HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Desktop & All-in-Ones or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP 500GB Pocket Media External Hard Drive

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP 500GB Pocket Media External Hard Drive

Standard 2.5" Serial ATA drive in portable size enclosure (3.18 x .63 x 5.38") Carrying case included
Overall rating:
4.632 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(57 reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 57 reviews
5 Stars
46
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
53 out of 57(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP 500GB Pocket Media External Hard Drive
Review 1 for HP 500GB Pocket Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Talk about Plug-n-Play!!!!!

PostedFebruary 27, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
I am very impressed with this 500GB Pocket Media Drive and the ease of installing it. The drivers for it are in the device and all you do is plug it into the bay on the HP Elite series PC's and it's ready to go. The user's manual is right in the media drive too! I backed up nearly six hundred songs and my PC hardrive in no time onto my new Pocket Media Drive. HP you did good on this hardware........Thank you.
+28points
28of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP 500GB Pocket Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It is small, everything as described, very nice. Set-up is a SNAP. runs and backs up automatically. I wish it would flash a message saying that it is backing up or that it has done so. It just sits there silently. I don't know if it is backing up or not.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP 500GB Pocket Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP reliability and ease of use

PostedJanuary 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Wisconsin
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm just spoiled by HP products. What can I say about a product that does exactly what you want it to and does it with zero hassle? When I learned HP made external hard drives, it was a no-brainer. We've had nothing but good luck with HP products. I haven't had this drive long, but it works simply and I have no doubt it will be around a long time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP 500GB Pocket Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little drive!

PostedJanuary 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Oklahoma
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I unwrapped it, plugged it in to my new HP laptop, read the manual, and backed up my laptop all in less than 1 hr. I decided to use Windows backup rather than the backup software that came on the drive, only because my laptop was all set up for it and it was telling me I needed to do a backup!. I like the case for safely storing the drive and cable when not in use or traveling. All in all a very, very nice compact package!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP 500GB Pocket Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not durable at all

PostedJanuary 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Florida
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
I accidentally dropped the hard drive from waist level onto a wood floor while trying to put it back into its sleeve, and the dropped immediately rendered it useless. I can no longer see the files from Windows file manager functions or administrative functions, and need to throw it away. I would hope a product designed and marketed to be portable would be able to withstand a foreseeable "in the course of business" accident. HP was not willing to help with an exchange or even discounted repurchase, which surprised me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP 500GB Pocket Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent hd

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best hd for my hp desktop can take it out and use as a usb hard drive on another computer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP 500GB Pocket Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Second external storage device

PostedJanuary 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:North GA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the second 500 gb external storage device I have purchased from HP. The first was for backups on laptop I bought from HP. It works so well that I bought this one for a friend that has thousands of old pictures on his laptop and needs a reliable backup device so he won't lose his valuable pictures if his laptop fails.
I did not find any bloatware on this device. Reviews on other external drives show users complaining of excessive programs loaded on their units.
Thanks HP
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP 500GB Pocket Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Bad Carrying Case

PostedDecember 30, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Inside carrying case too flimsy the rest is ok.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP 500GB Pocket Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extra Storage

PostedDecember 29, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Ithaca, NY
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was given as a gift and the person loved it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP 500GB Pocket Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Compact Hard Drive

PostedDecember 7, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All the details are right.. The drive is soo compact and fits my needs. Its good to find even a case sent with it, so dont need to go and buy that again. Soo much can fit in 500 GB. Am soo happy I got for discounted price and free shipping
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP 500GB Pocket Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Dayton, OH
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The pocket media drive was a perfect solution for me, because I have an older PC that didn't have enough drive space for my pictures and music. This is a great product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP 500GB Pocket Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

worst puchase

PostedDecember 5, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have always had great luck with my HP PC's and was worried about loosing my pictues etc.This external hard drive was to back up my personal irreplacible items. Open the box, excited and It has never work. I called HP numbers provided for support. Talking to India and having difficulty trying to understand her. Even had multpile computer IT people that I know personally and all were blunt in saying that I had bought a piece of junk. As luck would have it, the hard drive went out on my pc. I was able to retrieve a few things and I had Norton and Windows firewalls intact, webroot spyware etc, when I got a virus.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP 500GB Pocket Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Slick Design

PostedDecember 3, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Michigan
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have four HP pocket hard drives: one 250GB, two 320 GB and one 500GB. Three have a special purpose, one is just a spare. There is no difference between these except the capacity. I have them labeled to tell them apart. These hard drives are compact, speedy, and needs only a connection to a USB port (external power is not required). They also come with a nice case.
The feature I like best about these hard drives is how they install into my PC. The HP Pocket drive is a slick design, snapping into my PC without connecting any cables. Also, it can be connected to any USB 2 equipped PC with the cable provided.
My PC came with a drive bay for a Pocket HD (not all do), which is installed into an expansion bay. When installed in my PC, the pocket drive is about 10-20% protruding …enough to grip it for easy removal. The asymmetrical shape allows it to fit in only one way.
Ok. Would I buy HP pocket drives if my PC did not have the special drive bay? One…yes, two…maybe, four…no. Knowing what I know now and I did not have a PC with this special drive bay, I would consider try buying one (special drive bay) from HP. However, I am not sure if they are still available. Good Luck if you go this route.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP 500GB Pocket Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A-1 Product

PostedOctober 28, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Florida
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
I have found the hp 500 Pocket Media External Hard drive flawless. Over the last few years, I have purchased 5 of these when I wanted to give a very special and reliable gift. This one is the second I have purchased for myself. No complaints whatsoever. I continue to keep this reliable item in mind for gift giving. You cannot go wrong by selecting this smart looking device which requires no special training or knowledge to plug it in and you're done,
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP 500GB Pocket Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great on the go!

PostedOctober 19, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great external drive when you are on the go. Love the carrying case.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP 500GB Pocket Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedOctober 8, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This now my third personal hard disk and all three are working like a champ. Nothing better than a small portable drive that has lots of space.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP 500GB Pocket Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Nice Compact Pocket

PostedOctober 2, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Georgia
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Unit Has Met My Expectations So Far, The Unit Is Small & Quiet, with Very Good To Excellent Performance to date. I Would Reccomend This Unit To My Friends. Good Purchase Price also.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP 500GB Pocket Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Satisfied Customer

PostedSeptember 25, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
I am completely satisfied with my 500 GB Pocket Media External Hard Drive. It was a simple plug and play when attached to my HP computer. The carrying case is a valuable accessory.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP 500GB Pocket Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome HDD

PostedSeptember 23, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Washington, DC
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I already owned the 160 GB HP Pocket Media Drive as I have a PMD docking bay installed in my HP Pavilion desktop. However my DSLR camera photos and church videos outgrew that smaller drive and I had to upgrade to this 500Gb HP Pocket Media Drive. The drive is fast and quiet and very convenient as I can take it with me to my work and connect it to my work computer, using the included high speed USB chord. Also, a very nice and discrete cover is included to keep the HDD safe and secure during transportation.
I absolutely love this drive and I am considering buying several more to create back-up and archiving drives. I can honestly recommend there external drives to anyone who needs a portable storage solution.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP 500GB Pocket Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT PRODUCT

PostedSeptember 8, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
THIS HARD DRIVE IS SWEET AND SIMPLE..
IF YOU HAVE THE SLOT ON YOUR PC YOU JUST PUT IT IN AND GO.
AND THE SIMPLE SOFTWARE THAT IS ON DRIVE IS EASY
IT DOES THE JOB..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.