HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop All-In-Ones or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier

Printing, copying, scanning, faxing with a single machine Fast: up to 31 pages/min black, 25 color<sup style="font-size:7pt">##</sup> Connects to your network via wired or wireless networking Uses HP 74 black, 75 tricolor inks
Overall rating:
4.16 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(125 reviews) 111
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 125 reviews
5 Stars
68
4 Stars
31
3 Stars
11
2 Stars
8
1 Star
7
99 out of 125(79%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Review 21 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

HP J6480 All-In-One printer

PostedFebruary 6, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Print Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I am sad to say that I am very disappointed in this model HP printer. The features are great and printer works as promissed. The print quality is not as clear as my old model #5510. This printer #6480 uses an extreme amount of cartridges for the number of copies printed. I changed to the 74XL cartridge which has helped the life of the cartridge, but is more costly. I regret to say that I would not recommend this copier for small business use, maybe home office only if you make limited copies per year. I wish I had my HP #5510 back!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not enough to recommend

PostedJanuary 2, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Having purchased this machine as a replacement for an HP product that had trouble with scanning, I am disapointed.
1. The amount of ink it uses, even in draft mode, is outrageous. No where near what is advertized. I would not recommend or purchase this machine again for this reason alone and have gone back to the one I tried to replace for everything except scanning.
2. The menu set up. Much more trouble to go through the display than to use the buttons on the front of the machine.
3. Don't think the picture quality is as good as advertized. Saw pictures on a different, less expensive, HP printer the other day that are superior to this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

INK HUNGRY

PostedApril 16, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This machine is alright, except for the fact that after printing just a few items, it needed more ink. Ink lasts for like a week. I can't stand it!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great features and use for simple network

PostedAugust 6, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The all-in-one print, scan, fax, copy features work very well. Set up is easy only if your network is simple, meaning one router, or direct USB. Once you try and change around connections from network to USB, or to use several wireless routers, the capabilities are very limited to non-existent. Best bet is set up your simple network, and don't change it, otherwise you may need to spend several hours troubleshooting and reinstalling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

ink useage

PostedJuly 27, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This printer uses more black ink than the other HP printers that I have had.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

INK is killing me!!

PostedJuly 27, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I love the printer and all of its features. BUT, I have never seen an all in one printer that burns the ink like this one. I have it manually set to Fast Draft and always prompt it to use the economy level of ink.
I don't understand how it burns so much ink up. I usually print in gray scale and the tricolor still runs out as quickly as the black. Not sure if anyone else can complain about this, but HP, please fix the burn ink rate on these machines!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Faxing not at easy at it looked

PostedJuly 1, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It took sometime to get the 4 in 1 installed and working because of problems with the phone line. Once the alarm Co. re-installed the that system the phone line cleared and we were set. or so I thought. I really like the new 4 in 1, but have sofar one problem in faxing - Can't seem to figure out how to get the confirmation of fax sent to work yet. But have downloaded the manual and hope to find the solution today. It is a good peice of equipment and has replaced three other peices of equipment that had been in this small office.
So I am really pleased with it and expected a learning curve - it was just extended because of the problems with the phone and alarm lines.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love that wireless!

PostedJune 8, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is an excellent printer. Wireless works flawlessly. My only complaint is the amout of ink used. This baby can burn through ink cartridges when printing usual home/office type documents. Don't even think about printing photos without having extra cartridges on hand. Otherwise an excellent product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

More of a Web site thing

PostedJune 2, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Since this thing takes the HP 99 photo cartridge, might be a good idea to list it under the "Cartidges" or "accessories" section of the product information page in addition to the 75, 75XL, 75 and 75XL. Just sayin'.
I had to dig all over the place to find the right photo cartridge number when it should have been easy to find right here.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

fax troubles

PostedMay 15, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
my J6480 is rather great but then i would'nt purchers any other brand. the big problem is my fax it keeps dropping out incoming faxes cant get through.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quicken & HP = oil and water

PostedMay 11, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Print Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
If you use Quicken you may want to inquire about your HP choice being compatible with Quicken. The J6480 cannot print checks from Quicken.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

J6480 - 1 year Review

PostedApril 16, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've been using this printer for 1 year. For the price you can't beat it. XL cartridges are the way to go. Scanner is loud but works great once you get the quircky software installed under vista.]
Wireless connection is tricky. Use the wizard in the printer when setting up.
Printer is acting up and wants to align the cartridge on a frequent basis. So I don't know if this is a serious problem. Glad I have the 2 year extended warranty.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice printer

PostedMarch 31, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We really like tis printer. We use it in our home office and bought it because of the wireless feature. We use an older all in one in our business office and wanted a wireless for the home office. We do not use it for faxes though as we have a stand alone unit at both places. Because of the way it scans and prints ( and because it is curently on sale ) we just ordered another one. We use the scan feature a lot and also use fast printing feature most of the time. Set up was quick and easy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good machine, yet causes slow boot up

PostedMarch 26, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a good machine. It does what it is supposed to do. Slight complaint: A little on the noisy, squeaky side when in operation.
My computer boots up with no delay without the software installed for this device. Which gives me my worst complaint: After I installed the software for the device, it always takes over two minutes for my compter to boot up now. Eventually, the icon for the printer pops up in the task bar and the wait is over.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Nice

PostedMarch 4, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had a HP 7400 Model and I loved it. I then had to replace it. I called HP and they said this was the one all most the same to what I had . I was looking at a cheaper one but after talking to them I bought what they said I should. I am glad I did. It is very good printer and for photos, it is EXCELLENT. There is only one thing I do not like with it is that it is noise is louder then I would like. My HP 7400 was real nice with little to no noise. I hope HP reads this and work on the only problem. Overall I will tell everyone to buy it !!!! All so I have had it about 1 month.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It is very good

PostedFebruary 20, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have had this printer for several days and find it does everything well. ( I have not yet tried the fax.) This printer is the quality I have come to expect from HP, having used HP printers for 10 years.
I would have liked it if the sped was a little faster and less noisy.
It has preformed well with all the functions I have used. The 2 sided printing is great. At $120.00 this is a great buy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Buy for All the Features!

PostedFebruary 17, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I recently purchased the J6480 on sale for $119.99. (President's Day Sale). The Features are awesome for the price. Excellent for computer sharing. Love the wireless networking.
Becarefull if you have Vista. I've spent a lot time during set up. Thankfully for HP Techs and five hours of waiting I'm up and running. I have Vista Home Premium and the software wouldn't install from the CD. HP Tech help installed software through a work-around. Now I've had start-up issues with my computer from all the computer setting changes. Thanks HP. Still will recommend the printer...b/c All the Features for Low Price.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent performance

PostedJanuary 4, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Printer does everything that you will need and more. The ONLY issue with the printer is that it burns through ink cartridges like a child eating candy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

HP J6480

PostedNovember 27, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fine and easy machine to set up wireless. We will see how long it lasts, but so far for the money, one great machine.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer, Fax, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Networking Capability

PostedNovember 12, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product has been great! Although I would warn you if you are buying this for its ability for wireless networking, please make sure you are not going to upgrade your network to 802.11n in the very near future or if you are currently running WPA or WPA2 for your security because it is not compatible.
Now I have not looked into weather or not you can buy a external nic to plug into the USB or RJ-45 connection spots on the back, but not sure it would work that way or not. Check into that first because if you spend some money upgrading your wireless network the 802.11n or your security to WPA or WPA2 it is not compatible. If you find a way to do it, post how you did it.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.