HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Single-function inkjet or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer

Up to 50% lower cost/color page, 50% less energy use than a laser printer ### Laser quality print speeds up to 15 pages/min black, 11 color 2 Automatic two-sided printing Wireless
Overall rating:
3.418 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(79 reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 79 reviews
5 Stars
31
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
7
1 Star
18
49 out of 79(62%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer
Review 1 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

I'd think twice about this one!

PostedFebruary 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Virginia Beach, VA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Printer has several faults. It's gigantic! It takes up a lot of my small desk space. My wife has an "All in one" printer that's smaller than this thing. The printer's program does not work well with other wireless programs already installed in my computer. I need two wireless printers available at all times. The two sided print system seems to work randomly. One time it will work, the next time it prints only one side of the page. The cost of replacement ink cartridges is outrageous!!! HP should give you the printer free, because you"ll pay big time for the ink!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Don't buy if printing for labels

PostedFebruary 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Farmington, IL
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Thought this was a great printer, however, I cannot put my labels on my products. The labels smear horribly even after I let them sit for a week to dry. I have wasted my ink and my labels. The machine works well otherwise except that sometimes it won't load paper even if only a few sheets in the tray. I usually love HP products but this one stinks!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

LEMON in a big way

PostedFebruary 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
i have always had good luck with HP printers, but this one is a game changer. Paper tray problems and machine randomly turning off make me rethink another purchase. I have had my printer for 17 months and it stopped working. I have purchased one set of ink cartridges and just put them in. What a waste.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Lemon!

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Have always had good luck with HP printers in the past, but this one is just a lemon. Multiple problems with this machine - printing multiple test pages, bad print head cartridge, paper jams, and finally not printing at all. Makes noise even when nothing is printing. At this point I suspect it's possessed. Do not buy one!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

INK GUZZLER

PostedJanuary 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:JASPER GA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Product works well, if you do not run it out of ink in any of 4 cartridges. At that point it quits printing anything. I have had to replace the cyan cartridge four times since my purchase last summer.Also, cannot get the install program to run to completion for a network environment.on Windows 7 Home. Also, avoid "paper jams" at all costs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very Disappointed

PostedNovember 25, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
While very pleased with unit for 12 months, it quit working the 13th month. (Note: Warranty is for 12 months). It states I have a paper jam, and there is ZERO paper in unit. I have removed both front and rear trays, reinserted ink units, checked all cables, downloaded HP drivers, and NOTHING works. Apparently a part is broken somewhere in unit.
Thankfully the AMEX credit card provides extended warranty, and they are reimbursing me original cost. Not happy but looking for another HP unit so can use large supply of ink units recently purchased.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

IT'S LOUD!!

PostedNovember 16, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This printer works ok for everyday printing, but for an office setting, it's rather loud.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Info

PostedSeptember 18, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Age:Under 25
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Did not notice that it did not have all the features I already had. No operation manual. Not able to hook up. It is on, but could not set up to use. Not able to get it to work on desktop (w/o wireless card) by direct hookup
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Great Printer

PostedSeptember 10, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Lincoln, NE
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've owned several HP printers over the years and this is one of the best of them. I use it via the wireless connection from my laptop and the USB connection from my desktop. It makes very good photo prints although not as good as a dedicated photo printer. If all you print are 4 x 6 inch snapshots, look no further. I like the separate ink cartridges and would recommend buying the larger XL size refills, especially in black.
I really have nothing negative to say about this printer. I works as advertised and I would highly recommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast with high quality printing

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Upstate New York
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The setup for wireless was easy for this printer. The print quality is very high and surprisingly fast. The duplexing is a bit slow but this I see as a minor issue since there are ways to speed it up. You can print high volume multiple copies using "manual duplexing" feature where the first side print is done on multiple copies then you are prompted to put the printed paper back into the tray and it will print the "other" side. I know you can do this without this feature if you do it entirely manually but the feature is easy to use and keeps track of the pages itself. The printer "goes to sleep" energy-use wise and unlike laser printers,it is quiet all the time and silent during "sleep time",
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

noisy but fast and good quality printer

PostedAugust 2, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was told I needed a USB cable so I purchased one. However it was not necessary as there was a USB cable in the box with the printer. I spent $13. and change for something I did not need.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

disappointed

PostedJuly 29, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Dallas, Tx.
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
We replaced our HP Photosmart printer with the HP Officejet Pro800 wireless, thinking this would be better and cheaper than fixing the Photosmart. We find the warm up system takes much longer than the Photosmart and we find the print quality for photos not as good. Add to that, the cost of replacing cartridges which are more expensive, we feel that this was not the quality we were expecting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Pro 8000

PostedJuly 27, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had mine for 2 weeks and it is really remarkable. I am printing 8 x 10 photos with no borders and the brilliant prints are marvelous. It is fast and does wonderful 2 side printing also. I recommend it highly and am putting my Xerox Lazer printer down now. It is also wonderful to use it wireless with all our laptops, I have one, my wife has her laptop and my son and my brother-in-law visits with his. It is also very economical to purchase and to operate. The ink is very reasonable from both HP and Costco.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Extremely Disappointed

PostedJuly 11, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've read all the reviews of the OfficeJet Pro 8000 Wireless and if it had been just one week ago, I would have said that there are just a bunch of whiners out there because my experience up to that point had been great. BUT one year and eleven months months of service later, I had a small white gear that is located over to the left of the 8 white rollers (as you look inside the cover) split. There is also a black cylinderical housing with a small arm that points to the left that is wrapped around the rod that holds the gear that popped open. What does all this mean...? My printer quit and is out of warranty and would cost more to repair (good luck finding the part anyway) than it's worth. Did I mention that I have over $50.00 in XL940 ink cartridges in the printer? HP customer service was pathetic. Everything from poor communication (foreign accent) to providing me with the wrong phone number of authorized HP repair center here in Atlanta. The best they could offer me was an "upgrade" to my present printer. Wait a minute...you mean you want me to do this again? Best news I got was that I charged the purchase on AMEX and have automatic one year extended warranty. At 1 year and 11 months, I'm coming just under the wire to have my purchase refunded. AMEX will continue to get my business, but HP has lost a long term customer. It makes me sick!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't bother

PostedJune 21, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Absolute piece of junk. The wireless continuously goes to sleep forever, and it jams constantly. This clearly ends my long term use of HP inkjets. My old 722C works far better! I'm not even going to bother trying to fix it under warranty.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

disappointed

PostedJune 11, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Frankfort, Kentucky
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I am on my third printer that hp has replaced with a refurbished unit because the printer shows paper jam and it will not print the power light and resume blinks when this happens. it does not have a paper jam. I will have to say the support team is great with all their help for me. I have used hp printers for a long time and all were very good but this model wireless has been a head ache.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No more HP printers

PostedApril 29, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This printer has been a problem from day one.When you turn on the device the warming process is taking forever. Also it is very annoying noisy process /grunting and grinding/. After two days it starts print picures in unnatuiral colors. When I checked pinchead heads health it shows that Magenta\Cyan printhead has "Monitor" status. Nothing help. I cleaned this pinhead with the coffee filter paper/following instructions/t Turn the printer on and you will spend most of time monitoring this preaty bad product. Because I had troubles with HP printers in the past - By-By HP.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect, no regrets.

PostedApril 24, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Michigan
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm not a professional, only a 72 year old grandmother who does need a good quality printer, especially at tax time and on a weekly basis during the year. I had to make a quick and unexpected purchase of a new laptop and new printer in January for tax time and a 500 mile trip with new equipment. The printer of course was still in the box and I had to set it up myself. The beginning of the instructions were simple--put CD in drive, did that--no go, said my computer was not able to work with this printer. Contacted HP tech. support. They were "wonderful" and within 3-5 minutes, we were up and running. This round was with a cord, not wireless, but when I came back home, I used HP help site to set it up wireless, and within 5 minutes, it walked me through it. No problems ever, wonderful machine and help site. I do suggest leaving the printer on all the time, it sleeps just fine and comes on instantly when needed. I would not hesitate in buying this model again. It is very economical, printed over 1000 pages out with my first ink cartridge that came with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DON'T BUY THIS PRINTER!!

PostedApril 7, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Southern New Jersey
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This printer is extremely slow and wastes paper. It was advertised as being faster than a laser printer. It doesn't hold a network connection and wastes paper and ink. Everytime you turn the printer on or cancel a print job, it prints 4 pages of diagnostics. It also continuously jams, shreds the paper and/or prints crooked despite the fact that the only paper we use is HP Inkjet Paper purchased directly from HP.
I do not recommend this printer and I will never buy another HP printer based on my experience with this printer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wireless does not work

PostedMarch 27, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Age:40-54
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is a fine printer except for one thing - it does not do what it is supposed to. The only way I have every been able to print on this computer is with a USB cable attached. The wireless cannot be set up, in my experience of use for about 1 year. I am using Mac OS X which is supposed to be compatible. This is the second time I have tried and failed to set it up for wireless printing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.