HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP Pavilion dm1-4310nr Notebook PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Pavilion dm1-4310nr Notebook PC

HP Pavilion dm1-4310nr Notebook PC
Overall rating:
3.6 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
10 out of 15(67%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Pavilion dm1-4310nr Notebook PC
Review 1 for HP Pavilion dm1-4310nr Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good graphics

PostedJune 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:northwest us
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i wish it had windows 7
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Pavilion dm1-4310nr Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a SWEET little netbook

PostedJune 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Houston, TX
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great little netbook. It isn't made for hardcore gaming, so keep that in mind. I love the size and weight. I've paired it with a BT mouse and BT headset. The keyboard is perfect for my rather large hands. The keys are nice and responsive, but the arrow keys are a little funky. Fortunately I don't use those too much. It performs very well for the price. I use it mostly for web based apps, word processing, and other light duty type of work. It works great for my uses. The built in cellular radio is great. I have decent T-Mobile coverage in my area, so it works well. If I'm out of T-mo coverage, I just tether to my "Big Red" cell phone. The 200mb free for 2 years is a tease. It went quick and I've now just purchased a larger pass. The only drawback is Win8. It really is bad. There are start button replacements that make the OS better though. I've added Start8 and it is much better. Options I would have liked? Option to have Win7, option for SSD, option for more RAM. These are easy fixes that can be done after purchase. I would definitely recommend this netbook to other users as long as they aren't hardcore gamers or video editors.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Pavilion dm1-4310nr Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Adequate but annoying

PostedJune 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The laptop meshes very poorly with Windows 8. The touchpad becomes next to useless with all of the touch screen movements going off when you are just trying to awkwardly move around the cursor. To get it functional I had to shut down many features and get a mouse. Was really hoping not to have to lug one around. The machine speed seems average and it connects up to 4g ok. Lots of extraneous tablet apps that don't really belong on a pc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Pavilion dm1-4310nr Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Again, a great little notebook for little

PostedMay 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Spokane, WA
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The last HP iI had was an HP MINI 210-series netbook. It was rediculously small, had only 1 gig of ram and came with a snail of a processor.... but it turned out to be the best computer I have ever purchased. it could go anywhere, do anything... photoshop, quickbooks, no problem! even played TES III Morrowind and NWN 1 beautifully. This Pavilion dm1-4310nr notebook has had a lot to live up to from my point of view. And it has! Magnitudes faster, slimmer design, still great battery life, and with added goodies like a HDD that can hold tons more "real" ram (4 gigs) and bonuses like bluetooth and wireless broadband support (and packaged 2 year free service from T Mobile)
The only downsides I'd have to say would be the rubberized no-slip cover and glosssy screen bezel show 3x the amount of oily smudges than before. So some cleaning strips would be a great investment to go along with this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Pavilion dm1-4310nr Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

BIG stuff - little package

PostedApril 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:55345
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for work and entertainment on the go. Windows 8 take some getting used to but expected that. T mobile and blue tooth very convenient! All in all great for the price!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Pavilion dm1-4310nr Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXCELLANT 'NETBOOK'

PostedMarch 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
VERY GOOD NETBOOK. A LITTLE BETTER THAN MY ORIGINAL DM1Z 3010.RESTORE DISKS WERE MADE ON A USB FLASH DRIVE THAT HAS FAILED AND CAN'T FIND ANY RESTORE DISKS. HP DOESN'T HAVE THEM.OVERALL A GREAT PRODUCT FROM HP AS ALWAYS.FREE T-MOBILE FOR 24 MONTHS IS GREAT.GOING TO GET ANOTHER FOR MY KIDS FOR SCHOOL. COMPACT AND STRONG FOR SCHOOLWORK
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Pavilion dm1-4310nr Notebook PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

lots of problems

PostedFebruary 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:West Valley City, UT
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Will have to contact customer service. Keeps crashing/freezing at random times. Won't run Mozilla at all. Chrome OK. Windows 8 is terrible,,,all show and no go.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Pavilion dm1-4310nr Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fits my need

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:NYC
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It is the first time that I purchase small laptop. I used it as second laptop for travel. It is fast enough to perform the job that you need it. The only problem that I noticed it is built of not very high quality materials (some times I feel that I will break the monitor. Otherwise it is OK so far, I'm not worrying that much since I bought 3 yrs coverage with accidental damage plan, and hp customer care is excellent. I feel the price is little expensive.
One more words about Windows 8 it just good for this machine, I like it for its fast though I don't like the touch features of Windows 8 it just useless.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Pavilion dm1-4310nr Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

user friendly

PostedJanuary 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great product for the money
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Pavilion dm1-4310nr Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great features

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Solon, OH
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This computer is fast and comes with great amenities like; webcam and broadband access! My big complaint is with Windows 8 (ugh), they should have left it alone. Also, T-Mobile seemed confused about the complimentary broadband access that's advertised. 5 stars for the computer and a big fat" boo" to Windows 8!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Pavilion dm1-4310nr Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great machine for my needs!

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I received this notebook for Christmas a couple days ago and it works pretty well for the most part. It only took me about a day to get used to Windows 8 (and this is coming from a person who just upgraded from a Win XP computer). I only have two problems: 1) There is no CD drive - not a huge problem, you can always by an external CD drive, but it would still be nice to have one integrated. 2) It requires frequent updates. I've had this for 2 or 3 days now and I've already had to update it twice. It takes about 20 minutes on average per update and if you don't update it when updates are available, you face frequent system crashes. The speakers also aren't the greatest, but with Beats audio, you're provided with AWESOME sound for headphones. Overall it's a pretty decent laptop.
PROS:
-Decent processor (Mine has the AMD E2 1800 accelerated processor - handles everything short of heavy gaming)
-Nice screen size
-High definition
-Fast
-Touch pad gestures
-Touch pad lock (Great to use when typing long passages)
-Full Size Keyboard
-Good sound card
CONS:
-No CD drive
-Requires frequent updating
-No number pad on the keyboard
-Speakers (not TERRIBLE, but not excellent either)
In a nutshell, if you need a machine that can handle Microsoft office, web-browsing/social networking, and casual gaming (online games/Microsoft games) then I would definitely recommend this laptop.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Pavilion dm1-4310nr Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast right size good value

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Windows 8 is taking some time to sort out but I think I'm liking it
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Pavilion dm1-4310nr Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The machine is fine, os doesn't work properly

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Deerfield Beach, Fl
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Windows 8 is a pain. If you could provide me with a retrofit to Windows 7 I would be perfectly satisfied. You should test your machines interactions with new OS before you sell them to unsuspecting consumers.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Pavilion dm1-4310nr Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Avoid Win8 if you use earlier versions

PostedNovember 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Florida
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Notebook has some good features over my earlier DM1Z such as 4G built in, but Win8 is not one of them. Difficult to use with a touchpad only, and the new W8 user interface is throws away all the experience one has learned from Windows 95 thru Windows 7. Too bad this PC was not available with W7. Avoid due to W8.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Pavilion dm1-4310nr Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not ready for prime time...

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Suwanee, GA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I needed a small netbook with decent specs to replace my aging Toshiba 13". This unit seemed to offer the best bang for the buck -- at least on paper. Built in 4g was a huge selling point. I like this size, weight, screen and battery life, etc. -- especially for the price. However, problems started as soon as I tried to do Windows 8 updates. The system froze after what seemed like hours. Called tech support and rep was very helpful, but Windows 8 and this machine too new and he was working in uncharted waters. Note -- was told the midwest tech support office was closing soon and it was being moved offshore -- not a good sign. System had to be completely refreshed and a large Windows update had to be hidden. After that the rest of the updates loaded. Since then more Windows 8 updates released and I tried to upload -- only the small ones worked. Got message advising of update failure. There are now 3 large excluded updates that can't be loaded.
I feel I am left with little choice but to return this machine. I think this system in Windows 7 would be a better fit. Windows 8 not ready for prime time -- at least on this machine and Windows 8 in general seems like a solution in search of a problem.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.