HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Officejet or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP Officejet 7000 Wide Format Printer - E809a

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Officejet 7000 Wide Format Printer - E809a

HP Officejet 7000 Wide Format Printer - E809a
Overall rating:
3.371 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(70 reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 70 reviews
5 Stars
28
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
4
1 Star
19
41 out of 70(59%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Officejet 7000 Wide Format Printer - E809a
Review 1 for HP Officejet 7000 Wide Format Printer - E809a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love it!

PostedJanuary 17, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I always wanted a wide printer, so I could get into digtal scrapbooking. Thats what I have been doing for 2 weeks now, and its great. I print 12x12 pages and they print borderless and fast and very clear, like you printed your own pictures. I invested in some photo 12x12 paper for the scrapbook, and oh my goodness, its beautiful. Try it, if your into scrapbooking, you'll never go back!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Officejet 7000 Wide Format Printer - E809a
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product is very unreliable and costly

PostedFebruary 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
I have tried 2 of this printer. Problems with printer head, replaced, still very unreliable. Prints 1 good, then no good until you clean, then good for 1 print....! Very high cost of ink and paper due to poor prints. Cleaning step empties new cartridges almost instantly. Trying to stay loyal to HP, but I can't afford to keep using this printer. I have been using all HP supplies.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Officejet 7000 Wide Format Printer - E809a
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I am very dissatisfied.

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Show Low, Arizona
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I was shocked that the printer did not have a scanner. It als had no instructions, at all. I had to pay for the printing to download a manual from the computer. I also have spent days trying to get it to work, and can't get it to print without reducing the size of the originals. It has been a total waste of money for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Officejet 7000 Wide Format Printer - E809a
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So Far So Good

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Fort Myers, FL
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I set up printer okay, but have not been able to set up software Solution Center. I got a message that error in setup, tried reinstalling, but no luck. Can't access program. The printer seems to be doing fine,but haven't had time yet to fully utilize all the features.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Officejet 7000 Wide Format Printer - E809a
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not recommended for business use

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Nanuet NY
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This printer performs very poorly and cannot be relied upon. This is our 2nd one as the first one bit the dust less than 2 years after we purchased it. It had not worked properly for many months. The troubleshooting guide did not solve the problem and it was out of warranty. We did purchase another one which we use only for wide format printing. It has been in service for less than 1 week and today we already had a problem we had to troubleshoot. Very disappointing quality from a company that used to be the best. Not recommended if you need a printer you can rely on for business purposes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Officejet 7000 Wide Format Printer - E809a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent printer for my CAD work

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Detroit, MI
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I needed CAD prints in the 11 x 17 format. This printer was on sale through different outlets, but I found the same price on the HP Shop at home site and bought it from them. The shipping was extraordinary (shorter than expected). The print is sharp and clear, dries quickly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Officejet 7000 Wide Format Printer - E809a
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Lasted a year

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
While it worked, this was a good to very good printer. No issues with speed or ink use. Then it started having occasional malfunctions where it wouldn't print at all. I discovered that the ink was leaking where the head rests when not in use, tripping a sensor I am guessing. I cleaned it up and it lasted another month before the issue returned and it would not work again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Officejet 7000 Wide Format Printer - E809a
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

peace of garbage

PostedDecember 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New York, NY
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
always gives paper error, does not recognize network,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Officejet 7000 Wide Format Printer - E809a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP Service quick and simple

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Los Alamos, NM
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I buy HP quite a bit because it's easy to order and I get my product in a timely manner. Usually when i need something I need it "right now". And my order came quite quickly and, yes, I paid for next business day shipping (which didn't cost that much.) The printer was quickly unpacked and set up - the instructions were simple, the pictures good. It took a while for the system to go through its checks but now it works very well. I also like the fact that this printer is CMYK as opposed to RGB.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Officejet 7000 Wide Format Printer - E809a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Product is all I expected

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Malakoff, TX
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Having owned many HP products I expected this to work well with all my systems including Apple computer. Two side printing is the only feature that would be an improvement. The individual ink cartridge for each color is an improvement over the try-color ink cartridges.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Officejet 7000 Wide Format Printer - E809a
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

It printed about 6 copies before it quit printing

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:The Villages, FL
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
It printed about 6 copies before it quit printing
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Officejet 7000 Wide Format Printer - E809a
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Designers, don't buy this printer.

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Seattle, Washington
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I purchased this printer less than three years ago. It hasn't worked properly for the past six months. Color has banding more often than not. Cartridges always need to be replaced even though I purchase the XLs. Designers relying on their color printers for accurate color proofs and digital art need to know that this is not the printer for them. The HP Officejet 7000 is unreliable. It is a toxic plastic machine that you will have to haul to the dump in less than three years. I have posted this printer review on several design blogs as well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Officejet 7000 Wide Format Printer - E809a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WHAT A DEAL!!!!

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Vermont
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An excellent large format printer for the price of a letter/legal printer. This is my second one and I would buy it again!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Officejet 7000 Wide Format Printer - E809a
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sufficient For My Needs

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Gaithersburg, MD
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This wide format printer provided a network connection, which is what I was looking for, along with print quality on 11x17" paper that meets my needs. Have only had the printer for a couple of weeks and have no complaints thus far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Officejet 7000 Wide Format Printer - E809a
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product does not always grab paper

PostedJune 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Dallas, Texas
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The office Jet 7000 Wide Format printer has poor paper grab. Needs a paper pusher attached to the tray to hold paper snugly up into the printer. Also needs 2 trays for other sizes. Printer has too much movement before and after print. Is loud and uses too much ink. Had to adjust print flow.
The printer waste ink when it use ink to clean the jets and heads every time it is used, even when 0ne print is made. This printer does not compare to the better quality HP 2800 office jet, both have wide formate printing. The HP Office Jet 7000 printer will not print on envelopesand does not have a rear feed like the 2800 printer. Over all not a good buy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Officejet 7000 Wide Format Printer - E809a
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Ink longevity is horrible

PostedJune 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Tipton, Iowa
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice basic wide format printer to replace HP2800, but ink cartridges empty very, very fast. I have better things to do besides constantly replacing expensive ink cartridges!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Officejet 7000 Wide Format Printer - E809a
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Quality printing

PostedJune 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Mississippi
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I like the HP Officejet 7000 Wide Format printer. Great for the price. Good qualiy prints. Ink cartridges reasonably price. Only complaint really about this item is that it is not really durable.
This is the second one I have purchased the first one replaced the 8600 wide fromat printer that we had had for several years! It WAS a good machine. Bought this one because it is hard to find a "wide format" printer, which we really need in our line of work. And even having to replace it after 2 years, it was the most cost effective for us at this time. We DO use the machine on a daily basis and make numerous copies each day. If you are looking for durability don't purchase, if that is not a major factor, you will get good prints while it is working!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Officejet 7000 Wide Format Printer - E809a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedJune 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Phenix City, AL
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I replaced another HP large format printer. So far, I love it! No issues with printing. This is a great value for the price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Officejet 7000 Wide Format Printer - E809a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Officeject 7000

PostedMay 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Bellingham, WA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The support staff have be stellar. For some reason the 7000 will not work on Mac (os x 10.5.8) but works well on 10.6.8. The staff / techs have been working with me to get it to work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Officejet 7000 Wide Format Printer - E809a
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic product and incredible Price!

PostedMay 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would definately rate this as a very efficient and wonderful machine for either a Business (small or large) and even Home Office. It does just what it says, but very well. Cartidges are affordable. I go thru HP for everthing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.