HP Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for hp HP 88 Magenta and Cyan Original Printhead

hp HP 88 Magenta and Cyan Original Printhead

HP 88 Magenta and Cyan Original Printhead with HP Smart Printing Technology
Overall rating:
2.957 / 5
3
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
3
1 Star
8
11 out of 23(48%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP 88 Magenta and Cyan Original Printhead
Review 1 for HP 88 Magenta and Cyan Original Printhead
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It worked

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Sarasota, FL
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Find it hard to believe that the print head goes out 1 x per year!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP 88 Magenta and Cyan Original Printhead
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Defective

PostedMay 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Decatur, GA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Primary use:Home office
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
My HP Officejet Pro L7680 would not print print full page blue - the blue quit part way through the page even after running the printhead through a cleaning cycle and wiping it with water, so I order a new printhead from HP. It printed one page beautifully, then gave me an error message that the printhead was defective and quit printing entirely. I replaced it with the original printhead and printing resumed. I just haven't tried full page blue again. I am returning the defective printhead.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP 88 Magenta and Cyan Original Printhead
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Got burned again, This product has flaws.

PostedMay 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Valencia, CA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Primary use:Business
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The HP series of office printers that use the two color printheads have been a real puzzling and frustrating experience. When the printer is new, all is well. When the printheads fail (sometimes within the first year) and you get a message to replace the printhead you might as well throw printer away because purchasing a new printhead will not solve the problem and the printheads are expensive. Further frustration occurs because the printer takes a very long time to go through it's diagnostics and then you get a message to replace the printhead of which you just did. In our office we had 8 of these type of printers and they all experienced the same problem with the failing printheads of which when you replace with a new one the problem is not solved.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP 88 Magenta and Cyan Original Printhead
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:California
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Primary use:Home office
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased a printhead and it worked for a short time 2 days). I then purchased a second printhead and it has been a week and it seems to be working well. It would be nice if I got a refund on the first prnthead ;that only worked to a couple days.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP 88 Magenta and Cyan Original Printhead
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Two defective print heads in a row

PostedNovember 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Seattle, WA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Primary use:Home
Print Heads (88) are expensive ~$88 with shipping & tax and they seem to fail every two years. The most recent head failure: Cyan/Magenta resulted in two $88 orders both of which provided print heads that worked for 5 minutes each. The printer is working with an old magenta/cyan print head that will not clean - but at least allows the printer to print. HP - you were the best printers available, now your printers consume my money and my time without anything to differentiate from your competition. Great printer - lousy reliability and maintenance costs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP 88 Magenta and Cyan Original Printhead
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works perfectly

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:connecticut
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Primary use:Home
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was easy to install and 1..2..3.. I was back in business!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP 88 Magenta and Cyan Original Printhead
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

part necessary, but problematic

PostedAugust 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
worked fine first time around. when i turn printer off, next time i turn it on, it tells me there is a problem with the new print head. if i put the old one back in, then the new one again and leave the printer on, it works fine. what's up with that?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP 88 Magenta and Cyan Original Printhead
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

HP Officejet pro 7780 - printhead (NOT HAPPY with

PostedMay 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:CLEVLEAND OH
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Primary use:Home office
The quality of HP products and ITS WARRANTIES has declined over the years. HP warranty website for inkjet cartidges and printheads is impossible to use (by design) confirming the decline of HP. For 30 years 95% of my business and home printers have been HP but that is going to change since HP fails to support it products and customers
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP 88 Magenta and Cyan Original Printhead
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far, so good

PostedMarch 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Northwest OH
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Primary use:Home
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is my second magenta/cyan print head replacement purchase, the first replacement print head did not last half as long as the original installed in the printer. In the interest of full disclosure, I did accidentally touch the contacts on the first replacement print head prior to installation, the package warns not to. It didn't seem to affect initial performance, perhaps it affects longevity.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP 88 Magenta and Cyan Original Printhead
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Print head problems

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Angelo, TX
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
My HP Office Jet Pro 5100 has been in use for some time now and I have replaced all the printheads a couple of times. For some time now the software in the machine will not recognize the new printheads. The first time I called customer service and all they could suggest was buying a new printer. I have found that i can install the non working old printheads and let the machine run through the setup and without turning it off, swap in the new printhead. The process must be repeated if the printer is ever turned off. They sould make printheads that will work with the printer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP 88 Magenta and Cyan Original Printhead
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

worked

PostedMay 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Primary use:Home office
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The new printhead immediately solved the printing problems I was having.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP 88 Magenta and Cyan Original Printhead
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Replacement product installed easily, working well

PostedMay 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:St Louis, MO
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Primary use:Home office
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very pleased with the ease of replacing the printhead on my HP OfficeJet Pro and very pleased with the printer's performance once the new part was installed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP 88 Magenta and Cyan Original Printhead
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad Part

PostedApril 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I just had to replace both print head cartridges and the Cyan and Magenta worked a whole two weeks and now says it has an issue again...cant seem to find a way to talk to anyone about it...been looking on web site now for about 30 min
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP 88 Magenta and Cyan Original Printhead
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

replacement

PostedMarch 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:knoxville,tn
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just follow the directions, works like a charm.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP 88 Magenta and Cyan Original Printhead
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Functional & Fast Free Shipping

PostedFebruary 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Chicago
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This unit totally solved the problem my K550 told me I had. Couldn't clean the printhead for love or money and this was the resolution. Simply dropped it in and I'm back printing again. It's rare that any company offers fast, free shipping (and I mean fast) today. Thanks H.P.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP 88 Magenta and Cyan Original Printhead
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Frustrated

PostedJanuary 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Houston, Tx
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have an HP L-7680 and have had it for about 3 years. I had replaced the printheads about a year and a half after I purchased the equipment. Four months ago I was required to changed the Magenta/Cyan printhead because the printer stopped working. I received it and it still did not work. I was sent a replacement and that worked...until a week ago when my printer stopped printing anything with Cyan and it now shows that I need replace the printhead again. I figure that it has cost me about 4 hours of my time plus the cost of the printhead and the frustration of not being able to do my job (I office at home and I HAVE to be able to print). I'm still not having problem with the black/yellow printhead and I use black more than any other color!
It's becoming very costly to own this equipment.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP 88 Magenta and Cyan Original Printhead
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

still not working

PostedDecember 23, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have a model hp officejet L7580. My unit would not print anything in red, such as a danger high voltage sign. My unit did not show any error messages at this time, and after reading on the internet, and considering that my original printheads ended in warranty on 04/04/2009, I decided to just order two new printheads. A pricey purchase , considering the price of some new units. I installed the two new printheads from the hp Home and Office Store and immediately received an error code " The following printhead has a problem, cyan/ magenta. With this error code present, I can not use the printer at all. I really feel that it is a defective hp printhead C9382A that I purchased, because I have reinstalled the old cyan /magenta printhead and the error code does not appear and allows me to print in all colors except vibrant red. Please advise,
sincerely,
Joeb50
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP 88 Magenta and Cyan Original Printhead
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This one works so far!

PostedDecember 11, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Cambria, CA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my third replacement, afer the previous two replacements failed within a month. Hopefully, the third times the charm.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP 88 Magenta and Cyan Original Printhead
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

why is part needed?

PostedNovember 14, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had many printers none have required changing the printhead. The printer still works well. Instead of a new printhead provide a discount on a new printer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP 88 Magenta and Cyan Original Printhead
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

PRINTER GREAT PRINTHEADS BAD

PostedAugust 26, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:LAS VEGAS, NV
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These printhead fail to soon and too often
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.