HP Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for hp HP Officejet J4580 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Officejet J4580 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier

Print, scan, copy and fax with one convenient device Speeds of up to 28 pages/min black, 22 color ## High-quality color graphics and photos, laser-quality black text
Overall rating:
3.389 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(95 reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 95 reviews
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
22
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
13
1 Star
18
57 out of 95(60%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Officejet J4580 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Review 1 for HP Officejet J4580 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

this is way too complicated

PostedApril 23, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
this is a very difficult printer,scanner,copier and fax machine to use.way too complicated to use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Officejet J4580 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

WORST PRINTER

PostedFebruary 12, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
This is by far the worst experience I have ever had with a printer. I had to take it back the first day I bought it. After I installed it, everytime I went to print it would automatically delete the print job. I spent all day trying to fix it. I even downloaded HP's diagnostic software, which stated there was nothing wrong with the printer. I finally decided it was not worth the effort and returned it. I will never buy an HP printer again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Officejet J4580 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Junk

PostedJanuary 23, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Printer has never worked correctly from day one. Every third page jams and requires a complete shut down and restart. Scanner works well if thats all you need. Overall would not recommend
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Officejet J4580 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor quality

PostedDecember 31, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:Under 25
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is my first HP printer and has been nothing but trouble. When printing it randomly leaves pages blank and often jams. The software crashes on my computer often. It uses ink much too fast. The scanner/copier always prduces grainy images. The color ink cartridge that came with the machine was rendered useless about 2 months after purchase due to the printer no longer recognizing it as the right type. I would not recomend anyone use this printer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Officejet J4580 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No printer to computer cable????

PostedDecember 28, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Useless printer with-out a cable, add it to the price and include it in the box, or at least have your ordering web-site warn you that you need to order a cable separately.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Officejet J4580 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

More is Less

PostedDecember 28, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Too complicated. Multiple input points - via computer software or on device keypad - are conflicting.
When in print mode, it takes forever (I have had one 3 page black and white document) in the print que for days. The only way I have found to stop the process is to unplug.
Currently, after several weeks of being unplugged, I plugged in to print a document, and am waiting for the machine, which is off line, stating it is Shutting Down. I turned it off several weeks ago, when I tried to perform that function and it was in process for several days. This thing would make a better anchor, if it weighed more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Officejet J4580 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Officejet 6210 all-in-one

PostedDecember 6, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The paper jam light does not go off and the close door light is on. Many attempts to correct, to no avail. Was ready to purchase another unit but in reviewing the ratings on this one, it appears this new unit is experiencing the same problems.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Officejet J4580 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very Slow Printing USB Connected To iMac

PostedDecember 1, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was very disappointed with this printer. Less than two months old. I upgraded to get rid of an old Epson and now I wish I had it back! For some reason it takes over 2.5 minutes to print ONE PAGE!!! I've e-mailed tech support and they tell me it's my computer but I have plenty of RAM and memory. I love HP products and this is the first time I was disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Officejet J4580 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Printer Officejet J4580

PostedNovember 18, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Print Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
After installing the Officejet J4580, I had difficulty getting the software to install from the disk. I finally downloaded and got the printer to work. I tried to use the scan function olny to discover it would not function properly. I contacted HP support and they tried several thing from removal and reloading software to taking control of my PC but was unsuccessful. They told me to call back and try later.
Sometimes when page feeder will not work when in feeding a document into the feeder.
Through all of this I can still print and copy, but would not recommend this product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Officejet J4580 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The worst HP product I have every had

PostedJune 18, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The wireless capabilities and the HP Solutions Center Software for this product are terrible. I've had 4 HP printers ( 3 are officejets) and this one is completely unreliable. I can only scan one document and then the HP Solutions Center software hangs and requires a system reboot to scan another document before it hangs again. Receiving faxes is completely random although I can fax out. The amount of ink it eats in enormous.
I have replaced it twice.
I have an old HP Photosmart C7180 All-in-One Printer that works wirelessly, faxes, scans all without hanging.
For a home office printer, the officejet J6480 stinks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Officejet J4580 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

JUNK

PostedApril 20, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Doesn't work right. Very unreliable. I'm ready to hum it out the window.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Officejet J4580 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cartridge eater !

PostedMarch 18, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I am very discouraged with the way this printer sucks up the ink cartriges. I buy original, 901xl (700 copies ??) but don't get anyehere
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Officejet J4580 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Word of Warning!

PostedMarch 17, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This printer has a lot of problems when installing on 64-bit windows vista operating system. doesn't install the software to run the printer at all!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Officejet J4580 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

J4580 OfficeJet Printer

PostedJanuary 22, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After ten days and only printing 25 sheets, I got notice that 901 color inkjet cartridge was empty and printer would not print. I bought new cartridge, installed it, and printer worked. Place of purchase verified that so called empty cartridge was full. Then two months later, on 1/22/09, a 901Xl Black cartridge that I had installed 12/28/08, gave me an error notice that I had an Incompatible Cartridge and printer would not work at that time.
I exchanged the cartridge for a new one and now it works. However, the manager at point of purchase told me he will not replace any more carridges and HP should replace printer..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Officejet J4580 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Can't print

PostedOctober 20, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
No USB cable so when we arrive home, we cannot even print. This is the first printer I've bought which has no cable.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Officejet J4580 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't buy!

PostedSeptember 13, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
1)Skews pages, impossible to align(100%)
2)Jams pages (100%)
3)No users manual book
4)Scanner option doesn't work at all
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Officejet J4580 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very unhappy

PostedJuly 23, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I was exited about getting a new printer and it was easy to set up. However, it jammed the second time I printed, but I thought it was because of too much paper in the tray. I then tried to print a cd cover on Satin paper (a little thick but other printers do fine), the paper kept jamming sideways and never even got to begin printing. This printer is supposed to be able to print pictures, what happened? After that, the regular paper jammed, two and three sheets began feeding one after another. I print enough photos, so this priinter does not do the job, it can't even handle regular printing. I am returning it very soon, and I definitely do not recommend it!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Officejet J4580 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great Printer-Lousy Software

PostedMarch 23, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Purchased this printer in November and have been calling support for 4 months straight. I wasted my precious hours and days with "many" support tech's trying to get the software working properly. As of March 23, they are still unable to resolve the problems. The printer works great, but the software is a total nightmare. So what good is the printer? I have spent my last day trying to make it work right. I am returning it as soon as possible. I have used HP computers and printers for over 10 years and this is my first and biggest complaint with one of their products.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Officejet J4580 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Frustration

PostedMarch 18, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
This printer has great potential but is so flawed that it does not live up to it. In a mixed Mac and PC environment printing from a PC often corrupts the drivers on the other, forcing a complete re-installation.. Likewise the use of the scanner on this multi-function device disrupts the use of then printer, aga9in forcing a re=installation of drivers. Further, the paper handling mechanism is flimsy and all too easy to damage. To be fair, however, print speed is relatively quick, and print quality is more than acceptable. Unfortunately the flaws cited above render the wireless and shared use of the printer too frustrating to be worth the effort.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Officejet J4580 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Unreliable

PostedMarch 9, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Selection screen not lit
Erratic operation
Hard to fix paper jam
Hard to change cartridge
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.