HP Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for hp HP Officejet J4680 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Officejet J4680 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier

Printing, scanning, copying, faxing Print speeds up to 28 pages/min black, 22 color High-quality color graphics and photos, laser-quality text Wireless connectivity
Overall rating:
3.677 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(136 reviews) 129
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 136 reviews
5 Stars
60
4 Stars
27
3 Stars
15
2 Stars
13
1 Star
21
92 out of 136(68%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Officejet J4680 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Review 1 for HP Officejet J4680 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Great Printer/Poor Software

PostedApril 23, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Software increases temp files with no automatic removal. HP Support after many emails and telephone calls now state growing temp file is "normal" with HP printer software. Would not purchase unless you know how to manually remove Windows temp files not removed by Windows Disk Cleanup. After 60 days of ownership, have over 100 temp files.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Officejet J4680 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not wireless compatible

PostedApril 2, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
tryed to conect and could not geek squad told me I was the 5th person
do not get if you want to be wireless
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Officejet J4680 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Set up and Use

PostedMarch 26, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
The display that is used for set up is dim and the glass face is cloudy in spots making it very difficult to use. There is no instruction regard the keyboard. How does one shift from alpha to numbers and vice versa? There is no clue in the information that accompanies the device. There is no operating information for the use of the keyboard.
The wireless connection will not accept a WPA code tor security settings. It only accepts WEP code. My router only allows WPA.
The printer is very slow.
Overall I am very disapponted in this device.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Officejet J4680 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

j4680

PostedMarch 22, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
This all in one seems to be a fair printer. My problem is in the software, it will not install on my desktop running XP. I was able to set the printer up wireless but the software would not complete the install. When i tried to configure the fax settings i get a message that no HP products were detected. I even downloaded the complete install and drivers (273 MB) but that did'nt work either. If i try to install with the USB the software will not find the printer. I have had this printer for a total of five days now and i cant get it set up on XP so i am in the process of packing it up to return it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Officejet J4680 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wish I would have kept my 10 year old fax machine

PostedMarch 13, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
This machine is no good. I have had nothing but trouble since getting it. The wireless feature has been an on again, off again situation. Constantly have to reload software to keep the wireless function working. Now I have an error message that the feeder does not work. I am supposed to reclose the door firmly in the middle and that does nothing. I am going to check customer service, but I assume it has an abysmal warranty. Would not recommend this to anyone!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Officejet J4680 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

WIll not buy HP again

PostedMarch 8, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
I bought an HP after having an Epson and Canon printer fail on me. I bought the Officejet 4680 all in one b/c i run a small business from home. I have a color laser in addition to this, but i use the inkjet to print envelopes and smaller cards.
I got fatal errors while installing to VIsta; Could not get the scan function to work from the key pad, could not get the wireless network to work, and it will not print centered on envelopes. In fact, there is no paper setting for envelope under paper types. So it doesnt handle them correctly. Even though tech support insists this printer will print on envelopes.
customer service kept giving me useless tech support so they could stall me on the 14 day return policy. they sent me a refurbished printer and i had to send the brand new one back. So i pretty much paid for a refurbished printer. I havent even bothered to try using the refurb one yet b/c I've already wasted countless hours getting the first one to work.
Im absolutely disgusted with their customer service and their product. And i had used a coupon code in my order that was reflected upon checkout, but when i was finally billed, it was not reflected.
You're better off finding a different brand printer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Officejet J4680 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

maintenance nightmare

PostedMarch 3, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
We have had this printer just a few months, worked great for about 3 weeks......at least for printing! Then malfunctioned and cost 120$ to have a repairman figure it out! That lasted a few weeks and here we go again............repair visit 130$!!!!!! NOW...it's not working AGAIN!!! I am so angry I would like to throw it! We have invested $250.00 having it repaired..........for WHAT!!!???
IT'S A PIECE OF JUNK!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Officejet J4680 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

J4680 Problematic

PostedFebruary 25, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
I've owned the HP J4680 for one year now. I purchase it along with HP desktop set up with Vist Home Prem. installed. The J4680 worked well for about four months fax stopped working. Lucky me just happened to have an older (4 yr.) model HP AIO which is a work horse to fall back on to fax. Now in the last three months it has stopped printing and copying. I've tried everything up to reinstalling. I live in Hawaii which is an Island and it's hard to find a recycler. I can hardly wait to throw this peice of junk, and waist of money as far as I can.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Officejet J4680 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Whatever you do dont buy this printer!!!!

PostedJanuary 25, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This printer has great features, but don't let that fool you. If you can get it to print in wireless mode is prints beautifully. The problem with this printer lies in the wireless feature. First off, I am well versed in the IT field so I do know what I'm working with when setting computers and the accessories up. To start, I couldn't even get this printer set up. No matter what I did, nothing worked. I finally called HP's tech support and after one and a half hours, we finally got it working. It printed fine for a about a two weeks and then it stopped finding the wireless signal. No matter how many times I rebooted my modem, router, p.c. and the printer, I still could not print to it. It shows the job in the queue, but fails to print. It also shows an error sign that goes away and then comes back when you try to print. This thing is junk. Save your money and buy something else.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Officejet J4680 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

J4680c All in-one printer

PostedJanuary 16, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I want it to be a better review but I can't. I have always been an HP fan but this time I am a little frustrated with this printer. I barely got this model as a replacement to my old HP printer which still works by the way. (Hp photosmart 7350 and which I love.) I just don't know why my husband had to purchase another one.
Seems like I got a lemon for a model. A cartridege problem won't get resolved. The technicians helped a lot to resolve even resetting wouldn't work. Gave me an option to upgrade.
thansks HP! goodbye J4680c all in one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Officejet J4680 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The J4680 is Impossible to Use

PostedOctober 25, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Print Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This thing has caused me no end of grief and cost me countless hours on the phone with a clueless support staff--and on chat with an equally clueless support staff who then referred me to phone support but didn't transfer the case, so I had to start all over!
When I try to print from my MacBook wirelessly, half the time it says it can't find the printer, even though both the MacBook and the printer show as connected devices on my wireless router. Then days later it decides to print the document. When I try to scan, it says it can't find any computer to scan to, again in spite of all devices being connected to the router. Or it says obtusely No Scan Options, but searching the HP web site and the user manual gives no information about how to set the scan options, whatever they are. When I bring up the HP Solution Center, it says that the printer is disconnected (again, both are connected to the router), but I can print--but still not scan.
The buttons/controls on the front panel are confusing, the Automatic Document Feeder broke within a couple of months. It's poorly designed, the wireless is clearly a jury-rigged afterthought, the software utilities are confusing and unreliable, and the user manuals are distinctly unhelpful.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Officejet J4680 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Manager

PostedOctober 17, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
down graded all my rating on the printer because the software provided by HP will not work with windows 7, all my prior experience with HP printers has been very good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Officejet J4680 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

What a dissapointment

PostedOctober 12, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
After years of being happy with virtually every HP printer I have ever owned including my last HPk80 which performed like a champ I am stunned that HP puts its name on this model.
Constantly jams, tiny black ink capacity, documnet feeder uselss all right out of the box.
Primary problem is that the exiting paper drops directly onto the paper feeder resulting in Jam after Jam when printing anything other than a single sheet.
I know I did not pay much for this printer but what I paid was still too much.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Officejet J4680 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not recommended for faxing.

PostedSeptember 5, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Can only fax 1 page from glass. No option to scan more pages before it sends. Not good if you have several pages worth of small receipts to fax.
Document feeder often doesn't sense documents. Select fax, slide in docs, it senses them and gives dial tone. By the time you dial and connect, it says "no documents in feeder".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Officejet J4680 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Performance

PostedAugust 24, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is my 3rd HP printer. Unfortunately I've had issues with paper jams, scanning interruptions & having to scan docs over again, extremely slow scanning process and rollers crinkling edges of copies. I will continue to purchase HP products but I don't recommend this printer as the quality & performance has not met the standard of my previous printers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Officejet J4680 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Unreliable & Aggravating

PostedJuly 12, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
First the good:
-good print quality
-fast printing
-good scan quality
-easy to connect to wifi network
Then the bad:
-unreliable- often the computers on my home network won't find the printer, problems with print cartridges requiring replacement before they are out of ink, problems with printer requiring full reset of printer which requires re-connecting to wifi network, etc.
-Bloated software installations required
-included scanner software could have more features & flexibility
Bottom line, I won't recommend this printer as it seems like it doesn't work and required extensive troubleshooting to get it back online when I need it most. I need a printer / scanner that is reliable and just works when I need it to. I'm not an IT professional but I've set up my share of equipment and have never had a device as frustrating as this one.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Officejet J4680 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

BEWARE!

PostedJuly 8, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good printer for the price, but if you are using Vista and are counting on using the fax feature - DON'T. Save yourself some money and frustration and go buy a simple fax machine.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Officejet J4680 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Beware - junk! Won't install.

PostedApril 12, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This printer ran well for a few weeks, then provided weeks of anguish as installer (takes 45 minutes to penetrate all levels of xp) konked out and wouldn't install.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Officejet J4680 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible Printer

PostedSeptember 21, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:Under 25
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is the worst printer I have ever used! I bought this printer a month ago and more than 70% of the time when I go to print the paper jams inside the printer. If it doesn't jam it comes out wrinkled all down the right side of the paper. DO NOT BUY!
-5points
2of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Officejet J4680 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Dissapointed

PostedApril 23, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Have had good results with HP so bought an all-in-one when upgrading. Much trouble getting software installed. Three calls to Tech support. More than 3 hours total on phone trying to make Tech understand my problems each time. Finally gave up and took printer back to Sam's and upgraded to Pro4500 model. No problems since.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 to next page>>