HP Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for hp HP Deskjet D1660 Printer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Deskjet D1660 Printer

Print speeds up to 20 pages/min black, 16 color## 80-sheet fold-up input tray, 15-sheet output tray Made of 25% recycled plastic
Overall rating:
3.361 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(86 reviews) 81
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 86 reviews
5 Stars
41
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
10
1 Star
23
51 out of 86(59%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Deskjet D1660 Printer
Review 21 for HP Deskjet D1660 Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

D1660 a great disappointment

PostedMarch 6, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
I ordered this printer 1/25/09 and then had to go out of town for two weeks, so had only printed out about 10 pages when it simply died yesterday (3/5/10). The techs ran me through everything they could think of and ended up issuing me a credit for another printer. I really liked the size of this printer, but, unless I just got a dud, it obviously isn't well-made or durable in the least. I am further annoyed that I ordered extra ink cartridges for it, which fortunately remain unopened.
My old HP printer functioned just fine for about 8 years and only then the black would not print.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for HP Deskjet D1660 Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not windows 7 compatible

PostedFebruary 12, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Tried to install CD for the device. Kept getting error 'Not windows 7 compatible'. Ended up being TRASHCAN COMPATIBLE!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for HP Deskjet D1660 Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Save your Money! Don't believe the Reviews!!

PostedJanuary 20, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
I felt comfortable with purchasing this product after reading so many positive reviews. Hey, $ 30 for a printer, how can you go wrong? I have a home billing business so I need a dependable printer. I had a HP 5150 for years that provided me with rock solid performance. Unfortunately nothing lasts forever, then I started using my HP5440 which wasn't quite as good. It started making an unfamiliar noise after several months which led me to purchased this HP D1600. I used the HP D1600 for "3 days" before it stopped recognizing paper in the tray??? This situation initiated a "real problem"!!! The printer software includes a HP Solution Center. The "center sw" recommended I go to the printer que and delete the job. Having owned numerous printers before, I know this should be a "3 second" procedure. I went to the que, deleted the job and waited for 1 1/2 hours for the software to delete the job!!! It never did! But the worst thing is the HP Solution Center locked down my entire computer! Couldn't do a cntrl alt delete to close the program, couldn't pull up the internet, couldn't operate any other programs, a COMPLETE LOCKDOWN! Finally I called customer service, (which to me sounds ridiculous to delete a failed printing notification). I spent an additional 2 1/2 hrs with customer service and finally they tried to convince me that I should purchase a new computer! A new computer to make a $30 printer work??? hmmmm . . . .I don't think so. This thing is going back to HP where I bought it. In conclusion, I was never able to find out why the printer stopped reconizing the paper in the tray, however I am certain the real problem is the "hp solution center software" that comes with the printer installation. If you have a new computer with windows 7, maybe you will be lucky and your software will be compatible with this printer's sw and you won't have any problems. However if you have windows XP home edition, I wouldn't take a chance, save your money. Buy something else! Good Luck! I've went back to my HP5440. Funny, the noise it made doesn't sound too bad any more.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for HP Deskjet D1660 Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

HP Deskjet D1660

PostedNovember 26, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:WA Sate
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Not happy with it at all. Makes ugly loud noise when you try to print and wrinkles the paper alot when it grabs it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for HP Deskjet D1660 Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Has no USB

PostedNovember 24, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I just bought this product earlier and I am so excited to use it turned out to be disappointed because I still need to buy a separate USB to use it. I assumed there's already a USB cable included like usually all the printer does but it's just kinda annoying that you can't use it right away just because there's no usb with the package.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for HP Deskjet D1660 Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

You get what you pay for

PostedOctober 10, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Michigan
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I couldn't give it 1 star because it does have times where it goes a while without paper jamming.
I've wasted a lot of paper and ink because of this printer always jamming up. Either it jams or will still pass paper through, crumpling it as it goes.
Beware of the refund/return period. I assumed 30 days so wasn't able to return this, as it was only something like 15 days.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for HP Deskjet D1660 Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Better to spend more...

PostedSeptember 27, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The printer is nice and compact. The print is sharp. The problem is the paper feed. With 8.5 x 11 the paper will usually feed well but not always. With a half-sheet of paper (8.5 x 5.5) you'll be lucky to get even 1 printout that doesn't twist on entry and then crumple within.
This was a temporary fix for my other printer before I moved back to the states. I should have spent more money and then sell it later.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for HP Deskjet D1660 Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not up to HP standards

PostedAugust 31, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
I would not buy this printer again. It is not up to the standards of quality that I've come to expect from HP printers. It occasionally crunches paper, and I only use HP paper. It hangs about once a day, requiring a re-boot to get my document to print. I've also had trouble getting documents to print accurately. There seems to be a problem with margins that I can't figure out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for HP Deskjet D1660 Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointed and frustrated

PostedAugust 26, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New Jersey
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I am very frustrated with this printer. Yes it was only $30. but I didn't expect to have paper jams and problems deleting print jobs. As one other reviewer said, deleting print jobs causes the print spooler to go into such a state that the only way to fix it most of the time is to unplug the printer or restart your computer. Very annoying.
Even though the print cartridges are cheap, it seems that I go through them much faster than my other HP printer (which I loved by the way!)...so in the long run, printing is more expensive. I've only had the printer for 2 months and I have already put new cartridges in.
I do like the features. And when it works, it prints a nice sharp black and white page. You must switch to higher quality photo printing to print a photo, even on white paper, without lines running through it.
Bottom line - if you don't pay much, don't expect much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for HP Deskjet D1660 Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Lasted about 120 Days

PostedJune 11, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Arkansas
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The printer prints good quality pages. I need a printer that will print images exactly the same place on each page and I was fairly pleased with this printer. I previously owned a Lexmark 3200 and Z45 both of which are still running. The 3200 has printed over 20,000 pages. The D1660 has them beat on print quality and alignment but has fallen far short on life. The D1660 lifespan was about 400 pages. I have purchased another D1660 to see if I just got a bad machine first time. This one starts jamming up I will know $29.00 printers are disposable. Final thought, you can buy a HP D1660 cheap as you can buy Lexmark print cartridges
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for HP Deskjet D1660 Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

test it immediately!! save the box

PostedApril 21, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:25-39
I recently purchased this machine for the price. I got what I paid for. the color did not work. I went through all the online troubleshooting guides. then got live online support and had to go through all the same troubleshooting procedures. They said it was just the cartridge that was malfunctioning. so, they sent me a new one. all seemed well. The new cartridge did not work either. I was a fool and allowed the original box and packing inserts to be thrown out, which means I can not return this product even though it is still within the 21 day return period. So, now I have a black and white printer. Dont get me wrong it prints good and fast, it's lightweight, and simple machine. It would be nice to be able to print in color should the need arise. I'd say buy it if you want something cheap. Just be careful and expect to get something cheap. Look over all the return/exchange policies before you buy. they do differ on what you purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for HP Deskjet D1660 Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

UBS CABLE?

PostedMarch 27, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:Under 25
Hi, I am a student. Yesterday, I asked my mom to buy me a printer, I look at this one and I bought it because it was cheat. Anyway, when I went home to set it up, I realize that the USB cable has to be bought SEPARATELY!!! The hp company SHOULD have put everything inside the box when they sell it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for HP Deskjet D1660 Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

its about my new HP Deskjet D1660 printer

PostedJanuary 21, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:Under 25
hmmh... its different with the promotion about it can print 20 page in 1 minutes. but in fact, it is soooo slow. when im instaling the HP printer cd to the computer, it allways have a bad problem and makes my computer work slow too. the margins and the paper style on print preview is not same with my work on corel or word. im so dissapointed when the ink is not work properly. the style is good, but the deskjet is not good for me. so, give back my money!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for HP Deskjet D1660 Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Beware of USB devices

PostedOctober 10, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Michigan
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This printer is excellent for the price - print-wise. I am a graphic designer and was impressed with the speed and quality of print for documents. However, after installing this printer, all of my USB devices were no longer recognized properly and my computer kept crashing. It took 2 weeks and many hours scouring 100s of forums to try and find a fix. Out of coincidence, I happened to unplug everything to clean out the inside of my computer. I seriously thought my computer was dying. Hoping a good cleaning would help, I plugged in my card reader - it worked. I plugged in my flash drive - it worked! I plugged in the printer - test page printed. Plugged in my ipod - ubs device not recognized!! unplugged the printer, restarted the computer, plugged in the ipod - viola!! It was reconized by itunes and everything worked great. Unfortunately, I will only be plugging in the printer when it is needed. Beware of this issue if you intend to buy it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for HP Deskjet D1660 Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Mixed Feelings

PostedSeptember 27, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Diego
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I purchased this printer a few months ago. I was totally pleased with the quality of the print and the speed of the printer. For a low priced printer the few photos I printed were excellent. It is a little noisy but not too bad. I don't really like all of the pop-ups everytime I log on or try to print, but I assume that is part of the software and will be the same with any HP printer.
Last night after a few months, but past the 90 day limited warranty, I got a paper jam. I have had very few problems with paper jamming with this printer. There is no easy remedy to accessing a paper jam since the printer is of light weight and fragile plastic. When I pulled the paper out, it still would not work and I explored further and something that had broken fell out.
Long Story short, I have already purchased ink cartridges and have partially used cartridges so I will be purchasing the same printer again since cartridges these days cost more than some of the printers and the other printer that uses the same cartridges has horrible ratings and the new one only has one recent rating and uses different cartridges.
I don't feel I can wholeheartedly recommend the printer to others. I do not do alot of printing and a paper jam should not break the printer when removed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for HP Deskjet D1660 Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Yes and No

PostedSeptember 24, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Tucson, AZ
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am in graduate school and write papers each week. I also have lots of reading to print from online PDF assignments, so you could say I am a heavy user of printers. This is my fourth HP printer, and the cheapest at $35. I have a freebie from Apple which does everything but I don't need all the bells and whistles. This little work horse is fast, easy to set up and operate, works on my wireless system, and is basic -- BUT, it inhales ink. I have gone through a new HP cartridge in half a day. That is ridiculous, I have printed less than 100 pages today. Printed lots of visual b/w and color images today, but I've never used a cartridge up in half a day.
So you decide.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for HP Deskjet D1660 Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Longevity

PostedApril 24, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
I would highly recommend this printer IF the AC Adapter had not stopped working. What value is there in a printer without a reliable power source?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for HP Deskjet D1660 Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

USB Cable NOT INCLUDED

PostedJanuary 24, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
We bought this printer for our daughter to have at college. When I bought it in Dec. online, I didn't know/notice anywhere on the page that the USB cable was NOT included. It is also NOT stated on the actual box either. I feel like HP should state that this special USB Cable NEEDS TO BE PURCHASED separately FOR IT TO WORK. A regular USB cable does not work with this printer. Buyers make sure you purchase the cable when you buy this printer. I had to pay shipping for this cable today of course, even though when I bought the printer in Dec. there was a special FREE SHIPPING deal. If I had known I needed it, I would have gotten it with the free shipping deal in Dec. HP please let people know what is not in the box, but must be purchased separately. Thank you.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for HP Deskjet D1660 Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Wow! I have never seen such a slow printer!

PostedOctober 12, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Th HP specs for this printer says up to 20 pages per minute. I just printed a 12 page report with no photos or color text, and it took close to 9 minutes to complete. Wow, I have never seen such a slow printer!
Inexpensive? Yes.
Fast? No way!
Oh, and another thing...
I can't seem to find a way to adjust the printer properties on the D1660, such as a fast draft or black and white. My old HP printer can be adjusted, but not this new one. Maybe they are trying to sell me more color ink. That doesn't seem so "green" to me!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for HP Deskjet D1660 Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good little printer

PostedOctober 13, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Irvine, CA
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My printing needs had greatly diminished since my last HP, so when i needed a new one, I was amazed at the price, but somewhat skeptical. Not to worry! If HP puts their name on it, it works!!! Although much slower and without all the bells and whistles of their higher-priced printers, it DOES print quite well. Sharp and clear. Just remember it is only going to print, and though slow, it does it very well. If your printing needs are not vast or if money is an issue, consider this good little printer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.