HP Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for hp HP ENVY 27 27-inch Diagonal IPS LED Backlit Monitor

hp HP ENVY 27 27-inch Diagonal IPS LED Backlit Monitor

HP ENVY 27 27-inch Diagonal IPS LED Backlit Monitor
Overall rating:
4.296 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
20 out of 27(74%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP ENVY 27 27-inch Diagonal IPS LED Backlit Monitor
Review 1 for HP ENVY 27 27-inch Diagonal IPS LED Backlit Monitor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP Monitors Are Always Fantastic

PostedJune 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Mississippi
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have always loved HP monitors and the Envy 27" is no exception. I wanted a monitor that has a glassy surface because my desktop is in a dark room and I have no problems with glare on the screen. I find that the image just looks superior as opposed to the duller, glare resistant screens.
I have never been disappointed by an HP monitor and that gave me enough confidence to order this over the Internet sight-unseen. Sure enough, when it arrived the image quality as well as the overall quality of construction was impeccable.
I am pretty picky about image quality and even a slight blemish will drive me crazy. Well, HP came through and I have zero complaints.
I hope I'm not coming across as simply someone who owns this monitor and so I love it. I understand that others will be reading these reviews in order to make a decision, just like I did, and that they will need to know the truth. Honestly, the image quality is terrific and the only way you're going to beat it is to spend twice as much money.
If you're wanting to spend about this much, then you aren't going to find a more beautiful picture. Go with quality and just order it. There is no way you will regret it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP ENVY 27 27-inch Diagonal IPS LED Backlit Monitor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I find it great.

PostedJune 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New York New York
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am not the tech savvy guy some on here might be, so my recommendation would be for the novice user. I have an Envy desktop as well as a cable box hooked into it and they work great. Never had a problem and the picture from the computer and cable box are crystal clear. I have the computer plugged in through the display port and the cable box through the HDMI and it has never been a problem. As for the speakers, I can't be a judge on that. I have everything going through a JBL external sound bar so I cannot judge the sound. For me and any anyone like me who is upgrading for the first time I was pleasantly surprised on how well it has worked . I originally upgraded to a Asus 27 inch, but returned it. This was a much better choice IMO.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP ENVY 27 27-inch Diagonal IPS LED Backlit Monitor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sound is Lacking

PostedMay 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Indianapolis
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
For a monitor this large and to have the BEATS Audio-- sound level is horrible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP ENVY 27 27-inch Diagonal IPS LED Backlit Monitor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great monitor at a reasonable price

PostedApril 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connecting via HDMI yields stellar resolution and crisp definition. The built-in speaker bar is a great addition.
I don't understand why monitors that come with HDMI don't natively support DVI and vice versa. A DVI connection port would be a nice addition.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP ENVY 27 27-inch Diagonal IPS LED Backlit Monitor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent monitor, dreadful speakers

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Southern U S
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am very pleased with the quality of the monitor, but the attached speakers are a wasted feature. The speakers are so bad that I have bypassed them entirely and attached external speakers. HP should consider selling the monitor without the speakers.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP ENVY 27 27-inch Diagonal IPS LED Backlit Monitor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Where's the webcam?

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Alabama, Alabama
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My complaints are as follows:
- There is not an integrated webcam. This monitor is truly beautiful - I had to "ugly" it up by adding an external webcam to the top of the monitor.
- A big deal was made about the low profile of the frame for this monitor - it is for ascetics only. There is a region of ~0.25 inches around the left, right, and top of the monitor that is glass, but is not able to display anything. Those who think the pixels will go all the way to the edge of the glass will be disappointed.
- The glass is highly reflective. I see my reflection of the glass during the day.
Why I like it:
- Integrated speakers with a 27 inch monitor.
- The design of the monitor is beautiful.
- The 1920 x 1080 resolution is HD and looks amazing.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP ENVY 27 27-inch Diagonal IPS LED Backlit Monitor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good monitor/ lousy info

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:VA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
The monitor is good.
Setup is tough -- comes with 2 manuals/both in foreign languages
Not compatible cabling from my HP 24 inch monitor; had to research and buy an adapter to go DVI to HDMI
What's wrong with HP? There are 3 video inputs and two cables provided
This must be the only one sold
If your current monitor is down and you need an immediate replacement make sure about the cables
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP ENVY 27 27-inch Diagonal IPS LED Backlit Monitor
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Monitor could not resolve small print

PostedOctober 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Anamosa, Iowa
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
This Monitor could not resolve small print on the desktop. This was using the supplied HDMI cable and with installed drivers. I exchanged it for a HP Pavilion 27xi monitor. The same problem appeared using an HDMI cable. However using the supplied DVI cable on the Pavilion the problem went away. I could be that the HP Envy monitor was OK but the cable was of insufficient quality to carry the signal. The HP Envy Monitor also has a Display Port which I did not test as the cable was not supplied.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP ENVY 27 27-inch Diagonal IPS LED Backlit Monitor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

NOT MAC COMPATIBLE

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Boston, MA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I recently switched my desktop computer to a MacMini for a variety of reasons, and have been driving a four year old 27" HP monitor with it, it has been working fine but I just wanted to update it. So, I went to HP and bought the best, most expensive monitor they offered. When it came, it was beautiful, sleek until I hooked it up to my computer. Couldn't get them to talk in a common resolution to one another. After a half hour chat session and four phone calls, which I must say after substantial waits were sent to a fax machine which picked up and buzzed trying to connect to my fax. Nowhere in the documentation can I find that this monitor is not mac compatible and that it must be run entirely from a pc based software that must be loaded onto the computer. I am blitzed at this finding and the monitor is boxed with RMA and label ready to return to FEDEX. I am unsure if this is my last HP purchase or not, but I did purchase a new HP officejet premium 8600 which I have yet to set up. I will be surprised if it works.......
-6points
2of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP ENVY 27 27-inch Diagonal IPS LED Backlit Monitor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Brownsburg, In
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance, Sound, Looks all exceeded expectations. Quality of display is great-sharp image, colors brilliant. Sound fantastic for small speakers-crisp tones, great volume. Looks - fantastic - great styling and design. The control of screen display is great. Replace two side by side monitors with this one monitor.
Highly recommend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP ENVY 27 27-inch Diagonal IPS LED Backlit Monitor
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Has some of the old HP in it

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Berkeley, California
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This monitor is the first HP product I have purchased in a year that has not thoroughly disappointed. The monitor has some of the niceties of the reliable and good-looking HP products of the past, but cannot be qualified as a comeback piece. Three points for it's packaging and screen largess, but the picture is just not as satisfying as a 27" HP monitor I have had for six years. That one came as a package with an HP PC that is still a good machine, but passed on to greater minds. Don't know how long this one will last. Consumer electronics these days are becoming a very shaky bet and in my opinion HP is leading the pack.
-7points
1of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP ENVY 27 27-inch Diagonal IPS LED Backlit Monitor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The cable of the display port is not included

PostedJune 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Dearborn, MI
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
On the guide of how to connect this display, HP says that you can connect it with either the "Display Port" cable, or VGA Cable or HDMI Cable. The VGA and HDMI cables are included in the box, but the Display Port cable is not!!!
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP ENVY 27 27-inch Diagonal IPS LED Backlit Monitor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Display

PostedJune 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Anderson, SC
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bright, colorful display. East you setup.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP ENVY 27 27-inch Diagonal IPS LED Backlit Monitor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super monitor

PostedMay 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Mineola,Texas
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
The HP ENVY 27 27-inch Diagonal IPS LED Backlit Monitor is great. It has on screen setting or modern touch adjustments on the lower right. You can not see the buttons, until you touch then they light up, love that. This monitor also has beats audio and sounds great. Over-all it`s perfect.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP ENVY 27 27-inch Diagonal IPS LED Backlit Monitor
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice display, disappointing audio

PostedApril 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Darien, IL
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Beautiful display, but save yourself $100+ and buy the version of this monitor without the integrated speakers. When switched on, the Beats Audio enhances the audio slightly, but does not make the little six watt speakers "studio quality." I thought I'd be able to clean up my desk by eliminating my 2.1 Altec Lancing speaker system, but if you plan to listen to music, watch movies or play games, the monitor's built-in speakers are woefully inadequate. There are also backlit capacitive touch controls along the lower right edge of the monitor that only illuminate when in use. I discovered these controls accidently because no hard copy manual is provided, the included software contains no electronic manual and the PDF file version of the manual on the HP website is only viewable thru page six.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP ENVY 27 27-inch Diagonal IPS LED Backlit Monitor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Monitor great, sound quality ok low volume

PostedApril 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Cincinnati, Ohio
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Monitor picture quality is very good. Sound quality from Beats audio very good. Needs higher volume output. Expensive. I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP ENVY 27 27-inch Diagonal IPS LED Backlit Monitor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sound and screen

PostedApril 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Edison, NJ
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice desktop sound without all the wires
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP ENVY 27 27-inch Diagonal IPS LED Backlit Monitor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excelent picture quality.

PostedApril 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Victorville Calif,
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this product is great, every p/c ,laptop ,desk, printer, ect ect ect, I have is H/P ... The quality , preformance ,are great & the service I have received was great . When it comes to setting up or making things work I am very dumb , H/P assistances are always there to help me ... Thank you H/P
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP ENVY 27 27-inch Diagonal IPS LED Backlit Monitor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mega Monitor 27" of pure visual pleasure

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Portland, OR
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect monitor for (everything...) I use it for gaming primarily but also enjoy watching videos and it's also great for work... reading text - the adjustments are easy, and it's HUGE but small... great screen for viewing but small footprint (for it's size). If you want the best then this monitor is it. Great combo with the HP Phoenix gaming pc... I didn't know what I was missing until I bought this system - it's heaven for your senses. Nice work HP! Keep it up!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP ENVY 27 27-inch Diagonal IPS LED Backlit Monitor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best monitor I have ever used

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this monitor and all the features. I'm still finding/learning things everyday!!!!!
I totally recommend this monitor to everyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.