HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop All-in-Ones & Fax or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One

Up to 50% lower cost per color page and uses less energy than a laser printer ### Up to 35 pages/min black, 34 color ## Automatic two-sided printing
Overall rating:
3.319 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(226 reviews) 216
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 226 reviews
5 Stars
72
4 Stars
47
3 Stars
28
2 Stars
39
1 Star
40
123 out of 226(54%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One
Review 101 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One

PostedApril 28, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Print quality ia great but scanning really suffers. I am getting lines and marks on all scanned images. Cleaning doesn't work. I bought the extended warranty and received a replacement which has the same problem> Hopefully the third printer will fair better. It goes through ink cartridges fairlyquickly eventhough they avertise it nuses 20% less.
At this price I would expect more. This is my third officeject and by far most expensive and also the worst experience with officejet printers. I wouild definately not recommend purchasing this model.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 102 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty Good Printer

PostedApril 26, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
When my other HP finally died - I tried to get the same printer (it was fantastic) - but I guess it is now outdated. I found the HP 8500 Pro and although I really like it...there are a couple of things that are annoying with the printer. The paper won't feed and I find myself constantly pushing the paper in the paper tray for the printer to grab. The only other complaint I have it the printer will pause during printer to "check itself" and that is annoying.
On a positive note, the print is beautiful and the cartridges last a long time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 103 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Scaning Photographs, etc.

PostedApril 23, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
My Officejet 8500 will scan documents according to the manual. However, when scanning photographs the controls don't work. This means that I can not crop or make any changes to the scanned picture. I discovered that by minimizing the screen and then re-open it, all functions work. After spending more then 8 hours with HP technicians the only thing that could tell me was do it that way. Using the XP Paint program all functions work. This makes me think there is a software problem.
A second problem is addressing envelopes. I have to remove the paper and make width adjustments which is not convenient. My old HP 7310 was a more useful printer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 104 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Over-Hyped

PostedApril 19, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
This is the most disappointing HP product I have ever purchased or used. The printhead needs replacing after the initial cartridge lasted less than 2 months of home use. Touted for efficient ink usage, it has turned out to be an ink hog. Initially I was told I had purchased two defective cartridges in a row, separated by two months ... I had been a dedicated HP printer fan until this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 105 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

MORE THAN I NEED

PostedApril 19, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
This all in one has been excellent. Easy to set up and does all its of its jobs well. Ink use is alot better than my previous printers and it has not let me down yet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 106 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor

PostedMarch 25, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Printer has been a problem since day 1. Software does not want to work with other HP printers I have. Keep having paper jams. Have talked to HP Support 2 times without success. Very disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 107 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

tryan58

PostedMarch 24, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
This printer is the fastest I have ever used.Print quality is excellent and double side printing awesome. However it sounds like a Mach truck, the loudest I have ever heard
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 108 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No wireless with Windows 7

PostedMarch 14, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
How can a printer be marketed in 2010 as wireless and not allow wireless set-up in a WIndows 7 environment? What was the point in buying a WIRELESS printer???
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 109 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Officejet 8500 909a-Home network printing

PostedMarch 11, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
I have had this printer for almost a year. The printer works great and seems to use very little ink. I am running low on the first cartridge.
On the other hand, I have never been able to use online scanning or faxing. The HP Solution Center says that the printer installation is not complete. I have realoaded all the software and drivers 6-8 times. I have gone through the online troubleshooting and gone through emal help. We went down a bunch of rabbit trails and it still does not work. I am almost to the point of buying another vendors printer and getting rid of the 8500.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 110 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Machine good Problems with Software involved

PostedMarch 10, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
The machine has been in operation for about 5 months and after a slow start, it worked quite well. It allows good printing from the main machine and my son's laptop for his college work. However the fax and scanning portion has become inoperable. It simple fails to allow access and says the program setup has not been completed. I did go from hooking directly to a computer to being hooked into a router. Reinstalling the softer has not corrected anything and satisfactory answers have come out of the support personnel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 111 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Awesome

PostedMarch 10, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:25-39
I really love this product. It is efficient and a good value for the dollar. I am so pleased with it. I love the fact that I can do anything with this printer. It is so easy to navigate and use. Thanks for finally making a printer not only affordable but great to use for a home office. The only thing that I can say that might be negative is that it is loud. I do a lot of my work at night when the kids are sleep and it just seems so loud. Anyway. Great product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 112 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP officejet pro 8500 wireless all in one

PostedMarch 9, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
This printer is a must have. Years of dedication by HP R&D has benefited the consumers in a big way, too many features with brilliant print quality and too little price. This printer sitting next to my HP media center has given my office a pleasant look.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 113 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great except for double sided scan document feeder

PostedMarch 9, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
The 8500 is the direct replacement of the 7590. I have owned the HP L7590 for 14 months and it works great for printing, faxing, and copying. Efficient ink usage. Easy to use dialog box on my computer screen for initiating scanning or faxing - just put the paper in the tray feeder and up pops the control dialog box on the computer screen. Scans go straight to My Scan file - part of the initial set up.
Only draw back: Double sided scanning got paper jams frequently. I usually could pull the paper out until now - my printer is at the shop being dismantled to get the paper out. Product Support told me the 8500 addressed this problem. Lets hope so!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 114 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great all around printer

PostedMarch 9, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
I have had no problems with the printer. Easy set-up, I was able to network 3 home computer with ease.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 115 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedMarch 9, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
This unit was very easy to setup and use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 116 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

8500 all in one

PostedMarch 9, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
This printer has problems recognizing paper in the tray. I get "Load Paper in Tray" msgs when there is plenty of paper. Seems a sensor is not working or not aligned. This is a constant pain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 117 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Printing envelop

PostedMarch 9, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Is a hassle. the paper has to be removed and the guide pushed in. My old HP worked just by putting the envelop on the right side over the paper. I do not understand changes when they are not an improvement.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 118 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Value

PostedMarch 8, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Available high capacity ink cartridges, separate color cartridges, accurate color reproduction, ease of set up, ease of use, resonable price, and speedy black and white and color printing make this all-in-one printer an outstanding consumer value. Highly recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 119 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great All in one!

PostedMarch 8, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
This is my second 8500, the first after 3 months, had a fatal jam and needed to be returned. This is a really good printer that on its own is user friendly, the only problem I have is with the software. The printer itself is self explanitory but the HP solution center freezes up. Also the solution center has a reinstall pop up that won't go away until you insert cd only to have it say it is already installed. The copies both black and white and colored are great quality. It is fast to print, scan and copy. Have not used the fax yet. This printer jammed once but it was quickly resolved.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 120 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Oops

PostedMarch 8, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
I am very disappointed in this product. I needed a new 3 in 1 inasmuch as my older C6180 is getting older and slower. I actually ordered the touch screen model, but had problems with it. The one I have was sent as a replacement as it was supposed to be better. Not. The quality of pictures printed is very poor compared to my old model. I have actually gone nowhere with the new model other than speed. Quality of regular documents is good, but pictures are poor. Maybe I need to check out other brands?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.