HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Scanjet & Fax or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP 640 Fax

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP 640 Fax

HP 640 Fax
Overall rating:
3.286 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
4
1 Star
3
12 out of 21(57%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP 640 Fax
Review 1 for HP 640 Fax
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product for home business

PostedSeptember 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Hartly DE
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great fax machine for a home run business. Very simple to use and quality is great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP 640 Fax
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good machine!

PostedJune 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Austin
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good machine! work more than i want
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP 640 Fax
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use

PostedJune 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:NY
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bought this for my 87 year old Mom, and it was very easy for her to use it. She loves the one button speed dial to fax.
She got confused where to put in a sheet to fax, but now she is a champ at it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP 640 Fax
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

bad

PostedMay 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:naples, fl
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
It would not send faxes and I returned the machine according to instructions from HP. They sent me a new 2140 that seems to work ok.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP 640 Fax
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointment in quality of 640 fax

PostedMarch 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I find it odd that when this 640 fax machine is on the way to be returned for poor service and lack of quality that you ask for a review on it. . This equipment is much poorer grade than all the many HP products I have purchsesd for the past 25-30 years or so.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP 640 Fax
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

What? No paper tray???

PostedMarch 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Ravenswood, WV
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Age:40-54
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Although I really do like this fax overall - the setup and programming is quick and simple - it seems like a HUGE oversight to have no tray to catch the paper.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP 640 Fax
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP 640 FAX

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Francisco, CA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am pretty happy with thios newly installed FAX machine. This replaces my former HP 1240 FAX machine which could also copy in color. However, this is a minor point and I am prepared to overlook it. Keep up the good work, HP!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP 640 Fax
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Home Use

PostedJanuary 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Lexington, KY
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Purchased machine over 2 years for light home use. Have had no operational problems - easy to set up and use. Cons: Needs paper tray and easier to read Menu window. At the low purchase price it has been more than adequate and reliable for my needs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP 640 Fax
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not so hot

PostedJanuary 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
ring tone is way too soft. It's hard to hear the phone/fax ring if two to three people are talking in the same room.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP 640 Fax
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

simple setup

PostedOctober 23, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:mpls
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great little fax, setup fast and simple
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP 640 Fax
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

hate that it has NO TRAY to catch the paper

PostedOctober 12, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i can't believe that it has no tray to catch the papers !!!!!!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP 640 Fax
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good for my needs

PostedSeptember 18, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Illinois
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Since I only send very few fax'es I don't want a high end product. A cheap low cost unit would be perfect for me. As business grows I then would upgrade to a better machine and a dedicated phone line. Machine was confusing to set up but believe it was me as never had or used a fax in past. It does work as one customer sent a fax back with a signature on a contract so I know it works. My one man office and a partime worker make it for now a good choice. However if you are familiar fax user I then would consider a more advanced fax machine. As said when my business gets going more I will upgrade. It does what I want for now.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP 640 Fax
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Would Not Purchase Again

PostedSeptember 8, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
I've only had the HP 640 Fax for less than 2 years. It has had very light use but is already not able to send faxes. I expect better from HP.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP 640 Fax
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Just average

PostedJuly 28, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Honolulu, HI
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The old HP fax machine was easier to use. This HP 640 fax has a longer drop list in its Menu Button. This makes it more confusing for me to use. And the clock timer should be on 12 hour not 24 hour cycle. The old HP fax was on 12 hour cycle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP 640 Fax
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Had to send it back!

PostedJune 11, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The fax machine is easy to use. We sent many faxes during the four months we owned it. However, we had to RECEIVE a fax from the doctor's office and it would not work. Our warranty will cover a replacement. We will upgrade and pay the difference.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP 640 Fax
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

HP 640 Fax

PostedMay 9, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Santa Monica, CA
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This fax is acceptable for occasional faxing (I do mostly sending). However, I have a phone with a built-in answering machine and in order to use the fax, I have to physically disconnect the phone and then connect the fax, in order for the fax to work properly... a splitter will not work for me. Somewhat of an annoyance, but I can tolerate it since I'm only an "Occasional Faxer."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP 640 Fax
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for home use

PostedFebruary 8, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Middletown
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I didn't buy this for heavy duty use, only occasionally sending out faxes - but I needed to have one, and didn't want to spend an arm and a leg. As a phone in my den, it is quite functional and am very happy with it. It was easy to set up, and easy to use.
If you're thinking of getting a fax machine for your office, get upgraded equipment.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP 640 Fax
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not for office use

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Arlington Heights, Illinois
Gender:Female
Primary use:Business
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Bought cheapest fax machine.. not such a good idea. We have many faxes coming in and have to replace cartridge way too often. Good for a place that doesn't receive too many faxes. Sending it to my other store that only sends faxes and looking for a new fax machine at main office.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP 640 Fax
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Unhappy

PostedSeptember 7, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Beeville, Texas
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This was purchased for our office and at first we were pleased. The problems is the amount of Ink this things uses is terrible! We have already replaced it with the HP 701 cartridge 3 times and have only had the machine less than a month!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for HP 640 Fax
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2 out of 2 recommend this product
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5