HP Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for hp HP 564 Photo Original Ink Cartridge

hp HP 564 Photo Original Ink Cartridge

HP 564 Photo Original Ink Cartridge
Overall rating:
3.37 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(757 reviews) 757
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 757 reviews
5 Stars
318
4 Stars
91
3 Stars
75
2 Stars
99
1 Star
174
465 out of 757(61%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP 564 Photo Original Ink Cartridge
Review 1 for HP 564 Photo Original Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

XL Cartridges

PostedOctober 20, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Long Island, NY
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The life of XL cartridges is quite long, as long as you change your printing preferences setting from Normal or Automatic to FAST DRAFT. That setting uses half the amount of ink and is fine for everyday printing.
For Windows Operating Systems:
Go to Control panel
right click on PRINTERS/FAXES
Left click on OPEN
Right click on the printer you want to set.
Left click on PRINTING PREFERENCES
Click on FEATURES tab
Using drop down menu, set Print Quality to FAST DRAFT
Click on APPLY
Done!!! Good job.
When you want to print a final document with more ink, just click on PREFERENCES when your print window opens and change the quality setting to Normal for that document.
This works for all printers and all cartridges, whether they be regular or XL.
+180points
181of 182voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP 564 Photo Original Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

564 Ink is a Money Pit

PostedJuly 14, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Diego
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Before I bought my Photosmart 6380 I thoroughly checked out ink cartridge prices, which seemed quite reasonable even for a printer with 5 different cartridges. My old printer cartridges were very expensive but only had to be replaced occasionally. At the time, there weren't many reviews to look at. Unfortunately, this thing goes through all 5 cartridges like crazy & I'm frequently buying replacements. The store packaging for the 2 different black cartridges is also difficult to tell apart; it's easy to buy the wrong one & not realize it until you go to install it.
The printer itself is great and easy to use. I love it. Even though it was reasonably priced, I feel I got taken by the tiny, rapidly used ink cartridges. In the last year I've easily spent three times as much on ink as I paid for the printer. I expected much more from HP and am disappointed. Until the quality of the ink is greatly improved I sure cannot recommend it to anyone.
+110points
110of 110voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP 564 Photo Original Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not really happy...

PostedAugust 25, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Oregon
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I was impressed that I could get a bundle of ink, and some photo paper all in one package. That was until I started printing and found out I got all of 6 prints and was getting a low ink warning! So now I have all this paper and not enough ink to print! So, that isn't going to work for me. Guess based on all the other complaints I read, I am not alone. I will run the ink til it's dry to see if I can sqeeze the very last drop out of each cartridge, then off to find a more suitable printer. Funny... the ink in the test cartridges that came with the new printer lasted far longer! How can that be?
Overall, I am impressed with the quality of the printer, and most every HP product I have has never dissapointed me. In fact, I would highly recommend them just because of their customer service. Fix the ink issue, and I think it will all be ok!
+58points
58of 58voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP 564 Photo Original Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Used up too Quickly

PostedJune 11, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Smokey Mountains
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Photo Black ink is also used for document printing along with the regular black ink cartridge. So, it is used up too quickly. It would be better if it was only used for photo printing.
+69points
72of 75voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP 564 Photo Original Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Less ink ?

PostedOctober 7, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New York, NY
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have been an HP user for decades, but I'am about to switch to another company because the ink cartridges do not last as advertised. They run out of ink it seems just as soon as you start to use it.
+59points
61of 63voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP 564 Photo Original Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

HP: quality at a ridiculous price

PostedOctober 3, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Portland
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I didn't think I was someone who even printed very much. It took a long time to go through ink with any other machine I've ever owned. Quality of my HP is great... but man it eats through the ink. I find myself buying new cartridges constantly, at a ridiculous price for how much you get. Guess I'm stuck for now, but unless the ink issue is solved I will not buy another HP. I could have bought a new printer for what I've spent on ink in less than a year. :(
+35points
35of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP 564 Photo Original Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointed

PostedSeptember 23, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This ink including the HP 564 XL does not print nearly as many copies as mentioned. you may get 100 copies of cartridge 564 and if you have the 564 XL as we have in the past it will print less than 500 but not sure how many less than that. I was really surprised at how fast we need to re-order ink or re-buy it. I really wish it would print as many copies as stated.
+26points
26of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP 564 Photo Original Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

misrepresented

PostedJune 30, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
There is no way these cartridges print the number of pages they are represented as capable of by the HP rep in the store the day I bought my c309 series printer. Not a good value at all and very disappointing to have the product misrepresented that way.
+22points
22of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP 564 Photo Original Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not just the product but the HP online

PostedNovember 11, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Decatur, IL
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
This product is labeled on this website as "HP 564XL Photo Ink". That is not the correct title and is not what is on the box. It is "Photo Black"! How do you create a connection with your customers if the product names are not consistent?
I believe this is the correct product only because I copied the image and zoom in to see that it might actually be "Photo Black” not ”Photo Ink”. Since all 5 cartridges are listed as 564 then the color (yellow, cyan, magenta, black and photo black). This only adds to the confusion.
The biggest problem is that this printer/cartridge product has been so badly managed that support for it will go away and I will be stuck no ink.
+21points
21of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP 564 Photo Original Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

I'll use it because I have to

PostedNovember 7, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Indiana
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The print quality is gorgeous but like everyone else, it doesn't last long enough. I switched to the 564XL inks and get a lot more prints. Its around 70 dollars at Sams for 3 colors, I can get 2 blacks for around $25. My main complaint other than running out of ink is that HP doesn't offer a value pak in the XL cartridges.
+21points
21of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP 564 Photo Original Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Needs Hp Support, too clostly to run

PostedAugust 4, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Burlington, Vermont
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Using the scanning is a nightmare. It is very clumsy to use compared to Hp older models with these features. Please, someone at Hp update the software to make this feature user friendly. To Hp, please check out your non-wireless programs and incorporate them with this model.
I have had difficulty keeping the wireless feature from dropping out on one of two Hp 300-1120 Pc's. I have to re-install the wireless feature periodically for no apparent reason on the Hp-Pc using it wirelessly. The Hp 300-1120 Pc uses the USB connection full time to this printer. The printer is never shutdown so I do not know why the wireless connection drops out on the Pc using it wirelessly. It’s crazy, within printers selection the C309n is not showing up unless re-install the software.
I noticed the printer cartridges are expensive and this printer uses a lot of ink. This includes the cartridges that are fully loaded with ink.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP 564 Photo Original Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

564XL

PostedJuly 3, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:California
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you make a lot of copies every day, the ink will last for many pages of copies. If the HP Photosmart Premium Print sits for days, the ink will evaporate some. The evaporation of ink happens in all ink cartiges if they sit in the printer for days. Evaportion of ink affects every model on the market.
+30points
36of 42voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP 564 Photo Original Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Good

PostedNovember 7, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Texas
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had a photosmart in the past and bought this one with the same expectations. The ink does not last like it is advertised and I am spending a fortune on it. I would not have bought this printer if I knew the ink was so costly.
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP 564 Photo Original Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I Disagree

PostedJuly 13, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Gerry, NY
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've read the reviews and I have to say that I disagree with most of them. Yes the standard 564 ink cartridge runs out quickly but the 564XL has great performance. What I am finding is that there is much more life out of the cartridge even after prompted to replace it. In other words, don't rush to change out the cartridge...wait until there is a noticeable difference in your prints. You'll be surprised.
I use this ink in model HP 8550 for my business and it does a great job for me!
+18points
19of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP 564 Photo Original Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful results

PostedAugust 6, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love the ink, but it runs out too quickly.
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP 564 Photo Original Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

564xl Black

PostedJune 11, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Oregon
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ink runs out very fast. Not a good buy for the money.
+16points
17of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP 564 Photo Original Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good purchase...but

PostedAugust 23, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:boston, MA
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
uses too much ink! As a teacher, need a printer that has gd print quality and low cost on replacement ink. HP Photosmart Premium Printer is a good printer, but the cost of replacing ink is a bit much. In addition, you do not get the amt of printed pgs promised on the pkging. On 564XL it says 800 pages, when actually u get 600. May have to buy another printer with less expensive replacement ink costs. Hate to do it, this one is barely 6 mos old!
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP 564 Photo Original Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

564 ink for HP Photosmart printer

PostedJune 21, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New Mexico
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I can't believe how fast I go through the ink for this printer. Redicilous. I love the printer, but way too expensive for the ink. I have also ordered the wrong ink many times ordering on line because it is so confusing.
I think HP could do better by their loyal customers.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP 564 Photo Original Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

good photo paper

PostedAugust 29, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:East Bay, CA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It's nice to have 150 sheets of photo paper. And it's a good combo for the price. And the photos look great. But I have to agree...we should get more photos than we do from this package. I used to use the 02 ink--and got 150 photos (more or less) from the ink. Here with 564 ink, you get 50 photos (more or less). Not a good tradeoff, but what can I do? HP doesn't make machines that use 02 any more.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP 564 Photo Original Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Low Ink Warning

PostedDecember 24, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I actually love my C309 Photo Smart Printer, for printing photography. But shame on HP for the built in scam they have put in the printer for low ink. After the warning comes up, you can print many, many more pictures before you have to replae the cartridge. I simply keep printing until I have a picture that turns to you know what, then I replace the cartridge, again shame on you HP for putting in this warning, knowing that it is not accurate.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 38 to next page>>