosaur/limited.
For example it took me 10 mins to set this printer up, but after an hour I could not figure out how to adjust the settings to greyscale or draft, because HP has not designed MAC OS Leopard drivers.
I confirmed this with hp mac support.
They have no ETA at this time. This is suppose to be a highly rated product, but just not for a mac user who wants to customize their settings for efficiency.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Photosmart C7280 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This printer is fantastic

PostedSeptember 23, 2007
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this printer yesterday and I love it. It took about 10 minutes to set up and hook up to my router and I've been able to use it on both my home computers. When it comes to scanning, it allows you to pick the computer to scan to and the scan pops up automatically on your computer. I also love the fact that it has an automatic documetn feeder which makes the scanning much easier. The print quality even on fast is great. I would heartily recommend it to anyone.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Photosmart C7280 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Home Printer I've Ever Used

PostedApril 23, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The HP C7280 exceeded my expecations. It is by far the easiest to set up, best print quality home printer I've ever used. I am thrilled with my purchase and would recommend it to anyone.
I had it unpacked, installed and printing in less than 30 minutes! I've experimented with printing a few photos, B/W documents and a color pdf document. The SPEED of the B/W document print is business quality!
If I had to make any criticism, it would be that there are only two scan selections on the preview window and it's not clear what each option provides. But HECK ... who's going to use that little window when you have a shortcut to the program on your computer desktop?!
I thought it would take up too much room on my desk, but it doesn't take up as much room as my previous all-in-one printer. I thought it would be challenging to learn how to use the scanner and photo printer, but it's a breeze.
I love that there are separate color ink cartridges. Now, if I've used too much blue, I only have to replace blue and not an entire "all-in-one" color cartridge! Even better ... the cost of all of the cartridges put together is about what I was paying for one all-in-one ink cartridge.
The speed and quality of laser, the cost and clarity of ink. What MORE could a girl want?
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Photosmart C7280 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Nice!

PostedMarch 24, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a very good printer. The print quality is excellent. Copy and scan features are easy to use and again the quality is top notch. Scanning is somewhat slow. The quality of photos is really super. I have difficulty seeing a difference between originals and copies.
My one compliant would be the paper tray extender. It is very flimsy and one of the prongs lasted almost two weeks before breaking off! I would like a new one, but doubt that I can get it. Never see parts replacement offers!
Overall I would recommend this to anyone.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Photosmart C7280 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

4th model failure in less than 1 year

PostedFebruary 15, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I initially purchased a C7280 in March, 2008. 11 months later, I'm on my fourth (yep, you heard right) unit. The first three all failed with paper jams when printing. Supposedly, this model tries to be smart and determine whether you are printing to plain or photo paper. If plain, it uses rollers to transport the paper. If photo, it engages little sprockets to help the thicker photo paper along. Well, when the sensor gets dirty, plain paper gets confused for photo paper. Up pops the sprockets and causes feed jams. There is no way to clean the sensor -- oops! To top it off, I received my 4th refurb unit 2 days ago and it cannot make copies or send faxes without inserting a nice, 2-inch black bar on the margain of the paper. I've had it and have requested a chat with a manager and a refund. I cannot tell you how many hours I have spent in chats or on the phone dealing with this piece of trash. Do not get one! It is totally unreliable.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Photosmart C7280 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow! What a machine!

PostedJanuary 17, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My first Hp Photosmart (5 years old and really put through its paces) finally gave up its ghost, and I looked very closely at this C7280 before I signed on the dotted line. I am a freelance photographer, but most of my photo printing is done through print labs, so I use the printer mostly for marketing pieces and brochures, as well as the occasional printed snapshot. I seriously considered an officejet 7680 because of its legal size paper capability, but I wanted to have the option for printing pro-quality photos in house in case I needed to. I also have been wanting a duplexing printer for quite some time.
I just received the printer, so I can't say anything about its longevity, but I have tested its features, and all I can say is WOW! The photo quality is the best I have ever seen, and the text output is laser quality.
The location of the memory card slots is convenient, and the control panel is easy to reach, easy to read, and operates intuitively.
I would have given this printer a full 5-star rating except for one thing that was not clear in any of descriptions, and that I wish has been addressed. But please note, this issue is not a deal killer by any means!
The duplexing feature only works on files sent from the computer, not on scanned copies. Not a big deal, since I can scan the doc I want to print double sided and then output on double sided pages, but it is an extra step that would be handy to avoid. It means you need the computer to run a two sided copy.
Bottom line: This is a great printer, at a decent price that will serve home users and small businesses very well. And, it is backed by HP quality.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Photosmart C7280 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

PostedDecember 5, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been using my C7280 for over a year now. It was purchased to replace an Officejet 520 all in one which was several years old that I was very satisfied with.
I have had no problems with this machine and the color ink cartridges are individual colors so i don't have to replace the entire cartridge when just one color runs out.
I do a lot of printing, copying, scanning and faxing and need a very reliable machine. The C7280 has exceeded all my expectations.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Photosmart C7280 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Printer!

PostedMarch 27, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have to admit after reading some of the reviews I was afraid to take this printer out of the box. Well, I set it up with my wireless network and the set up was a breeze. I am on a Mac OS 10.4 and thus far I am having no problems at all. Print quality is great. Two sided printing is great. And the fax with doc feeder is also great. Haven't scanned yet. Overall very happy thus far (used it just a few hours). The only downside is it is a bit loud. I would recommend this printer!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Photosmart C7280 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good for most all applications.

PostedMarch 19, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The print quality is second to none. The functions that are available are simple and overall user friendly .This AIOworks very well, however if you like a machine that runs smoothly, this is not the machine for you. It is a bit clunky, noisy, along with harsh movements which shake ones desk. I do not know if this is typical of all in ones? It does get in ones way at first, but it was something that was easy to get used too. The machine does work exceptionally well and worth the minor inconvenience.
I do recommend it. overall 4.5 :)
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Photosmart C7280 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceptional Printer

PostedOctober 30, 2007
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Used this to replace an OfficeJet 7110. Print quality, print speed, installation and management of top of the line. I think HP could come up with a way to speed up the network interfaces though. Photo scan quality is awesome after tweaking settings a little. Installed software on 5 computers (all wireless) and have this and a color laser printer also connected wirelessly. Had trouble on one with a corporate (not configurable by me) firewall application and VPN, but it is manageable.
Software does seem to take a long time to install, but once installed, it's great, doesn't seem to use a lot of system resources.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Photosmart C7280 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

have it for ONE YEAR & so far so good

PostedMarch 26, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wanted something really nice for my new laptop last year & bought the C7280 all in one... everything is great & i have it hooked up to my laptop & when i take my laptop out & about i just reconnect the usb cord and no problems...love the printer, copier, scanner, & fax function...LOVE the photosmart creating pictures...wonderful...cool thing is you can even use it as an internal fax if you don't have a phone line and it goes into an "inbox" type mailbox like email...BEST THING IS YOU CAN BUY FROM HP A "COMBO 02 INK & PHOTO PAPER" as you save $ and always have ink & authentic HP photopaper when you need it...also I use HP multipurpose paper for copy/print... HAVE not used the wireless feature but i know it's there when i have to set up all things wireless... GREAT PRODUCT... easy set up, nice tech help who made sure my fax worked and also a "trial number" to make sure your outgoing fax feature works, too... VERY FINE PRODUCT...THANK YOU... hope nothing happens now that i wrote this sterling review...fingers crossed...i am not "mechanical"...
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Photosmart C7280 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Third one was the charm!

PostedFebruary 15, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product! This is my third printer in less than a month . . .I couldn't find anything that I REALLY liked until I tested this printer in the store. My previous printer (the one I was trying to replace) had the the PC Fax feature & I loved it (helped to save a tree), so I wanted to make sure I had that particular feature, again. This printer's wireless setup was way too easy! The color printing is rich . . . prints pretty fast, too. Finally, I have a printer where the paper lies flat & doesn't stand on its end (creates paper jams); you only have to change the "one" ink cartridge that runs out. I do wish it had the disk labeling feature, though. Oh! And it's pretty, too!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Photosmart C7280 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Photosmart 7280 Review

PostedJuly 23, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased this printer about 6 months ago and about two weeks after I regretted the purchase. The status tells me the printer is connected to my network but does not print. When it finally starts printing, it jams. In addition, it sits on now printing forever. I thought changing my setting to fast grayscale printing only, would speed up printing however, it actually increased my wait time. When the blue and pink ink ran out the printer would not print grayscale only. At this very moment, I am still waiting for an 8 page black text document to finish printing. Needless to say, I have competed my review however, my document is still printing. I would love to thank HP for the printers features however, since the features lack performace I will not.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Photosmart C7280 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great!!!

PostedJuly 12, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased the HP Photosmart C7280 All-in-One Printer to replace my old HP print and what a suprise!! I love the thing, it is great to work with and simple to set up. And I don't know if this will work for everyone but I have it hardwired via the USB to my disktop and wireless to my laptop! Is that great or what?! Thanks HP for another fine product. I would recommend this to anyone that likes Photo's also, great pictures (for me anyway.)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Photosmart C7280 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Very Costly in the Long Run

PostedJune 16, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have had the printer 1 1/2 months, in that time, I have bought 7 black cartridges, one light magenta, one dark magenta, a yellow and a cyan.  I actually had one cartridge last 32 pages and that was all.  This is not 32 fully black pages, this is normal business letter pages.  I was told it would be able to get up to 630 pages in black and white---maybe if it is one letter a page. My ink sucking previous printer did better on ink than this, atleast I only had to change that one every couple months.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Photosmart C7280 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great except the ink...

PostedMay 7, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Set up was fast and easy and the quality and speed of every feature was very good. I really like the individual ink cartridges. However, the ink on the printed page is very sensitive to any kind of moisture. A drop of water on your fingers will smear any text it touches. Using a highlighter pen also smears the ink.
Are there any plans in the future to formulate the ink to dry solid and be as water resistant as the printers with the Black and All Color cartridges do? I miss that feature on my old HP Printer which was the J5700 model.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Photosmart C7280 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

C7280 All-in-One software is horrible

PostedMarch 16, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought this printer because it's wireless, which enables remote use of the scanning functionality, and because it contains both a photo paper tray and a letter paper tray. No switching paper stock to print photos vs letter. I regret the decision.
I'm technically savvy but it took multiple attempts with Tech Support involvement to get the software installed. That included multiple uses of a brute-force kill-the-software utility included on the CD (util\ccc\uninstall_L4.bat). The fact that they have to write such a utilitiy is telling.
Even when installed, the utitily that runs in the system tray (digital imaging monitor) is incredibly slow to load. In addition, it often alerts that the printer is disconnected, then immediately reconnected. I don't know if the printer's actually losing contact with the network, or if the monitor software is just flaky. As multiple other devices don't show this problem, I suspect the software.
I also installed Windows Vista SP1. HP has a critical software update that prevents a bug where the printer uninstalls itself. I'm a victim of that bug, but the update software says it's not applicable to my OS. I suspect it doesn't recognize SP1.
BTW, my primary computer is Vista Ultimate SP1 x64. I experienced the same install problems in Vista Ultimate (not SP1) x86. The hotfix for the uninstall bug did update the non-SP1 version but did not resolve the extreme speed problem from the Digital Imaging Monitor.
Consider other products before buying this one.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Photosmart C7280 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best 4-1

PostedMarch 13, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Upgraded from a 3310. My OS is Apple's Leopard. Caution: do not use the CD that comes with printer. Instead Download latest driver from HP site. The printer works flawlessly in everyone of the 4-1s. Love the duplex feature. Scanning is fast. Fax set up is simple. The only item I had to call HP Tech for was: how to switch the printer to activate the photo tray. (When you attempt to print. Click on "copies and pages" button. This will reveal many options. Click on "Paper Type/Quality." In the window that pops up, look for "Source," and there are the two options: main tray and photo tray.) I've owned several 4-1s from HP, and in this one, they've put all the features together including wireless for a bargain price.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Photosmart C7280 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

C7250 S/A C7280 - sorry install software

PostedFebruary 16, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The hardware is great; the software is awful. It breaks my heart to have to return it. Spent a week on my own trying to get it to install properly. Spent 4 hours with Hp tech installing / uninstalling to laptop (XP Home) and desktop (XP Pro). Laptop installed finally but desktop always ended with FATAL ERROR. But it would print. Both machines lockup due to svchost.exe running >90%. Have to kill proecess to continue. How do I explain to my wife, who is not an IT person, that she has to do this to get it to print? Failed install retries & fails again and again ad infinitum. Dialog pops up asking if I wish to check for updates. No "OK" or "Cancel" buttons! Have to logout to clear screen. This bloated software runs enough processes for 2 machines.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 to next page>>