HP Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for hp HP Photosmart Premium Fax All-in-One Printer - C309a

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Photosmart Premium Fax All-in-One Printer - C309a

Prints at speeds up to 33 pages/min black, 32 color ## 50-page automatic feeder faxes, scans, copies multiple pages Built-in wireless and Ethernet connectivity Easy two-sided printing, 2.4" color display, Bluetooth
Overall rating:
3.475 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(257 reviews) 242
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 257 reviews
5 Stars
97
4 Stars
54
3 Stars
25
2 Stars
36
1 Star
45
158 out of 257(61%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Photosmart Premium Fax All-in-One Printer - C309a
Review 61 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax All-in-One Printer - C309a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP C309

PostedSeptember 2, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased on8/06/09. It took a couple of times to get in to down load. Make sure you buy extra ink. I do not use mine for a lot of printing. I have had to purchase more ink. Also it makes a lot of noise when you turn it on and before it does what you want it to. The printing is excelent.
I got mine for $199.00
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 62 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax All-in-One Printer - C309a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ink usuage

PostedSeptember 2, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I print invoices and it uses way too much ink and there is not that much printing on the invoices. It seems to print slow. Fax works wonderful. Have not used any of the other features. Have not had time to print pictures.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 63 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax All-in-One Printer - C309a
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

photosmart replacing

PostedJuly 22, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Printer is good but I cannot get a ring to receive a fax. I can fax out but cannot receive fax. I have a hps 950 that I have a problem with because it give me a message (warming up) and will not perform any reatures at the time. Sometimes I re-boot the system and sometimes I shut the printer down before it will operate. I does the task and then give me the same message. I bought the new photosmart to replace it and now I have a setup problem with it. I am sure that I can gt it set up when I call your help line again. I like the printer overall but just need to get this problem fixed. Last try, I could not hear a ring when someone tried to test for incoming fax. Hope to keep this photosmart.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 64 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax All-in-One Printer - C309a
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

loses network connectivity

PostedJuly 13, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This all-in-one is certainly advanced. You can be assured of issues arising.
Be sure NOT to use the included installation CD. It's already out-of-date. Printer loses network connectivity and network key frequently. Quality of print is 5-star. Cartridges are expensive.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 65 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax All-in-One Printer - C309a
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

bad color

PostedMay 26, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Love everything about this printer but the photos are very dark and the colors just don't stand out , took it back and got a 8180 and love it the pictures give u that WOW which this printer did not . I print nothing but photos so the 8180 was the right one for me, if u want to fax buy this one
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 66 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax All-in-One Printer - C309a
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

LOW INK IN ORIGINAL CARTRIDGES

PostedMay 19, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The only thing wrong with this is the low ink usage. I only printed one full page and two 4x6 photos and the blue ran out. I printed less then 50 pages in text and grayscale and the black ran out. I purchased new XL cartridges for the photo colors and they are the exact same size as the regular ones so i guess the regular ones are only not filled all the way . I will try the new XL cartridges and report back on how they are.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 67 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax All-in-One Printer - C309a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Could Not be Easier or Better

PostedApril 11, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
The title says it all. Easy installation, easy to use, and performs faultlessly. I cannot think of any shortcomings with this device.
Highly recommended.
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 68 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax All-in-One Printer - C309a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great!

PostedAugust 17, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This printer was so easy to install and start using. I had wanted to get a printer to print direct on CD's and when shopping the salesman showed me the All-In-One and I immediately saw that it could replace my HP 7310(witch had worked perfect for years) with many extra features. The wireless connection took about three minutes and it was on my home network. My primary mission was to make new Karaoke CD's for my wife. I did discover that the included software for printing on CD's was not very feature rich. I searched a forum and found the name of a good freeware that worked great. I have already recommended this one to two friends. Very please with my purchase.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 69 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax All-in-One Printer - C309a
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good features, but tedious to use.

PostedMay 4, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unlike other HP printers, this uses built in print heads and the cartridges themselves just contain the ink. This apparently make the cartridges cheaper, but it seems to slow down the printer A LOT. The main problem I have is that it takes forever for me to do anything with this machine, which is both software and hardware related. I am a power user on a computer, in other words, I work extremely fast and like simple technical selections, but the software for this machine tries to control every aspect and it really just gets in my way. The fancy scan setup screen takes a good couple minutes to load on my very fast computer. The other problem is the machine spends a ton of time making noises and "preparing." If you start printing something and hit cancel, you can expect the machine to go through its whirring and clicking noise sequence for 2-5 minutes, and you cannot interrupt it. I am an avid HP supporter but this printer does not take the cake as far as performance. Also, the ~33 page per minute print rate does not seem to be true. Unless you don't account for the time stopping and cleaning the print heads during the process. I was going to get the cheaper printer like this one, but it wasn't designated as a photosmart which is what I wanted.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 70 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax All-in-One Printer - C309a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Printer...C309a

PostedApril 14, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
I got this printer as a Christmas gift and so far I love it. It was very easy to set up on my XP desktop. I networked it to my Windows 7 laptop and it only took a few minutes for me to find the driver/software on the HP site and install. It was up and running on my laptop in no time at all. I can really notice a difference in the print quality between this printer and my old HP 7350. Although the 7350 is still working beautifully, I wanted a two sided printer, not to mention that my husband is ALWAYS using the HP 7350 so I really did need a printer of my own (smile). I set up the fax and it works great with my ring-tone number. The included fax cord was long enough to reach the phone jack across the room so I was thrilled with that. I can just leave it in the back of the printer until I need to send/receive a fax.
I am still playing with the other options of my new printer, but I'm sure all will be satisfactory. The kids said the printer was received in only a few days after ordering. Thanks Hp for another great printer!!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 71 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax All-in-One Printer - C309a
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst HP Ever

PostedOctober 9, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have been using HP printers for over 15 years and this product is the worst HP product that I have ever used. So much that it is now in the closet and i replaced it with my old HP which i had repaired. This after having the new unit completely replaced once.
The problems are as follows: 1. wireless function rarely works which is one of main reasons I bought this unit. 2. The software causes problems with my laptop ie. it interferes with MS office applications 3. More often than not it will not receive faxes but since it is not consistant it is difficult to figure out the problem. 4. Ink consumption is very high when compared to the same type of printing on other models. 5 It is noisier than my old model.
When it does print the quality is very good and the scan to PDF is very handy but if I only wanted these two functions I would have purchased a different machine. I know three other people with the same model as me and they have all been retired. Buyer beware.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 72 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax All-in-One Printer - C309a
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Really wanted to love this printer.

PostedMarch 20, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
But it is the most frustrating electronic device I own. I press a key... nothing happens. I press it again.. the function works. More than half of all keypresses just don't register. Having owned a PSC 2610 previously, I have to say this is a big step down in quality.
Other than that - great menus, LCD display, etc.
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 73 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax All-in-One Printer - C309a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a GREAT PRINTER SERIES

PostedJune 14, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:The Carolinas
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have the printer (C6180 Photosmart All-In-One) now 3 generations 'old' ... the only issues that i have had with this printer in the now 7 years since using has been that NOW - the newest MS Operating System seems to be a little more 'finiky' about what 'devices' it sees. That's perfectly understandable, but now it seems that i am having some issue (possibly non-related specifically to the printer) --- with Windows 7 --- it must be that this 'older' printer and the Network setup that I'm using is not working as I expect....must do more than just most recent download of driver and updt pkg.
Never-the-less, this SERIES of PRINTERS FAR EXCEED EXPECTATIONS, and I have been 'impressed' with HP SUPPORT...It actually is on the same level as Microsoft <--of course that may seem 'bad' if you've had negative experiences with them (I haven't) ...
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 74 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax All-in-One Printer - C309a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I like it.

PostedApril 23, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
I have had this printer for about 5 months and I really like it. Some of the reviews I read before I purchased this said it was noisy when starting up and used alot of ink, but I don't think it is any noisier or uses any more ink than my Lexmark all in one printer that I had prior to this. We had a HP printer also before this and it lasted twice as long as the Lexmark.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 75 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax All-in-One Printer - C309a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

PostedApril 10, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
I love this machine. I had a 1 1/2-year-old Photosmart before, but this model has more features.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 76 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax All-in-One Printer - C309a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Photosmart Premium Fax C309 Series

PostedMarch 10, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
I absolutely love this printer. Printing pictures is easy and they come out beautiful. This printer copies, faxes, scans and prints. It does everything and the quality of the pictures and prints are incredible. For this to be a small copier it handles the job like the industrial copiers that I use at work. You can also make calenders and fax cover letters with ease. I love the on screen help guide. I would recommend this printer to anyone who wants to use fax, scan, copy or even print pictures, you have it all in this printer.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 77 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax All-in-One Printer - C309a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Prod.

PostedMarch 8, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Age:55+
Am very happy with this machine. It will walk you thru anything you need to do. It makes very pretty pictures but it does use a lot of ink. I think HP made a very good machine.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 78 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax All-in-One Printer - C309a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Psc C309

PostedAugust 26, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic so far. Gave my refurbished 2610 to a son (used that for almost 4 years. went wireless for both PC and laptop. Could not be more pleased. Also works with son's Mac although we cannot quite GLOW and sell his MAc as others do here. It works extremely well no issues yet.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 79 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax All-in-One Printer - C309a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Printer

PostedAugust 23, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had this printer for about 3 months and it is great. It took about 30 mins. to install and the fax works great and the wireless took only a few minutes to install. I got the most current dirvers off the Hp website. Love the picutres that I get off this printer and the printing on DVD's is great. Also the scan works great. All in all this is the best HP printer that I have owned. I have had a computer since 1988 and have been using Hp printers every since but this ones comes in first in all of them. I would certainly recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 80 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax All-in-One Printer - C309a
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

DVD/CD printing

PostedAugust 3, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The print rollers roll across CD's and DVD's you print leaving lines that you can see when light reflects off the disk. This is a very bad design. Other manufacturers do not have this problem. Apparently all the HP printers have this flaw.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.