HP Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for hp HP Officejet J3680 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Officejet J3680 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier

Prints, scans, copies, faxes Print speeds up to 20 pages per minute in black, 14 color ## Scanning at up to 600 dpi optical resolution 20-sheet automatic document feeder
Overall rating:
3.951 / 5
4
 / 
5
(82 reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 82 reviews
5 Stars
43
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
7
1 Star
10
61 out of 82(74%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Officejet J3680 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Review 1 for HP Officejet J3680 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I would not recommend this all in one to anybody

PostedDecember 31, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Pittsburg, CA
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Age:40-54
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I am unable to receive faxes from any machine as this model is too old. I don't think the company should sell products not supported by the industry needs.
When I called customer service, they were not too intested in hearing my problems. The second rep helped and we thought it was working properly, but I cannot receive faxes from later model fax machines. The guy knew this and made me slow down the receive but that did not help to receive from any fax machine. It has been a waste of my money and very irritating when I need to receive a fax.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Officejet J3680 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

worst I ever Purchase ever

PostedNovember 5, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Kansas
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
It is a pece of junk the had were does not work and they do'nt have an anwser for it.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Officejet J3680 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Biggest piece of junk ever!

PostedJuly 26, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Don't waste your time on this flimsy piece of junk! It quit feeding paper after I printed about 6 copies. I could hear the roller spinning inside but it wouldn't catch and feed the paper and then it would stop and the orange light would flash and no matter how many times I pushed reset the rollers would not do their job of feeding the paper. Obviously, the drive gears are cheap plastic. Now it's time to throw this worthless chunk of junk into the garbage where it belongs!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Officejet J3680 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not a good buy

PostedApril 9, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Generally, I love HP printers and am very loyal, but this is the most disappointing product I've ever purchased. It came bundled with a new laptop with Windows 7 - but the installation software for this printer didn't work for Windows 7 - had to download everything and STILL haven't gotten the wireless feature to work.
The feed mechanism is constantly reading "jammed" even after you clear it.
Worst of all, it goes through ink like water through a sieve. The 200 pages per cartridge? Try more like 70-80. At $14.99/cartridge that's a little pricey for an inkjet.
The functions are difficult to access (too much scrolling through).
Bottom line, spend a little money and buy a laserjet or something a little more high end. I wouldn't recommend this product at all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Officejet J3680 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Nightmare

PostedMarch 9, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Needed to replace a vey good OfficeJet4215. Nothing wrong with printer functioning...the software has corrupted my machine. The drivers continually install, over and over and over. Every time my system goes to sleep I get install driver pop-ups. No help with support suggestions either. What a NIGHTMARE.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Officejet J3680 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed

PostedNovember 5, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Read the specs good on this one..I didn't now I have to return it..is not compatible with Windows Vista..very disappointed..won't load the 'tool box' scan, nothing..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Officejet J3680 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Ridiculous

PostedApril 13, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I hate this printer. It should not be this hard to load print cartridges. If you can't load the cartridges, everything else is moot.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Officejet J3680 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Frustrated

PostedFebruary 7, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I absolutely hate this printer. I bought it for the scan capabilities and it is so frustrating. I have read the direction many times and it hasn't helped.I wasted countless hours trying to scan documents. Don't buy it.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Officejet J3680 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No Good

PostedJuly 26, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I just bought this product and I cannot get it to work. Printing takes about 30 minutes to get started and even then it won't print what I asked. I bought this printer needing to upgrade but only to find that my old printer worked better. I'm very disappointed since most HP products are excellent.
-6points
1of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Officejet J3680 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Junk

PostedFebruary 8, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Hudson, FL
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
I have an Officejet J3680 running on XP SP3. I have had glitches in my computer twice since I bought the printer and each time I go through Haydes with USB to computer printer communications. I spent about 16 hours the first time with tech support while he took out about 50 tons of unwanted junk that is on your installation CD. The last time I found an abbreviated installation program that worked fast and did well. Now I have the same problem and cannot remember the short installation program I found; so here I sit. I will have a hard time EVER purchasing another HP printer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Officejet J3680 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

no flatbed scanner

PostedAugust 12, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:texas
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
it claimed to be an all in one but it was my fault for not checking into the scanner.the scanner is document feed not a flat bed like all the other hp all in ones i have owned. also owners manual is next to useless
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Officejet J3680 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

worst unit ever

PostedJune 1, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
honestly this unit was a piece of junk...i wanted something cheap and useful. quite frankly it is the worst unit i have ever purchased from hp and i've been doing business with them for the past 15 years....do not buy this unit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Officejet J3680 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

j3680

PostedApril 3, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Almost every time I use the printer, I have to boot it up from scratch, because the computer cannot findit. The fax does not work properly on incoming faxes
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Officejet J3680 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

aggrevating

PostedAugust 11, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:Under 25
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I'm not completely stupid when it comes to computers and printers, but when I keep getting errors for my faxes that is when it really starts to bother me. I cannot seem to be able to figure this out. I am the office manager for a small business and if I can't send faxes then I cannot do my job. Honestly the old fax machine we had did better work than this one and it was 15 years old!!! I have no use for the phone so that is pointless and if I could figure out what the error numbers meant I think it would be better but I'm completely lost.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Officejet J3680 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

HPJ3680

PostedSeptember 3, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was very disappointed in the way the paper feeds
and printed document ejects with this printer.
Print speed much slower than had expected.
I had purchased this printer to take along with me while
traveling for 6 weeks, because I liked the way it folded
together for easy transport.
I would gladly purchase a higher end printer if I could get
my purchase price back on this one...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Officejet J3680 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

shortcomings

PostedAugust 22, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have come from a flat-bed scanner to a roll over one. It is not satisfactory for thin sheets,like newspaper.
Secondly, the low ink signal is premature with many pages left.
Finally, I have been unable to get the fax running. This is what had been attractive in the first place.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Officejet J3680 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

never could get the scanner to work

PostedDecember 21, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Print Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
over all it was not worth the money , better to spend to up graded model..pictures were OK, Copys were not very good. fax never woked right. spend the money to get a higher model i have always had HPs and have had Very good luck with them .. grade C
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Officejet J3680 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice printer

PostedDecember 3, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Atlanta, GA
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have to say that I was very happy with this printer. I just hit one snag when I couldn't figure out how to get my printer to print. This is something that I've experienced with other printers as well and fortunately, it wasn't hard to figure out and the printer works wonderfully. The fax does also and it copies like a charm. I have no other complaints about this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Officejet J3680 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

best purchase

PostedSeptember 3, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
good for the small home office
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Officejet J3680 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A great deal with a few catches

PostedAugust 16, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Sunnyvale, CA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
When you spend only about $40-$50 for an all-in-one, you can't really expect too much, but I was pleasantly surprised that the HP J3680 seems to do all of its functions fairly well.
I have had no problems with the fax or copy functions. However, occasionally my scans have gaps in them (i.e. big white lines or blocks); trying again will usually eliminate this. Printing is generally fine, but when I've tried to use thick paper (i.e. business card stock), the printing never seems to end up in the right place on the paper.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.