HP Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for hp HP 38 Magenta Pigment Original Ink Cartridge

hp HP 38 Magenta Pigment Original Ink Cartridge

HP 38 Magenta Pigment Original Ink Cartridge
Overall rating:
3.474 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
5
14 out of 19(74%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP 38 Magenta Pigment Original Ink Cartridge
Review 1 for HP 38 Magenta Pigment Original Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great color

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Fort Lauderdale, FL
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Primary use:Home office
Wonderful, bright color. Great free next-day service.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP 38 Magenta Pigment Original Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great inks

PostedMay 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:AZ
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Primary use:Home office
I always order my HP print crtridges from HP and have never been dissatisfied with the cartriidge quality or the quick service.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP 38 Magenta Pigment Original Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP 38 INKS

PostedApril 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Oregon
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am a professional photographer and own my own post production company. I use 38 Inks in my pro photo printer because it uses pigment inks which are outstanding for printing photos. The photos also last for years without any degrading and for other uses, the ink is pigment, so if the photo gets water splashed onto it, the inks do not run, and the photos can me saved. I would highly recommend this ink or all 38 inks for your printer. Don't even think about getting third party inks, or refill, nothing will match the quality of the original 38 inks. I've used these inks for years and the quality has always been perfect, spot on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP 38 Magenta Pigment Original Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pictures

PostedNovember 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Denver, CO
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Primary use:Home
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Along with its companions, produces great pictures.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP 38 Magenta Pigment Original Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

See review

PostedAugust 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Tinley Park, IL
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Primary use:Home
The ink itself appears to be fine. However when I plugged it in, the computer came back with a message saying it couldn't give exact levels because the cartridge was reused....was it??
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP 38 Magenta Pigment Original Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great prints!

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:MO
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Primary use:Home
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good quality prints.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP 38 Magenta Pigment Original Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Prints

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Tulsa, OK
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Primary use:Home office
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am an amateur photographer. Printing the images I capture is extremely important to me. So I asked the instructor of my annual workshop what printer he would recommend. His recommendation was the HP Photosmart Pro B9180 printer. I purchased this printer immediately. That was about eight years ago. My printer continues to perform flawlessly. I use HP 38 Pigment Ink Cartridges with Vivera ink. My prints are vivid, bright and contrasty. I am proud to show others prints of my work when I use my HP printer and HP Pigment Ink Cartridges with Vivera ink.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP 38 Magenta Pigment Original Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Low performance

PostedOctober 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor number of prints for the investment in this prodeuct.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP 38 Magenta Pigment Original Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product is too expensive

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
the product is overly expensive. Cleaning protocols for the printer are3 such that you can run out of ink without ever using the printer.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP 38 Magenta Pigment Original Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good but used

PostedJune 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My printer says the cartridge is used not new??
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP 38 Magenta Pigment Original Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

will not print without this.

PostedJune 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Charlotte, NC
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Primary use:Home office
This is a silly question. My printer will not work without ink, and this is the only source for it. I will say that I place my order online, and the next day it is delivered to my door. I really love the HP B9180 printer for photos. I am sorry that they have not made a replacement for it. It never clogs which was my reason to leave Epson. My next printer will have to be a Canon as HP isn't making a great photo printer any more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP 38 Magenta Pigment Original Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A real good product.

PostedFebruary 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I read some of the other reviews and I was shocked! I am a hobby phototogragher and have owned a B9180 for at least 4 years now and I am very happy with it. This is my second one, however, my first one had some weird error problem and was replaced under warranty. Why do I like the product? First, how many budget friendly printers can do waterproof photos - this is the only one. I don't have 2-4 thousand dollars or the space for one of the really professonal printers.This printer fits nicely in my home. Ink prices, the printer needs to calibrate, this uses ink. If you don't use your printer all the time, it still needs to self adjust, this keeps the ink from jamming up in the cartridge. Compare it to a bottle of glue - over time it will dry up whether you use it or not. To get the best yeild for your money - use your printer! Also, I have tested the waterproof statement about this ink insome crazy ways. I sprayed photos with with a high pressure garden hose, set photos in a glass of water, and even recently through some family pictures to a relative why they were in the swimming pool (she thought she was a clutz until I explained - it was funny), it passed swimmingly! You get what you pay for with this printer -- a high end home printer or basic professonal printer. If you want something more - you need to pay more. Evaluate your needs and be honest with yourself. This is what I need at this time and I couldn't be any happier!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP 38 Magenta Pigment Original Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

I am nervous with it.

PostedJanuary 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
the last cartridge had an expiration date of 01/05/22012 and it shut my printer down on 12/30/2011. I pulled the cartridge out and it felt as though there was still a half full cartridge of ink left in it. I ordered another on the 1st of january and was promised next business day delivery (Order Number H120916127) it was delivered on Jan. 4th 2012 that makes it two business days. My complaint boils down to this that this cartridge Light Magenta should never have caused this problem in the first place it hadn't reached it's expiration date. It was a great inconvenience to me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP 38 Magenta Pigment Original Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Confused

PostedDecember 18, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New Orleans
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
I just inserted my Light Magenta cartridge and got a message that my ink level indicator would not work because the cartridge was a preused cartridge. I find this rather odd, especially since HP doesn't seem to be fond of using refilled cartridges and I bought directly from HP.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP 38 Magenta Pigment Original Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

ProB8800 Printer and ink worst ever

PostedNovember 27, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I am so unhappy with these inks and the ProB8800 Printer. I barely use it and it is always out of ink! The ink is extremely expensive and must hold a Tablespoon of ink. This printer and ink has been a huge disappoint to me and I'm very sad that I wasted so much money purchasing this item.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP 38 Magenta Pigment Original Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great delivery

PostedNovember 19, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I basically got my order one day earlier than expected
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP 38 Magenta Pigment Original Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't buy

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Don't buy this cartridge. There's an expiration date coded into the cartridge, which causes the printer to flash warning messages for months before expiration and then to go offline around that date. The cartridge is half full of very expensive ink and you can't print. I'm so sorry I got into this mess.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP 38 Magenta Pigment Original Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't buy

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Don't buy this cartridge. There's an expiration date coded into the cartridge, which causes the printer to flash warning messages for months before expiration and then to go offline around that date. The cartridge is half full of very expensive ink and you can't print. I'm so sorry I got into this mess.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP 38 Magenta Pigment Original Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

B9180 Grey Ink #38

PostedAugust 22, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This product should really be sold in XL or multi-packs for the price. Not sure why, but I use up the light grey #38 cartrige at 2-3x the pace of the other cartridges in the B9180 printer. I actually burned through two in a weekend of heavy photo printing. At $38 a pop - that will have me looking at alternative options for printing.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.