HP Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for hp HP LaserJet P1505 Printer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP LaserJet P1505 Printer

Hard-working and reliable desktop printer Fast: up to 24 pages per minute Adjustable 250-sheet input tray One-year limited warranty
Overall rating:
3.227 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
5
13 out of 22(59%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP LaserJet P1505 Printer
Review 1 for HP LaserJet P1505 Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This Printer work great.

PostedJanuary 5, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The wife went back to school and we needed a printer that was network friendly and that would be a document print work horse. Both of us print to this printer all day and it works great. After several reams of paper and toner cartridges, it still works great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP LaserJet P1505 Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Still not sure...

PostedMarch 6, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:25-39
I found the printer pretty easy to setup and install. My first job was spooled and printed very quickly and clearly. My only dislike is the noise level.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP LaserJet P1505 Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellant Printer for the Price

PostedDecember 23, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use this printer at my office and have recently purchased one for my home, great price - I paid $150/web and the printer has worked perfectly, just change ink. Quick startup and great print quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP LaserJet P1505 Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

You CAN network the P1505 w/ a print server!

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Despite what the inept HP service reps in India will tell you, you CAN network this printer using a cheap print server if you'd rather not spend the extra cash for the P1505n. I used a seven year old Hawking H-PS1U print server but it takes some networking savvy to get it all set up. All network computers are PCs with XP SP3 OS.
The printer is noisy and the paper tray cover is cumbersome to replace each time you add paper. The setup instructions are typical for HP, i.e., user-unfriendly, with a number of omissions and miscues.
But the bottom line is after all the gnashing of teeth to install it, the printer works great and the quality of print is superb. I heartily recommend it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP LaserJet P1505 Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love it.

PostedOctober 24, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
it work very easy & fun.
it save my mone.
it ic force.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP LaserJet P1505 Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simpley a WORKHORSE printer

PostedMarch 5, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've lost count of how many of these simple inexpensive printers we've deployed on our test stations. These stations print data constantly through three shifts without any issues. Their proven reliability has been great and the cost is so low if one ever does break (none have yet broken) we'll just purchase a new one. This isn't a feature full printer so all you can expect is reliability and that it delivers in spades!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP LaserJet P1505 Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

HP LaserJet P1505

PostedSeptember 28, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had many HP printers in the past and have had one laserjet previous to this one. I have not had this much trouble with one printer in my 25 years using a computer and personal printer. It is first of all too noisy, too many clunking sounds that make me wonder how long it will last. I have trouble with the toner flaking off on envelopes and labels. Seems to be okay as long as the papers is not too smooth or shiny. I have tried all the suggestion on HP's website and still no success.
I am very dissappointed with this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP LaserJet P1505 Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Big let down

PostedAugust 20, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Print Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is a step backward , we previously used the 1022 which was an excellent printer. This printer is noisy, takes forever to install probably because you have to install .net framework. If you have to do any terminal or dos printing forget it, it doesn't work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP LaserJet P1505 Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does Not Print Color

PostedJuly 22, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My place of employment ordered this printer for me to use in my office since I deal with a lot of confidential papers that cannot be sent to the general printers. It has worked very well for me; however, I was extremely disappointed that a color cartridge is not available for this printer. If you are wanting a full-service printer, then this is not it -- it is strictly for writing letters and papers.
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP LaserJet P1505 Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

lack of printer emulation

PostedMay 30, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
After having succesfully installed a HP1505n (network version) a customer bought the HP1505 and was in the opinion that the only difference is the lack of a network interface. However the HP1505 doesn't have a printer emulation and won't for example support remote desktop. pcl5e drivers for the HP1505n can't be used with this printer.
My advice don't buy this printer, but take the n version instead.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP LaserJet P1505 Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Noisy Printer

PostedApril 11, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a bad product from HP. I used the 1022's that were superb in print speed and "QUIET". HP engineers or R&D did a horrible job with this printer. Have to buy 36a cartridges instead of 12a. Who cares if it can print 3 more pages than the 1022. This printer is terrible with the thump noise, it takes "LONGER" to print than the 1022 did, but the smartest thing HP did was put the power button on the front. I bought 2 of these P1505's to replace 10 year old HP MP4 printers, and I am sending the P1505's back and looking for something else. HP should put the 1022 back on the market, it was a fine printer......Paul
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP LaserJet P1505 Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

HP LaserJet P1505

PostedApril 2, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use this printer with Office 2003 and XP Pro with no problems at all. I am the Comptroller for a medium size manufacturing company and I generate 2000 + prints per month. Initial response and print time is very quick. The only issue I do have with the printer is the noise factor. This little puppy is very noisey. Other than that it is great for the price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP LaserJet P1505 Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

print spooler flush flaw

PostedMarch 27, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Print Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Printing from Windows Standard Server 2003 R2 64-bit via terminal services does not work properly.
Regardless of driver (from CD or downloaded version) the print task gets hung.
The temporary fix (one page at a time) is to recycle (off/on) the server print spooler (via control panel).
Sometimes the same must be done at the workstation.
Typically once the print spooler has been restarted the page to be printed spins out.
This software bug makes this printer usable only via USB and not suitable for remote client/server printing.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP LaserJet P1505 Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Printing From Office 2004

PostedMarch 12, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Use the "Printer Icon" on your menu bar to print to this printer until the new drivers for OS 10.5.2 are available. Using Print from the File menu will, for some reason, not work. Neither will other routes.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP LaserJet P1505 Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Can't print from Word 2004 on a MacBook Pro

PostedJanuary 29, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Getting started with this printer was pretty easy except for one minor detail that HP should clarify on its step-by-step instructions. An extra step is required to ready the toner cartridge for use. This step isn't shown on the illustrated instructions that come inside the printer. You need to locate the orange tab on the side of the cartridge and pull out the plastic strip that seals the toner. I didn't realize this and so the first few jobs I sent to the printer came out as useless white sheets of paper. Once removed, the printer prints as you would expect; although it is a little loud in my opinion. The other problem that I have encountered is that I cannot print from Word 2004 for MAC. The print job just hangs in the queue while the computer tries "to connect to the printer." Eventually the job stops on its own with no error message or info to help resolve the problem. You need to delete the job from the queue before sending other jobs to the printer. Hopefully HP will resolve that problem and then I will feel better about the purchase
Response from HPBy Product Development TeamJune 18, 2008
We have now updated our drivers to improve the printing experience with Mac.
Please download the latest drivers from

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/softwareList?os=219&lc=en&cc=us&dlc=en&product=3435668&lang=en
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP LaserJet P1505 Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not work well with Leopard

PostedJanuary 22, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:Under 25
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this printer for my mac book pro because it said that it would work with leopard. No such luck. I can get it to print sometimes but most of the time I get a client-error-not-possible error. If you are trying to print off of Microsoft word 2004 you might as well look for another printer since it will not work at all.
Response from HPBy Product Development TeamJune 18, 2008
We have now updated our drivers to improve the printing experience with Mac.
Please download the latest drivers from

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/softwareList?os=219&lc=en&cc=us&dlc=en&product=3435668&lang=en
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP LaserJet P1505 Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Printer Cartridges for Micr Printing not available

PostedNovember 28, 2007
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Extremely disappointed in this machine since I cannot purchase the Micr Cartridges for it. I can't believe HP would manufacture a product and you cant purchase the proper toner cartridges for it. If this machine was not intended to be used for micr cartridges then it should be stated on the description of the product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for HP LaserJet P1505 Printer
Based on the average of (5) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
4 out of 5 recommend this product
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5