HP Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for hp HP 45 Black/78 Tri-color 2-pack Original Ink Cartridges

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP 45 Black/78 Tri-color 2-pack Original Ink Cartridges

HP 45 Black/78 Tri-color 2-pack Original Ink Cartridges
Overall rating:
4.4 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(55 reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 55 reviews
5 Stars
39
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
3
1 Star
3
49 out of 55(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP 45 Black/78 Tri-color 2-pack Original Ink Cartridges
Review 1 for HP 45 Black/78 Tri-color 2-pack Original Ink Cartridges
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Frustrated with 78 cartridges

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Beach Lake, PA
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Primary use:Home office
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I love HP products and I happen to own an older printer-DeskJet 970Cxi, which works wonderfully. My frustration is with the HP78 color ink cartridges. It seems to be hit and miss whether or not they will work. I order from HP thinking it is safer, but the recent one I bought is terribly flawed. When I spend almost $40 I need it to work. No colors print correctly and with the test sheet print out, I should see red, yellow, and blue. Not there. Instead of receiving a negative review from me, how about sending me a new cartridge that I really need? At that point I will return this one. I would really appreciate it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP 45 Black/78 Tri-color 2-pack Original Ink Cartridges
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

this product was very dispointing

PostedOctober 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Primary use:Home
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I ordered the 78XL because it is suppose to last longer. I had to replace it after only 4 days. I am glad that I ordered two so I could keep working. I wish I had kept count the number of pages I printed but it wasn't more the 50.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP 45 Black/78 Tri-color 2-pack Original Ink Cartridges
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

New cartridge doesn't work, old one does?

PostedJanuary 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:High Point, NC
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
See above title. Purchased new HP 78 printer cartridge last month. When I installed it printer wouldn't work. I re-installed the old HP 78 cartridge and it worked fine.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP 45 Black/78 Tri-color 2-pack Original Ink Cartridges
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Ink explodes on opening

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Loveland, Colorado
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Primary use:Home
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Don't buy these if you live above 5000 feet of elevation! While the cartidges are easy to install, every one I get explodes ink out of it when I remove the orange covers to the ink holes. Maybe this is due to the altitude here compared to the altitude where they are manufactured, but it makes a huge mess and wastes ink. I guess I'll have the cartridges I have bought in the past refilled locally, although I'd rather have the "official" ink.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP 45 Black/78 Tri-color 2-pack Original Ink Cartridges
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

I had to return one of the cartridges.

PostedJuly 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Chula Vista, California
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Primary use:Home office
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The color cartridge didn't work and I had to return it for an exchange. I purchased two different sets of ink cartridges and the color cartridge in both sets was defective.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP 45 Black/78 Tri-color 2-pack Original Ink Cartridges
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

C78 color print cartridges defective

PostedFebruary 11, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:USA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Two C78 color print cartridges failed right out of the box and well within their warranty period. HP would NOT repair or replace them even though brand X cartridges work very well.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP 45 Black/78 Tri-color 2-pack Original Ink Cartridges
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not available in most stores

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Canoga Park, CA
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Primary use:Home office
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The printer 960c has been a workhorse - unfortunately finding ink cartridges has become a real problem. Good thing it is still available at the HP online store
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP 45 Black/78 Tri-color 2-pack Original Ink Cartridges
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good quality, expensive

PostedSeptember 5, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Washington, DC
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
HP makes good quality products, but are expensive. Low copy count for the price. These cartridges are more awkward to install than previous designs. Excellent shipping service.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP 45 Black/78 Tri-color 2-pack Original Ink Cartridges
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Ink

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Anderson, IN
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Primary use:Home
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I never have problems with the HP cartridges. I can count on them to provide vivid ink and to work as expected. The express shipping was also great. It is horrible to run out of ink and have to wait a long time to get to the store to buy some. HP had my new cartridges at my home the next day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP 45 Black/78 Tri-color 2-pack Original Ink Cartridges
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

it is a good product

PostedDecember 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:miami
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Primary use:Home
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
the product is very good,like any hp I have used
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP 45 Black/78 Tri-color 2-pack Original Ink Cartridges
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

worked fine

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Buffalo, NY
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Primary use:Home
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ink cartridge worked fine. Free shipping took a little longer than expected.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP 45 Black/78 Tri-color 2-pack Original Ink Cartridges
This review is fromHP 78+ Tri-color Inkjet Print Cartridge.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

work very well

PostedAugust 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:albany ny
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Primary use:Home
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
hp cartridges work very well but they are still too expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP 45 Black/78 Tri-color 2-pack Original Ink Cartridges
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

ok

PostedNovember 10, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Pa
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am satisified with product and service
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP 45 Black/78 Tri-color 2-pack Original Ink Cartridges
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

FIne service for a great product!

PostedOctober 22, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's only a cartridge but it does make a big difference. I always use genuine HP. They last longer (see, I've done the others) and I like the fact that I can get them on sale from time to time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP 45 Black/78 Tri-color 2-pack Original Ink Cartridges
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Produces excellent color prints

PostedSeptember 9, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Rocky Mountain West
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Using this cartridge in my Deskjet 932c printer produces excellent 8x10 color prints on HP premium photo paper, eminently suitable for matting, framing and display. Someday I may have to replace the 932c due to old age, but until then it's my first choice for printing my photos of the Rocky Mountain West's Visionary Enchantment and of Nature's Majesty. Early on I made the mistake of trying a generic ink cartridge and it sprayed the inside of the printer housing with an aqua-ish hue. That unwanted paint job is a constant reminder to stick with genuine HP cartridges, even though they're too pricey.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP 45 Black/78 Tri-color 2-pack Original Ink Cartridges
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Printer Ink

PostedAugust 7, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
it can't be tampered with to be refill & miss up your machine when in use.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP 45 Black/78 Tri-color 2-pack Original Ink Cartridges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

OEM is always best!

PostedAugust 27, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Jamestown, NY
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have purchased re-manufactured ink cartridges in the past, and they have always been a disappointment. They either run out very quickly or don't even work at all. Attempting to have them replaced is such a hassle, and there's no guarantee that the replacement will be any better than the first one! With HP cartridges, I know I'm going to get top-quality products every time from a trusted company - so even if there is a problem, I can be sure it will be resolved right away. From now on, I will always buy from HP!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP 45 Black/78 Tri-color 2-pack Original Ink Cartridges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hp78xl

PostedApril 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Jersey City, NJ
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Primary use:Home
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The HP78xl is an excellent product n ordereing from your website is so easy. I've had my printer for many years and I find this particular size very economical n efficient. I would definately like to receive discounts on this product because I do spend alot of money on ink.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP 45 Black/78 Tri-color 2-pack Original Ink Cartridges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP78 TRI COLOR CARTRIDGE

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Grass Valley, CA
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Primary use:Home
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We've had our G85 for a very long time, we use only HP cartridges and we've been completely satisfied. People try to get us to upgrade but why should we? It works and I've printed beautiful color photos. We'll use it til it dies and hope that won't happen for a long time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP 45 Black/78 Tri-color 2-pack Original Ink Cartridges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We will see how long these last.

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Kansas Countryside
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Primary use:Home
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am tired of buying cartridges from Wal-Mart and having them run out of ink. I bought these as a test - we shall see. The cartridges from HP are supposed to last twice as long..I hope so!
The ordering was great and the shipping was terrific - they were delivered on a Saturday. I couldn't ask for better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.