HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Officejet or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP Officejet 6100 ePrinter - H611a

hp HP Officejet 6100 ePrinter - H611a

HP Officejet 6100 ePrinter - H611a
Overall rating:
3.778 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(45 reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 45 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
3
1 Star
6
32 out of 45(71%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Officejet 6100 ePrinter - H611a
Review 1 for HP Officejet 6100 ePrinter - H611a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressive to say the least.

PostedNovember 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Southern California
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please don't call me Mr. Dum-Dum here! However, the very first Word document that I sent to this printer, printed so FAST that I thought I had done something wrong! This printer is SCARY fast. I am an old "Techno Slow Poke" and I can easily remember the days when, if you sent a document to your printer, you then went to top off your Coffee. The document was ALMOST finished printing by the time you returned! Praise God, those days are OVER! Good riddance to them!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Officejet 6100 ePrinter - H611a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Bellingham, WA
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Prints are excellent quality. Paper tray holds a lot of paper and ink cartridges are easy to install. So far printer has been trouble free.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Officejet 6100 ePrinter - H611a
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

very poor for my needs

PostedJune 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Houston, TX
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
I was looking for a small, lightweight printer. This one was recommended because it fit those qualities. The other thing, most important thing, was speed. This printer is, without a doubt, the slowest printer I have ever used. I thought the K5400 was slow because it takes a long time for it to get started but it spits out prints very fast. The H6100 was just s-l-o-w-! At the end of two hours, I had less than 100 pages printed. That is just unacceptable.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Officejet 6100 ePrinter - H611a
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Fair to good

PostedJune 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:southern California
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The printer seems to produce a fine print; no problems there. The ink cartridges don't seem to have a secure plug-in nest, and when the printer is in use it sounds like it's trying to tear itself apart. It is extremely noisy. By comparison, my old printer, an HP Deskjet 960 was reasonably quiet.
David
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Officejet 6100 ePrinter - H611a
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Painless to set up for MacBook Pro

PostedMay 31, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Litchfield, CT
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have just finished installing the OfficeJet 6100 and it was by far the easiest to install printer I have ever had. Followed the directions for Mac wireless installation which were pretty clear and everything went fine. Am easily able to print from my iPhone 5 and my husband's iPhone 4 and iPad without installing extra software so I think the AirPrint must be working. Thanks!
Have had other HP printers and the "busy getting ready to print" noises and small delay prior to printing are what I am used to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Officejet 6100 ePrinter - H611a
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Product, Poor Support

PostedMay 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Atlanta, GA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I don't think I've ever been so disappointed in a product and service, ever. The printer came with software for Window7, and despite spending over an hour on the phone with Support, we still can't download software for Windows8 onto an HP computer. The printer uses ink at an alarming rate . . . just bought third set of cartridges in less than a year . . . and have used only 200 sheets of paper . . . none of it photo quality printing . . . just some graphs for work. Without Windows8 software, can't determine the problems with the printer. I would not recommend this product to anyone for any purpose.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Officejet 6100 ePrinter - H611a
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not buy this printer

PostedMay 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Do not under any circumstance buy this printer. It chews through ink and one day will stop working with the most vague error reason. HP support does not provide any viable solution to resolve the problem.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Officejet 6100 ePrinter - H611a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to Install, Great Print Quality

PostedMay 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Washington, PA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just finished installing my new HP6100 Printer. It was very easy to install and set up. For the price it has great print quality. This is the second HP product I have purchased over the last month and I am completely satisfied with the price, quality, ease of use, cosmetics, etc.,etc. I have been an HP user for quite awhile and I have never been disappointed with everything I have purchased from HP. The HP6100e is another HP purchase which I am confident will serve me well!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Officejet 6100 ePrinter - H611a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the wi-fi

PostedApril 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New Port Richey, FL
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought the HP 6100 to replace the HP 6940 that has been tethered to my computer for several years. The quality of printing with the 6100 is equal to the 6940, but, there is hesitancy prior to printing as it goes through a sort of checklist. I think the newer models ( I have two other HP wireless models as well) that utilize wireless capability, seem to respond similarly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Officejet 6100 ePrinter - H611a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great printer, easy to set up...

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First of all don't believe the negative reviews about this printer. By the way, for the reviewers that complain about how 'noisy and how long it takes to initialize', they have obviously never owned an HP ink jet printer before. ALL HP ink jets are somewhat noisy and take a long time to align the cartridges etc. Bottom line, this printer was easy to set up (including the Air Print function which is why I bought it) and the 'ePrint' feature is fantastic. I did not think I would ever use this feature, but have since found out it may be the best feature of all. The printer prints documents quickly and clearly and also does a great job on photos considering the low, low price. HP, you make way too many printers but this one is a winner!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Officejet 6100 ePrinter - H611a
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor quality

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Louisiana
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I'm on my second Officejet 6100 - first one stopped printing, the second one fails to print often. This is the worst printer I've ever owned - I've never had this much trouble with a printer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Officejet 6100 ePrinter - H611a
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Value - Some features need improvement

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:So Cal
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I keep buying HP printers because of the quality printing they produce. But the Office jet 6100 is disappointing and needs some serious rethinking for ease of use. The Office jet 6000 was so much more convenient to use as well as much quieter too. That all of the paper must be removed from the paper tray so that the paper guides can be moved to print an envelope is time consuming and annoying. Additionally 3 high sides of the paper tray make it awkward to load paper and paper edges are easily damaged. And the vibration! Really HP? You can do so much better than this!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Officejet 6100 ePrinter - H611a
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A very serviceable color inkjet printer

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Cambridge, Mass.
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
A very serviceable color inkjet printer. My only gripe-- what passes for a manual is so minimal that it doesn't tell you how to get spent ink cartridges out of the printer-- they are firmly locked in place. To discover this information, you need to download a 6.8 MB PDF from the HP web site.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Officejet 6100 ePrinter - H611a
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Noisy and Paper Problems

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This printer is noisy and seems to go through ink at a very fast rate. But, my real problem is that I tried to print out a picture using photo paper and kept getting the out of paper message. Yet, when I tried printing on regular paper, it worked fine. I had printed out pictures previously with no problem. The printer is less than 1.5 years old and is used sparingly at my house. So, durability would seem to be an issue.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Officejet 6100 ePrinter - H611a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best buy

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great printer with low price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Officejet 6100 ePrinter - H611a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great printer

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Ojai, CA
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Haven't used the other features yet but this printer is great - So far so good!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Officejet 6100 ePrinter - H611a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy setup

PostedJune 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:NH
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Need an eprinter but did not want to spend a lot of money. This printer fit my budget, was easy to set up. Was expecting it to be loud from previous reviews but it is quieter than our current hp printer. Setup was a breeze. Down side in won't go into power saver mode when it's wireless mode.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Officejet 6100 ePrinter - H611a
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Problem Printer H611a

PostedJune 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Twin Cities, MN
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I was looking for replacement basic color printer only, not all-in-one. Also wanted low profile printer to fit on shelf. This model met the criteria. Have had two of these printers that would not pick up paper after approx. 50 prints. Also printhead assembly operates too much, can hear ink squirting and quite a bit of printer activity before and after printing. While trying to troubleshoot paper pick up problem, used up two ink cartridges even though no real printing took place. Had to perform firmware update to get printer to pick up paper. Would not want another of this printer model or design. Seems to needlessly use too much ink, where is the ink going? Too much printhead assembly action, chugging, bumping, noise. Paper pickup unable to function without firmware update. Would prefer a printer that would function out of the box for a reasonable period of time, at least during the warranty period.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Officejet 6100 ePrinter - H611a
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Will NEVER buy another HP product

PostedMay 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
I bought this printer for my classroom because I thought it was a good deal. It was on sale but was I wrong! About 1 month after use, it started to squeek (loudly!) whenever it printed. Then about one month later, it ran out of ink! I don't even use it to print on a daily basis, so not that much ink was even used. I will NEVER buy another HP product! I'll use my old one at home before I'll use this one again! And of course, the problems started AFTER I could return it!!!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Officejet 6100 ePrinter - H611a
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good utility, poor with Mac OSX 7.x

PostedMay 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Francisco, CA
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good utility printer, has been helpful in conference rooms where guests need to print from wireless devices. Have had problems with direct USB print connections on Mac Books using either the latest HP printer drivers for 10.7 OS, or, using the Apple downloads.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.