HP Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for hp HP Color LaserJet CP1215 Printer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Color LaserJet CP1215 Printer

Reliable printing in as little time as 12 pages per minute black, 8 pages color Fast startup, even from powersave mode Compact, stylish design
Overall rating:
3.237 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 38 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
5
1 Star
9
21 out of 38(55%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Color LaserJet CP1215 Printer
Review 1 for HP Color LaserJet CP1215 Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Never more disappointed with HP

PostedDecember 21, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Aurora, CO
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this printer at the end of September, 2009. We brought it home, but it wouldn't work at all, so we had to return it and exchange for the same model.
When we got the replacement home, it was very difficult to unpack.
We wanted it for the network, but soon after we got it, we couldn't send to it. It took awhile to find out what was wrong. Turned out the cable connection in the printer was loose. The service person to whom I spoke insisted that it would have to be packed and returned, so we decided we could just keep from moving the printer so the cable stayed in the right place. Periodically, we have to remove the cable from the printer and replug it.
Shortly after the printer was one year old, we started getting an error 51.23 turn off and back on. At first we would get this a couple of times and then the printer would print. As time went by, we would have to turn off and on and remove sheets of paper until now (printer is 1 year, 3 months old) it gives us this error every time.
The only answer we can get is to take or ship it to an HP service center and pay for repairs.
The other bad thing about this printer is toner prices. To replace all four toner cartridges is at least 33% more than the printer cost in the first place! Pathetic.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Color LaserJet CP1215 Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Printer

PostedNovember 5, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Missouri
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have an HP laser jet 1200 that just pumped out copy after copy for 2001 but I really wanted a laser that did color also. This CP1215 seems to be the workhorse my 1200 was. I've had it two months now and my pages are beautiful. I use the grayscale setting to save toner on simple stuff but the colors are beautiful. I do wish the paper drawer was more easily accessible. I use a lot of different paper and I became spoiled with the open tray on the old 1200. Cartridges are easy to change out and the compact lines make it so easy to work with. I'm very, very happy with this printer!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Color LaserJet CP1215 Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great color laser printer

PostedSeptember 11, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Orange County, CA
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband says I have no need of a color laser printer, BUT, I do! I love the speed, clarity, color and ease of printing. I've had no trouble with this printer at all.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Color LaserJet CP1215 Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Printer but no Mac Driver

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a solid color laser printer at a reasonable price. However, I just purchased IMacs and was upset when I found out that there are no drivers for Macs with this printer. Now I have to look for another printer. HP, please create drivers for Macs with this printer!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Color LaserJet CP1215 Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Disappointed there are no Mac drivers

PostedJuly 9, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this printer about a year ago and loved it with XP. Recently bought an I-Mac and was totally shocked to find it has no Mac driver available. I've been thoroughly happy with print quality...I print a lot of color brochures and tutorials out using it. My biggest negative beside the Mac driver is the fact that the printer cartridges "run out" very quickly. I did find a way to override using the software and so far things are good. No wonder HP wants you to send in to "recycle" the cartridges--they still have a lot of toner left in them if you don't use override! HP is one of the leading printer suppliers--they should definitely have MAC drivers for their products.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Color LaserJet CP1215 Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed

PostedJune 24, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Diego
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I purchased this printer last November with high expectations as I have always received a quality HP product. Within 2 months of owning the printer the error messages started. The first of which was a constant paper jam error, when there was no paper jam. I was constantly having to reset the printer to clear. Shortly after that we started getting errors that say the back door was open when it was not. The printer sat, disconnected for about 3 months until, in a moment of desperation, I decided to mess with again to see if I could resolve the issue. Oddly enough, it began working again with no errors. Well, that was short lived (about 10 pages into printing) as the back door error has appeared again and we are unable to print. While the print quality if fantastic when it does work, I certainly would not recommend this printer to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Color LaserJet CP1215 Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good...but...

PostedMay 4, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Not Mac compatible, which is a real pain. It works well with my HP laptop, but my other computer is a Mac and I have to email myself to print. There's no reason for this...my very old Laser IIP had no problem with the Mac. HP can and should fix this!
Still, I'm buying one for my mom because it's a good printer for the money and she works on a PC.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Color LaserJet CP1215 Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good starter-- ideal for home or small office.

PostedMay 1, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
I bought the CP1215 in Nov 2009 to replace an old HP LaserJet IIP B&W workhorse after 20 years.
The software installation process is easy and the small footprint makes this printer ideal for tight places. The printer in idle mode is dead quiet, during startup it self cleans and the sound is noticeable for a few minutes. There is no LCD display; instead you are guided by lights if a paper jam occurs. It ships with cartridges (4 of them) at half capacity or less, so be prepared to buy new ones soon. Toner can be expensive, at $55-$70 a cartridge. I recommend printing in black to save on color toner. The printer uses a 150 sheet tray versus 250 sheets found on higher end models.
In general, neutral photos print quality is very good as well as color documents & graphics. However, for pictures that are not neutral, the printer’s hue process is on the dark side resulting in dark prints. Results may vary depending on type of paper too (i.e. glossy, matte, brochure). The color print speeds are slow and find myself waiting longer then I should for a print.
If your budget for a LaserJet is tight, I would recommend the CP1215 for a home or small office applications. For larger office and advance features I would recommend the CP2025dn-- it has the LCD panel, 250 sheet tray, higher image processing and faster print speeds. Of course, it costs more and it's bigger.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Color LaserJet CP1215 Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

CP1215

PostedApril 24, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Great printer for the price. I have used it for professional looking brochures and many other projects. Good value for the performance. Cartidges are rather expensive - but seem to last.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Color LaserJet CP1215 Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best For The Money

PostedFebruary 9, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Bought this to replace an older color laser. It is quieter than the older one and is very fast for an entry model. We use it for church choir menus and many other things. We bought it on sale and love it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Color LaserJet CP1215 Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Productivity

PostedFebruary 6, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Good quality but slow reproduction speed. If time is of the essence, this printer is not for you. If there is a method, program, or setting for increasing print speed it is not clear.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Color LaserJet CP1215 Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

some what dissatisfied

PostedFebruary 6, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
Brand new printer getting problem (remove shipping lock from yellow cartridge) as i have taken all locks from toners when i contacted hp booked a complaint, 2 business working days of course hp customer support is good but i purchased on Friday so i have to wait till Tuesday. its was an urgency. i own the brand new printer still i have to take prints from outside.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Color LaserJet CP1215 Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great color printer

PostedJanuary 25, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had this printer for several months and think its great. I use it just for color jobs, and have another B/W printer because of the cost of running this machine. We use if for color photo prints which I find the quality comparable to commercial prints. We also make greeting cards with home art work on card stock paper. The resolution exceeds that of my B/W printer, and there have not be any reliability problems. I used a refurb cartridge so far without any problems, and it was much cheaper than new. I miss the bypass tray, and wish I had spent a little more to get the model with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Color LaserJet CP1215 Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Temperamental HP

PostedJanuary 24, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Most temperamental laser I have ever had. Problems connecting wirelessly; problems with the printer thinking supplies empty when new; no printer drivers for Mac users; not great with networks. I basically hate this printer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Color LaserJet CP1215 Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pretty, nifty, compact, & great bang-for-the-buck

PostedJanuary 19, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really do love this printer. I got this printer when the model was brand new on the market. HP had a great deal going and the local box store sweetened it even more with a trade-in (we were doing "green" that year) so it cost less than a comparable b&w laser printer. After nearly two years of use, I can heartily recommend it.
It replaced a 100 lb Minolta color laser printer (I donated it to a school and they love it) that was great in its time but too bulky and slow for my wants. I looked carefully at the estimated page use per color (6000 for the Minolta vs. 2000 or so for the HP and $150 per/cartridge Minolta vs $75 per cartridge HP). The Minolta was definitely more cost-effective to keep, but in the end, I went for the HP because I wanted something that was faster, smaller, and easier to get replacement cartridges for. I can actually move this printer without straining, and unlike my previous printer, it didn't break the rollaround stand it was on. I can walk into any office supply store and can almost guarantee there will be a cartridge when I need it.
I knew the toner would deplete fairly fast and, to replace toner is almost the cost of new printer, but that's life in Color Laser Land, regardless of brand or cartridge capacity. I've had it for nearly two years and have only gone through one set of cartridges (the original ones). I've replaced the black twice, so for my printing needs this baby is fine. If you stagger out the cartridge replacements, then it's not quite so painful.
I didn't need a lot of features as this is for home use. I wanted quality color printing at a fairly rapid speed and for this, this little laser is sweet. Unless you're doing very high quality photos, printing to good quality copier paper will serve you well, certainly it works fine for classroom and general office work. If you want a highspeed color laser with more toner capacity, then you need to look at something a bit higher on the price scale, but frankly, for most home users, speed is not a necessity. If replacing the color cartridges gives you heartburn, then get a black and white laser for everyday use and reserve this one for the things that really require color -- or get an inkjet (which isn't as fast as a laser, and the ink still bleeds if the paper gets wet). If there is a good chance your printouts will get wet, whether because of work environment or Mother Nature, then laser printing is a must.
I've only had one problem with a paper jam that locked up my print queue so I had to reboot my computer, but that was user-induced (the jam), so really, this printer has been no-muss, no fuss.
I would absolutely buy this printer again. Can't go wrong for initial cost, ease of use and finding replacement supplies, and most of all, the print quality.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Color LaserJet CP1215 Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad business

PostedJanuary 11, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
1. the cartridges are expensive
2. if the black runs out you can´t print even a single page in blue or other color, it just stops working
3. my printer stopped working even thou the black was not finished I had never shaken the cartridge, it stops because a hardware chip tell the printer it is empty.
This Is in my opinion a fraud, selling this printer like this.
I always print with economical fonts so the cartridge is not empty.
The printer count the pages printed and stops even thou you would like to try. the worst that would happen is a blank page.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Color LaserJet CP1215 Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Temper your expectations

PostedDecember 30, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this printer for grad school; printing papers, presentations and the like. It has performed quite admirably. I do find it somewhat humorous that it would be more economical to throw the printer away and buy a new one rather than replace all four cartridges, but I understand supplies are where HP makes its money.
This is an entry level color printer. Do not expect to print archive quality photos with it. It is a great everyday printer, especially for students or SOHO use. Good replacement for an inkjet, or to supplement a black and white laserjet. A bit on the slow side, but printing is usually the last step in my process, so it hasn't been an issue. The single tray is a little inconvenient, so I tend to send envelopes and other single-feed jobs to my black and white laser.
If you want to print photos, get a photo printer. If you want an excellent color printer to handle your everyday home or office printing needs, the CP 1215 is a good choice.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Color LaserJet CP1215 Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing product for price

PostedDecember 30, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product was an amazing deal. I love that I can now print pictures and documents at a fraction of the cost I used to. The print quality is good on regular cheap paper, but amazing on the specific HP glossy/laser and brochure papers. I can do everything from printing my everyday home spreadsheets to printing off wedding programs for friends saving them tons of $$$. HP, well done on creating a solid product at an amazing price point. The've proven again that they are the benchmark for all other printer companies.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Color LaserJet CP1215 Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't work with OS X

PostedDecember 24, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
What the heck? Every other HP device for the last decade has worked well with the Mac.
This really is unexpected and disappointing. Why?
Boo to HP this was a Christmas gift and I had to return it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Color LaserJet CP1215 Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Printer is slow

PostedNovember 9, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have never owned a printer that heats up and creases the envelope flap when printing envelopes. The fact that you have to take out the paper to insert envelopes is a pain too. It constantly is "configuring". This is the worst printer HP has ever made.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.