HP Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for hp HP HD3200 2TB Personal Media Drive

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP HD3200 2TB Personal Media Drive

HP HD3200 Personal Media Drive
Overall rating:
4.42 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(50 reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 50 reviews
5 Stars
36
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
3
42 out of 50(84%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP HD3200 2TB Personal Media Drive
Review 1 for HP HD3200 2TB Personal Media Drive
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Working?

PostedMay 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Washington
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Don't know exactly what this supposed to be backing up but if it's my computer it's not working.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP HD3200 2TB Personal Media Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works as advertised

PostedApril 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Florida
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Setup was easy. Documentation was complete. Cable was included. Runs cool and quiet. I decided it was time to have a backup disc on my system. My HP Pavillion is several years and has worked flawlessly since day one. But the time is coming when it will need to be replaced. Having a backup disc is a good insurance policy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP HD3200 2TB Personal Media Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easiest drive to use.

PostedApril 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Shippensburg, PA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was surprised at how fast it arrived. Within 3 days. Hooked it up and it was running in no time at all. Didn't even have to run it over night to get the backup done.
Best backup drive I've got. Keep up the good work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP HD3200 2TB Personal Media Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

External Storage - Great!

PostedMarch 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Birmingham AL
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Decided to purchase an external drive for security reasons. I like the fact that the drive was super easy to set up (definitely plug and go) and offers plenty of storage. Would definitely recommend to anyone who doesn't quite trust cloud technology for their sensitive data but who wants a removable option for data storage - and lots of it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP HD3200 2TB Personal Media Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Where is the USB 3.0 Interface?

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Palm Harbor, Fl
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great product but it didn't arrive with a 3.0 interface. Why is it named 3.0?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP HD3200 2TB Personal Media Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far, so good - we'll see

PostedJanuary 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Dallas, TX
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my second HP external drive. The first one was 3Tb and lasted 3 yrs and 3 mo before it suddenly failed and I was unable to recover anything. So far, I like this one because it has an off/on switch enabling me to only turn it on when I need it, maybe extending the life. It's only 2Tb, but that should be fine until it fails. I read a review that I'd need a special cable to work with USB 2.0, but that's not the case, it works fine with the included cable and my USB 2.0 laptop. I'm thinking about getting another one as a back-up to my back-up. The software is fine, although I use Windows back up instead. And I wish it didn't require an external power source.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP HD3200 2TB Personal Media Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy to install and use

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Pennsylvania's North Coast
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is very easy for anyone to use. Basically just plug it into an electrical outlet, then plug in the USB cable, turn it on, follow directions for getting started, and let it do the rest from that point on. Has a convenient on/off switch. Loads and loads of memory. I used an HP SimpleSave drive for backup, and still have it for portable use, but this one holds everything on my hard drive: lots of pictures, documents, and more. Very nice.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP HD3200 2TB Personal Media Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quiet and Fast

PostedDecember 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Wauwatosa, WI
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It is the primary backup for my All in One. I am amazed at how quiet it is --- never hear it running :> Large capacity was important to me --- it has it al.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP HD3200 2TB Personal Media Drive
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

no instructions included

PostedDecember 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
you best know how to use one... there are zero instructions... great if you have had one before. did not know how to turn it on, or that it had to be turned on, still have no idea how to use it...but did manage to get my files onto it eventually, but it was not easy nor understandable. Trial and error led me to be able to find them and get them off the hard drive and onto a new computer....
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP HD3200 2TB Personal Media Drive
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Didn't realize it uses an AC adapter

PostedOctober 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The drive works just fine, but I guess i didn't realize it uses an AC adapter. My friend has an external drive and it just plugs in via USB so I never even thought about it. Really limits mobility though. I probably wouldn't have gotten it if Id have known.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP HD3200 2TB Personal Media Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great external drive.

PostedOctober 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Akron, OH
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use this as part of my back-up protocol. Just plug it in, set it up and don't worry about it. Now I know the pictures of the grandchildren are safe.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP HD3200 2TB Personal Media Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Has all the storage one needs

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Florida
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well made loads of storage to save data and backup of the HD if you need alot of off site storage this is great only thing it is sort of heavy.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP HD3200 2TB Personal Media Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good hard drive

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:norcal
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
expensive but reliable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP HD3200 2TB Personal Media Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice drive; works well

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:WA state
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Drive arrived quickly; installed quickly with no problems. It's USB - no brainer. The unit is substantially built and attractive. No complaints. Would purchase again.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP HD3200 2TB Personal Media Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Props to HP

PostedAugust 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice simple little drive. Does exactly what I need it to. Is fairly quiet and makes a great addition to my home network. Got a great deal on it, and really have nothing bad to day about it. Maybe it could be smaller, but that is really stretching it. I really like this HDD.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP HD3200 2TB Personal Media Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I am quite pleased with the performance of this dr

PostedJuly 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:So Cal
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The 2 TB drive can be used as a backup for one or more computers. Great product, thanks HP!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP HD3200 2TB Personal Media Drive
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not risk your data!!

PostedJuly 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
It worked for 7 months before it failed completely. It has more than 1 TB of data in it and I won't be able to afford to recover it from professionals. I own 4 other hard drives from other brands (seagate, iomega) and those are still working perfectly fine even after 3 years.
Unlike most other external hard disks, you cannot open the casing of this one without breaking it. Left with no choice, I broke the casing. It had a Western Digital 2TB Caviar Green drive inside. I have heard epic failures of WD hard drives from my friends and I would never have bought this if I had known that HP has used WD drive in this product.
Note: The picture for this product creates an impression that it is portable and USB powered. IT IS NOT!! It is a bit bulkier and requires an external power supply.
+12points
15of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP HD3200 2TB Personal Media Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent add-on

PostedJuly 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:upstate NY
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The HP USB 3.0 2TB Personal Media External Drive is a fully functional accessory to my PC. It has a very large storage capacity (2TB), and it's very compact. It's also portable, so I can use it on other PC's. This HP external drive was effortless to install; I just plugged in the power supply and plugged the USB into a 3.0 port on my PC. The USB cable for this device has a dedicated end which plugs in to the external drive. The other end is a standard USB plug. The cable itself is on the short side, so the external drive will stay close to the PC. Great product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP HD3200 2TB Personal Media Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedMay 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Shannon,NC
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Super easy set up based on the 10% rule (being 10% smarter than what you are working with lol). I only say this because I aparently missed the notation about the "ON" button but eventually figured it out.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP HD3200 2TB Personal Media Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great External Drive

PostedApril 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Minnesota
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very pleased with this external drive, easy to use, compact.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.