HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop All-In-Ones or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier

Printing, copying, scanning, faxing with a single machine Fast: up to 31 pages/min black, 25 color<sup style="font-size:7pt">##</sup> Connects to your network via wired or wireless networking Uses HP 74 black, 75 tricolor inks
Overall rating:
4.16 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(125 reviews) 111
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 125 reviews
5 Stars
68
4 Stars
31
3 Stars
11
2 Stars
8
1 Star
7
99 out of 125(79%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Review 1 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic replacement!

PostedApril 7, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I needed an all in one because of space limits. The J6480 was so quick and easy to set up. I had a HP K60 that I wouldn't have given up for the world until the J6480. Wireless networking, flatbed scanning along with the duplexing features were the only things my K60 couldn't do. Color printing is excellent while only needing 2 cartridges instead of 4 separate ones. The J6480 makes my homeoffice complete, thanks HP!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Overall Ink Thirsty

PostedOctober 14, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great machine, easy to use and install (Although with my experience and using Vista 64 bit, I had to default to HP 990 printer for it to work properly) Speed is good. You'll want to go for the extra capacity ink cartrdiges and make sure you change the quality to 1 star (can go up to 3 ***), which you really don't need since the base 1 star does a great job for everyday printing and will save you ink. The scan speed and ease of use are nice improvements over the previous all in ones we have had. The wireless feature works well and the duplex print, while a bit slow, is a nice touch and a good paper saver.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice AIO, Wireless is great!

PostedJune 16, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We use this printer with 5 computers on a home network. So far, have had no problems with printing or scanning. Duplex printing works great. Haven't tried fax yet. Fast normal print provides excellent quality while saving on ink. Color photos are excellent. Printer is FAST, FAST, FAST! Did have some problems with bringing up Solution Center, but they seem to be resolved with the help of tech support and some independent research. Really appreciate the wireless capability, as computers are scattered throughout the house, and the J6480 is sitting in a different room than the router. Have had no problems with connectivity. Would recommend for home network or small office. Good product with an attractive price.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My favorite HP printer

PostedJune 11, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My employer purchased this printer for my use, and I was so impressed with its performance that I purchased one for my personal use at home. Setting up this printer was incredibly easy, even for someone who is not that technologically savvy.
This printer will do everything! It is a printer, scanner, copier, and fax. It is also functions flawlessly on a wireless network. You can use your laptop in one room and have the printer set up in a closet if you'd like. Scan photographs and documents, make personal copies, and have documents faxed to you all with this one machine. It will print on both sides automatically without having to print odd-numbered pages first and stand at the printer to wait to turn them over to print the even sides.
The printer also shows the status of your cartridges on both the printer itself as well as on the computer. (If, however, you use a print cartridge in one printer and then transfer it to another, it will not give you a status but a question mark. The cartridge will still work, but you will not know how much ink you have left. I learned this when I used a printer cartridge at work and then brought it home.) As others have suggested, it is a better investment to purchase the XL cartridges, both 74XL and 75XL. They are more expensive and last much longer than the standard sizes. If you use standard cartridges, I very strongly recommend keeping a spare black cartridge on hand because I promise you that it will run dry at the most critical moment when you desperately need one. Because of the printer's ability to "drink the ink," I felt compelled to knock off one star. This is my ONLY complaint about this printer.
I have owned several HP printers, and I was satisfied with all of them. This one, however, is the best one I have ever used, and it was worth the investment I made in it.
If you purchase this printer, you will be amazed at all the features it has for the price. You will not be sorry that you purchased this printer!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Networking Capability

PostedNovember 12, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product has been great! Although I would warn you if you are buying this for its ability for wireless networking, please make sure you are not going to upgrade your network to 802.11n in the very near future or if you are currently running WPA or WPA2 for your security because it is not compatible.
Now I have not looked into weather or not you can buy a external nic to plug into the USB or RJ-45 connection spots on the back, but not sure it would work that way or not. Check into that first because if you spend some money upgrading your wireless network the 802.11n or your security to WPA or WPA2 it is not compatible. If you find a way to do it, post how you did it.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Most Pleased

PostedJune 16, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've used this product for two months now, a former Officejet 6110 user. Everything works very well, including wireless network performance involving 2PCs and 3Macs.
I strongly recommend the XL cartridges for both cost and convenience if you do a lot of printing...
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great wireless printing for a low price

PostedMay 29, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently moved into a downtown loft where space is at a premium. This all-in-one has a relatively small footprint and the wireless capability allows me to put this in a closet and retrieve my printing when I need it. Printing quality is good for the price. Installation of the printer and wireless software took less than 20 minutes and worked on the first attempt (be sure to disable all virus protection and firewalls while installing).
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP Officejet J6480 Review

PostedMay 1, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was looking for an all-in-one printer with duplex printing. My preference was an HP, but I was open to others as well. I was happy when I found the J6480 for several reasons. First, the price was lower than I expected compared to others of similar quality. Secondly, I ordered directly from HP (for the first time) and was very pleased by the quick shipment - even though I only asked for standard shipping. Two points to consider. You can get a larger ink cartridge from HP that is a better bargain than the standard sizes. Finally, printer is a little noisy - mechanical sounds as it prints documents. Not enough of a problem to not recommend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quicken & HP = oil and water

PostedMay 11, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Print Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
If you use Quicken you may want to inquire about your HP choice being compatible with Quicken. The J6480 cannot print checks from Quicken.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I am glad I got it.

PostedFebruary 28, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have the HP J6480 all in one. I have had no trouble with set up or operation. The manuals could be arranged in a more concise manor. It fits my space limits and is as quiet as any other printer. Card reader works and the wireless works with a laptop and router. I would buy it again.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good All around for the money

PostedSeptember 5, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:25-39
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have had this printer for two weeks. We have three computers in the house and have been able to hook all of the up wirelessly to this printer through the router. The software takes a long time to install but it worked with no problems. I have even been able to print from my blackberry which is cool.
I have two complaints about the printer. First, the scanner is loud and slow but does a good job. Louder than my last printer. Second, i can't seem to figure out how or when this printer hibernates. It seems to have its own mind.
Overall, this is a good printer for the price and features. I love being able to have access to this printer regardless of what computer is on or using it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really Nice Product

PostedMarch 30, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had the product for the past week and have run it through its paces. I think it is a very nice product. It is quite compact for the number of features available. I especially like the automatic duplexing. The install was easy (and one of the very few that I've gone through that went off without a hitch - especially when you consider I'm using it wirelessly through my router). I also like the web printing feature. This is the 3rd product I have purchased from hp and confirms my decision to switch from another manufacturer was justified. I have been very happy with hp products and customer service.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great all in one!

PostedMarch 22, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After upgrading to a new computer with Vista I wanted a new printer to match. After going through 5 different printers in 3 weeks I finally found the J6480. It has all the features I have been looking for. I was able to configure the wireless network myself for use with my laptop. The duplexer works perfectly. After getting it set up and making sure it was everything I wanted, I went back to the sales department and bought the 3 year next day exchange warranty. This will be my home office and family network computer for years to come.
Thank you HP for a printer perfectly matched to my wants and needs!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little all purpose machine

PostedApril 18, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I need copy, fax, and scanning on occasion. This little machine installed without a problem I use it on a USB port. Also, I have my phone attached to an answering machine. But, following the instructions in the manual, the setup worked without a problem.
For my everyday printing needs I use the laserjet P2055dn. Both run on my new Vista 64 machine, the pavilion elite m9600t. Just great stuff, highly recommended.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Office Jet is All Good

PostedApril 17, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Got this 6480 on my EPP for $106.00 shipping included to my front door. Great wireless set-up is easy and painless. HP Solution Center is good. Fax speed and quality is excellent for a machine that is as inexpensive as this one. I would say use the XL 74 and XL75 for extra duty
Great Office Jet!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Buy for All the Features!

PostedFebruary 17, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I recently purchased the J6480 on sale for $119.99. (President's Day Sale). The Features are awesome for the price. Excellent for computer sharing. Love the wireless networking.
Becarefull if you have Vista. I've spent a lot time during set up. Thankfully for HP Techs and five hours of waiting I'm up and running. I have Vista Home Premium and the software wouldn't install from the CD. HP Tech help installed software through a work-around. Now I've had start-up issues with my computer from all the computer setting changes. Thanks HP. Still will recommend the printer...b/c All the Features for Low Price.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Alll in One Great Choice J6480

PostedJanuary 21, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It is great to have everything in one machine and wireless. The only draw back is the amount of ink that I use.
The ink level remarks show empty when there is quite a bit of ink left in cartridge,, Learning your All in One printer, after a while you will know when to change the cartridges. Great buy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great all-in-one!

PostedJanuary 7, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this to replace my Officejet 7210 all-in-one. This new one is so much quieter, and I love the wireless cabability. It was a snap to set up all the functions on all 3 of my machines... 2 notebooks and 1 desktop. I highly recommend this printer.. Just 1 comment on the ink. If you do a lot of document printing, most definitely purchase the XL sizes of black and/or color inks.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Returned after 4 days

PostedOctober 14, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I looked at the reviews on line and decided I would go for it. Set up was not fun. After 2 hours of trying to get it to work wirelessly, I finally called in help from a professional. I could not get the fax on a shared line to work properly and lost a whole day of calls. (Not good in today's economy.) Due to what I believe is a design flaw, paper did not feed straight on almost every print job. There is no end paper guide, only on the sides. From the first copy, it gave us problems. Also, regardless of what margins my daughter had set on her paper for school, it cut off the top of the page. Printing checks for a business, was a disaster. The first check printed fine, then the next one did not feed right, after that, it would just start printing the next check not anywhere near where the printing should have been. I would not have been able to use any window envelopes. I restarted the print job and printed them 1 by 1, not fun. I am returning it to upgrade to the L7780, which I should have gone with in the first place. The price was just not worth the hassle. I would not recommend this printer even for home use. Pay more money and get a better product. I do however still believe in HP products.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor Fax

PostedOctober 7, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
DO NOT PURCHASE THIS PRODUCT IF YOU NEED TO SEND FACSIMILE TRANSMISSIONS. I have had this product for about 3 weeks, buying it on the recommendation of the high ratings it had from reviews of previous buyers. It has successfully faxed a document on the first attempt on one occasion since I purchased it. Often times it takes ten or more attempts to fax something and many times it completely fails and I have to find another avenue to send my documents. The paper feeder often draws documents unevenly and they have to be straightened out. It prints and copies no where near as fast as advertised and it is agonizingly slow in printing envelopes. Print quality is OK but the printer cartridges get used up fairly quickly. I would NOT recommend this product to anyone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.