HP Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for hp HP Deskjet F4480 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Deskjet F4480 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier

Print speeds up to 28 pages/min black, 22 color## Scans at resolutions up to 1200 x 2400 dpi Easy Web-page printing with HP Smart Web
Overall rating:
3.951 / 5
4
 / 
5
(103 reviews) 94
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 103 reviews
5 Stars
54
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
8
1 Star
11
76 out of 103(74%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Deskjet F4480 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Review 1 for HP Deskjet F4480 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

horrible printer

PostedOctober 5, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Purchased a new Hp tower app. 8 months ago. This printer came bundled with it. Do yourself a favor and upgrade to a better one. In the past I have always favored Hp products especially their printers but this one is awful. It uses up more ink than any other printer i have owned. My latest beef is with the paper feeder. I purchased Hp Quality shop Brochure paper to do a project for work. I had to individually feed each piece of paper one at a time to copy all 200 pages. This took about 2 hours. HORRIBLE!!!. Please HP go back to the basics and produce a quality product and get rid of the cheap ones it makes your company look bad.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Deskjet F4480 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Extremely Frustrating

PostedAugust 19, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I got this printer as part of a package with a laptop and some other equipment. Printer software installed fine, got to step where you're supposed to plug USB cable into printer/ computer only to realize that there was no such cable included. Turns out the cable costs half of what the printer itself cost me... what a "great deal". Kind of like buying a car and having to pay extra for the keys.
I will say the the customer service representative I spoke to was very helpful and understood my frustration. Unfortunately, there was little he could do to rectify the situation.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Deskjet F4480 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

What a hassle!

PostedJune 15, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I received this printer as a gift and was recently trying to set it up. All was going smoothly until I realized the USB cord was not included...okay, one obstacle. I continued to try to set it up, but it turns out that the setup disk is dysfunctional and will not run at all. My computer meets all the requirements, so I see no evident reason why this has been such a problem. I'm very frustrated with HP and will definitely not get another printer from them in the future.
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Deskjet F4480 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Didn't Last That Long

PostedJune 12, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New York
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Right after the warranty expired, the paper got jammed every time I would print. It would cost more to fix than how much I paid for it. It worked great up until that point. Very disappointed because I had HP products that lasted and worked great in the past. Just got a lemon this time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Deskjet F4480 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

First HP Printer I Ever Had A Problem With

PostedJune 7, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New York,New York
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
If your going to spend the money, don't go cheap. I have an HP photosmart that is excellent and cost not much more. The HP customer service was exceptional, though. The features on this one are hard to work as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Deskjet F4480 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

wast of time

PostedMarch 25, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
printer softwear damaged..will not setup..even after following the support tech's tips..
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Deskjet F4480 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

poor reliabilty

PostedFebruary 17, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:55+
The last two printers were a HP 4280 and HP 4480 and both held up for less than 1 year. Primary problem is the copy function -- both failed after little use. Call to Service line produced comment that nothing could be done and unit would need to be replaced.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Deskjet F4480 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

NO USB CABLE

PostedDecember 30, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
printer does not come with a USB cable. havent used it yet. This product was shipped to me incomplete as far as I am concerned.
DO NOT BUY
-4points
3of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Deskjet F4480 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This printer has no options

PostedDecember 25, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Printer is useless in today's world - no memory card port, no aux USB port, no wireless capability. Pay a little more and get a printer that is useful.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Deskjet F4480 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

defective product

PostedDecember 3, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this printer on line from Amazon. Shipment was fast and that was good. However, today, when I attempted to set up the printer, it is not working. Appears to be the power cord and needless to say I am extremely unhappy. If it is not working straight out of the box, what can I expect in future?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Deskjet F4480 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Did not last

PostedSeptember 11, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Nipomo, Ca.
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Nice printer but after less than one cartridge of ink it started bumping and sounds much louder than and old type writer, but really loud.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Deskjet F4480 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not what I expected

PostedSeptember 3, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Have had trouble since day 1. scan is not what my former scanner was. Ink cartrdiges don't hold enuf ink - runs out much too fast - very difficult to insert into cartridge holder.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Deskjet F4480 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

=[

PostedAugust 4, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
okay my big brouther bout an hp printer and it havent even past a year that he bout it and it dosent wanna even work it did for the first 3months on his computer then it said erro. i tryed on my computer but it said erro also so i realy dont recomend it its a good brand but its expensive GGRR=[
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Deskjet F4480 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Spend your money else where

PostedAugust 3, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:wasilla, ak
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Yes, it is cheap, compact, and says it does everything you want, but you get what you pay for. I am no high spender either. I shop for cheap, and that is why I first bought this printer; seemed like I got the most for my money... WRONG! The scanner has been temppermental since I bought it (it now does not work), the paper constantly jams ( I have to hand feed it) and it guzzles ink like a freakin elephant! I do not print all that often and with every other desk jet I have owned, I seldom had to replace the ink cartridges. Well with this bad boy, I will put in a new cartridge, print a few black and white pages (nothing more then text), a whala! It shows I need to replace my ink cartridge! I will of course push it as far as it will go until I replace it, but in the span of 6 months and not printing photos or pamplets, (I have only used 1 1/2 packets of paper!) I have easily bought over a dozen cartridges! And at $32.99 for a combo set, I easily could have bought a hand full of these printers... or just a more ink friendly (probably more expensive) printer! I know that I am not the only one who hates having to run to the store when they dont have the money, just to finish printing their document! I have not used the printer in months because of that, and I am saving my "ink" money to buy a REAL Printer!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Deskjet F4480 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

very disappointing

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Clemson, SC
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
So disappointing. Can't do things with scanner that I am used to doing (had an inexspensive Lexmark I used for years).Don't like the fact that it prints backwards (last page first) - totatly wastes paper and ink. Huge waste of money - will get something else as soon as I can.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Deskjet F4480 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This is a replacement

PostedApril 25, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
I had to order this unit as a replacement for my HP psc750xi because the scanner bulb burnt out on my old unit. I tried to order a new bulb only to find out that it was a non replacable bulb.
Hopefuly, I will have better luck this time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Deskjet F4480 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Newer is not better

PostedMarch 8, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
I thought is was time to retire my destjet 712C after many years of Great service. I couldn't resist the offer from HP on the F4480. If this is your first printer, then it's a good deal, but for us older folks, HP is really putting the screws to us... Lets take the ink for example. The 712C had a monster size ink cartridge. The F4480 cartridge is so small , maybe a tablespoon of ink...I will be pulling my 712C out of moth balls to do my daily printing and the F4480 maybe a scan or copy or two.... HP you need to re-think the cost of you ink.... I hear kodak beats you hands down....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Deskjet F4480 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Would have been nice

PostedMarch 6, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
I owned this printer for less then a month. When it was working it did a pretty decent job but that wasn't for very long. The problem with disappearing scanner files caused me to have to spend several hours both on my own and with HP customer support before it was fixed. A week and a half later, I recieved an error and after spending a couple more hours failing fix it (again working with HP customer support) it was identified as a hardware failure.
Now on the bright side of this, HP customer support was great and was able to fix the first and are replacing the printer due to the hardware failure. If there was a rating for the customer service I would give it 5 stars
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Deskjet F4480 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Priced right

PostedSeptember 3, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Port St Lucie, FL
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
For the money, it is a good overall unit. It is very slow to come out of sleep mode and uses a lot of ink in printing. You will go through the cartriges quickly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Deskjet F4480 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

USB Cable NOT Included

PostedAugust 26, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Minnesota
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Buyers beware: this printer does not come with a USB cable and the cable it requires has a non-standard square port. In my opinion, it is ridiculous for HP to require a separate purchase (and additional cost) for a component necessary for printing. Moreover, HP does not make it clear to buyers that the cable will not be included with the printer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.