HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop All-In-Ones or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP Deskjet F4280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Deskjet F4280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier

Print speeds up to 26 ppm black, Up to 20 ppm color## Scan Resolution: Up to 1200 x 2400 dpi Fold-up paper tray, print borderless 4 x 6 -in to panorama photos Uses HP 60 inks
Overall rating:
3.6 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(50 reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 50 reviews
5 Stars
22
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
8
1 Star
7
31 out of 50(62%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Deskjet F4280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Review 1 for HP Deskjet F4280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

performance

PostedFebruary 21, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the performance of my hp deskjet 4240 is terrific. it is the best prenter i have ever had. love it. workers at hp were courtious to help me with issues i had while downloading my printer ...they were absoutley terrifif. only buy my ink from hp online it is great also
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Deskjet F4280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great print quality uses a lot of ink

PostedDecember 9, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
5 stars on print quality, ease of set up, user friendly, paper jams are few and easy to remedy.
BUT.... My F4280 uses a tremendous amount of ink compared to my other HP products..even with the XL cartridge in grayscale. I would recommend this for use as an occasional printer, not an everyday one. The feature to reduce/enlarge would be welcome. And maybe I am just SPOILED with my HP Office Jet...which I wouldn't trade for anything...except a brand new HP Office Jet!!!
'
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Deskjet F4280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Sucks 60 ink cartriges dry,broke after 3 1/2 month

PostedDecember 3, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:25-39
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is the WROST printer EVER! It broke after gentle use after only 3 1/2 months! It uses 60 black and color ink cartridges and sucks the ink dry after about 15-20 word documents! I was buying MANY cartriges each month- $$$$.
The scanner doesn't work very well with Windows Vista.
DO NOT BUY THIS. I am VERY UNHAPPY with the poor quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Deskjet F4280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Worked for a little while

PostedNovember 17, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The print quality was good. It worked for a little while then problems. Yuck.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Deskjet F4280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

bad connections

PostedNovember 14, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The power adapter went bad so quickly. I have the lex..... type printer for over 6 years now and the only problem is the cost of ink. As a matter of fact I had 2 of the lex type and one stopped working after 8 years sadly it's the fax type. So I decided to try another brand. Hp and I have the printer almost 6 MONTHS NOW and the power adapter has gone bad. I understand it is electrical but man so soon. my son bought a laptop and not even 6 months and the hard drive crashed. Seemed i should not have hp in my domain.Bad connections
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Deskjet F4280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not satified

PostedNovember 7, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just had to throw mine out after the on/off switch broke. Also, everytime I reloaded a new cartridge the printer kept on doing unrequested alignments (Had to diconnect the machine several times until it stopped.) Another problem was that the HP Solution Center windows had blank displays
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Deskjet F4280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cartridge replacement? no problem!

PostedOctober 14, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had my new printer for about a week now and have found it to work like a charm! It prints faster and cleaner than printers I've had before.
I read some of the reviews before settling on this printer. A few people mentioned problems with replacing the print cartridges. I actually had no problem, except in the beginning, when I didn't know where to find the cartridge holders! (they were way off to the left out of sight). But that was quickly remedied. I could see how, if you have very large hands, manipulating cartridges in and out of that small space on the right could present a problem.
The only difficulty I encountered was when I didn't pull the paper support all the way out and the printed paper somehow got tangled in the input feeder and jammed up. But the jam was easily cleared up. The printer didn't get confused at all (as has been my experience with previous printers).
So, kudos, HP. You've done a great job on this one!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Deskjet F4280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great all-in-one printer deal

PostedOctober 12, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love my little printer! It is compact, stores easily, easy to hook up and easier to use! I have already recommended to a friends who will be purchasing this week. I have used all of the features and they perform great! Scanning photos for social networks or email attachments is so simple and easy. How can you beat this price? I check all over and this was the best price by far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Deskjet F4280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP printer/scanner/copy

PostedOctober 5, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the 4th HP I purchased, last one lasted 4 years. I love HP!! This printer easy to use, was a bit difficult to set up; but was issues with my computer. Love the ability to scan and import pictures.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Deskjet F4280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

printer

PostedSeptember 8, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have this printer and use it often I found it somewhat hard to install and had to repeat process twice but felt it was my fault. machine works very good for my computer skills which is slightly above beginner computer user. Seems to use lot of ink but started to learn what to copy and what not to to save ink. Kid loves it for school and what I use it for is just simple work Price helped me in buying as I cannot afford any more
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Deskjet F4280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Print Caretridge

PostedSeptember 6, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bought DeskJet F4280 just 3 months ago and print cartridge keep on jamming.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Deskjet F4280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Here is my review

PostedAugust 16, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
my printer f4280 if i print a pictures there have a white line on it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Deskjet F4280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good printer at low price

PostedAugust 4, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This printer works great, the copier is awesome and also works excellent with my MAC, the only thing that I am missing is a card reader but for this price I could get junk with a different brand.
I really recommend this printer.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Deskjet F4280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

How the HP F4280 wastes paper and ink

PostedJuly 15, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Every time I switch the machine on it prints out an alignment page. I do not need or want this all it does is waste my stationery. Also, I only want a printer to PRINT - suprisingly enough! I do not want it to TELL ME when to reorder ink cartridges - I usually know this when the colour starts to fade. How can I turn these annoying features off. Also every so often it goes 'offline' - WITHOUT me asking to do this - how can I turn these absolutely STUPID and time-wasting features OFF????
Brilliant speed and quality of print.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Deskjet F4280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Windows Vista users beware !!

PostedJune 17, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
In general this all in one operates fine, is easy to use and is a great value for the money. Some of the applications do NOT work with Windows Vista. Problems and known issues: hpqddsvc serice hang, photo smart is NOT compatable. Vista users, if you want full function and more than simple print or scan do not get this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Deskjet F4280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointed with Printing

PostedJune 6, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:Under 25
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
In order for the printer to work to "print" you will need both a color cartridge and a black cartiridge.. Otherwise you are unable to print. Also the configurations only allows for color and black ink, no black and black ink combination.
I would say this is not the very brightest idea that HP has come up with yet. I would not recommend this product, and I would say that the use of both ink products whether printing color or black only, is the main reason that the ink is being eaten up so quickly. Not a very economical product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Deskjet F4280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

HP Deskjet F4280

PostedJune 5, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:Under 25
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This printer is good but with the first cartridge (came with the printer) showed that the ink level was low! Weird! However is an excellent printer and with GOOD quality!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Deskjet F4280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very user friendly

PostedJune 2, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i had 3 other hp printers in the past my last one lasted 5 yrs.
i bought the deskjet f 4280 for the price. i use it for making photos and use in my church vestry. it prints very nice clean sharp pictures and very user friendly ink don't spear, i just love it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Deskjet F4280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

does not work well with laptop

PostedMay 6, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:Under 25
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Every time I plug the printer up to my laptop, the printer must "realign" itself and then it won't print. This printer is garbage. Probably good for a nonportable computer though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Deskjet F4280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Deskjet F4280

PostedApril 20, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am very impressed with the ease of this machine. It is very easy to operate and to use with my laptop HP Pavillion dv6000 model. It does everything that I need for my first set-up.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.