HP Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for hp HP Deskjet F4480 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Deskjet F4480 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier

Print speeds up to 28 pages/min black, 22 color## Scans at resolutions up to 1200 x 2400 dpi Easy Web-page printing with HP Smart Web
Overall rating:
3.951 / 5
4
 / 
5
(103 reviews) 94
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 103 reviews
5 Stars
54
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
8
1 Star
11
76 out of 103(74%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Deskjet F4480 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Review 1 for HP Deskjet F4480 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

horrible printer

PostedOctober 5, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Purchased a new Hp tower app. 8 months ago. This printer came bundled with it. Do yourself a favor and upgrade to a better one. In the past I have always favored Hp products especially their printers but this one is awful. It uses up more ink than any other printer i have owned. My latest beef is with the paper feeder. I purchased Hp Quality shop Brochure paper to do a project for work. I had to individually feed each piece of paper one at a time to copy all 200 pages. This took about 2 hours. HORRIBLE!!!. Please HP go back to the basics and produce a quality product and get rid of the cheap ones it makes your company look bad.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Deskjet F4480 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What else would you need?

PostedOctober 3, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got this printer as a Christmas present, my only other printer was an older Lexmark printer, not Vista compatible. This HP Deskjet printer, has served me very well. It took some getting used to at first, with the software, and adjusting the paper, and how to tell it that I just put paper in there stop complaining there's no paper, and now it's just fine.
It's a great printer now, It's copied papers just fine, scanned to my computer just fine, and printed just fine. I highly recommend this, I don't see anything wrong with this printer.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Deskjet F4480 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Did not last

PostedSeptember 11, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Nipomo, Ca.
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Nice printer but after less than one cartridge of ink it started bumping and sounds much louder than and old type writer, but really loud.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Deskjet F4480 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent value

PostedSeptember 7, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Bedford, IA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We purchased the HP F4480 for my son to use at college. He tells me the performance and quality of this printer is excellent. At a price under $40 (due to rebates for purchasing with a laptop), this all in one was too good of value to pass up.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Deskjet F4480 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedSeptember 7, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Alabama
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
I love using this printer. It was easy to set up and start using (I let my 12 year old niece do it for me--she insisted). I bought it as a backup printer, but I use it as the main printer. I will not trade it for anything right now.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Deskjet F4480 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great basic AIO

PostedSeptember 7, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Colorado
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I needed a new basic printer for a computer shared by my kids to do email, web and homework stuff. This printer was deeply discounted by HP when I purchased the computer, so I added it to the purchase. After installing and using the product, I'm very impressed. It was straightforward to set up and works great so far. Very good print quality and quite fast, too. The only wish-for is the ability to automatically duplex to save paper, but at such a low price I still feel it's a great value. I'm very pleased.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Deskjet F4480 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great printer

PostedSeptember 6, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Indiana
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We bought this F4480 to replace our old 842C that we have had for 10 years. It still works great but we needed something that was all in one. This printer fit the bill. It is great looking and fairly quiet. Fits perfectly in the space we have for it on the desk. I hope this one last 10 years like the first one. Way to go HP.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Deskjet F4480 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Preformance for LESS $$$$

PostedSeptember 3, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:All 48 at any given time
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
IMO, the HP Deskjet F4480 a darn good printer/Copier/Scanner. The price is definitely a no hands down bargain. I'm a Professional Truck Driver so my office is right here in my truck. When I'm on the road I need dependable equipment. This machine has held up with no printing, coping or scanning issues (trust me, it get's pretty bumpy out here), when I need it to work, it jumps right to the task at hand, no questions or hesitations. The only thing I would have liked it to have is larger ink cartridges, I can't just pull into any store when I need to, plus it's really hard for the postman to catch up with me. Overall, why would you even consider any other brand. HP, quality when you need it the most, don't leave home without it. I don't.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Deskjet F4480 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Priced right

PostedSeptember 3, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Port St Lucie, FL
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
For the money, it is a good overall unit. It is very slow to come out of sleep mode and uses a lot of ink in printing. You will go through the cartriges quickly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Deskjet F4480 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good purchase

PostedSeptember 3, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It is a good printer all-in-one at a low price. I like HP Products.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Deskjet F4480 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not an Epson

PostedSeptember 3, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Nevada
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Age:55+
I use,the Hp Deskjet 4480,for a small office, my last office printer was an epson.In comparison, the Deskjet is more efficient, and does not cost as much to operate.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Deskjet F4480 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does an excellent job.

PostedSeptember 3, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Osoyoos B.C.
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The copies are clean and crisp.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Deskjet F4480 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very happy purchase

PostedSeptember 3, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Oregon
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
it is perfect
if in the printer spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Deskjet F4480 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP Deskjet F4480 All-In-One Awesome Printer

PostedSeptember 3, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Fairburn, GA
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I run a home-based business and have been using HP printers for several years now. I needed to find a printer that was easy to carry to clients home to make their lives easy. This printer is lightweight, easy to connect and has all the features that I need. Scanner, Copier and Printer. The ink goes really fast considering my line of business but the overall production factor makes the HP printer the best to use. Thanks HP for making my business run smoothly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Deskjet F4480 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not what I expected

PostedSeptember 3, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Have had trouble since day 1. scan is not what my former scanner was. Ink cartrdiges don't hold enuf ink - runs out much too fast - very difficult to insert into cartridge holder.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Deskjet F4480 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good deal for the price, Im in love with HP

PostedSeptember 2, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Silver Spring, MD
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
HP knows how to do business and keeping customers, I bought this printer because I needed a fast and economical solution for my college tasks because in my country had the HP Deskjet 640 (since 2002) and the HP Scanjet 2400 scanner (from 2005), and both Feature 100% until the day that I sold on ebay, because when I moved to this country could not carry with all of those devices, and when I saw the F4480 on best buy I said "why not." The most hilarious part is that in the early days that wanted to use with my notebook (also HP), I was always impressed cartridge alignment page, which is not happening when I connect to my sister's laptop (a Dell mini 9), but the problem was solved and I'm fascinated with this MFP. The only flaw is that compared to older printers, spend more ink, but the quality of the images is good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Deskjet F4480 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

USB Cable NOT Included

PostedAugust 26, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Minnesota
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Buyers beware: this printer does not come with a USB cable and the cable it requires has a non-standard square port. In my opinion, it is ridiculous for HP to require a separate purchase (and additional cost) for a component necessary for printing. Moreover, HP does not make it clear to buyers that the cable will not be included with the printer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Deskjet F4480 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

kamleya

PostedAugust 26, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:dahanu
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
it's best for home used.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Deskjet F4480 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great, but Noisy!

PostedAugust 25, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Houston, Texas
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Hewlett Packard offers the best quality products that I've used, whether it be at home or at the office. I am an Administrative Assistant at an architectural firm and my printer goes nonstop, whether it be correspondence or drawings! We use only HP printers and faxes in our office. I purchased the F4480 for use at home to replace an old HP Deskjet that I purchased (used) off of eBay for $30.00 several years ago.....what a workhorse that machine was! It finally said "enough is enough" and, although it still works (even though when I was having my home interior painted the workers either dropped it or bumped it and broke the paper guide so you have to "nurse" it to be sure the paper feeds properly), it was "tired" (I still have it hooked up as a back-up - don't ask me why now that I have the F4480...perhaps nostalgia). The quality of prints, be they color, black and white or photos, is excellent. My only negative comment is, the F4480 is VERY noisy (in my opinion). In addition (and I'm sure this is "operator error"), even though I tell it to print black and white, it still prints color prints if there is any color on the document being printed. Again, I'm sure it's operator error, so don't count that comment as a negative. I've seen commments here calling out some very low prices - I paid a lot more for mine (on SALE) at Best Buy........me thinks me got "taken"by that store, but I did not comparison price shop before purchasing. I knew I wanted an HP product and that's what I went there to buy. That's ok - I like the machine!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Deskjet F4480 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great but with some serious limitations

PostedAugust 21, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Germantown, MD
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quiet, fast, easy to set up, good print quality, small footprint, and the scanner is killer. But don't buy the F4480 printer if you're hoping to print on any media other than standard plain paper. When attempting to print my business cards onto Avery 8879 clean-edge, business card stock, or onto Staples inkjet business matte white, heavyweight stock, all my initial infatuation with this unit was crushed. Regardless of the settings used, number of pieces on the tray, or how much pressure I used with my fingers, it just won't work. HP tech support confirmed that the F4480 just isn't made for this type of "irregular" print work. I didn't even try envelopes. So I'm returning the F4480 to exchange for an OfficeJet model, probably the 4500. The HP help line was great in responding to and accommodating my issues and arranging the exchange. So if it's just standard paper printing you're planning, you can't do better than the HP F4480. But forget about anything more ambitious than that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.