HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Officejet or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP Officejet 6000 Wireless Printer - E609n

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Officejet 6000 Wireless Printer - E609n

HP Officejet 6000 Wireless Printer - E609n
Overall rating:
3.49 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(100 reviews) 97
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 100 reviews
5 Stars
35
4 Stars
25
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
18
1 Star
14
63 out of 100(63%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Officejet 6000 Wireless Printer - E609n
Review 1 for HP Officejet 6000 Wireless Printer - E609n
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP Officejet 6000

PostedMarch 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:North GA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good overall general purpose duplex printer!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Officejet 6000 Wireless Printer - E609n
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really love this printer

PostedOctober 12, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Vista, CA
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the printer I've been waiting to find. Like the ability to print double sided and the speed is awesome. Very, very pleased with my purchase. The set up and installation was a breeze. HP wins again!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Officejet 6000 Wireless Printer - E609n
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Won't Duplex properly from Windows 7

PostedApril 13, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
My experience with the officejet 6000 wireless printer started out excellent. It installed fine with each of our PCs in our home even though one is running XP, one Vista, and one Windows 7. I found it best when installing on the PC with WIndows 7 to use the installation cd that came in the box with the printer. The installation cds work well, the printer installed itself on our home wireless network and all was well. At this point I would have given an excellent rating for the printer. Its print quality is good, its fast, and the wireless network capability is awesome.
But then we tried printing a booklet from MS Publisher from the PC running Windows 7. The 6000 compressed the document and pushed everything to the top of the page (portrait) or the left side of the page (landscape). The document was totally unusable. With some experimentation, I observed that the printer operated in this way from MS Word, as well -- but only when we specified duplex (two-sided printing). From the PCs running Vista and XP, the printer altered the margins on the orginal formating some when duplexing, but did not actually compress the size of the document on the page. The problem is mostly a windows 7 issue.
I tired HP tech support -- spent 3 hours doing online chat -- was told that the issue would be sent on to HP technician and I would hear back in 72 hours. I never received an email. I then emailed tech support on this case for a response -- never heard back. Finally I telephoned. There is no driver or software fix for this problem at this time. I am left to decide whether or not to keep the printer hoping for a fix in the future, or just send the printer back under warranty. The HP representative couldn't help me with this decision -- had no information for me regarding if and when a fix will be available.
So -- consider this before you buy the printer. If you want to duplex print from a PC running Windows 7, I would suggest you wait until HP has a fix. And I would call HP first and ask about this before you buy.
Too bad really, this is a very nice printer.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Officejet 6000 Wireless Printer - E609n
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Set up almost as easy as advertised

PostedMarch 1, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Purchased this printer for the home, where there are up to four computers, 2 XP, 1 Vista, and one with Windows 7. I used my XP laptop for the initial setup, which went ever so smoothly. The installation cd managed everything: found the router, addresses, settings, etc. I used the installation cd for the other xp computer and for the desktop pc running vista -- they installed without a hitch. When I opened our new laptop with windows 7 -- I thought the set up was going to be as easy as advertised here on the HP shopping page. The pc found the device on our network, and downloaded the drivers from the web. Installed in seconds. Nothing could be simpler.
Unfortunately, there was a slight problem. The windows 7 laptop could not consistently print with the 6000 wireless printer -- sometimes it said the printer wasn't connected. Eventuallly, I had to remove the printer from the laptop, and reinstall it using the installation cd for windows 7 that came with the printer. It installed with ease and is nowworking fine, staying connected continuously.
There you have it -- a wireless printer that connected with ease to our netgear router, and can be run from all our household computers regardless the version of windows they're running.
The speed is great and the color is good. I like the way the duplex function is listed under in the printer preferences and easy to use.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Officejet 6000 Wireless Printer - E609n
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works for me!

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this Officejet 6000 about a year ago, wireless and LAN ready. Hooked it up hard wire to my network and it works great. I see a lot of negative reviews on the site, but I have experienced none of these issues. Never had a single paper jam with this printer. Works well with papers and envelopes. The only incident I have had is that it doesn't seem to print the old fashioned smaller envelopes, not #10 business envelopes, but, I believe, the 5 inch size. So, if that is important to you, this printer won't work. The 'print on both sides of paper' feature has worked flawlessly for me and I do it a lot. I have printed color 5X7 index cards as well. This was my first home network printer and I love it. rwj 2011.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Officejet 6000 Wireless Printer - E609n
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

does exactly what I wanted it to do

PostedSeptember 27, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is one great printer. I wanted a printer for wireless printing from my laptop, tired of the memory stick or emailing to myself to print stuff. This unit was set up in less than an hour without glitches, prints excellent copies and amazed at how easy it is to do the double sided copies. Wish I had information to add on ink usage but still to new to include in this review. Highly recommend this printer, it really and truly works for me and my needs.
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Officejet 6000 Wireless Printer - E609n
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good

PostedJune 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good but a little noisy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Officejet 6000 Wireless Printer - E609n
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent simple printer for price

PostedJune 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:PA
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An excellent printer for the price. Had one previously and it finally failed after a couple of years. Since the price from HP was so low just bought another one rather that try to fix.. Worked right out of the box.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Officejet 6000 Wireless Printer - E609n
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Decent Quality But Difficult to Install

PostedJune 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Portland, OR
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Because my wireless access point uses MAC filtering, it took me literally hours to successfully get the printer installed on my network. The setup instructions mentioned MAC filtering VERY briefly, but didn't include any information on how to obtain the printer's MAC address. Using documention from HP's website, eventually I was able to work it out, but it took multiple attempts at installing the software and many rebootings of the PC, printer, and wireless router. By comparison, my wireles Brother laser printer was much easier to install. After installation I was able to remove the HP bloat-ware because Windows 7 certainly didn't need all of that junk. The good news is that once installed, the printer functions very well and we're quite satisified with the print quality. Except for the wireless installation issues, I'd rate the printer as a good value.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Officejet 6000 Wireless Printer - E609n
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the printer

PostedJune 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:joplin , mo
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this for my mom because she had an old 722C HP printer, and we just updated her computer to a new one. The old one only had 512 memory and was to slow.
I needed to get just a simple printer, but one she could see. She has glaucoma and tunnel vision and no peripherial vision. So the buttons were easy for her to see. So far she is very impressed with it. The price was great, and I found some online discount coupons as well.
I like the fact the printer shell wasn't all black and it was easy to set up. So ar, no complaints.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Officejet 6000 Wireless Printer - E609n
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Found out AFTER I bought

PostedMay 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:seattle wa
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
we use this printer as a network printer and it works fine until it goes into standby and then it disconnects from the network. We have a couple of computers on our network not located next to the printer but in another part of the house, but if you want to print you have to go to the printer to make sure the wifi is on and it is not in standby mode. Called HP and they say there is no way to either extend the time before it go into delay (seems like it's only about 5 - 10 minutes) or turn off the delay feature. I looked in all of the docmentation and never saw anything about standby mode other then it goes into it. If I had know that we couldn't control that feature we would not have purchased this printer but bought one that we could turn off the standby mode or at least extend it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Officejet 6000 Wireless Printer - E609n
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Dissappointed at the features

PostedMay 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Bangor, Maine
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Primary use:Personal
This wireless printer does not work with the new iPad we recently purchased. That was the reason for this purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Officejet 6000 Wireless Printer - E609n
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Completely Satisfied

PostedMay 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this printer at the HP website. I appreciated the great value in price.
The printer was delivered very fast!! I had both my wife's laptop and my laptop linked with the wireless network in under 20 minutes. No problems at all. The printer is extremely quiet and the result is great. Highly recommended product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Officejet 6000 Wireless Printer - E609n
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP does printers!

PostedMay 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Oregon
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have owned more than a couple of printers since the advent of the home computer and I always come back to HP. I have owned other brands and have always had probems down the road. Not with the HP brand! This printer is easy to set up and delivers as advertised right out of the box. My wireless operation has been solid. The large paper tray is a bonus. The color is excellent; the black is crisp and clear. I have yet to try the double sided printing. No need! I have three other HP printers all still functioning. There must be three or four 'other brands' of printers gathering dust in my garage, waiting to be recycled. HP does printers!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Officejet 6000 Wireless Printer - E609n
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ok for normal day things.

PostedMay 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I Run an insurance agency in Ypsilanti MI, and I Print between 100-200 documents alone each day. So I would exspect to have a printer which prints very fast and at high quality.
When printing normally, its fine but when it is at its fastest setting, it makes a little ill when looking at the paper. The lines are not straight and they are a little wavy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Officejet 6000 Wireless Printer - E609n
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Satifisted

PostedApril 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Massachusetts
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Every easy to set up and the price was excellent.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Officejet 6000 Wireless Printer - E609n
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Wireless Printer Is NOT Wireless

PostedApril 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Age:55+
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"Ad-hoc" wireless communication between printer and Pavilion dv7 laptop was inoperative...on-line chat representative (after an hour of trouble shooting) recommended purhase of $75 router. I used USB cable included with printer to solve printer/laptop communication problem.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Officejet 6000 Wireless Printer - E609n
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst Purchase Ever

PostedApril 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is the worst printer I have ever owned. First, when trying to print something, the components of the printer move around for about five minutes before it actually begins printing something. Then, it does this for about five minutes after. It's extremely noisy and there's no reason it should be doing anything once it has completed the print job. Second, it does not print well in color. After constantly being out of ink, I finally decided to change all 4 of the ink cartridges hoping that I would finally be able to print in color. However, this is still not the case. When it prints in color it is just streaks of different colors. And, it does this for black and white now. So it is impossible to print any images from this printer because it has red streaks going through it. Finally, this printer does not have any extra features that would make this worth buying. It is extremely large, yet it does not have a printer or a scanner. To sum it up, there is absolutely no reason anyone should purchase this printer, as it will only cause headache and waste your money.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Officejet 6000 Wireless Printer - E609n
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP 6000 WIRELESS

PostedApril 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wanted a first-class HP printer to use for printing only. This is absolutely perfect----fast, perfect color, works instantly. I recommend it and rate it as a quality product that never fails to work for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Officejet 6000 Wireless Printer - E609n
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Office Jet 6000 wireless

PostedMarch 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Upstate NY
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice compact printer. Prints clean and loads print job fairly quickly. Does not print as fast as my ProK5400, but its still not bad. I like having the wireless and plug in as my office computer is plugged in, but my lap top can be anywhere in range and still print. Photos also come out clean and nice. A good machine for the money.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.