HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Single-function inkjet or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer

Up to 50% lower cost/color page, 50% less energy use than a laser printer ### Laser quality print speeds up to 15 pages/min black, 11 color 2 Automatic two-sided printing Wireless
Overall rating:
3.418 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(79 reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 79 reviews
5 Stars
31
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
7
1 Star
18
49 out of 79(62%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer
Review 21 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not at all what I was promised

PostedMarch 16, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:California
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Age:40-54
I have been an ardent full-day user and supporter of HP printers for 15 years. I was told this printer had a huge capacity for ink to paper-production and the ink cartridge capacity printed on the boxes would make one think so. However there are two glaring problems that take a ton of my time each day. I have now owend this 8000 OfficeJet Pro for over one year of full-time business work. One - I cannot fix nor does anyone at HP's (offshore) tech help understand why, each and every time I print, the platten draws up a sheet of paper and holds it in readiness. Now, if my next print job is an envelope, the usual "advance paper" button will NOT cause this paper to roll through and come out. I have to make it print something before I can free the intray to put in other media. Also, each and every time I change the document on my screen to print, the printer draws up another blank sheet and then rejects it BEFORE I am able to print the document. Meanwhile, I WAIT. I wait. I wait. All day long this goes on. What a time waster! Then, what they don't tell you about the three color cartridges, is that they will ALSO be used each and every time you want to print in black. So, even if all my jobs form the last month are in black and white, my color cartridges are used up along the way. That's four times the cost of one black ink cartridge. I thoght I was going to save money on ink on this printer. I have spent $$ buying color ink when most of my jobs are in black and white. On the plus side, it is a fast printer but the downside to this makes me swear at this printer all day long. I have never not liked an HP product until this one. I am so dissappointed!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Printing Envelopes a Pain

PostedMarch 8, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Falmouth ME
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I would not have bought this printer if I knew how many steps would be required to print a standard business-size envelope. You have to remove the cover to the paper tray, fumble around taking out all the paper, line up your envelope and reset the paper guides to envelope width. Only then can you click print in your word processor to print the name and address on the envelope. I print a lot of letters and envelopes, and this is definitely a pain. Evidently you can buy a separate paper tray, but I can't determine from the web site if the second paper tray is any help in printing envelopes. The part description doesn't say so. Otherwise, the printer is fine after 4 weeks of use. Haven't tried wireless yet, though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good product

PostedMarch 4, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Fairbanks AK
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had this item and unjammed a paper incorrectly and ruined it. So I ordered another and do not intend to unjam it improperly. IT has not jammed. The printer seems to take a while to intialize itself each time it is turned on...the way around this is to leafve it on and let it go to sleep. IT wakes up pretty quickly. Color is fine for pictures and it prints reasonably quick. The ink will last a reasonable time but liek all ink is expensiv. Easy to change ink out. I like it for the price and functions. Wireless seems to work well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Stay away

PostedMarch 4, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:North Jersey, New Jersey`
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I completely do NOT recommend this printer. Basically, you pay nothing for the printer but end up paying a ridiculous amount of money for the ink cartridges. The ink cartridge has a crazy number of pages that are supposedly printed. No way. Also, if the slightest amount of dust gets on the machine, the paper handler does not work. So, as I said Stay away
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast and Crisp

PostedMarch 4, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The printing I have done with this has printed very fast with rich, crisp colors! Much, much better than my old printer!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Did not work

PostedMarch 2, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Whittier, CA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought the Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless about 10 days ago to replace a very trustworthy HP 952C that just finally wore out. When I brought it home, I could not complete the setup. Then my computer failed (don't know whether the computer failure was related to the printer, so I won't lay the blame for that on the printer). I called HP, and they sent me a replacement. When I tried to set up the replacement, I spent two hours with the online chat agent, but still no go. I finally had to elevate the problem to HP's "Case Management" service. HP as a company was fine, but I would rate this printer as a DO NOT BUY!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad Printer

PostedMarch 2, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Dover, NH
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Printer is 15 months old, but have had problems since we got it. Power light flashes and you cannot turn printer on/off. When power is on, the printer is always 'offline' and doesn't print. During warranty period HP techs fixed problems by doing uninstall/reinstall as they said it was a corrupt print file. Now that I am out of warranty period they tell me its a printer hardware issue and I need to buy a new printer. Unplugging printer to get it to print has cost a fortune in cartridges.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Extremely Slow Starter

PostedFebruary 25, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:SW Washington
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
We have two Officejet printers, the Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless and the Officejet 6000 Wireless. The print output of both is excellent in either text or graphics. Once they finally start to print, the output is reasonably quick.
Both our Officejet printers are hooked up directly to individual computers. Both have the same characteristic of extremely slow initialization/print start. This process takes so long that it causes wonder if the printer received the document even though the print manager indicates that the document is printing.
If for some reason printing needs to be aborted the printer then initiates a diagnostic printout which cannot be stopped without turning off the power to the printer. When power is turned on again the printer again goes through the lengthy, time consuming process of initialization.
Unlike printers from several other manufacturers, these HP printers will not print if it is determined that a color ink cartridge is empty even though the print project is text only and color is not required. Rather than resuming the project from the point of stoppage (also unlike printers from several other manufacturers) the printer aborts the print job. This, of course, results in another lengthy initiation process.
I downloaded and installed the most recent drivers hoping that some of these issues would have been corrected. They were not. The driver package also included unnecessary "features".
In spite of these shortcomings I would recommend either of these printers because of the excellent print quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

First 8000 Pro Wireless was a dud

PostedFebruary 23, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Antonio, TX
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased This good looking printer but soon there after I realized I got a bad printer Even new in the box. So you may ask what does he mean by being a dud? Every once in a while the printer would start its print diagnostics which was annoying. After this ritual the printer would simply power itself off. Since I run the printer in the wireless mode another quirk would raise its ugly head. That was The wireless Blue indicator led went off and came back on (sometimes). I had been working with HP's group of experts (sounded foreign to me) But after a few calls and like a taffy pull I finally was able to convince the gurus that I needed a like for like printers. That was granted and discovered the replacement unit was a factory "refurbished" unit. That being said I will admit the refurbished look even better than the first printer...and of most of my concern how well will it perform? After hooking up the "new" printer and running the setup software all went so smoothly I was astonished! It did not recalibrate or go offline. I would now rate this printer a "solid 5"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

8000 Wireless Printer

PostedFebruary 19, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Tennessee
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased this printer about 2 months ago and have found it to be another good HP product. The wireless was easy to set up by following the CD directions. I had it up and running in 10-15 minutes and haven't had any problem with it. I like its sleep feature and it is amazingly fast coming out of sleep to print. This printer is FAST and the print quality is excellent. Now for the cons: Duplex printing is slow because there is a pause between printing the front page and the back page of several seconds. I had an old HP Photosmart printer that was a lot smoother/faster. It is pretty noisy. It bangs and clanks and I attribute this to its speed. I use it at home so the noise is not a major issue but I think it could be in a crowded office environment.
OVERALL: I gave it high ratings because I think the pros are more important than the cons. It produces high quality print and I think it's a very good product for the money. I would certainly buy it again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good printer

PostedFebruary 9, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Sioux City, IA
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Although it takes a while for the printer to cycle through startup, once the printer is ready to use, it prints quickly and the printed item is very good. I bought this particular printer so I could print good quality pictures at home and it has met all my expectations. I really like the wireless feature as I can access the printer from my laptop in another area of the house. Overall this is a very good printer although the smaller sized colored ink cartridges seem to empty quicker than my old printer. I would recommend ths to anyone who is looking for a professional type printer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Printer

PostedFebruary 4, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Minneapolis
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love the wireless printer...we use it on several different computers in the house. Works great!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Printer

PostedFebruary 3, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Las Vegas
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My wife and I were in need of a quality wireless printer. Though we had looked at all-in-one options with scanners, we choose this model and could not be happier. Having the duplex option gives us the ability so many other brands did not, so with its speed and wireless option are far better than we could have expected.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Problems with Windows 7

PostedJanuary 8, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have a HP Windows7 (Home Premium) laptop and a Toshiba Windows7 (Starter) Netbook. I experienced problems Installing the wireless printer on both of them. I eventually got the HP laptop working with the printer with the excellent support of the HP Support Staff - I never got the printer to work with the Toshiba Netbook.
I also have 2 HP VISTA (Home Premium) desktops which the printer was installed on effortlessly.
This printer works great once it is installed, but the installation is rather lengthy compared to USB printers I have installed previously.
I really like the two sided printing and the convenience of putting the printer where I need it without having to extend an Ethernet cable. The print quality is excellent and once it starts printing it prints quickly, but there is a delay waking up the printer...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Printer

PostedJanuary 8, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to assemble out of the box. Worked great. Only 1 problem, the ink tanks that come with the printer are for "Setup and diagnostic" purposes, they aren't even "Half" Tanks any more. Use the standard setup process and the tanks are nearly empty. It's $110 for a complete set of ink tanks. True, that those tanks last a good long time, but it can be a bit of a shock to pay $200 for the printer then have to shell out another hundred for ink. Fortunately the large tanks only cost an extra $5 each, and the black for an extra $10. VERY worth the extra $25 per set of tanks.
Still think they should put some kind of warning on the box that it doesn't really come with ink tanks... That's the only reason it doesn't get a 5 out of 5 stars, lack of that notification label.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

could be better

PostedJanuary 7, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Does an OK job of printing but a couple of things are disappointing. I bought this to replace a Deskjet 6980 which died. It's bigger and doesn't fit my computer shelf, and the black cover for the paper tray dislodges easily. I also miss the capability to print manually on two sides. Two-sided printing is either off or automatic.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worse Printer Ever!

PostedDecember 14, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Nashville TN
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
If you want a printer that constantly drops off the wireless connection (Ad Hoc connection) , gears twirling , printhead moving across multiple times, then get this printer! This is my 6th or 7th HP printer I've owned since early 90's and it is the worse one I ever owned. Oh, how I wish I had my old 6500 HP printer again!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

first time using wireless printer

PostedDecember 7, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Easy to set up. I am using Windows XP & Windows 7 computers. Printer is fairly fast, as of yet, I haven't tried printing photos. I replaced a Photosmart 1115 printer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Slow to start printing

PostedDecember 5, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Chula Vista, CA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Slow to start printing and makes to much noice
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Works OK except with thick photo paper

PostedDecember 4, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Chicago
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
As many have said, this printer grunts and wheezes when it powers up. It also takes a lot of time to set up and installs lots of software of variable value. It has a problem with thick matte double-side photo paper - in my case Staples' Matte Double-sided Supreme (a variety HP does not seem to make). Ours puts 2 light black lines on the paper (as if done by feed rollers or guides) when printing photos on this paper, which we use for family photo calendars. Other than that, it seems to work well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.