HP Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for hp HP Officejet 6500 Wireless All-in-One Printer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Officejet 6500 Wireless All-in-One Printer

Professional color documents for lowest cost per page vs. in-class inkjets Wired and wireless networking Printing/copying up to 32 pages/min black, 31 color ## Reliable printing, faxing, scanning, copying Automatic two-sided printing
Overall rating:
3.805 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(256 reviews) 242
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 256 reviews
5 Stars
115
4 Stars
60
3 Stars
26
2 Stars
26
1 Star
29
186 out of 256(73%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless All-in-One Printer
Review 1 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Pleased

PostedMay 17, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:Under 25
I have been using this printer for almost 4 months now. I have used it for printing, fax, copying, and scanning. This is the best printer I have ever used all my life. It prints great even in fast draft. With the wireless connection I have 2 desktops and 2 laptops connected to this printer. I will definitely suggest this printer to my family and friends. The ink is low price and it last for a long time.
+62points
66of 70voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Far surpassed my expectations!

PostedDecember 12, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have had my Officejjet 6500 Wireless for 2 months and have been extremely pleased with it's performance! Setup was a breeze, print quallity is quite good, even in fast draft mode. It prints out faster than expected and the color resolution is quite good. It works like a machine twice it's cost and I would highly recommend it to others.
+22points
22of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice machine, easy to install and use.

PostedSeptember 27, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this to replace a 5-yr-old All-in-One that was still working, but I wanted to upgrade to wireless and get rid of the need for a desktop computer to be running as a print server. Easily connected to my home wireless network, installed the software on 2 laptops and a desktop, and was up and running in about an hour. Print quality is very good, speed is excellent (much better than the older machine, plus the wait time is almost zero.) Scans are beautiful, and the newer scan management software is an improvement. The fax was very easily set up as well. A nice printer and easy to install and use.
Re the reviewers who said their printouts shoot out onto the floor: To fix this, just pull out the little extension shelf on the front edge of the output tray, and flip up the little catcher dam if necessary.
The internal workings are a bit louder than the older machine, but not so loud as to be a concern.
+30points
31of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everything works as it should

PostedJune 4, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have studied the reviews and features of this printer for several months. Bought one today and it works just exactly as everyone said it would......flawlessly. It is the first wireless printer where I have had 2 sided printing work wirelessly. Set up was easy and there were no software or hardware glitches.
+37points
37of 37voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Rear hinge on printer broke in less than 2 years

PostedFebruary 26, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
OfficeJet J6480 Printer performed very well until the left rear hinge broke. I've been very gentle with this printer. I'm not hard on electronic products. I replaced an ink cartirdge and when closing the lid I heard a pop. Plastic hinge had broken. HP can't be proud of this design. They need to use a more robust design on the hinges. I won't buy another HP and recommend everyone that buys a printer look closely at the lid hinges. Try to determine if they are reasonably robust before purchasing the printer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

impulse purchase gone bad

PostedDecember 7, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:mission viejo, ca
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
when we bought a new computer (had to) we were offered this printer (didn't really need) at a great price. it does fax, which we only do occasionally, but were using an old actual fax machine since my photosmart did not have that function. so, i thought, i can get rid of two machines & replace with one. i wish i'd shopped a bit.
well, i still have my old photosmart, which i like my photo prints off of better &, i think, uses less ink.
but it doesn't fax & it isn't wireless. so i got rid of the fax, but now have 2 printers.
like most hp printers, it tells you you are running out of ink waaaay before you are actually out. but then i never know how much longer it will last, so i'm nervous, sometimes for months, about that. or, i buy early & hold.
also. i frequently find it "offline" after i've sent something & there is no way to put it back "online" from the printer software. i had to re-install it once due to other hardware upgrades & that produces a duplicate set of "printers" in my computer. i deleted the extras once, but then had to install again & now, sometimes (if printing from e-mail for instance) one printer works & if from a different application (internet site) it prints to the "other" printer. of course, there IS only one! i find this very confusing.
also, it's a bit too big for home use. and, as i said before, i think the print quality and ink usage were better with my older photosmart, as regards photos.
also, i don't seem to be able to operate any of the features from the printer. i have to go thru the hp software on the computer to make things work. not sure why i have the buttons.
but it faxes......
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Buy

PostedDecember 4, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Boise, ID
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works very well. Installation went fairly smooth. Only problem. I had to connect printer to router manually. I needed the router WEP number. Took a few minutes online to find out what a WEP was then a trip to router support online to get WEP code. Once that was entered everything hooked up on my windows 7 machine. then went to Vista machine and loaded right away.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Good printer

PostedDecember 3, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Athens, Tx
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have used HP printers about 20 years. I am realy pleased with the 6500 wireless I have 3 computers I hooked all three up wireless very easy. The printer is very good printer. It is very fast and I like printing on both sides to save paper. I am very pleased with this printer. The price is very good too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far so good

PostedDecember 3, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Florida
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The printer is working well with both my desktop and laptop computers. The only thing I don't understand is that it goes through a "procedure" where is clangs and bangs after each printing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

6500 wireless

PostedDecember 3, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
works very well, installation was easy... just wish I could print from my phone
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

HP 6500 Wireless Printer, Smooth Operator

PostedDecember 2, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
After purchasing my HP 6500 Wireless Printer over a year ago, I finally took it out the box and connected it. I am very impressed with the ease of the connection. This is my 3rd or 4th HP Printer and I haven't had any problems. I like all the features of this printer and it's truly worth the investment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst Printer I've Ever Owned!

PostedDecember 1, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:North Carolina
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Purchased this unit as an upgrade to my old HP 3847 and Canon 2100 printers and HP Scanjet 4400c scanner. I thought it would be nice to add Fax and Scan abilities while conserving space. This unit has fallen far short of my expectations. When it functions correctly it's great but, all to often it locks up, freezes, and frustrates me to the point of wanting to pitch it out the window. Try to change setting to use double sided printing - it locks up. Had to unplug it (re-boot) to get it to work again. Try to use it after it's been in "sleep/power saving mode" - no response. Again, had to unplug it (re-boot) to get it to respond. At support's recomendation, changed setting to where it doesn't go into "power saving" mode. That worked to where it's not out in la-la land anymore but, now it stays on all the time unless I turn it off which uses more power and lights up the room at night from the LCD display staying lite up. This morning it ran out of paper while I was trying to print two jobs. "Out of Paper" message comes up. I put in paper but, could not clear the "out of paper" mesage. Tried a couple different things that eventually changed the status to "Printer disconnected" error message. Still again, the only solution even after consulting documentation was a re-boot. Grrrrrrrr!!!!! I'd like to boot this unit right out the window!! HP, I'm not happy! I think I'll go back to using my 3847 printer. It worked every time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst printer ever!

PostedDecember 1, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this printer at Costco about 1 year ago and it has never worked properly. First, it makes a tremendous amount of noise when it is getting ready to print. It clicks and clacks like a train. I hate that. But my primary complaint is that the wireless print NEVER works! I can use my laptop wirelessly daily but to get the printer to print, I have to download the drivers from your web site everytime.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good, but unsatisfactory maintenance

PostedNovember 22, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:brooklyn, NY
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
As soon as warranty wore out experienced problem that was I was unable to resolve, even with quality help from HP live help center and performance of all tests related to the problem. Error message "out of paper" was repeated even when tray was fully loaded and though it seemed simple to resolve, it never was. Hate to believe that this simple problem couldn't have been resolved and that a malfunction so minor would've occurred with a relatively new piece of equipment which forces me to question reliability of parts and service.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great printer

PostedNovember 21, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was my replacement printer and love this printer. Setup was not hard the printer found my networth now it is work great, tried the scanner it works. I give it five stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worked Great . . . until the warranty expired!

PostedNovember 9, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This multi-function machine worked great . . . until 3-months after the warranty expired. The ability to use the device as a copy machine was among the top reasons I purchased it.
After 15 months of moderate use, the "copy" function on the device's instrument panel simply stopped working. The machine partially feeds a new sheet of copy paper, stops, and generates and "out of paper" error. I have no issues printing from the PC, however.
After 30+ minutes online with HP tech support, I was basically told that I was stuck . . . warranty expired, sorry.
Given the cost of this machine and the fact that it only lasted 15-months, I would be hard-pressed to recommend any HP inkjet printer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best hp i have owned to date

PostedNovember 8, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:nc
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i got mine the first day they were delivered to the store so i got a great sale LOW . I MEAN LOW , LESS THAN $90.00 best 90 i ever spent , this thing does everything but sing to ya , i love it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Job!

PostedNovember 6, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had the 6500 wireless for over a year now and have had nothing but great print outs. Love the automatic two sided copies and high definition output.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good printer

PostedNovember 5, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I love this printer...but I'm wondering why it always sounds like its aligning it self each time I print...wondering if others notice this, other than that the printer is great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

not there yet

PostedNovember 5, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:St. George
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Scanning does not work with vista, print cartridges don't go very far and are expensive. If you economize and don't use the color very often, they dry up and are worthless. The wireless connection needs some bugs worked out. It takes forever to communicate with itself. It seems like there is a 30 sec delay before any function performs. Wireless is the reason I purchased this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 to next page>>