HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop All-in-Ones & Fax or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer

Professional color documents for lowest cost per page vs. in-class inkjets Built-in networking (wired) Printing/copying up to 32 pages/min black, 31 color ## Reliable printing, faxing, scanning, copying
Overall rating:
3.077 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(248 reviews) 243
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 248 reviews
5 Stars
73
4 Stars
45
3 Stars
27
2 Stars
34
1 Star
69
126 out of 248(51%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer
Review 1 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good but

PostedApril 8, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Utah
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good - but can't get the fax to work. Read the book of setting up fax, followed instructions, didn't work. So - good printer, good scanner (which I use instead of the fax), good copier. HP Solution Center is helpful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Press print then___________wait

PostedApril 8, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:chicago
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
takes a maddeningly long time to start printing the project. I do not know what it is doing but it sits and sits and sits then goes gangbusters. Once it starts it is fast and violent, it shakes like a young Elvis Presley (on the draft setting) and pretty loud too. Speaking of loud, when the neat 2 sided printing is used it really makes a racket when it starts. Also be aware when using 2 sided printing it has a preset dry time before it will print the 2nd side of the sheet and it is about 6 seconds or more, a loooooong time when waiting. There is a setting that can change the dry time and I have changed it to the minimum and that works great All in all a pretty good printer except for the delayed start when printing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

HP experience

PostedApril 8, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Haifa - Israel
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Having used - and using - HP products for years now, both laptops and
printers - always very satisfied with quality and performance and never, never
had any single trouble or complain ever in so many many years
Definitely recommending HP to everyone, in every opportunity and for every possible use or application
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ink cartridges tooooo small (color ones)

PostedApril 3, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The color Ink cartridges capacity are way tooooo small
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Trash - Don't buy

PostedMarch 29, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This printer is likely the worst purchase I have ever made. The picture quality make everything look like I took the picture in 1965. The scanner simply does not work. It's wireless but HP told us we have to have it hard connected to use the scanner. Then that didn't work so they gave us a website to use to scan. That worked and now the website is gone. If you need parts for this thing then just come to my house...they'll be scattered all over my back porch as soon as I burn through $50 in ink (which should only take a couple of days).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Product I've ever bought!

PostedMarch 27, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Logan, UT
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this printer because I needed to be able to print things off for school. I'm a college student therefore a little poor. I was impressed that I had options when it came to buying ink. regular or XL? I seriously used it heavily my first semester of school. guess what.... I've had it for 700 pages and just barely replaced my first cartridge 6 months later. I replaced it with the XL black cartridge. done about 200 pages. Haven't put a dent in it. I'm very pleased at how well the eco mode works for things I will only see yet how professional it looks for my assignments. Fax is awesome! Scanner works great. i have it set up on a vista laptop and a Windows 7 desktop. It works awesome. its also been nice that my roommates can scan from it to their computers over my network. I used this printer to replace a lexmark all in one. Never again... HP all the way!!!
On another note. Every HP product that I've ever owned has stood the test of time. I have an HP Laserjet 1100 that I need to discard of only because the paper feeder won't work anymore. (Some part broke in it and I don't know how to fix it) That printer came from an office where it got used heavily before I got it. They just upgraded to a network printer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Error-Code Printer

PostedMarch 26, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
If I may save you time and hours of trouble-shooting error codes. Please try another printer. Looks are deceiving.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Watch out

PostedMarch 25, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Be careful purchasing this printer. It has nice features such as wireless, 2 sided printing, scanning & coping. The printer connects wirelessly just fine to my desktop, netbook and 3 laptops.
Customer support for this product is not good. There are known issues with this printer that HP is very little help with. I found it nearly impossible to connect my printer with my wireless router. I had to re-enter all my network security information for every print job submitted. I ended up connecting the printer to my router by cable to avoid the security problems. Just have to keep the printer near my router.
The other problem is that after a few months the display read paper jam. After making sure there was no jam, resetting everything multiple times, I couldn't get the paper jam message to go away. Again customer support was no help. I researched the problem on the internet as was able to fix the problem by lubricating some of the gears inside the printer.
There may be more known problems out there that HP has been unable to fix. I recommend that you do an internet search of the problems with this or any other printer before purchasing. I checked the internet to compare feature between many printers and if I had checked the reliability of this printer I would not have purchased it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't purchase this

PostedMarch 16, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Virginia Beach, VA
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I purchased this printer about a year and a half ago at a wholesale club. It seemed like a great buy at the time and had all of the features I wanted without breaking the bank (cost a bit more then, but still reasonable). From the get go, there were problems installing it, and I have installed countless software programs including on a company server. When that ordeal was finally over, I was impressed with the print quality on this and ease of use. The problems started with the first ink replacement cartridge (and you'll use a lot of them, trust me). The printer refused to recognize the cartridges, all HP brand, and I would have to repeatedly take them out and put them back in before they were recognized. This continued until finally, last week after a 1/2 hour of trying to replace the latest cartridge when instead of just receiving a message that the cartridge was not installed, I also received the message that the printhead was missing or damaged. If this printer had been in an abusive environment that might have been one thing, but it wasn't. It was well taken care of and still had more problems than any piece of equipment should have. We have two HP laptops in our house and the printer that I am currently printing on is an ancient HP all in one that is probably 8-9 years old that makes grinding noises as it prints. It's the one that the 6500 replaced. I was a big HP fan until I went searching for a solution to the "printhead problem". I found many reviews that indicated that my problems were not in the least bit unique. Don't buy this printer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do Not Buy

PostedMarch 11, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The worst HP printer I have ever purchased. Ink consumption is high, and it has the most annoying habit of just deciding NOT to use the black ink cartridge even when a new one has just been installed. Run a google search with "HP 6500 will not print in black", and you will see scores of people with the same issue. Tried HP support and the technician was pleasant and helpful. He walked me through a reset. The fix only lasted two days.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Hates my officejet 6500

PostedMarch 7, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The thing is loud and slow. Drinks huge amounts of expensive ink. Worse, apparently is incompatable with my HP laptop and despite taking it back to the shop and having new software/driver installed, I could not scan anything from it to my computer. I ended up buying an Epson scanner so I could scan.
Also, there is no adapter to put your memory card into so you can insert it into the machine.
Worthless. DO NOT BUY
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

worse purchase ever

PostedMarch 5, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:PA.
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
INTRUCTION MANUAL WORTHLESS, MUST LOOK EVERYTHING UP
ON FILE!!! WOULD NEVER BUY AGAIN.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very good printer

PostedMarch 4, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Ohio
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is best printer I have owned sense hp 895Cse It does everything we need
we have had two lexmarks both had problems. we have had none with this one so far
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

No low ink warning! Printed blank faxes!

PostedMarch 1, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Age:40-54
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I use this machine everyday in an office. When I first purchased it I found it dificult to feed for a fax. If the paper was slightly curled it would take extra time to get it to feed properly and I would have to baby sit the machine. After getting used to that annoyance I found the dialing pad to be touchy. Found myself deleting numbers it would add to what i was dialing. I now dial like a small child would use a phone, slowly and checking every number i hit. The latest issue is the worst for me. I came into work this morning to several faxes waiting for me on the machine but further inspection showed half printed pages or completely blank pages. This machine did not know it was out of ink and continued to print! I still have about 20 blank pages of faxes that I dont know who they came from. For this reason alone I would not reccomend this machine for any business use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not bad, except high ink consumption

PostedFebruary 28, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I purchased this product for my home computer. I do not print alot, and what I do print is mostly black and white. This product goes through alot of color ink. I have replaced the color ink cartridges 3 times in the one year I have owned it. I was told by tech support that this is normal. If that's normal, I'm looking for another printer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Expensive mistake

PostedFebruary 24, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:MA
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Was working ok, than just stopped for no apparent reason. Have been on the phone with c/s trying everthing. Works for a while than it stops again. Paper is jaming. Getting error message that I'm using the wrong size paper.
Only a few months old. Very dissapointed
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't

PostedFebruary 22, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Buy this printer. The actual printer quality is very good for the price BUT there is a manufacturer's error with the printer housing. My printer recently stopped working because of an error code and I called them and went to a bunch of forum postings nothing works I asked for a new printer and they gave me a full rebate. THEY KNOW SOMETHING IS WRONG.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

too many problems, too expensive to run

PostedFebruary 21, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I still think that this all-in-one SHOULD be brilliant, but am currently only able to the fax and B/W printing without problems.. until the ink runs out again.
Main problems:
1) Eats ink. A lot of it. You are not going to waste your time to try to find the receipt and go for a refund. You will need to get a new cartridge for your urging needs. I think I was able to print some dozen color prints before that ink run out.
2) Many software problems keep you busy. I have been unable to 'align' my printer for months which means extra 30-40 seconds to start the machine. The scanning is not a recognizable operation - and when it was it would be taking random scans in random size. Not very practical. Some smaller problems I have already been able to erase from my memory.
Summa summarum: an unreliable and expensive to use printer that will keep on frustrating you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Less than expected from HP

PostedFebruary 18, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:East Lansing, Michigan
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I had been monitoring HP printers and prices because the printheads on the Photosmart D7360 and C7280 printers I own were starting to block colors. The OJ6500 E709a seemed to have the features and performance to fit my needs.
The setup instructions were clear and it was successfully put into operation for a Mac OS 10.4.11 desktop and HP laptop with Windows 7. The printing is clear but the speed is much slower than stated on specs., especially for PDF's. For the Mac I removed the driver installed from the CD and downloaded new software from the HP website which helped some but it still only prints about half speed. From the laptop it prints at about 2/3 the advertised speed.
I do almost exclusively b&w printing but the 3 color inks are being rapidly depleted. Thus this printer will be more expensive to use than the other HP printers I've owned. I'm disappointed that HP hasn't done a better job of designing this printer for fast, efficient home office operation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

garbage

PostedFebruary 17, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This printer only lasted 6 months it was slow and noisy. It finally stopped working after repeadly breaking down. This machine wasted my precious time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 to next page>>