HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP ENVY dv6-7214nr Notebook PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP ENVY dv6-7214nr Notebook PC

HP ENVY dv6-7214nr Notebook PC
Overall rating:
4.075 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(40 reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 40 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
1
1 Star
4
31 out of 40(78%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP ENVY dv6-7214nr Notebook PC
Review 1 for HP ENVY dv6-7214nr Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

It is the worse laptop I've purchased

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
It won't work consistently; it stops functioning, it won't turn on/reboot until I pull the battery out and sometimes that doesn't work. I don't like the Win 8 interface, it's simply not intuitive or user friendly. It won't work with the bluetooth mouse. I really wish I could exchange this laptop. I realize most or all of this could be user error (me) but I've been a satellite systems engineer for over 15 years and would simply like a laptop that I can use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP ENVY dv6-7214nr Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Windows 8 a Failure

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Philadelphia
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Laptop is very nice but Windows 8 is simply terrible. Laptop was returned to HP for a Windows 7 OS.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP ENVY dv6-7214nr Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

great features

PostedMarch 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:utah
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is 3rd laptop in 2 weeks, ths third one is working, but afraid to do anything graphics intensive, or the nvidia 650 chip may crash. Also this plays blu ray discs but starts to get jerky about every 5 mins I assume to reload the buffer, such a high end computer I would expect to be as smooth as a stand alone blu ray player.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP ENVY dv6-7214nr Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Looks great, works terrible

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Washington D.C.
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I got this notebook thinking that with all its specs I could do everything I wanted. I was wrong. First, the BIOS settings are misleading if you want to install another version of Windows 8; you have to disable the secure boot support and you must enable legacy support although it's describe as only for Windows XP, Vista, and 7 versions. Second, I could not upgrade from the Windows 8 that this notebook comes with to Windows 8 Pro because HP has hard coded the Windows 8 OEM product key into the BIOS or firmware. The Windows 8 Pro installation checks that hard coded product key and rejects it, before ever giving me the opportunity to enter my retail product key. I should note that the computer can install Linux (CentOS and Fedora). However, the wireless and fingerprint devices were not recognized, and you can't seamlessly switch between the integrated Intel GPU and discrete NVIDIA GPU, so you can't really use all the hardware you purchased. I somewhat expected to have a hassle installing and running Linux, but surely not Windows 8 Pro! If I can't even install and run the operating system I want, then all the features and performance mean nothing, hence my poor rating.
Also, as a warning, if you have a previous dv6 model, your old batteries may not be compatible with this dv6 model, as was the case for me. The one major improvement over my previous dv6 model is that this seems to be built sturdier and the light from HP logo on the rear of the monitor doesn't seem to bleed through the front LCD screen.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP ENVY dv6-7214nr Notebook PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Only if You're On a Budget

PostedJuly 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Florida
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The CD/BluRay disc drive didn't work when I got it. When I pay over $900 for a laptop then I expect everything to work. Also the mouse touch pad has a mind of its own; when I take my finger off, then he pointer on the screen jumps over a little. Also it sometimes takes a couple of tries to click on something. It seems like this computer is made of the cheapest material available. Windows 8 is a little weird, but it is as fast as you'd expect it to be. It'll get the job done (if they give you one with a working disc drive), it's just a little bit "quirky." I recommend this product ONLY if you need a high performance laptop and you're on a budget. Otherwise, find something worth your money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP ENVY dv6-7214nr Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

No 5.0 high speed wireless

PostedJuly 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Computer so far is good. I wanted 7200 rpm hard drive so far pleased. But running business programs with a lot of math calculations and streaming video examples I wanted dual band wireless. I assumed this computer being new would have that capability, but it does not. This is very disappointing and I am thinking about returning before the 20 days are up.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP ENVY dv6-7214nr Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Does not work on corporate network

PostedMay 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Illinois
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Machine was fast. I like the biometric signon. I could do without all of the promotional junk on the main start screens. More / better help on using Windows 8 would have been helpful.
The big problem was the WIFI connected at home fine, but on my work network, it would only stay connected for a few minutes. That made it pretty much unusable for its main purpose. After numerous BIOS and driver upgrades, as well as some changed settings. HP support decided that the problem was hardware related. I am sending it back to have the WIFI card replaced. I have a feeling that the problem is in the Ralink RT3290 card as a choice for this computer model, not the specific card.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP ENVY dv6-7214nr Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great Laptop, questionable build quality

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I got this as a warranty replacement laptop for an envy 14 (took about 2 months for them to replace). Great laptop. Boot time is fast cause of the seagate hdd with the built in 8gb ssd. The graphics and the processor is a great combination. For a average gamer it would be great. Frame rates on most games (with average settings, 1920*1080 resolution) i played i.e is Black Ops 2, MOHW, NFSMW 2012 had average frame rate(35's). It wasn't on full graphics but enjoyable. Fans not that noisy, but heats up when you start using the Nvidia GPU. For day-to-day use its pretty good. The screen is very bright, its rated 250 nits, but it seems brighter you can use it in light. The finger print reader is nice a security feature. Its very mobile not that heavy.
Of cause there is a down side, it doesn't have that stunning look envy's used to have or the build quality (nothing close to the envy 14 I owned). But laptop lid looks stunning, black with a glowing hp logo.When I got the laptop the keyboard was jutting out in the middle (didn't want to wait for another laptop so didn't ask for an replacement or anything, just a tiny deformation). The touch pad and keyboard feels old compared to an nearly year old envy 14, and a couple of months old dell. The premium feel of an envy is gone, specially because of the usage of plastic. Its a failed try by hp to turn an pavilion into an envy.
The only other complaint I have on this is screen turns itself off when left idle (not stand by o sleep) and it doesn't turn itself back on till I send it to sleep and bring it back or restart it (don't know if its an issue with bios or windows 8). Overall performance and features wise its great. The build quality not what I expected from an Envy. Its a good laptop for your day to day use and then want to do some gaming on it too. Its good for both work and play. Mobile too. I would recommend this product to anyone who is capable of not rough using it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP ENVY dv6-7214nr Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Shutdown

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Boston, Ma
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The performances great, has a lot of bloatware. The biggest complaint I have is that the machine would not shut down or sleep when I shut it down. I am waiting for my replacement machine and hope that it doesn't have the same issue.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP ENVY dv6-7214nr Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

some of its features are incredible

PostedDecember 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
only the Graphic Card the INVEDIA GEFORCE and the Processor INTEL CPU are what I like in this product.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP ENVY dv6-7214nr Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not gr8

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Spec looked good, but win8/mouse pad I am not sure, mouse hangs time to time. Because of curvy edges makes sound while typing...as if some spring is broken inside. worse, i am leaving US and cant get it replaced. worst, its falling in price. its not even a week I bought and its already 130$ less.
-7points
5of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP ENVY dv6-7214nr Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good computer

PostedJuly 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Apex, NC
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
HP did a really good job with this one. It was my first experience with Windows 8, which contrary to the reviews and criticism, is not that bad on a laptop. I'm a programmer, so I use computers inside and out. However, there are a few things that caught me off guard.
If you are interested in installing another operating system (I was installing Ubuntu Linux) alongside Windows 8, this computer DOES NOT use BIOS by default, instead using the newer UEFI. I encountered a lot of problems when trying to boot up Ubuntu with the LiveCD without going to the legacy version, turning off secure boot, etc. After cursing Linus Torvalds, IBM, and UEFI, I must say that dual booting on this computer is an utter pain in the neck. I haven't tried it with Arch Linux, but it may be easier to do.
Another thing that really bothers me is that there is no indicator that tells you whether num lock is on or not on the number pad. I use the number pad frequently so it can be a real pain at times.
The other thing that was a little weird was the dual-function keys at the top (stuff like controlling volume, video, and brightness). By default, they change the brightness or volume without pressing the FN key (alt-fn-f4, anyone?), usually the opposite how it is. But that's no problem because you can change this in the bios.
So, overall, this is a decent computer. I got an SSD built in as well to help with startup times and I remember the first time I restarted and had the computer start up, I said "this is beautiful". So far no issues. There is a fingerprint reader that I have not utilized at all. I have the nVidia GEForce GT 635M built in also, which as expected with a graphics card, heats up the computer and reduces battery life. However, this only occurs when you're doing graphics-intensive stuff like playing video games.
Overall, I'm pretty satisfied with this laptop. If you are looking for a well-rounded machine for school, work, or development, I recommend this computer. Godspeed.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP ENVY dv6-7214nr Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Awesome product

PostedJuly 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
got this laptop about 2 weeks ago. i'm very pleased with it. it handles all my games.. love the sound quality (even though I would have liked more bass from the sub) its still loud enough. the screen is amazing as well. I would highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP ENVY dv6-7214nr Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Performance & Speed

PostedJuly 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Monrovia CA
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Windows 8 OS takes some getting used to, but this computer does it all! I love that it includes the number pad and the keyboard is very user friendly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP ENVY dv6-7214nr Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent Features. Durability Questionable

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am very happy with my purchase of the DV6-7214nr. I think the ratio of price to features is very good. Build quality in general for this PC seems good. Compared to my previous HP laptop that I bought four years ago the DV6 seems to be fragile so I will be treating it with extra care, at least at first. During unboxing I had a strange experience while taking the protective plastic off the screen and keyboard area. There was a tab near the bottom of the screen for removing the plastic, but I mistakenly started to remove the plastic covering over the screws for the front of the screen. I feel that this was too easy of a mistake to make and should have been designed differently. I pressed the plastic back into place and it's not a problem. Last of all I would say that this PC's hard drive can be upgraded to an SSD. When I called tech support after some initial problems with the install they said it was not possible. I will post additional information about my experience/adventure on the support forum.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP ENVY dv6-7214nr Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Laptop

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The laptop is a nice laptop. Quick booting, quiet and has a nice screen. The finger reader on the machine is a nice addition. Unfortunately the machine does come with some bloatware of "games" and other trial software (although it is less than a competitor's brand). My only complaints with the machine are the size of the power brick (standard power supply), which is rather large and that the touchpad is easily grazed when typing. Fortunately, the touchpad is easy to turn off and on (using the touchpad itself) so this isn't a huge issue.
Initially, I had a driver issue with the wireless being turned off and requiring a reboot to get it working properly, but a driver update appears to have resolved this.
Overall, the keyboard is a little bit soft, but responsive and backlit. The touchpad area is large enough and easy to use, although the buttons on the touchpad are not at an even height and rather stiff on the outside of the buttons.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP ENVY dv6-7214nr Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Specs, But Some Drawbacks

PostedDecember 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Michigan
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This computer has a beautiful screen, amazing sound, a fast processor, and a pretty good keyboard. It plays movies amazingly. You feel like you are in a movie theater when watching Netflix on this computer between the screen and the sound. However, the touchpad can be un-responsive at times especially when it comes to scrolling. I have noticed that sometimes it will not let you pause a youtube video, or it will lag when you try to pause it. The fan can be noisy sometimes too.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP ENVY dv6-7214nr Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Good!

PostedAugust 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great computer! Works great for gaming and whatever but the batter is bad and it comes with to many programs on it but after you uninstall
most of them the computer is great!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP ENVY dv6-7214nr Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Looking, High-Quality & Powerful Computer

PostedJune 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Juan, PR
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have owned this notebook for over six months and I have had no problems running any programs. As for windows 8, it can be a little annoying until you learn the work arounds. I could not be happier with this notebook in terms of Looks, Weight, and Features. One thing that seems trivial, but is actually really nice for people like me who always lock their computer when they leave it. Is the fingerprint scanner, instead of typing in my usual 12-15 letter password i just slide my finger across the scanner and it reads it and lets me in.
I would recommend this notebook to any Gamer, Businessman, Student, or Just An Everyday User. Overall, it's a Great Performing Notebook.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP ENVY dv6-7214nr Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly what I wanted

PostedMay 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This laptop had everything I wanted for a reasonable price. I wanted a decent GPU, an i7 processor, back-lit keyborad, 1080p screen, and not too heavy.
What I liked:
-Battery life is good considering the power of the laptop (though nothing exceptional)
-Keyboard keys are well spaced, feels good to type on, and the back-light works well
-Finger print reader works well
-I definitely like Windows 8
-Above average speakers
-Very good hard drive, the one inside is a Seagate HDD with 7200 rpm
-The design made it very convenient for me to remove the hard drive and optical drive. I replaced my primary drive with an SSD and the optical drive with the hard drive the laptop came with.
-Good for gaming. Didn't overheat and could play all of my games. I did not push it to it's limits.
What I didn't like:
-Webcam is disappointing with the quality.Webcam and mic work well, but are substandard.
-Bloatware. Not a big deal, not too hard to remove.
-Buttons of the touch pad aren't great, but not too bad either. The touch pad is not a deal breaker but I recommend getting a wireless mouse.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.