HP Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for hp HP Officejet J4580 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Officejet J4580 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier

Print, scan, copy and fax with one convenient device Speeds of up to 28 pages/min black, 22 color ## High-quality color graphics and photos, laser-quality black text
Overall rating:
3.389 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(95 reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 95 reviews
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
22
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
13
1 Star
18
57 out of 95(60%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Officejet J4580 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Review 1 for HP Officejet J4580 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

this is way too complicated

PostedApril 23, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
this is a very difficult printer,scanner,copier and fax machine to use.way too complicated to use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Officejet J4580 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Install Problems

PostedDecember 24, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Since I bought J4580 last April, I have never been able to get it to scan properly or to fax! The print & copy functions are wonderful, but I need the other features for which I purchased it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Officejet J4580 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXCELLENT PRODUCT !

PostedJuly 1, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MY OLD HP 612C DESKJET HAD TO GO...AFTER 10 YEARS OF DEPENDABLE SERVICE, I REALLY NEEDED TO UPGRADE. THE J4580 SEEMED TO HAVE IT ALL. AFTER READING THE REVIEWS, I KNEW THIS ALL-IN-ONE WAS FOR ME. ( I AM RUNNING WINDOWS XP HOME ) I WAS RIGHT. I HAD IT UP AND FUNCTIONAL IN NO TIME. DOES AN EXCELLENT JOB FOR HOME OFFICE OR PERSONAL TASKING. THE PRINTING QUALITY IS NOTHING SHORT OF PROFESSIONAL ! AND THE COPY/SCAN/FAX FEATURES ARE ALL EASY TO SET UP AND USE. HP HAS DONE IT AGAIN. A QUALITY PRODUCT AT A DECENT PRICE.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Officejet J4580 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Officejet J4580 All-in-One performs like a gem

PostedApril 25, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Age:40-54
Since I've installed my brand new HP Officejet J4580 All-in-One Printer about 2 weeks ago, it has performed flawlessly. It has perfomed all it's functions without a glitch. I did a test run of all the J4580's functions and it passed with flying colors. I am very pleased with the J4580'S appearance - it's has a nice, clean professional look to it - like a machine that was make for office/business use rather than for personal/ home use. I find that my J4580 is everything as described by HP. And most importantly, it functions flawlessly...so far. I just hope writing a review describing my J4580 as "flawless" doesn't put a hex on it. :-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Officejet J4580 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

hp j4580

PostedApril 23, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:25-39
This is the most efficient fax,copy,and scan machine I have ever owned. For the price, It's very fancy and stylish. I can also fax over 25 papers at a time and they don't pick up more than one at a time. I am very happy with my fax machine and the multiple features it offers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Officejet J4580 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

J4580

PostedApril 23, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
I am very happy with the printer and especially the scan feature. However, I had bought this printer with my previous computer when I had Windows XP; now I have Windows 7 and I had a terrible time getting the printer to work with 7. Nothing worked; I worked 4 days on this problem and finally an HP rep had me download a driver for a different printer which is the only way it works. It actually looks at a different model when it prints and this annoys me. I would like it to work knowing that it is the 4580 that I have.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Officejet J4580 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Machine

PostedApril 23, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:25-39
I love my new all in one printer. I can do everythng I need with just a press of a few buttons. Took me a while to figure out how to work the scanner, but I think I have it under control now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Officejet J4580 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ONE WORD.....GREAT

PostedApril 16, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Age:55+
I was looking for a new all in one Printer/Copier/Scanner/Fax for the home. There are so many out there that it was quite difficult picking one. Having just purchased a HP Laptop and very happy with it, I decided to stay with HP. I was a bit worried about the listed price on this Printer ($69), as many of the other brands I had looked at had cost well over $100. The printer arrived in 2 days and was very easy to set up (I am NOT GOOD at this). It prints beautiful and quick for my needs.
Now for the Fax Setup. I was very apprehensive about setting this up as I have Comcast All In One Bundle, and the directions were Greek to me. I called HP and did not have any luck at all, and a very hard time understanding the Tech. They were very nice but told me they had to have a Specialist call e back. I decided to call Comcast and was told to just get a 2 way phone jack splitter and attach the Fax Phone Line into the other jack. IT WORKED.
Once again, I recommend this Printer for home use. It is a GREAT BUY.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Officejet J4580 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Why Not?

PostedApril 12, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:Under 25
Even though all the people report about paper jams and black ink, I still bought the printer. Im a advanced user so setting up the printer took 10 minutes. (including setting up the Wi-Fi.) So far so good for the printer! Cant pass up 60.00 bucks! And i dont print alot! I only had the printer for about 3 days and so far so good! I will update again in about 3 months! HAVE A GREAT DAY!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Officejet J4580 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love It!

PostedApril 9, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
For home or small office this is a very good machine. It truly is an all-in-one product. Satisfied all the way around.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Officejet J4580 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great Printer-Lousy Software

PostedMarch 23, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Purchased this printer in November and have been calling support for 4 months straight. I wasted my precious hours and days with "many" support tech's trying to get the software working properly. As of March 23, they are still unable to resolve the problems. The printer works great, but the software is a total nightmare. So what good is the printer? I have spent my last day trying to make it work right. I am returning it as soon as possible. I have used HP computers and printers for over 10 years and this is my first and biggest complaint with one of their products.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Officejet J4580 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Frustration

PostedMarch 18, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
This printer has great potential but is so flawed that it does not live up to it. In a mixed Mac and PC environment printing from a PC often corrupts the drivers on the other, forcing a complete re-installation.. Likewise the use of the scanner on this multi-function device disrupts the use of then printer, aga9in forcing a re=installation of drivers. Further, the paper handling mechanism is flimsy and all too easy to damage. To be fair, however, print speed is relatively quick, and print quality is more than acceptable. Unfortunately the flaws cited above render the wireless and shared use of the printer too frustrating to be worth the effort.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Officejet J4580 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

HP Officejet J4680 Printer

PostedMarch 14, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
I have a Compaq Desktop PC running Windows7 and a new printer J4680. Very difficult to install printer even with HP phone and email assistance. Installing the printer setup disk resulted in displaying 6 printers on the screen (j4680 Series (2), J4680 Series (3), -TMP00, HP2226D6 (HP Officejet J4680 Series, Microsoft XPS Document Writer, and FAX Printer). Selecting the right printer proved difficult for me. The system is running wireless.
HP runs a priodic test, this causes me to loose my printer.
Most of the time a reboot of the PC will resolve the problem
but every once in a while I have to isert the start up disk.
Print quality is fine!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Officejet J4580 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ink issues

PostedMarch 14, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
I wish your ink lasted longer! Outside of that I love this printer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Officejet J4580 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Spacesaver plus

PostedMarch 9, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
I have had my Officejet J4580 for about six weeks, and love almost everything about it: the copies are quick, the photos print quickly as well, and the images are sharp. The scanner works well, too, although it took a call to HP to find out where the scans went after they were done... The fax is great. My only real problem has been with the HP Photosmart Essential 3.5. It evideently didn't download properly, and I spent hours on the phone with a customer service rep, trying to straighten it out. I still can't use it, but use the Image Zone Express instead. Overall, I'd recommend this machine to anyone who wants an exceptional value for the price, even with the Photosmart glitch.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Officejet J4580 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

not so good

PostedMarch 9, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
printer was easy to set up. wireless works great. copies are good. scanning feed has quit working after one month. error message is close cover firmly. evan very firmly does not help.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Officejet J4580 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Printer

PostedMarch 9, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Pros:Very goood printer, copier, scanner for the price. It's fast with good quality copies.
Cons: I had to reinstall once as it stopped working. I'm not sure why. But the reinstall solved the problem. It uses lots of ink.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Officejet J4580 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Unreliable

PostedMarch 9, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Selection screen not lit
Erratic operation
Hard to fix paper jam
Hard to change cartridge
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Officejet J4580 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mama is happy, so am I

PostedMarch 8, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Bought this unit a year ago for my wife. She is a teacher and is working on her masters degree so there has been lots of printing and faxing, unit has met or exceeded expectations for use, durability and economical use of ink. I do wish I had gotten the wireless version though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Officejet J4580 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

J4580 software

PostedMarch 8, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
I am disappointed that even though this model was shown as "Windows 7 Ready" I found that I could not download the software CD even after going to HP website and downloading the suggested driver. The software advised me that the system on my PC (Windows 7) was NOT compatible and could not proceed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.