HP Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for hp HP 1TB Personal Media External Hard Drive

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP 1TB Personal Media External Hard Drive

Standard 3.5" Serial ATA drive in a portable-size (8 x 4.6 x 1.5") enclosure
Overall rating:
3.337 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(83 reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 83 reviews
5 Stars
34
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
12
1 Star
19
50 out of 83(60%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP 1TB Personal Media External Hard Drive
Review 1 for HP 1TB Personal Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant

PostedJanuary 16, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This HP 1TB personal media drive works just great. Its fast, quiet efficient. I use it to store tons of music, pics and even as a password reset disc. Yet what impresses me apart from how well it works as well as the cost is the fact that I received it the very next day even though is was slated for a two day free delivery. Incredible
+35points
35of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP 1TB Personal Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP 1TB Personal Media Drive

PostedDecember 18, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered this drive on Dec, 17 at 4:24 PM and received it on Dec. 18 at 10:47 am. Now that's fast free two day service. I plugged it into the special bay on my HP e9280t computer, told it to back up my computer and it did the rest. It was so quiet that if it wasn't for the bar graph showing progress I couldn't tell it was running.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP 1TB Personal Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product.

PostedMarch 8, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I decided to use my 15% off coupon that I got for registering my new laptop on something useful rather than playful--hence, I bought a 1TB hard drive to backup my laptop.
The price was excellent even before I used the coupon, I didn't find it cheaper anywhere else and I thought having an HP branded drive to match my HP laptop would be a nice touch.
I did not install any of the software, I simply formatted it as NTFS and hooked it up to the laptop for Windows Backup and Restore to have its way with. The initial backup took the longest as it does a full image + files. However, all my subsequent backups have been relatively quick and painless. I'm sure the HP software that came with the drive is nice but I'm sort of a traditionalist and decided to use the Windows software instead.
The drive came in a plain jane white box with HP logo tape on the top and a white label that says what it is inside. Nothing fancy, very minimalist packaging. The first thing I noticed about the drive is there is no rattle or noise to be had--it feels very solid. When I plugged it in the first time, it was dead quiet for the first five minutes then started to make a humm noise--I presume that is the fan in the back of the drive.
All in all, it's a very quiet drive and does its job well. I am impressed with thebuild quaity as there are no sharp edges or quality issues with it. It's very solid and complements my DV7 well.
Couldn't be happier, good price and quality. :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP 1TB Personal Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Buyer Beware!

PostedMarch 4, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Saint Louis, Missouri.
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Loud infective fan. Was told to use drive as an external drive but loud fan and heat persisted. So much for the use it was designed for. Slow transfer rate. Only lasted 13 months and HP refused to replace it. There are better units for less money out there.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP 1TB Personal Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Expensive piece of junk

PostedFebruary 28, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Houston
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This drive lasted about 5 minutes. The powr light comes on for less than a minute and then goes off. Two different HP computers. Might be convient if it worked, but mine is a paperweight. Buy an external drive from another manufacture.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP 1TB Personal Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The device stopped being recognized

PostedFebruary 23, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had a 500 GB for 1.5 year and last weekend I started to get a message to the effect that the media was not recognized by the system (Windows 7). I took it off the computer and tried it externally and got the same result. So now I lost all my backups and I have to by another hard drive. This time I will go with an internal drive. A little more work but should be more reliable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP 1TB Personal Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointed

PostedFebruary 9, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Boise, Idaho
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I purchased this drive July 2009 for $135 mainly for the price at the time was very good. It was suppose to have Roxio Backup My PC 7 software but that never installed due to the .exe file was missing. Finally located and downloaded the application file from HP support. After maybe 6 months the drive's fan started making noise and now it is bad enough I can't stand to keep it connected, sounds like it will die at any moment. It will have to be replaced (18 months use so far) soon but not with another HP drive. Will probably go to Western Digital external drive : My Book 2T for the same price at newegg.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP 1TB Personal Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Intermittently Noisy

PostedFebruary 6, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Diego
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
I bought this item about 3 months ago and I have the same problem like what Hitecpdx is experiencing. Bad QA.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP 1TB Personal Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ran great for about 2-1/2 years then died

PostedFebruary 2, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Had the 750GB version. Used it to to back up my HP Pavilion. Ran like a charm for 2-1/2 years then suddenly died.
Am very pleased with its performance, ease of use, and handiness (fits right in the computer's slot). It was a good drive, just wish it lasted longer.
Am replacing it with 1TB version for less than half the price I paid for the first one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP 1TB Personal Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I Love This Thing!

PostedJanuary 31, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Daytona Beach, FL
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I own three 2 Personal Media Drives. One is 500GB, the second is this 1TB.drive. I use both to store files. The 1TB gets used many times daily. I've had it over one year and not even a hiccup! I've had the 500GB for 2 years and it runs smooth and quiet.
I even made sure my new HP PC I bought had a Media Bay for them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP 1TB Personal Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

yeah but

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
the software for back-up is seamless and unintrusive. the product works exactly as promised . i have a pavillion elite desktop and it just pops right in ...which is a blessing and a curse. thank god it is hot swap or i would have gone insane. you see It Is Noisy Beyond All Belief. i have had this product for roughly six months and by the second week it began to make noises one would associate with a mightily struggling machine. when inside the chassis of the desktop it becomes far worse as then it echoes. my work around is using it externally with old ipod sleeves and ducktape...lol but true and it cuts down the noise.
every markdown is for the noise, otherwise a fabulous product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP 1TB Personal Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Drives; Noise not a problem

PostedJanuary 14, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
I have two of these drives that I use for rotating backups to offsite. I have found they do the job very well, have a good capacity, all at an attractive price. It is great that they plug into the personal media slot on the HP chassis - eliminates cable clutter.
Others have mentioned noise problems. I experienced this at first too, but found a remedy. My anti-virus software was continually scanning the drive in idle time, which meant the drive ran all the time, increasing temperature and causing the fan to run. By setting the software to scan only occasionally the temperature dropped and the fan stopped running. Quiet as a mouse now. Meets my needs 100%.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP 1TB Personal Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Cannot recommend!

PostedJanuary 12, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have been a avid fan of hp products for years but i cannot recommend this product. i have owned the 1tb for one year. while it has never lost and files i believe i got a bum drive it clicks screams and general scares me because i think its about to die.
looking for a replacement.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP 1TB Personal Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good but noisy and nerve wracking

PostedJanuary 6, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Massachusetts
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought two of these drives in October 2010. I have them plugged in 24/7. I want to beat on them to see just how long they'll work. I have read the other reviews. I have the same problem with the fans (on both drives) making noises. I am more patient than all of you put together. I let them alone, but occasionally blew into the fan port in the back. That made it quiet for a while. Now, after about 3 months in constant use (online, but not being accessed too often), the fans have gone into a state of quietude. How nice! The drives are quite warm, but not really hot. They do heat more when accessed. GOOD POINT: These are two of the fastest external drives I have ever used. HP must have maxed out the I/O drivers on the USB bus interface inside the drive. I have never lost a byte of data to date (only 3 months) and continue to use them daily. I even have one stacked on top of another and they have been quiet for a few weeks now. So, GOOD, FAST, noisy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP 1TB Personal Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good for about a year

PostedJanuary 6, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Georgia
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Like several others have said, this was a good drive until the fan strated failing. Making a grinding noise so loud I had to just uplug the drive. I plug it back in periodically to update backup but it starts making noise soon so it is becoming almost useless. Good drive failed by poor quality control on low cost parts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP 1TB Personal Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Good till it died.

PostedDecember 27, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Lasted about 4 months, cried in pain (loud fan grinding) for about two days, then just seemed to whined down and died. tried unplugging to let it cool off or reset prior to it kicking the bucket, but when started again, it would just scream in pain. light still comes on, acts like it wants to do something, anything, but its gone, and so is all my data.......... was a great drive till it died. things break i know, but after this short of time, come on!! the amount of data i have to go back and try to replace now is mind boggling. western digital or other drives from here on out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP 1TB Personal Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Beware

PostedDecember 9, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I purchased this external media drive. It is a great value. Initially it worked fine. After 2 weeks, my PC (which is also a HP) would not recognize the device. And the media device is now making a loud buzzing noize incessantly. The buzzing doesn't stop until you disconnect the device from the power source. Upon reconnecting the device to power, it will work for a short time (hours, not days or weeks), then the problem repeats itself . . . The HP PC does not recognize the HP media drive and the media drive buzzes.
HP support is very unacommadating!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP 1TB Personal Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Noisy fan

PostedDecember 4, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Texas
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Last Christmas, my husband gave me this personal media drive as a present. Within 3 months the fan started making a noise so loud that I could not work with the drive pushed in. (You could hear it out in the hall.) It took multiple calls to HP before they took ownership. In fact, I had to take it to a local vendor to verify that it was the drive. With my written diagnosis, HP finally sent me a replacement last month. (Of course, I had to pay the shipping of the old one back to HP.) But guess what! Within 2 weeks, the new one is already starting to make the noise. I do not recommend this drive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP 1TB Personal Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can't go wrong...

PostedDecember 3, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Idaho
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Even though I have two 300 gig Harddrives and two 1 tb harddrives I must say that with the growth of larger capacities I am still liking these hardrives.. One should be so lucky that the tecnology is getting better and the price has fallen... I also love the fact that these Harddrives fit inside my HP computer, making it easier to use without the connecting power supply and USB cable...
Kinda wish my computer had more slots now... Maybe HP will make a housing that will fit multiple Harddrives some day...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP 1TB Personal Media External Hard Drive
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Just say no to HP products

PostedDecember 3, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Noisy operation and can't trust it to be reliable. Personal media drive bay only accepts HP products, so no other options for that computer feature. May as well use an external drive and have options and reliable products.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.