HP Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for hp HP 1TB Personal Media External Hard Drive

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP 1TB Personal Media External Hard Drive

Standard 3.5" Serial ATA drive in a portable-size (8 x 4.6 x 1.5") enclosure
Overall rating:
3.337 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(83 reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 83 reviews
5 Stars
34
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
12
1 Star
19
50 out of 83(60%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP 1TB Personal Media External Hard Drive
Review 1 for HP 1TB Personal Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP 1TB Personal Media Drive

PostedAugust 2, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ordered a new desktop e9110t and selected the PMD 1 TB for $112 (on sale). This device is fantastic. Slides right in the PMD bay and instantly starts up (no cables,etc). Acts just like an internal HDD in this setup. And if you want to take it with you just pop it out and go. With the included cables and power supply it is just like an external HDD for use on any PC. Highly recommend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP 1TB Personal Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP 1 TB Personal Media Drive - A must have!

PostedAugust 3, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful product. Way too easy to install and I now have so much storage for my photos, videos, slideshows, & music! If you're looking for more storage, do yourself a favor and jump up to this media drive. Well worth the money!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP 1TB Personal Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

OMG a Terrabyte for less than 200 $US

PostedAugust 6, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This drive is incredible value for money. It is a Terabyte of storage. Plugging it into my HP Pavilion Elite took an incredible 2 seconds after I removed he wrappings. It comes with all the hardware necessary to use it with any computer that has a USB port also. And it is fast as lightning.
WooooHooooo!!! I am in tall cotton now!!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP 1TB Personal Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great HDD

PostedAugust 11, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was a little worried when I this HDD arrived since it was sliding around in the box. No worries once I installed in my pavillion PC, easy setup and works great. I copied all my data files from my old PC and then plugged the HDD in and everything is there. I also use it to backup my C: drive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP 1TB Personal Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value, Great Product

PostedAugust 12, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I received my 1TB HDD today, and it works flawlessly. It runs both surprisingly cool and quiet, which is a major plus. I am shocked that the software came pre-installed, which just made my day. No fiddling around with driver CD's or anything, it truly is plug and play. Another great thing was that i got it on sale, and used a coupon that my friend gave me, bringing the grand total (including tax) to $96!! Truly an astonishing price. The drive has a fan and is sizable, but still portable. It also feels sturdy and rugged. I have no doubt that i would recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP 1TB Personal Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

High pitched noise

PostedAugust 17, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great capacity and ease of use, but makes a high pitched annoying noise.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP 1TB Personal Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedSeptember 2, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like this way of storing my data and backing up my HP desktop. So easy and fast. Back up time was a bit long but I had many video files to back up but they are now saved and ready if I need them. I also backed up 2 other PC's on it with room to spare. I am thinking about getting another one for permanent use in my main PC so I have it to go with me when I travel and need information from home.
I should have got one years ago.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP 1TB Personal Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Know the Difference

PostedSeptember 2, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Drive is impressively fast and quiet. Fast enough to stream media to the screen without drop outs or noise. Quiet enough that I can't tell it is running.
One issue - A quick try resulted in the discovery that personal Media Drives will not fit into pocket media slots on HP PC's regardless of what the web site says about this drive being compatible with Pocket Media Drive Bays. Personal Media drives are physically about twice as big and need HP PC's with the larger Personal Media bays. Fortunately it works quite well using the included cables.sitting by the PC instead of in the bay. HP says the larger drive bay cannot be retrofitted into machines in place of the smaller drive bay.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP 1TB Personal Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good enough to buy a second one

PostedOctober 7, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just placed my order for a second one of these puppies because the first one has been rock solid. Best advice, wait for it to be on sale (and search the 'net for additional coupon codes) -- the performance for the price can't be beat!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP 1TB Personal Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

You really do need this device!

PostedOctober 23, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you aren't doing back-up of your media files, let me tell you from painful personal experience, it will only take one accident to convince you of the value. Don't wait! As the main hard drives in computers get larger and larger, a separate back up device is even more crucial. Don't wait! The HP Personal Media Drives are great because they can work inside certain models of HP computers but also outside on any computer with a USB port. After the accident that convinced me of the importance of backup a few years ago, I do it twice. One stand alone drive carries the backup files created by HP's Easy Backup on my Pavilion Elite. The other- my 1Tb Personal Media Drive- I use for a regular manual back up of just my photos, music, and video. The Personal Media Drives are well built, quiet, and come ready to go out of the box.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP 1TB Personal Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very quiet and low profile enclosure.

PostedOctober 24, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This drive fits flush into my pavillion elite desktop. Windows 7's included backup program works wonderfully with this drive. I now have my computer automatically back up all data to this drive every Saturday at 1a.m. Everything has worked flawlessly so far with no additional noise from my tower.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP 1TB Personal Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Slow and noisy

PostedOctober 29, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The drive works and fits nicely into the personal media bay, which is about all I can say good about this drive. I used to get a message that it wasn't connected to a hi-speed USB hub, and the entire system would freeze up occasionally when it was inserted, but I think those may have been Vista problems since neither has recurred since I upgraded to Windows 7. However, the little fan in the back kicks on periodically and makes a high-pitched whine, gradually slowing down and eventually stopping after a few minutes, but it is loud and quite annoying. I'm not ceratin why the fan is needed, unless it was included as a noisemaker.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP 1TB Personal Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Works great but doesn't fit in media drive bay

PostedNovember 16, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Works great but realize it has to be connected to the USB port on the back and won't fit into the slot it was made for in the front media drive bay if your HP computer has one.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP 1TB Personal Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Satisfaction 100%

PostedNovember 17, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased new Media Drive, as I have had one (300MB) for over 3 yrs and was very satisfied with drive. Purchased the 1TB because of storage capacity and convenience. Two days after my purchase the price of drive was less. I called HP and was given a credit for the difference. I guess HP has a 21 day price protection on what ever you buy from them.....Great service and great products.....KJL
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP 1TB Personal Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic!!!

PostedNovember 23, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have had this unit for about a week and it is just great! Some people complained about the fan being loud or whiney - I haven't noticed that at all. It slides right into the bay on my computer (this is only on certain models) and backed up everything. I took it to work and backed up that computer (no cool bay on my work computer, but the drive comes with all of the cables I need to hook it up.)
Some people also compained that it didn't fit into the 'Pocket Media Drive' bay on the computer. That's because this is a 'Personal Media Drive' less computers have the internal bay for this drive so make sure you are buying the right one. This one is bigger than the 'Personal Media Drive.'
The only reason I didn't give 5 stars on features was because of the backup software. You have to manually type in the extention of "special files" in order to back them up too. Some way to see what is NOT going to be backed up and just changing it would be better. This way I won't miss anything. But it probably gets everything that most people have.
Overall: This is fantastic!!! Buy it on sale and search the internet for coupon codes.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP 1TB Personal Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for everything

PostedDecember 11, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I just recieved this a week ago, great for everything, like an internal drive, but slower, thus the 4 star rating. I just ordered another 2TB tonight. But the reason for this review is not if I like or not, the reason is that you can not listen to 5 reviews & make up your mind. Some reviews said the fan is loud, It Is Not! It is so quiet you have to get up close to even hear it, & when you do, at least you know it is working. I suspect these reviews came in from people with hearing aids not adjusted right or something like that. Once again, great product from HP at a low price, they have an instant discount & I had a $10.00 coupon for it as well. hey if you don't like it, return it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP 1TB Personal Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great drive

PostedDecember 12, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
it fits perfect in my Elite desktop. I can mirror my 1tb drive so that I don't have manually back up my files. It is slow but I set it to backup when I am asleep. Even when the initial bsckup was done, I never heard any noise from the drive.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP 1TB Personal Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Slides into desktop in a second

PostedDecember 14, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought it to store media files. Works like a charm. Slides nicely into my desktop in a second. Eliminates the need to use Power card and USB cable. Love it.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP 1TB Personal Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP 1TB Personal Media Drive

PostedDecember 18, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered this drive on Dec, 17 at 4:24 PM and received it on Dec. 18 at 10:47 am. Now that's fast free two day service. I plugged it into the special bay on my HP e9280t computer, told it to back up my computer and it did the rest. It was so quiet that if it wasn't for the bar graph showing progress I couldn't tell it was running.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP 1TB Personal Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

5 Stars for Ease of use: No cables!

PostedDecember 20, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The HP 1TB Personal Media Drive is the best solution I have seen for portable drives OR adding hard drive space to a desktop PC. I ordered the unit when I purchased an HP Elite e9180t with Intel's new i7 processor (this machine is great and I also recommend it).
The HP 1TB Personal Media Drive slides into a dedicated slot on the front panel of the tower. No USB cable to mess with, no power cord, it simply slides in and is ready for use. It worked great the first time I inserted it into its slot. No lengthy set up, in fact, it just worked with no set up at all! All who are busy and see system set-up as a comsumer of precious time will welcome this slide & go addition to their HP desktop. Performance is great for me: I use the drive to capture HD videos from my camcorder (1080i) in order to edit home videos. The desktop hard drive runs the editing software, and the HP 1TB Personal Media Drive holds the video. It is a great solution for those of you who have HD camcorders -- Capturing true HD soaks up a lot of hard drive space, and editing HD is machine-intensive. The HP Elite e8190t with the HP 1TB Personal Media Drive is a winning combo and editing is real time with no freeze up or playback delays. Two thumbs up for this product. I'm ready to order a second HP 1TB Personal Media Drive.
One cavet to be aware of -- the media drive needs to be pulled from the desktop slot when booting or the system gets confused.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.