HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Officejet or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP Officejet 6100 ePrinter - H611a

hp HP Officejet 6100 ePrinter - H611a

HP Officejet 6100 ePrinter - H611a
Overall rating:
3.974 / 5
4
 / 
5
(39 reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 39 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
3
1 Star
3
30 out of 39(77%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Officejet 6100 ePrinter - H611a
Review 1 for HP Officejet 6100 ePrinter - H611a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressive to say the least.

PostedNovember 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Southern California
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please don't call me Mr. Dum-Dum here! However, the very first Word document that I sent to this printer, printed so FAST that I thought I had done something wrong! This printer is SCARY fast. I am an old "Techno Slow Poke" and I can easily remember the days when, if you sent a document to your printer, you then went to top off your Coffee. The document was ALMOST finished printing by the time you returned! Praise God, those days are OVER! Good riddance to them!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Officejet 6100 ePrinter - H611a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Bellingham, WA
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Prints are excellent quality. Paper tray holds a lot of paper and ink cartridges are easy to install. So far printer has been trouble free.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Officejet 6100 ePrinter - H611a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the wi-fi

PostedApril 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New Port Richey, FL
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought the HP 6100 to replace the HP 6940 that has been tethered to my computer for several years. The quality of printing with the 6100 is equal to the 6940, but, there is hesitancy prior to printing as it goes through a sort of checklist. I think the newer models ( I have two other HP wireless models as well) that utilize wireless capability, seem to respond similarly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Officejet 6100 ePrinter - H611a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great printer, easy to set up...

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First of all don't believe the negative reviews about this printer. By the way, for the reviewers that complain about how 'noisy and how long it takes to initialize', they have obviously never owned an HP ink jet printer before. ALL HP ink jets are somewhat noisy and take a long time to align the cartridges etc. Bottom line, this printer was easy to set up (including the Air Print function which is why I bought it) and the 'ePrint' feature is fantastic. I did not think I would ever use this feature, but have since found out it may be the best feature of all. The printer prints documents quickly and clearly and also does a great job on photos considering the low, low price. HP, you make way too many printers but this one is a winner!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Officejet 6100 ePrinter - H611a
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor quality

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Louisiana
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I'm on my second Officejet 6100 - first one stopped printing, the second one fails to print often. This is the worst printer I've ever owned - I've never had this much trouble with a printer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Officejet 6100 ePrinter - H611a
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Value - Some features need improvement

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:So Cal
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I keep buying HP printers because of the quality printing they produce. But the Office jet 6100 is disappointing and needs some serious rethinking for ease of use. The Office jet 6000 was so much more convenient to use as well as much quieter too. That all of the paper must be removed from the paper tray so that the paper guides can be moved to print an envelope is time consuming and annoying. Additionally 3 high sides of the paper tray make it awkward to load paper and paper edges are easily damaged. And the vibration! Really HP? You can do so much better than this!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Officejet 6100 ePrinter - H611a
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A very serviceable color inkjet printer

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Cambridge, Mass.
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
A very serviceable color inkjet printer. My only gripe-- what passes for a manual is so minimal that it doesn't tell you how to get spent ink cartridges out of the printer-- they are firmly locked in place. To discover this information, you need to download a 6.8 MB PDF from the HP web site.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Officejet 6100 ePrinter - H611a
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Noisy and Paper Problems

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This printer is noisy and seems to go through ink at a very fast rate. But, my real problem is that I tried to print out a picture using photo paper and kept getting the out of paper message. Yet, when I tried printing on regular paper, it worked fine. I had printed out pictures previously with no problem. The printer is less than 1.5 years old and is used sparingly at my house. So, durability would seem to be an issue.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Officejet 6100 ePrinter - H611a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best buy

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great printer with low price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Officejet 6100 ePrinter - H611a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great printer

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Ojai, CA
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Haven't used the other features yet but this printer is great - So far so good!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Officejet 6100 ePrinter - H611a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy setup

PostedJune 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:NH
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Need an eprinter but did not want to spend a lot of money. This printer fit my budget, was easy to set up. Was expecting it to be loud from previous reviews but it is quieter than our current hp printer. Setup was a breeze. Down side in won't go into power saver mode when it's wireless mode.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Officejet 6100 ePrinter - H611a
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Problem Printer H611a

PostedJune 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Twin Cities, MN
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I was looking for replacement basic color printer only, not all-in-one. Also wanted low profile printer to fit on shelf. This model met the criteria. Have had two of these printers that would not pick up paper after approx. 50 prints. Also printhead assembly operates too much, can hear ink squirting and quite a bit of printer activity before and after printing. While trying to troubleshoot paper pick up problem, used up two ink cartridges even though no real printing took place. Had to perform firmware update to get printer to pick up paper. Would not want another of this printer model or design. Seems to needlessly use too much ink, where is the ink going? Too much printhead assembly action, chugging, bumping, noise. Paper pickup unable to function without firmware update. Would prefer a printer that would function out of the box for a reasonable period of time, at least during the warranty period.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Officejet 6100 ePrinter - H611a
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Will NEVER buy another HP product

PostedMay 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
I bought this printer for my classroom because I thought it was a good deal. It was on sale but was I wrong! About 1 month after use, it started to squeek (loudly!) whenever it printed. Then about one month later, it ran out of ink! I don't even use it to print on a daily basis, so not that much ink was even used. I will NEVER buy another HP product! I'll use my old one at home before I'll use this one again! And of course, the problems started AFTER I could return it!!!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Officejet 6100 ePrinter - H611a
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good utility, poor with Mac OSX 7.x

PostedMay 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Francisco, CA
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good utility printer, has been helpful in conference rooms where guests need to print from wireless devices. Have had problems with direct USB print connections on Mac Books using either the latest HP printer drivers for 10.7 OS, or, using the Apple downloads.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Officejet 6100 ePrinter - H611a
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

An OK utility printer

PostedApril 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Milpitas, CA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The Officejet 6100 replaced a Photosmart 7260 when I recently replaced my desktop. HP no longer makes moderate priced 6-ink printers like the 7260 or my older Photosmart 8250. I was hoping that the 6100 would produce photo enlargements as good as those older printers but it doesn't. Aside from only being a 4-ink printer, the 6100 has no color management capability and its output color balance is definitely off. So I've had to find an outside service to print my enlargements. Having said that, the 6100 is a fine utility printer which, to be honest, satisfies 95%+ of my printing needs. On that basis, it's a keeper.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Officejet 6100 ePrinter - H611a
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent features fairly priced

PostedMarch 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent day-to-day fast text printing, Can be hardwired or connected wirelessly. Easy to setup. Sleek modern black fiish. Uses three independent color cartridges plus black. That's a nice feature; if one color cartridge needs replacing, it can be replaced while continuing to use the other two. I do not, however, use this printer to print picures. For that. I use a dedicated high-end printer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Officejet 6100 ePrinter - H611a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great printer!

PostedMarch 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Manchester NH
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great printer for the price. It was just what I was looking for, a good utility printer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Officejet 6100 ePrinter - H611a
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice but noisy and rattles

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:NJ
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I think others have posted similar comments. It prints fine. I love the big paper tray. I wasn't looking for anything fancy. It is however, NOISY and rattles/shakes when it's printing and when it aligns(?) the cartridges. I am guessing that maybe the plastic housing for the printer is insufficient for the internal print mechanism... Noise is not a real issue so I can live with it. I can't see it being used in an office environment though......
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Officejet 6100 ePrinter - H611a
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Yeah, I like it.

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I downloaded the latest version of the software and it took less than five minutes to setup the darn thing. The printer itself was incredibly noisy when first plugged in--what the heck was it doing? The printing speed is fairly fast and having a tray is definitely a plus. I just wished it had a double-sided printing feature and a cutback on the cacophony that accompanies a print job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Officejet 6100 ePrinter - H611a
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

eprint is nice

PostedJanuary 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Franklin, NC
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like the wireless printing capability. Miss some of the other actions of my old Officejet G55.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.