HP Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for hp HP Photosmart A646 Compact Photo Printer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Photosmart A646 Compact Photo Printer

Extra-large (3.45") HP TouchSmart screen Photos in sizes 4 x 6, 4 x 8 card, 4 x 12 panorama, 5 x 7" Memory card slots, PictBridge, built-in Bluetooth More than 300 creative elements
Overall rating:
4.171 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(41 reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 41 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
4
1 Star
3
33 out of 41(80%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Photosmart A646 Compact Photo Printer
Review 21 for HP Photosmart A646 Compact Photo Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I believe I have a lemon!

PostedMarch 21, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
I bought the A646 because of the glowing reviews on this website, the convenience, and the price. I must have received a lemon, because I have had nothing but trouble with this printer. It is my 10th HP printer, and I have never had the problems that I have with this printer. I installed/uninstalled the software 4 times and tried everything suggested in Troubleshooting. When I print a picture, then go to the printer under Printers and Devices, it shows that the document is printing, but the printer won't print it. I have to cancel the print job, disconnect the power and USB cables, and reconnect the cables. Then I'm prompted to run the setup.exe file after which I'm told the software is already installed correctly. Then I can print 1, and only 1, picture. For the next picture, I have to go through this process again. What a pain!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for HP Photosmart A646 Compact Photo Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWSOME

PostedMarch 16, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
I love this printer. It prints great photos. I had alot of pics on my cell phone that I printed through the bluetooth and they turned out GREAT. Could not be happier. Very fast shipping also.
AWSOME PRINTER.Thank you HP!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for HP Photosmart A646 Compact Photo Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Printer

PostedMarch 14, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Age:55+
I bought this printer because my HP385 went belly up. Liked most of the features on the 646 but wish it had a feature to print a range of pictures from a card. Most cards now can hold over a thousand photos and having to select them one by one is very time consuming. Most likely will not use the computer connection for printing out pictures. Great pictures though as a stand alone printer and like the portability as we travel a lot and can take it with us in the trailer.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for HP Photosmart A646 Compact Photo Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great pictures

PostedMarch 10, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
The photos are great. The reason I gave it only a 4 star rating is because I use a compact flash with my digital SLR and there is not a slot for the compact flash. The 510 does have a slot for it, so I use it for those pictures, however, I must download to a computer to print 5x7s.. Have enjoyed printing the 4x6s and sharing them with family.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for HP Photosmart A646 Compact Photo Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Christmas Present that didn't work

PostedMarch 5, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
I bought this as a Christmas present for my technically-challenged mother whose film camera finally failed. The simplicity and touch-screen seemed easy enough for her and does not require a computer. Unfortunately, when she unwrapped it Christmas and I tried to demonstrate some 'near-instant' Christmas prints. The printer made one beautiful 5x7 and never produce a decent print after that. She thought I should just return it but since I bought it direct from HP.com it is not as simple as exchanging it at a retailer. After cleaning and fussing with diagnostics, I bought a replacement cartridge for $24. So far, that seems to have fixed the problem. HP will replace my defective cartridge because it is still under warranty. Sadly, I had to type in the same personal & printer information multiple times during my dialog with HP Support to fulfill their requirements. So beware when buying direct, if you get a bad one, it may be months before you will get a replacement and see a print. Buy from a retailer or order extra cartridges so you won't be disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for HP Photosmart A646 Compact Photo Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedMarch 2, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
I have had my printer for near 6 months and I love it. Digital pics are great, but being able to print them right at home rather than go to a store is really awesome. I don't know what I did without this. The colors are great and if you use the HP photo paper it is better than what you get when you order prints from anywhere.
Uses a little more ink than I like, but if you want great color, that is a small price to pay.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for HP Photosmart A646 Compact Photo Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wonderful printer

PostedFebruary 28, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
this printer prints out crystal clear photos, and the print takes up the whole sheet of paper, so its not like a small picture where you have to cut the excess paper off. its compact, light and portable. everyone says that the bluetooth function doesnt work, but if you follow the details on the setup poster step by step it works fine and is so cool printing from your cell phone. a must buy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for HP Photosmart A646 Compact Photo Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

nice printer

PostedFebruary 5, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
very nice photo from this printer, but I can not find any infomation as to how many 5x7 prints per ink cartridge. indicates 50 4x6 prints not smart enough to figure how many 5x7's. any help??
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for HP Photosmart A646 Compact Photo Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Windows 7

PostedFebruary 4, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
I give it one star only because I have to. It should be a negative ten stars. If you have Windows 7, don't bother, it won't work. After over an hour with HP tech support, which is a nightmare in itself, the tech gave up and said "send it back."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for HP Photosmart A646 Compact Photo Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME UNIT

PostedJanuary 21, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
I saw this unit in operation and loved the color pictures that come out of it. It is very simple to use. The screen is very easy to read and navigate through. The time to develope pictures is very reasonable.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for HP Photosmart A646 Compact Photo Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

equal to my old photosmart 375

PostedJanuary 14, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
I really like my old 375 printer but when I upgraded to windows 7 64bit my old photo printer would not work with my computer (no driver available from HP). So I bought the new A646 because the advertising said it would work on windows 7. WARNING! ! It does not work on windows 7 64bit only the 32 bit. I was told almost 2 months ago that HP would have a driver for it in less than a month. none as yet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for HP Photosmart A646 Compact Photo Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Unimpressed

PostedJanuary 5, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
I bought this printer thinking it would be a great replacement for my 475, which had worn out from use. I tried to install it on my pc, but it just would not connect. I spent 3 1/2 hours on the phone with an HP tech, who dialed into my computer, and could not get it to work. I ended up returning it. It was a lot of trouble for nothing. I loved my 475, but that model is discontinued. The 646 was a giant disappointment for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for HP Photosmart A646 Compact Photo Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Frustrated

PostedJanuary 4, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
I purchased this as a Christmas present and on Christmas Day tried connecting the A646 to 3 different HP Computers to print out pictures for family with no luck. Spent 3 hours on the phone with HP IT the next day and still could not get any of my computers to recognize the printer via USB cable after downloading the drivers with HP IT about 12 times...and Yes we tried different USB cables with no luck. All these USB cables work perfect with my other printers. I also found that if I used Adobe Photoshop to “doctor” crop, remove red eye, color adjust, and resaved as a jpeg file on a Flash Drive or Memory Card and tried to print directly from them on the A646, the printer said the file was corrupt and would not print. Any other picture on the flash drive or memory card not "doctored" in Photoshop printed just fine. Has anyone else experienced these issues? When I could get the A646 to print a picture, they where good quality. Returning to get my money back….Frustrated!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for HP Photosmart A646 Compact Photo Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great printer

PostedDecember 28, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Age:55+
I got this and have printed about 60 pictures and they look great. Looks like a toy but it sure does a nice job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for HP Photosmart A646 Compact Photo Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Portable Photo Printer

PostedDecember 15, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
This little printer has an Adorability score of 10. I am glad I decided to try it.
I have it in standalone mode; not hooked up to a PC yet. So, I put my SD card from my camera into the slot and started exploring the frames and effects ... all the things you can do to your pictures before you print them out. The stylus makes navigating the menus easy. The relatively large LCD screen helps also.
When I searched for Bluetooth devices, the A646 found my daughter's cell phone two rooms away. I asked her to bring her cell phone and try to print something. It worked right away!
I saw the A646's at a local computer store and really liked the fact that they come in their own little carry case. Originally, I was going to buy one for my daughter (she asked for a camera and portable photo printer for Christmas.) But the more I looked at them and read the specs, the more I wanted one for myself also because I was having trouble printing to thick paper.
I am glad I bought two of them. The A646 doesn't have the battery capability (as another reviewer pointed out), but it is still small enough to take with you anywhere you might find an electrical plug and has the carry case with pockets for the cord, paper and even an extra ink cartridge. Oh, yeah ... the pictures come out pretty good, too!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for HP Photosmart A646 Compact Photo Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great printer

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
had hard time installing needed hp tech for help but after installed works beautiful photos are as good as the pros even wireless best printer i have ever owned
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for HP Photosmart A646 Compact Photo Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

nice little printer

PostedOctober 30, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
I purchased this after my large HP photo printer died. Since this was smaller and less expensive I did not have a lot of hope it would make great pictures- but it does.The photos are really good and you can do fun things with the pictures if you print directly from the card.
I plan on buying two of these as gifts for friends.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for HP Photosmart A646 Compact Photo Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressed

PostedOctober 29, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
This printer is SMALL. It almost looks like some kind of kids toy, but don't let the looks deceive you. The pictures really look great! I am sure you could get better quality pictures with a higher end printer, but for the price & size of this printer I am impressed. What a great portable printer.... very easy to use!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for HP Photosmart A646 Compact Photo Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good But!!!

PostedOctober 6, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
I have the a636 printer & I love it because you can take it anywhere & not have to worry about plugging it in if you have the optional battery in it....Since the a636 is no longer available I got the a646 for my SIL thinking it would at least be as good as mine if not better...I even ordered a battery for the a646 as it was listed as recommended accessory. Well guess what there is no place to put a battery in the a646, so you have to have it plugged in to use it. Needless to say I was disappointed & guess I'll keep the battery as backup for mine.....SO BEWARE !!! THE BATTERY IN NOT AN OPTION WITH THE A646, no matter what they say.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for HP Photosmart A646 Compact Photo Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Photo Printer

PostedSeptember 19, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
This is the product I have been waiting for. I recommend it to anyone who is searching for a product that gives quality service for investment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.