HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Officejet or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP Officejet 4500 All-in-One Printer - G510g

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Officejet 4500 All-in-One Printer - G510g

HP Officejet 4500 All-in-One Print/Scan/Copy - G510g
Overall rating:
3.01 / 5
3
 / 
5
(302 reviews) 301
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 302 reviews
5 Stars
91
4 Stars
56
3 Stars
20
2 Stars
35
1 Star
100
150 out of 302(50%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Officejet 4500 All-in-One Printer - G510g
Review 1 for HP Officejet 4500 All-in-One Printer - G510g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for Home Office

PostedJune 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Tennessee
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
(First of all, I selected 2 business day delivery .. ordered late Friday afternoon and it was here Monday morning). Installation for dummies (my words) CD walks you through in minutes. Minimal interaction on the user's part when installing by CD, once the usb cable is connected, it does the rest (sets the time, date, etc according to your computer info) love that! I had read the negative reviews but purchased anyway because most did not pertain to me. I just needed a basic printer/scanner/copier and it does these things wonderfully. Yes, it is a little louder than most, but not to an annoying level, and yes it is a little slow, but again it isn't as slow as others I've owned. If you're printing manuals, etc this is probably not the printer for you, but for everyday personal and home office (printing invoices, email correspondence, other documents) scanning and copying, then I highly recommend it. Thanks again, HP for amazingly fast shipping!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Officejet 4500 All-in-One Printer - G510g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast and easy

PostedMay 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Arizona
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great printer. It was easy to set up and is compact. It goes to power save mode automatically but recovers quickly. Starts printing quickly and prints quite fast. The color photo printing is very good and I especially like the 2 cartridge ink system.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Officejet 4500 All-in-One Printer - G510g
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

know your operating system

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:NY
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I tried everything and could not get this printer to work with Windows 7.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Officejet 4500 All-in-One Printer - G510g
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This was DISAPPOINTING

PostedJuly 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
When we received this printer, there was no USB A to B cable in the packaging. Customer Svc. said they feel everyone keeps one of these around the house, so they don't include them, even though we can't print without this cable. So, HP wanted to sell us one of those. Then we printed 10 color copies and the color ink began to have lines through it like the ink was running out on it. So disappointed. Not recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Officejet 4500 All-in-One Printer - G510g
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

BIGGEST PIECE OF JUNK EVER!

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I ordered this printer because I was in desperate need of one, and for the price, I could not pass it up, after receiving it, I started to set it up, then it shut off, started flashing a warning light saying to turn it off and turn it back on again, after being on the phone for well over half an hour trying to fix the problem, they decide to send me a replacement, guess what! The replacement made a horrible clacking noise and wouldn't print either! After sending me a third one and it not working, I ask for my money back....that was 2 weeks ago and I STILL have not received a box to send this stupid thing back in! And on top of all that, I have to wait another 30 days AFTER they receive this printer to get my money refunded! I will NEVER purchase anything from HP again!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Officejet 4500 All-in-One Printer - G510g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great, no problems

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Horseshoe Bend, AR
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered this printer because I was out of ink. It's cheaper to buy a printer than to buy ink and the price on this printer was right as well as offering all the features I was using 2 printers and whatever fax machine I could find for. I have done b/w printing, and used the fax and scan capabilities. I found the printer to work very well with no problems. I have not yet printed anything in color such as pictures but expect the printer to work well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Officejet 4500 All-in-One Printer - G510g
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Did not work

PostedJuly 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Central Florida
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
After over 3 hrs on phone working with a great tech, the printer software never performed continuously and could not print or scan
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Officejet 4500 All-in-One Printer - G510g
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Checked out very good and works good

PostedJuly 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Lake Brownwood. TX.
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I replaced a brothers printer/fax with this hp 4500 and am glad I did.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Officejet 4500 All-in-One Printer - G510g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This Is A Great Printer !!!

PostedJuly 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Cincinnati, Ohio
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great printer easy to hook up and use. very nice printer for the price and very fast shipping order on HP website on friday and got on tuesday by fedex ground the only thing is you will need to buy a usb cable printer does not come with one. ink and everything else does.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Officejet 4500 All-in-One Printer - G510g
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good basic printer/fax/scanner for the money

PostedJuly 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good printer for the money. My only complaint is that the paper input and output is from the same tray. Wish the paper printed into a separate tray.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Officejet 4500 All-in-One Printer - G510g
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good value

PostedJuly 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Bradenton, FL
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I haven't used it much yet, so my opinion may change. Was surprised that it is slower than expected - perhaps this is an operator problem. Manual is not easy to understand. Nowhere do I find an explanation of how to navigate the control panel (to select copy magnification, for example).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Officejet 4500 All-in-One Printer - G510g
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waste your money on this printer

PostedJuly 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
This printer is horrible, don't waste your money....it goes into power save mode and won't print, the only way to get it to print is to unplug it and plug it back in....after calling I found out that there is no way to turn off the power save.....waiting for a fix for this...don't buy this printer!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Officejet 4500 All-in-One Printer - G510g
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not as good as the 6000

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Sacramento CA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Don't like the sleep mode; paper feed isn't good, cuts the top off sometimes, grabs two pieces of paper often too. Only bought it 'cause I thought it was the same as the 6000. It isn't!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Officejet 4500 All-in-One Printer - G510g
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

very frustrating

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Arizona
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
1. goes to sleep and won't wake up without unplugging it and plugging it back in.
2. sometimes will work with wifi...mostly not..thank goodness I have a desk top directly
attached to it ! Very inconvenient, I use my laptop 99% of the time.
3. the fax plug in portion has a short, have to remove the phone cord,after I send a fax,
or my house phone won't work..says line in use.
The HP company did replace the unit for me once, and helped me by phone numerous times.
Very good customer service, I just wish the product would work half as well.
Unfortunately, the new one has the same problems, infact it is worse.
It is to bad, I believe the unit is great or should say could be, if HP could correct the problems!!
Gave up trying to get it work right, now I just work with it on it's terms..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Officejet 4500 All-in-One Printer - G510g
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waste your time and money

PostedJune 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I am beyond frustrated with this useless product. After spending many hours over several days trying to get the printer to print wirelessly, I called HP support. We spent 2 hours on the phone and managed to get the thing printing using some inconvenient setup that would require me to reset the whole thing any time power was interrupted. The next day, the printer stopped working completely. I had been under the impression that the fax was working ok in spite of the printer issues, because it was connecting and telling me the fax was indeed sent. Wrong! This is the single worse piece of junk I have ever purchased.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Officejet 4500 All-in-One Printer - G510g
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great all-in-one

PostedJune 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've never had any problems with this machine. Prints, fax's, scans, and copies are all great. Very quiet and easy to use, even for my 10 y.o. granddaughter. I love it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Officejet 4500 All-in-One Printer - G510g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great printer, low price.

PostedJune 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:seaside, OR
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been selling/using the HP 4500 series for years. great printer, low price, excellent options.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Officejet 4500 All-in-One Printer - G510g
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

USB CABLE NOT INCLUDED

PostedJune 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Portage IN
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The Printer actually was shipped quick, BUT it sat here for 4 days until we had a chance to go to town to get a USB hook up cable, Cant you afford to throw in a $1.98 Cord?. Printer/Scanner seems to work good, Its a nice looking unit, and it actually feeds the paper well, Other than the cable, good Deal.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Officejet 4500 All-in-One Printer - G510g
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Disappointed in the wireless feature

PostedJune 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Debary, FL
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have had this printer for over a year and have to say after having 4 different printers over the years from HP this is the worse. The wireless feature worked at first and then stopped. I called HP and the rep helped me get it working again. However, it quit working again about 4 months ago and I gave up trying to get it to work again. Now that it's past the 1 year mark you cannot get support on the phone unless you pay for it. I also have problems with it locking up at times when trying to print from Outlook. I wish now I had bought the 6500 instead.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Officejet 4500 All-in-One Printer - G510g
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cartridge problems

PostedJune 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Colorado
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The initial setup wasn't too bad, but the ink cartridges failed almost immediately. That's why I had to get rid of the last printer from HP. Luckily, I purchased additional cartridges and was able to replace them so I wasn't without a printer for another week.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 16 to next page>>